Irish Politics Thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 189190191192193 200>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 8:59am
I hear when the premier league winners and FA cup winners play each other in August it’s going to be called the Communist Shield from now on.  

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 9:24am
Think the reds will win....
notpropaganda73 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote notpropaganda73 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 9:38am

Think the reds will win....

Mush Cassidys Donkey View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mush Cassidys Donkey Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 9:50am
Originally posted by notpropaganda73 notpropaganda73 wrote:

I am begging some of you, please, read a f**king wikipedia entry never mind a book

I hear ya!! the communism comment broke the thread LOLLOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mush Cassidys Donkey Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 9:55am
Me thinks Babbs found politics or communism during COVID LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thebronze14 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 11:19am
mate of mine who's down so many rabbit holes I don't know where he'll next appear was sh*teing on about Ireland being Communist now.... Think it's all just learned behaviour from Americans online. Any Irish issue that comes up on Twitter it's mostly Americans or bots commentating and people taking what they say seriously

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mush Cassidys Donkey Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 11:27am

mate of mine who's down so many rabbit holes I don't know where he'll next appear was sh*teing on about Ireland being Communist now.... Think it's all just learned behaviour from Americans online. Any Irish issue that comes up on Twitter it's mostly Americans or bots commentating and people taking what they say seriously

There's technically only 2 Communist Parties in Ireland at present. The Communist Party and The Workers Party previously Official Sinn Fein ( Official I.R.A). WP have 1no. CLLR in the Cork and that's it across the whole island. I can't remember the last time the CP contested an election even. At one stage, one man (Sean Garland) "controlled" both party's at the same time.  

Anyone who tells you anything different hasn't a f**king clue LOL

Edited by Mush Cassidys Donkey - 27 Mar 2024 at 11:28am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 11:35am

Spot on.  I remember been in the states years ago when the Obama campaign was on and got chatting to a high flying corporate lady who was mid 40s at the time.  We were chatting about politics and she said she she was not voting for Obama as he was a socialist and Europe has tried socialism and it failed.  This level of ignorance has not crept into Irish life and people who do not have a clue about politics or political
Theory using words and they literally do not understand.  This thread is a classic case of this.  Describing a free market pro enterprise pro big business organisation such as as the EU as communist is laughable.  

Centre right economic policies are being described as communist.  
The thing is if they did their homework the thing that they have huge issue with which is identify politics, many of the far left actually have issues with because their view is that the struggle starts with class and not identity.  This a battle on the left with regards to social policies.   

All of this culture war stuff and using labels ignorantly has been imported from the states and like there it’s being used by people who actually do not understand the concepts or words they are using.  

I expect some to come on here and say that’s condescending but if someone argues 2+2 =5 and you say no it’s not is 4, it’s not condescending it’s just correcting them.  Everyone has a right to their opinion but not everyone has a right to their own facts and changing what words and political concepts mean.  

Ironically Ireland was closer to a communist country back in the 1950s (due to far more state run companies etc and protectionist trade policies ) than now and often many of these lads want to bring Ireland back to the 1950s

Edited by Baldrick - 27 Mar 2024 at 11:36am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 11:36am
Ireland is a member of a de facto federalist group of Liberal Pro-Globalist states...to consider it communist you would need a very strange mindset

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 11:39am
I reckon some lads on here should get a copy of Bizmarck to De Gaulle and the Irish equivalent of secondary school history books and do inform themselves a little.  

Once they have them read Coakley and Gallaghers book on politics in Ireland is a good place to go to get an overview of politics in this country.  

Edited by Baldrick - 27 Mar 2024 at 11:41am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Het-field Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 11:43am

Ireland is a member of a de facto federalist group of Liberal Pro-Globalist states...to consider it communist you would need a very strange mindset

This, in short. There are a handful of commies in the country, and as a rule they don’t participate in elections, or actually make any impact. It’s a bit of an insult to the victims of totalitarian communist rule to consider Ireland communist or the EU communist.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Badgersboys9 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 11:48am
Gavy Peppers half baked wee love child consistently making an arse of himself makes the thread for me. Clap

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BabbsBalls Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 12:01pm
Jaysus lads. I just pointed out that part for Hetfields post "sounded like communism" ffs.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mush Cassidys Donkey Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 12:03pm
Originally posted by Badgersboys9 Badgersboys9 wrote:

Gavy Peppers half baked wee love child consistently making an arse of himself makes the thread for me. Clap
i think there's more than one........... 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 12:08pm

Jaysus lads. I just pointed out that part for Hetfields post "sounded like communism" ffs.

Go on Babbs let us know what bits sound like communism. 

Edited by Baldrick - 27 Mar 2024 at 12:08pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BabbsBalls Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 12:22pm
Seriously man. You could make a fine living out of pointing out things people never said. It's on a daily basis here..

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 12:32pm
You are making a fool of yourself here.  This is basic comprehension. You said you said and I quote.  “Part of Hetfields post sounded like communism”

I have simply asked which parts sound like communism.  

Edited by Baldrick - 27 Mar 2024 at 12:32pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BabbsBalls Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2024 at 12:36pm

I didn’t realise when I entered the community games years ago it was all part of Lenin and Trotsky manifesto 😀😀😀

We better watch out for the tidy town committees too.  Reds under the bed there lads.  

The level of ignorance on here to basic political theory is hilarious esp for lads who have strong political opinions based on such ignorance.

Saying the free movement of trade is communist is one of the funniest things I have read.  

I can read perfectly. Can you ?
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 189190191192193 200>