How much do you stick in a wedding card?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 1819202122 33>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2019 at 4:59pm

We didn't put anything on the invites about gifts or say to anyone what we wanted.
Its the norm to give a present and its usually money in a card.

Eh, I’m not sure I agree it’s the norm. I have always tried to avoid it when possible as I prefer to give a gift which will be useful
Going forward.

Examples pls ??

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BrendanD88 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2019 at 5:13pm

From letter bombs to wedding invites: why Nordies are scared of the postie. A new Channel 5 documentary on the way.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Het-field Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2019 at 5:17pm

We didn't put anything on the invites about gifts or say to anyone what we wanted.
Its the norm to give a present and its usually money in a card.

Eh, I’m not sure I agree it’s the norm. I have always tried to avoid it when possible as I prefer to give a gift which will be useful
Going forward.

Examples pls ??

All Clad Cooking Equipment.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2019 at 5:18pm
It's like daytime television in here. Ye will be going around a small mansion in Somerset with Dion Dublin shortly.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lenny82 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2019 at 8:42pm
Would always go at least €200 per couple. Really good friend/family would get more. €200 per couple was pretty much what I got. 1 little f**k have me nothing and then didn't even invite me to his there recently. Must have known I was dying to get my own back!

Going to Welsh cousins wedding in Bristol this summer. Heard the Brits are a lot tighter with how much they stick in card.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LO SCIENZIATO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2019 at 9:25pm

Would always go at least €200 per couple. Really good friend/family would get more. €200 per couple was pretty much what I got. 1 little f**k have me nothing and then didn't even invite me to his there recently. Must have known I was dying to get my own back!

Going to Welsh cousins wedding in Bristol this summer. Heard the Brits are a lot tighter with how much they stick in card.

The Brits I had at my wedding were very generous. See kettle post a few pages back LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Green Devil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2019 at 9:32pm
I'm groomsman at my best mates wedding on Saturday, roughly spent €400 on watches for himself and the missus.

They'll get enough cash off other guests, so decided to give them gifts instead.

Edited by Green Devil - 18 Apr 2019 at 9:32pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sid waddell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2019 at 10:49pm
In answer to the original question, 3 inches. Any more and you're at risk of accidentally leaving a hair inside it.

Edited by sid waddell - 18 Apr 2019 at 10:50pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eireland Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2019 at 11:00pm
€200 per couple 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2019 at 11:01pm

€200 per couple 
When polygamous relationships become the norm, Ireland will be declared bankrupt!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Apr 2019 at 11:51pm

We put on the invites we don’t want nuttin....

A double negative, I like that. Cryptic for the guests 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Apr 2019 at 6:35am

€200 per couple 

Every lad with their spreadsheets will tell you that’s not the average.

I’d say it’s closer to €100 per couple.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Apr 2019 at 8:41am

€200 per couple 

No chance. Unless you're a tight git. You want to be paying for your meal and adding some. 150 - 200 per couple. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Apr 2019 at 8:45am

€200 per couple 

100 per couple?! LOL 

At least 100 if you're going on your own. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Drumcondra 69er Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Apr 2019 at 8:59am

€200 per couple 

100 per couple?! LOL 

€100 on your tobler. €150 / €200 per couple depending on how close you are. CAn understand people making exceptions if there's travel abroad etc. Didn't get anything off a few people when we got married and that was fine too. It's not compulsory and they were invited because we wanted them there, not becuase we wanted a few quid.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Apr 2019 at 9:08am

€200 per couple 

100 per couple?! LOL 

€100 on your tobler. €150 / €200 per couple depending on how close you are. CAn understand people making exceptions if there's travel abroad etc. Didn't get anything off a few people when we got married and that was fine too. It's not compulsory and they were invited because we wanted them there, not becuase we wanted a few quid.

You've a good attitude about it but it's desperately poor form to go to someone's wedding and not make some effort to get them something even if money is tight. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Apr 2019 at 9:36am

€200 per couple 

100 per couple?! LOL 

I can tell you’re not married. I’m going to manage your expectations when you do get married - you won’t get near 100 per adult head on average.
The spreadsheet lads will back this up! 

People are invited as you want to share your special day with them. Presents are nice but it’s totally not the purpose of inviting them.
But it’s just human nature to check and compare who give you what.Wink

Also as per JB, there are other factors, type of wedding, travel involved, how big were the stag/hen do’s.

Your mates will give you 100 each no problem.
Auld people and young wans won’t and shouldn’t. 
Then there is the cavan and Monaghan lot! You need to watch the hotel cutlery with them.

Edited by Zinedine Kilbane 110 - 19 Apr 2019 at 9:54am

JUICEBOMB View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JUICEBOMB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Apr 2019 at 9:41am
I'd say €150 would be the norm if going as a couple...if traveling abroad I'd be reluctant to put anything in a card depending on how close your are to the people getting married 
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 1819202122 33>