New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Swiss Away - Oct 15th - Geneva - Travel & Accom

Swiss Away - Oct 15th - Geneva - Travel & Accom

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 3637383940 66>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote corkery Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Aug 2019 at 2:38am
Anyone for the Diplomatic hotel?

Charlton's Child View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Charlton's Child Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2019 at 12:29pm
Invoice Email received 
Fionnan View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fionnan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2019 at 6:53pm
Has anyone not gotten an email yet?
0325422 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 0325422 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2019 at 12:17am
Anyone flying into lyon on 14th? How are ye getting to Geneva? 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2019 at 1:47am
There should be a bus at 17:30 from Lyon Perrache station to Geneva that should only be €7. It doesn't seem to have gone on sale yet but basically every day there is a bus at that time and it should hopefully be that cheap. I think it only goes up on sale about 30 days out. There are some buses showing the day before and after but I don't see one on Monday 14 October yet; hopefully there'll be one closer to the time.

If you land at 15:05 on the direct flight from Dublin, you'll have time to make it into Perrache station. It takes about 45m, albeit it'll cost you about €16, what with the tram costing about that. Take the tram from the airport to Vaulx-en-Velin La Soie, change there to metro line A, and it'll take you to Perrache.

Assuming you get onto the tram at 16:00 at the latest, you'll have more than enough time to catch the bus. It only takes 2h15m which is a little slower than the train but far cheaper. The half six train is about €30.... so if you miss the 17:30 bus, at least you have a backup plan. There is even a half eight train. Be warned though: the train goes from Part Dieu station, not Perrache, so if you miss the bus, you'll need to get around to Part Dieu. Anyway, budget it costing you between €25 and €50 from Lyon to Geneva. About €25 if you get a €7 bus fare plus the cost of the airport tram in Lyon, about €50 if you have to book the train and don't get a bus ticket.

The train tickets cannot sell out as it is not compulsory reservation. What I'd do is wait until closer to the time, see if the bus shows up on ouibus.com, if it does, great, book it, and if it doesn't, wait a bit longer, then if there is definitely no bus, just get your train tickets a day or two before on oui.sncf. You'll need to book from Lyon Part Dieu to Geneve and then get the direct train at either half six or half eight; if you do get the train, don't try booking it from the airport (that is, don't try buying tickets online from Lyon airport to Geneve), because it'll probably try to take you a longer, stupider, more expensive route. Just book Lyon Part Dieu to Geneve & fork up for the tram ticket from the airport in to Lyon city centre.

Edited by SuperDave84 - 13 Aug 2019 at 1:51am
0325422 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 0325422 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2019 at 9:35am
Fair play too ya that's brilliant 
irish_major View Drop Down
Bookie Slayer

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irish_major Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2019 at 12:45pm
Anyone have any connection to the Irish bars to see if they'd do any deals for us?

Are bags of cans acceptable over there?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2019 at 12:54pm
Originally posted by 0325422 0325422 wrote:

Fair play too ya that's brilliant 

Just to be clear, you will need to buy tickets in advance on ouibus.com to get them for that price.

If you end up getting the train, you don't need to buy those tickets in advance, as they should all be the same price.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Salzburglilly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2019 at 1:28pm
Booked up,70€ return from Vienna with Easyjet.
cliftonville1879 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cliftonville1879 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Aug 2019 at 12:08am
This a bit off topic but wondering if anyone has ever had a layover in Frankfurt? I fly to Prague next week and the route is Dublin-Frankfurt-Prague. All with Lufthansa and all made on the one booking. The only problem is the layover in Frankfurt is only 45 minutes. Will this be enough?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Aug 2019 at 2:32pm
Originally posted by cliftonville1879 cliftonville1879 wrote:

This a bit off topic but wondering if anyone has ever had a layover in Frankfurt? I fly to Prague next week and the route is Dublin-Frankfurt-Prague. All with Lufthansa and all made on the one booking. The only problem is the layover in Frankfurt is only 45 minutes. Will this be enough?

It is a guaranteed connection and they'll make sure they get you through if the first flight is on time. Just make sure the staff on the plane know about the connection and they should help. If it is very tight, they might even have someone on the arrival gate to get you there on time. All else fails, they'll put you on the next flight to Prague.

Edited by SuperDave84 - 16 Aug 2019 at 2:32pm
williemc83 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote williemc83 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Aug 2019 at 4:39pm

Originally posted by cliftonville1879 cliftonville1879 wrote:

It is a guaranteed connection and they'll make sure they get you through if the first flight is on time. Just make sure the staff on the plane know about the connection and they should help. If it is very tight, they might even have someone on the arrival gate to get you there on time. All else fails, they'll put you on the next flight to Prague.

Exactly what Dave has said. They'll likely fast track you through once you make them aware
mallon12 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mallon12 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2019 at 11:59pm
Anyone know which seat numbers are better? Assume you’ll not know till we get there .

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2019 at 7:06am
Originally posted by mallon12 mallon12 wrote:

Anyone know which seat numbers are better? Assume you’ll not know till we get there .
vast Majority just sit where they want, seat numbers mean little to nothing on away trips despite the best efforts of a few seat nazis..

Edited by Sham157 - 19 Aug 2019 at 7:07am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2019 at 12:42pm

vast Majority just sit where they want, seat numbers mean little to nothing on away trips despite the best efforts of a few seat nazis..

I wonder do these lads have a load of money and gold in Switzerland too

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote corkery Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2019 at 6:27pm

It's the last game. They'll all be out. Ten minutes into the game 'you are in my seat.'

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ConorMac77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2019 at 6:50pm

It's the last game. They'll all be out. Ten minutes into the game 'you are in my seat.'...
...while ignoring the scores of empty seats nearby. LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gufct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Aug 2019 at 9:16am
Hi Tommy, thanks for getting in touch and sorry for only just getting back to you now.  There are a couple of expat pubs in Geneva.  The two Irish ones are Mulligans and Charly O'Neills both of which are owned by a man from Roscommon nad living here in Genvea.  Mulligans is more city centre whereas Charly's is 3 tram stops from the main train station.  Then there are Pickwicks, Lady Godiva and The Duke.   All the prices for a pint are much the same but if you stick to a local larger like Cardinal then it might be a franc or two cheaper.  A pint of Guinness is about chf9.70. Bar Du Nord near the stadium it's chf9.00. Lord Jim pub it's chf6 between 5pm-7pm and 8 or 8.50 there after.  Stay away from the top shelf otherwise you will be paying chf16 for a whiskey/vodka coke etc. Hope this helps.

€1 = €1.08
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 3637383940 66>