Ireland v Gibraltar match thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 2425262728>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 12:25am

You can't blame McCarthy for that. His remit was to try and get us to the Euros, he is hardly going to start bringing lads through. If anybody has been short-sighted it is the FAI. 

If memory serves me right, both yourself and I were in the minority who wanted this campaign to be used strictly for blooding young players, implementing new tactics and a style of play while ignoring results to a point.

Thus far we've had one good performance (Georgia), an acceptable one only because we got a result as we were blessed to come away with a point imo (Denmark) and two mediocre ones in 4 games (Gibraltar home and away)

Our luck is going to run out sooner or later and these lucky results will finally dry up because it's been going on for the best part of 3 years now since after the Euro's when you really break down and look at how bad our performances have been.

I'd have agreed with that too, but there was never a chance the FAI were going to pass up even a 1% chance of making the Euros, hence the short term appointment of McCarthy, an experienced and pragmatic manager who is a little bit more positive than the last dinosaur. 

Why they made that appointment was to try make the Euros at all costs, why they need to make the Euros at all costs is their perilous finances, why their finances are in a perilous state is down to the stewardship of the last CEO and several costly, ruinous decisions made relating to long term ticket sales and managerial contract renewals, all the while paying himself twice what the leader of any European country earns. This was all signed off by a board who are now due to resign en masse next month, but some think will be re-elected to go & do much the same things as they always have done, but with a different name or 2 in charge. 

These things are all related, and its important that people continue to see the links (not directed at ye 2, I know ye are fully aware of all that) and why we are exactly where we are football wise. Because there was some on here not too long ago, and the subject that angered them most was the cost of the tennis ball protests. Anyone continuing to think along those lines should zoom out a little. 

Strazdas View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Strazdas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 12:27am

Rarely do we perform well against poorer opponents. That’s going on years. It’s in our psyche. Another thing is that plenty gave Robbie Keane stick for scoring his goals against so called minnows. There was no one could do it tonight. 

Yes, it's a fair point. We do have form for looking bad against minnows, even at home.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 12:29am
Originally posted by Green Man Green Man wrote:

Matt Doherty played against Gibraltar the first day and was an embarrassment. He wouldn't make a massive difference at RB
Bollocks, he was played out of position to facilitate the teachers pet who proceeded to continually run into the space that Doherty needed and clog things up. McCarthy picked Coleman ahead of Doherty his choice, but to omit our best player and pick McClean ahead of him is just pig headedness. McCarthy has always had favourites, not going to change now, methinks that McCarthy is getting a bit annoyed with his realisation on the way things are structured to change at the end of his brief tenure and he doesn't like it. 
The Tribesman View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Tribesman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 12:53am
Gibraltar are ranked 195 in the world!

Edited by The Tribesman - 11 Jun 2019 at 4:17am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 12:55am
Originally posted by The Tribesman The Tribesman wrote:

Gibraltar ate ranked 195 in the world!

Gobbled them up did they?

GINN2 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GINN2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 1:13am

You'd swear Stephen Kenny was Wenger or Guardiola the way some go on. He will have a very limited selection of players like McCarthy, maybe even more limited given how old the team is. You don't that much time with players to work things out like in club football 

eddiebro View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eddiebro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 1:48am
The hysteria of some pundits about capping Connell now looks like a disgrace. Getting more youngsters in with potential is exactly what this team needs. Nobody could possibly argue against the merits of giving Connolly game time tonight ahead of McClean who is past it (barring his involvement in Toulon). There’s at least 3/4 players in the u21s who should be in the senior team and being given game time. Now we face the daunting prospect of two legs against the Swiss with another year passing without the likes of Connolly, Connoll, O’Connor and Mullumby being given their chance to show their worth. You could also argue theres more players at under age level that deserve a chance
The Tribesman View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Tribesman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 4:18am

Gibraltar ate ranked 195 in the world!

Gobbled them up did they?
Rushed post on phone, corrected above!
Gerry Geary View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gerry Geary Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 5:21am

What a pass like a Hristo Stoichkov "de autrefois " that Jamie Mcclean curved to set up Brady diving header, eh ?

Gerry Geary View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gerry Geary Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 5:24am
Originally posted by eddiebro eddiebro wrote:

The hysteria of some pundits about capping Connell now looks like a disgrace. Getting more youngsters in with potential is exactly what this team needs. Nobody could possibly argue against the merits of giving Connolly game time tonight ahead of McClean who is past it (barring his involvement in Toulon). There’s at least 3/4 players in the u21s who should be in the senior team and being given game time. Now we face the daunting prospect of two legs against the Swiss with another year passing without the likes of Connolly, Connoll, O’Connor and Mullumby being given their chance to show their worth. You could also argue theres more players at under age level that deserve a chance
Spain is capping younsters for the sake of it every game. Check it out and they have some depth so it is a politics decision

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Huntacha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 5:55am
In the grand scheme of things, whether we played well or not will have no bearing on how we play against Switzerland and Denmark. The missed opportunity from the 2 games against Gibraltar is obviously the goal difference. 

However, it is alarming that our players have next to no imagination or creativity when the onus is on them to attack. Our combination play is predictable, and it really only comes in the form of a one-two between Coleman and the RW. The return pass is often so wide and in to the corner that it is very difficult to do something with, even though we expect him to make something from nothing like his goal at home to Georgia (however fortunate), or his assist for Hoolahan in Paris.

Bizzare that Doherty didn't play any minutes in the 2 games. But there are unrealistic expectations about what he'll be able to produce, in a similar manner to Coleman, playing in a team as poor as ours. If anything, his stock has risen further after sitting on the bench for the last 2 games.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 6:47am

State of the over reaction on here.

mmm

Only thing that was obvious after this game is that McClean should never play for us again. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The GerK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 6:55am

The other 3nations will take 6 points off Gibraltar more handily!
Our top position in the group is hugely overblown.

This. 
Everyone saying 'sure we have 10 points from four games'.
Let's be honest, we have four from two.
Everyone will beat Gibraltar by a far bigger margin than 3.0 over two legs
greenscene View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greenscene Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 7:44am

Matt Doherty played against Gibraltar the first day and was an embarrassment. He wouldn't make a massive difference at RB
No more so than McClean has been in each and every game in this group. McCarthy made a big song and dance about  Doherty not working against Gibraltar yet there is never ever any consequences to McCleans dire performance
It's 100% certain who our wingers will be against the Swiss. McClean who has been woeful for us recently, and Brady who is played out of position to accommodate Mcclean on the right wing, a position he has never even played half decent in. Really, the cautious, over reliability of players Mccarthy of 99, 00, rose his head tonight 
WWW.GREENSCENE.ME

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zizu Kilbane Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 8:05am
One thing that can't be denied is that the public REALLY want this team to do well. The crowd never got on the players backs despite the sh*te that was on offer. Maybe it's the McCarthy honeymoon period but we'd all be looking for blood of that was MON.

The performance will be forgotten about though by the time September comes around and we'll all delude ourselves again into thinking we can get a result against the Swiss. The cycle will repeat itself again. Following ireland is like being in an abusive relationship. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 8:20am

State of the over reaction on here.

mmm

Only thing that was obvious after this game is that McClean should never play for us again. 

He is absolutely brutal. That isn’t an overreaction, it’s a fact.

Barring a major injury crisis he should not be starting in an important game again. 

He was terrible against Denmark, but even worse tonight. Some of the Gibraltar players have better footballing brains and technique than him. 

It's not a fact, it's your opinion.

He used his brain a lot tonight by playing the ball safely. We are also well aware of McCleans technical ability.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 8:57am
Originally posted by rebelbrowser rebelbrowser wrote:

I think we passed the ball into touch about 8 times tonight. 

Enda Stevens one time tried to play a 5 yard ball up the line to McClean and instead just kicked it straight out of play
Stickittotheman View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Stickittotheman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jun 2019 at 9:36am

Originally posted by Stickittotheman Stickittotheman wrote:

Some over reaction on here. Embarrassing.

Beating a punch of part timers by an aggregate scoreline of 3-0 over 180 minutes and the level of performance from the majority of our players has been shameful to say the least.

Also, this bollox of people bigging up the fact that we have 10 points need a reality check because we won't keep getting away with poor performances and getting points to go along with it as we'll soon get found out unless we improve.

There is no doubt we need to improve but let's be honest 8 months ago we were completely dejected, in the doldrums. McCarthy came in and ok we labored to wins over Gibraltar and far from impressive. However I heard Liam Brady last night say we could possibly be sitting on 9 points but the way I see it we could be sitting on 7. Georgia at home was a potential banana skin despite their thrashing against Denmark they have given us some problems over the last few years. Away to Denmark was a big test ok we got luck but a draw was a very good result. We are sitting on 10 point done what was expected and got a bonus point. This was an end of season game against a belligerent team that put 11 men in their penalty box and defended it for their lives. They are not the no hopers they were a few years back either- you can see the wins in the Nations League have given them confidence. Let's just look forward to the Swiss game who are no great shakes- the North could well have beaten them in the play off in the last campaign and they conceded 3 goals in 10 mins against Denmark recently. So there is everything to play for.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 2425262728>