URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=55431
Printed Date: 29 Apr 2024 at 7:45am

Topic: Hangar or McCleans
Subject: Hangar or McCleans
Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 10:59am
Simple question really to those to travelled the last time which of these bars do you think is the better all round spot .
Myself who visited both I have to go with the Hangar myself as an outdoor setting really had it for me .
Now yer lots of Ex pats but hey it was decent enough now the service could be slow at times .
As for McCleans well only had one drink in there small bar but they did have decent bands I was told but small and pokey , now if you like to smoke 80 fags an hour without one touching your lips then this is the place for you .

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 11:32am
Murph its McClarens and the Hangar
If I could vote would go with McClarens
Food, Music, karaoke and not completely rammed like the Hangar was. That said, we always ended up in the Hangar

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 12:13pm
Gonna try sample a few other places this time..

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 12:17pm

Murph its McClarens and the Hangar
If I could vote would go with McClarens
Food, Music, karaoke and not completely rammed like the Hangar was. That said, we always ended up in the Hangar
fixed

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 12:30pm
Did the one the American one own not shut down?

The strip was the place to be

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 12:31pm
Was only in McClarens once and seemed a nice spot. Tommy Feely doing the Sex Pistols 'GTSQ' karaoke was priceless with his purple died hair LOL. An absolute legend and total gent Clap

Thought the Hangar was a great spot and nice to sit out in even at night as it was still pretty warm.

The Wales-Austria match will be on after ours at 10.45pm so we'll be able to catch most of that after the match. 

Anyone try that Dublin pub which is a bit further out of the way from the other two? Looks nice enouigh in the inside but will probably be rammed given it's size. 

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 12:33pm

That's the Hangar bar.

According to google it's still open so hopefully it is. 

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 12:47pm

the rumour was untrue.

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 1:05pm

Some great bars along there.

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 1:11pm

Apart from the one that fleezed us! They were advertising bottles of grey goose at ridiculously cheap prices so we had a rake of bottles between us..the bill came then and it was really expensive, turns out they were giving us bottles of a different size..There was nearly a riot leaving the placeLOL

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 1:24pm

Apart from the one that fleezed us! They were advertising bottles of grey goose at ridiculously cheap prices so we had a rake of bottles between us..the bill came then and it was really expensive, turns out they were giving us bottles of a different size..There was nearly a riot leaving the placeLOL

They were the right size! She just multiplied the price by ten even though it was clear on the menu

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 1:42pm

It was indeed apart from us all getting locked in that bar and been held to ransom to settle a ridiculous bill.  

But yeah the strip was very lively.

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 2:17pm
MacClarens for us deffo the Hangar was the slowest service and craziest way of paying for drink ive ever seen. Also loads of other bars and restaurants on the strip where MacClarens was. The craic there the night of the game was one of the best on any away trip.

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 2:27pm
McClarens and Shardeni Street for us I think. We booked our digs with that area in mind so all good.

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 2:33pm

MacClarens for us deffo the Hangar was the slowest service and craziest way of paying for drink ive ever seen. Also loads of other bars and restaurants on the strip where MacClarens was. The craic there the night of the game was one of the best on any away trip.

That rings a bell. I've vague memories of some obscure payment system. What was it again?

I don't really remember the service being that bad mind. 

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 2:37pm
I think it was you asked for a beer at the bar one girl would serve you then pass the bill onto someone on the till , so you had to pay the till person even thou your beer was at the other end of the bar . Now if you were sat outside you just paid the waitress .
 Only got messy when everyone turned up really .

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 3:10pm
They had a bar outside with the same system but seeing as the two girls were standing next to each other it wasn't an issue. Their pizza after the match gave me the trots...pure filth!

McClarens for me next time. They have seats outside it as well albeit a much smaller section.

Date Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 5:32pm
Avoid eating in the Hangar!

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2017 at 9:51am
Avoid eating in McClarens.
Wasn't it there a group of lads were waiting about an hour and a half for their burger and chips that they ordered. When it arrived it was a McDonalds meal on a plate.

Seemed to be a lot more local places around McClarens and the strip so would prefer to end up around that area, saying that I had a good time in the hangar every night/morning that I was there.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2017 at 9:57am
Heard the food was rotten in the Hangar alright. I ate feck all in Georgia and my piss was brown by the time I got to Istanbul. Total dehydration. Couldn't leave the hostel.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2017 at 10:06am

Heard the food was rotten in the Hangar alright. I ate feck all in Georgia and my piss was brown by the time I got to Istanbul.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2017 at 10:34am
Meself and the Quinn Towers rocked into some Georgian version of McDs in Freedon Sq the last time. Serious burgers in there.

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2017 at 12:49pm
Tis a pity there are only 2 pubs in Tbilisi all the same. 

Date Posted: 24 Jun 2017 at 12:57pm

LOL one is the official peoples front of Judea spot and the other is the Judean people front's spot dont really know what camp to join, will wait and see what the TICKET situation is first, maybe biggus dickus forever will have spares or maybe gufus flagus galwayicus could be the one to follow

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2017 at 6:15pm

I don't suppose you remember the name of the place with the steaks that we sat outside of last time? Their steaks were something else.

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2017 at 9:48pm

I don't suppose you remember the name of the place with the steaks that we sat outside of last time? Their steaks were something else.

think its on the same street as mclarens - further away from the river

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2017 at 10:22pm

A great spot that was, have an idea where it is but no idea the name. Will be my one a day over there. Food everywhere else I ate was worse than bad

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2017 at 10:53pm

No, but I know where it is alright, DG80 spot on. 

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2017 at 10:54pm

No, but I know where it is alright, DG80 spot on. 

the one where a fellow traveller joined us Wink

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2017 at 11:21pm
Ha !! 

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2017 at 11:50pm
We can't be that unlucky again! I ate there every day the last time and I'll be doing the same again this time. Assuming I can find it.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2017 at 7:26am
Had a grand steak on a roof top fancy restaurant on our last night,can't remember the name of the place but it was close to the egg smelling public baths.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2017 at 9:34am
Myself and Horsebox had some quality grub along that really nice little street near McLarens. Quality steak and red wine.

Also had a steak in the hanger and it was grand.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2017 at 11:01am
And a 60e bottle of wine too

Posted By: baresi41
Date Posted: 26 Jun 2017 at 11:05am
This is the rooftop restaurant entrance just up from McClarens.

FRANCO BARESI: Always supporting the green brigade

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2017 at 11:27am
Originally posted by baresi41 baresi41 wrote:

That Swiss Guard Bouncer looks a bit strict.

And he let ye all in with football jerseys?

No standards at all these days.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2017 at 11:36am

Originally posted by baresi41 baresi41 wrote:

That Swiss Guard Bouncer looks a bit strict.

And he let ye all in with football jerseys?

No standards at all these days.

And flip flops tooLOL

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2017 at 1:18pm
Pity you can'd do a google maps street view in Tbilisi as it would make it easier to spot the restaurant. 

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2017 at 4:32pm
I'll check with the others to see if they remember the place. I know this was a great spot. Wine was cheap as chips. It ended up we had a 6 course meal, drinks etc. and a local band playing for around €15 each if my memory serves me well. 

It's close to McClarens and worth a visit.

Date Posted: 26 Jun 2017 at 8:48pm
As for match day the beer house next to the ground was outstanding , i would say there was about 10 of us there and had a sing off between both sets of fans. The Dumplings were grand and 40 was about right between us . Yer man who sung the 2000 year old Local song should enter the Eurovision he was something else .

Posted By: flaghunter
Date Posted: 02 Jul 2017 at 12:49pm
Is "the strip" Jan Shardeni St, ie the street that McClarens is on?

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2017 at 1:13pm
Originally posted by flaghunter flaghunter wrote:

Is "the strip" Jan Shardeni St, ie the street that McClarens is on?

And while your at it lads ... are both pubs in walking distance of each other ?

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2017 at 1:20pm
7 minutes walk according to google maps

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2017 at 1:35pm

Did that walk every night in the small hours and it felt like a lot more than that!

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2017 at 1:53pm

Did that walk every night in the small hours and it felt like a lot more than that!

Have to pass the crazy cat lady to get between the two as well

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2017 at 3:12pm
So Jan Shardeni St is the strip?

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2017 at 1:12pm
went to local bars one of the nights, will be doing that more. waste spending most of your time in the hangar or mcclarens.

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2017 at 1:28pm

So Jan Shardeni St is the strip?

Yes MacClarens is on Rkinis Rigi St. which is at the end off the strip if your coming from Freedom Square. I'm sure the Paving will be finished by now.

Posted By: bogball88
Date Posted: 05 Jul 2017 at 2:11pm
http://www.info-tbilisi.com/" rel="nofollow - http://www.info-tbilisi.com/

I see there are a couple of strip clubs in the city as well for those interested...

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2017 at 4:53pm

the far side of the city from the Strip . Our taxi driver couldn't find where we were going to after the game and drove in there to check directions!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date Posted: 05 Jul 2017 at 10:31pm

went to local bars one of the nights, will be doing that more. waste spending most of your time in the hangar or mcclarens.

Sorry, you can't, those 2 pubs have been designated so that's the limit of your choice. Thems the rules. 

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2017 at 7:33am

Sorry, you can't, those 2 pubs have been designated so that's the limit of your choice. Thems the rules. 

I might actually try out the KGB bar this time. Am buzzin for September

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2017 at 7:41am

Had a few drinks in there also , quite ok nothing more than that .

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2017 at 9:47am

I wouldn't be Stallin in there for too long. As mentioned it wasn't amazing.

Date Posted: 06 Jul 2017 at 4:15pm

we went to one which was just a big shed converted into a bar, full of hipster types, good craic ended up chatting to a few of them and went on to another bar after which was just a big massive beer garden. good spots. would have no idea what they are called or how to ever find them again LOL

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2017 at 9:58pm
hangar bar is poor IMO

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2017 at 9:59pm

Avoid eating in the Hangar!

this

Posted By: Missy
Date Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 1:20pm
Both equally. sh*t loads of decent spots between them.