URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57036
Printed Date: 29 Mar 2024 at 1:09am

Topic: Ireland v Gibraltar match thread
Subject: Ireland v Gibraltar match thread
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 6:39am
Monday 10th June, Aviva Stadium, Dublin, KO 19.45

Got a feeling this will be 2 0 to Ireland. 

How have the ticket sales been going?

Posted By: Gabrieléire
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 6:53am
4-0. McGoldrick first goal. The lads will he fired up for this one. 

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 6:54am
Originally posted by Gabrieléire Gabrieléire wrote:

Although have a feeling Hogan will start. Surprised he was the choice off the bench rather than Maguire but he must be doing something right in training. Scored against the 21s tbf. 

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 6:59am

That would do nicely.

Posted By: giveittochristie
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 9:00am

Although have a feeling Hogan will start. Surprised he was the choice off the bench rather than Maguire but he must be doing something right in training. Scored against the 21s tbf. 
He's a better finisher and there was only a short time left, so it probably made sense to bring him on. I think Maguire would still be the more likely to start out of the two however.

I think we could play the same back 4 as last night and take out Whelan for Robinson to play off McGoldrick.

Personally i'd drop both wingers but cant see this happening, so I'd take O'Dowda or Doherty in for Brady

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 9:22am
Start Cullen to tie him down 

Posted By: Dalymount79
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 9:51am
I think we’ll win by a few - the 2nd game in back to back games are always hard for the minnows and then throw in the travel to / from Tbilisi.

A high tempo start should get a couple of 1st half goals and break their spirit.

Goals for McGoldrick, Robinson would be a bonus.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 10:00am
Cullen for Whelan
O Dowda for Brady
Robinson for McClean
Egan for Keogh 
Would be my hopes for the starting lineup 

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 10:03am
Originally posted by Dalymount79 Dalymount79 wrote:

I think we’ll win by a few - the 2nd game in back to back games are always hard for the minnows and then throw in the travel to / from Tbilisi.

FFS we are playing the rock....

Anything less than 3 goals would be a disgrace.
I’s keep the same back 5 for consistency but would make changes up front.
We should look to win by a big score to finish the season on a high.

Posted By: Dalymount79
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 10:11am

Originally posted by Dalymount79 Dalymount79 wrote:

FFS we are playing the rock....

Anything less than 3 goals would be a disgrace.
I’s keep the same back 5 for consistency but would make changes up front.
We should look to win by a big score to finish the season on a high.

Thats why I think we’ll win by a few.
Why so angry?

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 10:18am
Definitely time for a few changes and the chance to give others a go. 
The starters last night probably deserved their start after the Georgia performance, but we can’t keep that team forever based on one good match. 
Brady and McClean hopefully dropped on Monday 

Posted By: engpad
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 11:30am
Would definitely move Brady from the right. He doesn't have the pace out wide to have any real impact in that position. I would keep him in the team however, his quality on the ball isn't matched anywhere else in the squad. 

Randolph 
Coleman Keogh Duffy Stevens 
Cullen 
Hendrick Brady 
O'Dowda McGoldrick Robinson 

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 11:39am
MM will have a plan for this one.

It will be expansive and there may be a change or two. The speed of Robinson will be utilised. I’d also suspect to see a Scott Hogan again.

Under MM we rarely beat minows by more than 4 (Lichtenstein and Malta aside), so that might be instructive.

Easy win against an inferior team.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 12:30pm
It makes zero sense to play Whelan at home to the rock. Cullen should start in his place as the "defensive" midfielder but not necessarily sitting deep.

Cullen has a great engine and energy for the defensive role, but definitely has a more offensive outlook in his arsenal if required. 

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 12:46pm
I'd make 3 changes. Whelan, McClean and Brady out, Cullen, O'Dowda & Robinson in.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 12:53pm

I'd make 3 changes. Whelan, McClean and Brady out, Cullen, O'Dowda & Robinson in.

Would definitely go for those changes. 

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 12:55pm
I would definitely start Hendrick, he should be fresh.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 12:56pm

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 1:02pm

Cullen for Whelan
O Dowda for Brady
Robinson for McClean
Egan for Keogh 

Would be happy with those changes alright

Posted By: gally
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 1:07pm
After watching the under 21's.

By the way, that is Conor Ronan No. 10

Randolph
Coleman  Duffy  Masterson  Doherty
Cullen  Molumby
O'Dowda  Ronan  Curtis
Robinson

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 1:08pm

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 1:26pm
there’s a good few players in the squad who really need to get a goal for us, McGoldrick, Maguire, Hogan and Robinson. All won’t play, well all won’t start but this really should be the game two of them at least grab a goal I think. 

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 1:37pm
I would like to see talbot start though i'm very biased on that front.

Robinson and O'Dowda for Brady and McClean, wouldnt be opposed to seeing cullen in there too. Realistically we wont learn much about these players but it would be nice for them to keep gaining experience.

Would start Maguire see if he can get off the mark for Ireland

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 1:40pm
I know its gibraltar and the YBIG fans XI should beat them but i cant see there being too much experimentation lads. Still expect 7/8 of the 11 from last night to start.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 1:42pm
Yeah, I think Whelan and maybe one of the wingers will be rotated, but other than that I expect much the same.

Posted By: Gerry Geary
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 3:33pm
We should play 3 at the back

Gk mc Dermott.
Coleman duffy Cunningham or egan

Doherty hendrick hourihane mcclean
Brady mc goldrick o dowda

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 3:34pm
We must venture. There. They will park it up.

Posted By: cildaratown
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 3:37pm

Start Cullen to tie him down 

He’s 23 playing in League 1. Don’t think the English are going to call for him. 

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 3:42pm
Start Cullen because he deserves his chance, I wouldn't say it has anything much to do with tying him down.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 5:47pm
3-0 sounds about right .

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 8:03pm

I know its gibraltar and the YBIG fans XI should beat them but i cant see there being too much experimentation lads. Still expect 7/8 of the 11 from last night to start.
This.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 8:36pm
3-4-3 is the way to to. Full throttle from 0 to 90'. Mick must play the flair players with the fast player. 

Coleman Duffy Cunningham a great back 3

Posted By: skylarking
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 8:46pm

Cullen for Whelan
O Dowda for Brady
Robinson for McClean
Egan for Keogh 

This. Thought Keogh had a couple of shocking moments versus the Danes - waiting for the ball to come to him for the goal and the total misread which nearly let Braithwaite in. McClean was brainless and selfish, despite his obvious desire. Brady was woeful - he even fluffed the ball to McClean for his chance, luckily the Danish player was half asleep. 9 times out of 10 that pass would've been intercepted. 

O'Dowda is the perfect player to play against Gibraltar - he has impressed me a few times and I don't think he could've done much about the games he was anonymous in, they were poor team performances.

Robinson has always looked lively - should definitely be given a chance here.

I'd like to see more of Egan. Way ahead of Clarke and doesn't make me as nervous as Keogh

No complaints about Whelan's shift, but I agree Cullen should be given a go

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 8:53pm
Their under 21's were beaten 10-0 today by Belarus. Hopefully they call a few of them lads up to the senior squad!

Posted By: skylarking
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 8:55pm

Their under 21's were beaten 10-0 today by Belarus. Hopefully they call a few of them lads up to the senior squad!

I doubt many of the Belarus youngfellas have Irish grannies

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 9:35pm
We really should go out and give these a hiding. Odowda robinson on the wings. Apart from whelan who prkb wont play he may go again with brady and mcclean.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 9:49pm

We really should go out and give these a hiding. Odowda robinson on the wings. Apart from whelan who prkb wont play he may go again with brady and mcclean.
Yeah agree with this. It will not be anything like the away game. They are after getting beat 3-0 to Georgia too away and our confidence is up so hopefully the goals fly on. Even though it doesn’t mean much we will still be top of the group now until the double header at least if things go to plan tomorrow.

Posted By: Pauldaly1984
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 10:01pm
I’d play Doherty tomorrow before he gets pissed off and jacks it in.

Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 10:08pm
Originally posted by Pauldaly1984 Pauldaly1984 wrote:

I’d play Doherty tomorrow before he gets pissed off and jacks it in.

Jaysus he'll be really pissed off playing tomorrow as he'll be playing on his own 

Posted By: Ecumenical Matter
Date Posted: 08 Jun 2019 at 11:01pm
Time to give more lads a run. 

Perfect game for wingbacks.

Randolph

Coleman
Duffy
Egan

Doherty
Hendrick
Cullen
Hourihane
Stevens

Robinson
McGoldrick

Posted By: hoover
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 11:48am
Not sure where to stick this so will put it in here..

Any idea of anywhere close to the Aviva I can drop a bag for a lock of hours while I head to the game?

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 11:59am
Originally posted by hoover hoover wrote:

Any idea of anywhere close to the Aviva I can drop a bag for a lock of hours while I head to the game?

Slattery's pub?

Posted By: PaConnors
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 12:02pm
Originally posted by hoover hoover wrote:

Are you heading back to the city afterwards? There are lockers in Jervis SC. 

Posted By: royal rover
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 12:12pm
The sandy Mount Hotel operate a bag hold tent outside the hotel, it will cost you obviously but its right beside the aviva

royal rover

Posted By: darman28
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 12:23pm
TBH I can not see Mick ringing in a whole lot of changes for this game. Maybe Cullen for Whelan and maybe for Brady, that will be it. I say it would have been Judge or Brady if he didn't get injuried because of his set piece as Mick seems to want lads two lads in the team with a right (Hourihane) & left foot (Brady/Judge) set piece
 I think he will keep the same system too of the 4-3-3 to keep thing similar.
...............Randolph................
Coleman..Duffy..Keogh..Stevens
................Cullen....................
......Hendrick....Hourihane.......
Robinson....................McClean
...............McGoldrick..............
Can see early subs tho. Egan getting half an hour and O'Dowda, Hogan or Maguire getting a good run too.

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 12:42pm
Does Hourihane take them with his right? I can only recall him hitting them with his left.

Posted By: djhegzy
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 12:43pm
Hourihane and brady are left foot, and judge is right foot, as per the assist for the goal

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 2:22pm
Can't see too many changes being made, I can see Doherty coming in for Brady and possibly Robinson or O'Dowda for McClean, although the second one unlikely.

Brady simply can't start again due to that performance against Denmark.

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 2:45pm
Brady was miles from the worst against Denmark, he was actually playing reasonably when he was replaced. Seems to be another guy who has come to be lambasted no matter what he does.

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 2:46pm

Brady was miles from the worst against Denmark, he was actually playing reasonably when he was replaced. Seems to be another guy who has come to be lambasted no matter what he does.

No he was poor.  Defo wasnt playing reasonably well that for sure.

Posted By: darman28
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 3:09pm
Ya sorry about the mix up lads, I was wrong. I thought Hourihane was right footed for some reason.

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 3:27pm

Na the fall guy always comes back to Whelan.

We have seen how well Brady can play for Ireland circa 2016 - he's not played anywhere near that level since. He shouldn't be starting and let him play his way back into the team.

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 4:01pm

We have seen how well Brady can play for Ireland circa 2016 - he's not played anywhere near that level since. He shouldn't be starting and let him play his way back into the team.

The fall guys in this team are most definitely Brady, Hendrick, and to some extent Hourihane. Ward, McGeady, and McCarthy have been victims of it in the past too. Most posters have decided that they've had a sh*te game before the game has even kicked off, and they literally have to do something extraordinary to be given even the most meagre credit. 

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 4:04pm
Thats hendrick now defo. Not by me though.

Posted By: Conan
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 4:21pm
What's remarkable is Hendrick always seems to come out of matches with a 6/10 rating seemingly because having cunningly steered clear of any footballing going on nobody can remember him doing anything wrong. I think Jeff's a lot smarter than he looks having sussed out exactly the best way to cruise through a potentially 100 cap career with Ireland without breaking a sweat. 
At least Brady tries to contribute even if things don't always come off. He's the unluckiest player actually, getting a long term injury when he was flying for Burnley and having been condemned to most of his career playing totally out of position. He needs to be swapped over to the left, lose McClean and bring in a proper winger on the right from now on

Posted By: Lansdown Roar
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 4:22pm
Will we get 40k tomorrow at this?

They've only gone and done it

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 4:22pm

The fall guys in this team are most definitely Brady, Hendrick, and to some extent Hourihane. Ward, McGeady, and McCarthy have been victims of it in the past too. Most posters have decided that they've had a sh*te game before the game has even kicked off, and they literally have to do something extraordinary to be given even the most meagre credit. 

Yeah I agree with that.

I just think Brady can be better, I don't think himself Hourihane or McClean played particularly well.

I actually thought Hendricks did alright myself.

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 4:23pm
Joking about Jazzy Jeff aside, I do understand his fitness and pressing are beneficial without the ball, but he is of no use on it and often he is  hindrance. I don't think we can play him and Hourihane together as both go missing for long periods of games. Of the two, if I had to choose, Hourihane would be the one. His work rate seems to have improved and offers far more on the ball.
Both are short of the level required, but Hourihane has continued to improve throughout his career. He may well continue to do so in the EPL.

Posted By: Pauldaly1984
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 5:16pm

Doherty you seem to over exaggerate everything. You said earlier you’d be surprised if Stevens made one successful pass

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 5:46pm
Originally posted by Pauldaly1984 Pauldaly1984 wrote:

Doherty you seem to over exaggerate everything. You said earlier you’d be surprised if Stevens made one successful pass

I have no issue with brady but if you think he played well the other night then more power to ya. 

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 5:53pm
He is not a right sided player and never, ever will be. It is stupidity that Mick has dismissed playing Doherty in front of Coleman, based on 45 minutes in Gibraltar, but will continue to persist with Brady there.
Brady and McClean can not be on the pitch at the same time. It is a simple choice between them.

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 5:58pm
                  Randolph
Doherty   Duffy   Egan  Stevens
O'Dowda  Cullen  Hourihane  Curtis
             Robinson  Maguire

No need for a three man midfield at home to Gibraltar. 

We need the likes of O'Dowda, Robinson, Maguire, Curtis and Hogan used to the idea of scoring at international level. 

Egan will take Keogh's place if he can get regular football in the PL this year so deserves a chance. 

Posted By: Stickittotheman
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 6:09pm

Joking about Jazzy Jeff aside, I do understand his fitness and pressing are beneficial without the ball, but he is of no use on it and often he is  hindrance. I don't think we can play him and Hourihane together as both go missing for long periods of games. Of the two, if I had to choose, Hourihane would be the one. His work rate seems to have improved and offers far more on the ball.
Both are short of the level required, but Hourihane has continued to improve throughout his career. He may well continue to do so in the EPL.

The problem is though- who replaces him? We are far from spoiled for choice in that area and with Arter doing pretty much nothing when given the chance and James McCarthy seemingly forever injured it is an area where we struggle. Hendrick is decent- he has legs and some creativity at times. He as you say does offer a good presence with his pressing of the game. I would be more concerned with replacing Whelan at the moment to be honest. Hendrick is a 6/10 player with the odd 5 and the odd 7 or rarely 8. But we have little choice at the minute 

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 6:27pm
Originally posted by Stickittotheman Stickittotheman wrote:

The problem is though- who replaces him? We are far from spoiled for choice in that area and with Arter doing pretty much nothing when given the chance and James McCarthy seemingly forever injured it is an area where we struggle. Hendrick is decent- he has legs and some creativity at times. He as you say does offer a good presence with his pressing of the game. I would be more concerned with replacing Whelan at the moment to be honest. Hendrick is a 6/10 player with the odd 5 and the odd 7 or rarely 8. But we have little choice at the minute 
I agree and have made the same argument elsewhere. Cullen is the only other midfielder in the squad and there aren't many screaming to get in. I would probably have Arter as the lesser of two evils, but he has done f**k all too!
Which is why Mick deserves a huge amount of credit. Sure, we rode our luck, but getting a 1-1 draw away to a team with an excellent midfield, is an achievement. 

I would argue that Hendrick is a 4 or 5 out of ten player, with the odd 6. I think the last time he impressed me was against Sweden in Paris and I am not sure I saw much in him before then either. The biggest problem is answering what sort of player he is. He isn't an attacking midfielder as his passing is poor and he has two goals in nearly 50 caps. He isn't a defensive midfielder as he doesn't have the positional sense or concentration. He has the fitness of a box-to-box midfielder but doesn't seem to have the application. He has occasional flashes of talent, but they are few and far between.
The only reason he seems to be picked, apart form the lack of alternatives,  is his fitness and physicality. It seems to be why Dyche likes him and I am guessing it is the same with McCarthy.

Posted By: ACTHUNG BABY
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 6:33pm
Originally posted by Lansdown Roar Lansdown Roar wrote:

Will we get 40k tomorrow at this?
Depends how many freebies are given away.

Posted By: Stimpy
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 6:44pm
Randolph
Coleman Duffy Keogh Stevens
Hendrick Cullen Hourihane
Robinson McGoldrick McClean

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 6:47pm
You know what, Mick could POSSIBLY give Brady another run to help him get his match fitness on track.

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 6:54pm

You know what, Mick could POSSIBLY give Brady another run to help him get his match fitness on track.
Perfectly understandable, as long as it is on the left.

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 7:16pm
Originally posted by Mikeire Mikeire wrote:

Doherty, Cullen, Robinson need to get some time on the pitch.

We already know that Whelan, mcclean and Brady are pony
How is Whelan pony? McClean and Brady have been poor in the last few games for us but I wouldn’t say they are ‘pony’ either. You are right that those should start to give them more game time for us but why bother with the stupid remark?

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 7:34pm

Match fitness for a player who's season is literally about end on the final whistle?

Won't have another game for a month, or competitive game for 2 months. 

Brady should be benched for someone else to get a go. 

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 7:39pm

Match fitness for a player who's season is literally about end on the final whistle?

Won't have another game for a month, or competitive game for 2 months. 

Brady should be benched for someone else to get a go. 

I'm not advocating his inclusion. Mick is loyal to his players and will perhaps try help Robbie put the wrongs right and get some confidence running through him.

Personally i want to see Robinson or O'Dowda play but we shall see. 

Posted By: davekoolhill
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 9:22pm
I'd like to try...

Randolph

Coleman Duffy Egan       Stevens

Cullen      Hourihane 

Doherty             Robinson          O'Dowda

McGoldrick 

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/DaveOGrady1" rel="nofollow - DaveOGrady1

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 9:31pm

Doherty, Cullen, Robinson need to get some time on the pitch.

We already know that Whelan, mcclean and Brady are pony
How is Whelan pony? McClean and Brady have been poor in the last few games for us but I wouldn’t say they are ‘pony’ either. You are right that those should start to give them more game time for us but why bother with the stupid remark?

Our midfield consistently gives the ball away, is outpassed, has far less possesion than even so called lesser teams. Opposition easily find space and regain possesion in dangerous areas, midfield doesn’t close down players or tackle very well and all of them are senior members of the team.

And you are say they’re playing ok?

So they are all ‘pony’ whatever the gel that means because they supposedly give the ball away yeah. Have you watched the last 2 games? Our midfield has greatly improved. Whelan has been solid in both. Never said McClean and Brady have been playing ok have I? They have given us great moments on the past but have been poor recently which I admitted. Still no need to label them as being pony especially whelan who has pulled us out of a hole in the defensive midfield position as it’s an area we’ve been lacking in

Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 10:21pm
2:11 - Whelan goes to block the man and Hourhine and Hendricks don't track the runner.
You could argue that Hendricks should be tracking that man however thus forcing Whelan further up field, however you don't see the full context of that move in the clip.

Would agree on 4:25 in that he should have been more reactive and tracked his man better.

Posted By: counterlock
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 11:31pm
Does anyone have a spare ticket in 523 direction? The nephew is going to his first game and I want to swap with him so he's closer to the pitch

Posted By: GINN2
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2019 at 11:59pm
Wouldn't make much changes tbh. A team needs continuity and time spent playing together.

Only change I would make is Brady out - because he's useless. Bring in O'Dowda or Robinson.

Think the criticism McClean gets is uncalled for. Don't think he have the ball away once Friday.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 12:36am
The improvement in the team is only slight, but I dunno can we expect too much more given the playing pool and a manager who is still inherently conservative, albeit less so than MON was. There were gaps between the lines as many have pointed out, especially in the first half, where it seemed that Denmarks 2 wide players in their 4231 were between Stevens & McClean and Coleman & Brady respectively and thus got plenty of ball in those spaces.  

Our wide forwards kind of got to grips with that by dropping back, but that just meant they were further isolated from McGoldrick when we did have the ball. A CM trio of Whelan, Hendrick & Hourihane isn't going to create a whole lot through the middle, Hendrick is the only one of them with anything resembling a bit of pace for starters, so it becomes dependant on the wide players to provide that support, and the 2 picked are sorely lacking in that department for a good while now. 

You can't talk about ball retention and then pick McClean, those 2 things are nearly incompatible. Brady is struggling too, though he did improve a bit in the 10 mins before he was called ashore. It doesn't make sense that we are trying to shoehorn 2 out of form wingers that can only play one position into the team, but yet dismiss our form player of the season on the basis of 45 mins on a terrible pitch in a gale force wind. 

McGoldrick and his ability to hold up the ball is pivotal to the way Mick has chosen to play, but he (or Long, Hogan, Robinson, whoever) has to get more support from either one of the CMs or both wingers. He was dropping awfully deep to get the ball in the 2nd half, something we have seen Walters & Murphy do in the past, and the better teams will deal with it easily enough.  It is still a team lacking pace though, and I'd like to see what Robinson could do over a full game, even on the wing. 

Whelan (not because he did anything particularly wrong, just that we shouldn't need an out & out DM at home V Gib) should be replaced by an attacking midfielder (or the closest thing we have to one) for that game, Mick seemingly indicated Judge was in the frame for it, could O'Dowda do that job ? Or Cullen, from those who have seen actually enough of him to think he could do it ? 

Failing that, pick a 2nd striker with McGoldrick dropping deeper, he seems to do that naturally anyway. I'd go for Robinson ahead of Hogan or Maguire simply because he is the fastest of them, though the fact Hogan came on ahead of him in Denmark might be an indication of Mick's thinking. 

Posted By: Luis Amor Rodriguez
Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 3:41am

http://hofoot.veuclips.com/player/html/mugXK5vFLs?popup=yes&autoplay=1" rel="nofollow - http://hofoot.veuclips.com/player/html/mugXK5vFLs?popup=yes&autoplay=1

8 minute highlights showing Whelan on a few occasions costing the team vs Denmark 

2:11 Whelan should be marking Poulsen who is free in front of the back two. Completely out of position. Can see this very well at 2:30 too. (Listen to commentators)

4:25 Whelan found guilty ball watching (as usual) and really not marking anyone. Should have picked up braithweite who had the chance. Should be at least picking up someone.

He does this in every game. He’s a terrible player.

This is unfair.

Whelan's brief was to mark their only arguably world-class player, Erikson, out of the game.  

He did a more than creditable job of that.  

The inevitable consequence of that job was that he would be pulled out of the anchor role by Erikson, leaving space in behind.  The team and management would have been aware of that risk and tried to react accordingly.

Braithwaite or Poulson coming in off the wings is on Hendrick/Hourihane, the full backs or the centre-backs - Whelan can't mark all three. 

In the event it was better that the likes of Braithwaite or Poulson had those chances (and wasted them) and not Erikson. Shows how good a job Whelan did keeping Erikson fairly anonymous.  Fair play.  Clap

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 4:32am
With a few players there like James Mccarthy and Arter we can have a chance. Darragh lenihan should be whelans understudy

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 5:35am

Whelan (not because he did anything particularly wrong, just that we shouldn't need an out & out DM at home V Gib) should be replaced by an attacking midfielder (or the closest thing we have to one) for that game, Mick seemingly indicated Judge was in the frame for it, could O'Dowda do that job ? Or Cullen, from those who have seen actually enough of him to think he could do it ? 

Against lesser opposition, and certainly a team like Gibraltar, Cullen should be able to do this role, and should be given an opportunity to do so tonight.. Obviously it remains to be seen if he could do it against a team like Georgia, never mind another level above like Denmark.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 8:41am
Originally posted by Gerry Geary Gerry Geary wrote:

Darragh lenihan should be whelans understudy

But he is a defender?

Posted By: xRedmanLFCx
Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 9:05am
Randolph
Coleman Duffy Keogh Doherty
O'Dowda Hendrick Hourihane Brady
McGoldrick Maguire

"We will be galvanised and motivated, and we will bring thousands to this tournament." - MON

Posted By: rebelbrowser
Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 9:18am
Originally posted by GINN2 GINN2 wrote:

Wouldn't make much changes tbh. A team needs continuity and time spent playing together.

Only change I would make is Brady out - because he's useless. Bring in O'Dowda or Robinson.

Think the criticism McClean gets is uncalled for. Don't think he have the ball away once Friday.

Didn't beat his man or get a cross in once either as I recall. Hugely limited player. Definitely need to at least look at alternatives tonight - as close to a friendly as Mick will get.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 9:22am
Would like to see Robinson start.

Posted By: Stickittotheman
Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 9:30am
Would like to see a few changes tonight and 2 up top. 4-3-1-2.

Randolph

Coleman
Duffy
Egan
Stevens

Houirhane
Cullen
Hendrick

Robinson

McGoldrick
Hogan

Posted By: Linzark
Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 10:46am
Should be winning this comfortably. Confident we will

Rep Of Ireland 3-0 Gibraltar

O'Dowda 16'
Robinson 27'
McGoldrick 56'

My team would be

Randolph

Doherty
Duffy
Egan
Stevens

O'Dowda
Cullen
Hourihane
McClean

McGoldrick

Robinson

Linzark

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 10:47am
I’d really like a few forwards to get off the mark tonight. MCGoldrick in particular.

Posted By: royal rover
Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 11:08am
We need hogan / McGoldrick/ Robinson to start scoring , none of these lads have ever scored for us.

royal rover

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 11:11am
TBH I don't care if Randolph scores or if it's an own goals, yes it would be nice for the strikers to get on the score sheet but the important part is that we win the game.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 11:13am
Originally posted by Luis Amor Rodriguez Luis Amor Rodriguez wrote:

http://hofoot.veuclips.com/player/html/mugXK5vFLs?popup=yes&autoplay=1" rel="nofollow - http://hofoot.veuclips.com/player/html/mugXK5vFLs?popup=yes&autoplay=1

8 minute highlights showing Whelan on a few occasions costing the team vs Denmark 

2:11 Whelan should be marking Poulsen who is free in front of the back two. Completely out of position. Can see this very well at 2:30 too. (Listen to commentators)

4:25 Whelan found guilty ball watching (as usual) and really not marking anyone. Should have picked up braithweite who had the chance. Should be at least picking up someone.

He does this in every game. He’s a terrible player.

This is unfair.

Whelan's brief was to mark their only arguably world-class player, Erikson, out of the game.  

He did a more than creditable job of that.  

The inevitable consequence of that job was that he would be pulled out of the anchor role by Erikson, leaving space in behind.  The team and management would have been aware of that risk and tried to react accordingly.

Braithwaite or Poulson coming in off the wings is on Hendrick/Hourihane, the full backs or the centre-backs - Whelan can't mark all three. 

In the event it was better that the likes of Braithwaite or Poulson had those chances (and wasted them) and not Erikson. Shows how good a job Whelan did keeping Erikson fairly anonymous.  Fair play.  Clap

Correct, that should be obvious!

Lenihan has played as a defensive midfielder for Blackburn a lot and, if I remember right, has done so for Ireland in a friendly. He would want to improve an awful lot.

Posted By: eddiebro
Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 11:23am
Be good to see Cullen get a game and hopefully he’ll be at least a squad player at West Ham next season. Can’t lie to ourselves and act like league one players are good enough to compete at international level. Barring young players getting game time but at 23 I don’t count Cullen as young in his career

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 11:25am

TBH I don't care if Randolph scores or if it's an own goals, yes it would be nice for the strikers to get on the score sheet but the important part is that we win the game.

Agreed.

However, we currently have an available slate of strikers who haven’t scored a single goal between them. Even Gibraltar can’t boast that. It’s a confidence thing.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 11:26am
It is a waste starting Duffy at the back tonight. Leave him up there for 90 minutes.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 11:33am

Agreed.

However, we currently have an available slate of strikers who haven’t scored a single goal between them. Even Gibraltar can’t boast that. It’s a confidence thing.

I agree too, of course I'd like to see the likes of McGoldrick score as I think his performances the last 3 games have deserved a goal.

I actually think he'll score tonight maybe Hogan too.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 11:58am
Of course he has quiet games, but Whelan’s job was to make sure he had a quiet game. The problem was when Poulsen started dropping deeper and had a free role. 

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 12:00pm

Agreed.

I agree too, of course I'd like to see the likes of McGoldrick score as I think his performances the last 3 games have deserved a goal.

I actually think he'll score tonight maybe Hogan too.

I’d really like to see that. I often feel strikers just need to get off the mark, and it really can help. McGoldrick made some excellent chances against Georgia, and he should have the measure of Gibraltar. Ditto Hogan.

Posted By: howieb
Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 12:29pm
4 Nil McGoldrick FG 

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 1:07pm
If we dont see a few changes in this game then when will we. Barring injuries mccarthy is practically saying this is the team. Like it or lump it. If he plays the same team again those subs better be getting worried.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 1:13pm
We won’t.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2019 at 1:30pm

We won’t.

prob wont get many but like i say if we can't do it against gibraltar then when can ya. no reason coleman, whelan, brady and mcclean could not be rested tonight. id like to see any of these two..

..........................Randolph.......................
Doherty.......Duffy..........Keogh.............Stevens
Robinson.....Hendrick......Hourihane........O'Dowda
...............Maguire................McGoldrick.............

or

..........................Randolph.......................
Doherty.......Duffy..........Keogh.............Stevens
Robinson.....Hendrick.....Cullen......Hourihane........O'Dowda
...................................McGoldrick................................