Michael Obafemi

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 979899100101 126>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fozz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jun 2022 at 12:45pm
Don't think we'll see Michael on Tuesday, and we'll be the poorer because of it.

Funny how a lot of the talk about the squad and poor performances was directed at us not having the players, and then we play our best striker and he wins the game.

By playing Obafemi in a two with Parrott, and Molumby in there ahead of Hendrick, we instantly looked a better team, with Knight deeper also.
Begs the question why Hendrick played out two full 90 mins but hopefully the penny has dropped with Kenny.

Back to Obafemi, it's clear now our best forward option is himself and Troy.
But when he is out, hopefully we can have a fit and able Idah ready also.
I'm not sure what this does to Ogbene and Robinson, but the gap in class between them and Troy/Michael is there to see.

In my mind, our attacking two should be primarily from Obafemi/Parrott/Idah, with Ogbene and Robinson (and then Hogan and the rest) down the order.

Even with Robinson's purple-patches, I feel we have seen the best of what he can do, but the three main lads have higher ceilings, if they can stay fit (which seems a big ask for two of them).

Edited by Fozz - 12 Jun 2022 at 12:46pm

Fitz View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fitz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jun 2022 at 2:31pm
it was ridiculous and nonsensical that he didn’t start the previous two games - it was so blatant that we needed him. Thank f**k that Kenny finally saw sense. 
Strazdas View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Strazdas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jun 2022 at 2:34pm
Originally posted by Fitz Fitz wrote:

it was ridiculous and nonsensical that he didn’t start the previous two games - it was so blatant that we needed him. Thank f**k that Kenny finally saw sense. 

But he might not have scored against Armenia or Ukraine. He benefitted yesterday from an Irish team that was well set up and creating chances. Even if he'd started the first two games, we may not have seen a different result.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jun 2022 at 2:47pm

People were giving out about his performance against Armenia. Now I would have started him too based on his club form but even yesterday he could have easily went out right instead of passing to Troy (which he said he thought about) and we wouldn't be talking about him in the same way today. Troy making the run deserves an equal share of the credit but then Troy couldn't get going in Armenia. 

Basically, hindsight is 20/20! But I think we all agree that Troy and Obafemi have shown us enough in the 55 minutes that they played yesterday that they should start together again for Tuesday (providing both fit).

Edited by t_rAndy - 12 Jun 2022 at 2:48pm
Given's zimmerframe View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Given's zimmerframe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jun 2022 at 7:03pm
the ball for his goal moved the same way the old plastic "cup champion" balls used to move when you wapped them

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jun 2022 at 7:09pm
Originally posted by Given's zimmerframe Given's zimmerframe wrote:

the ball for his goal moved the same way the old plastic "cup champion" balls used to move when you wapped them

Soccer Special

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jun 2022 at 7:44pm
Nobody in history ever hit one of those balls that sweetly 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MayoMark Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jun 2022 at 8:27pm

Nobody in history ever hit one of those balls that sweetly 
. Speak for yourself 
notpropaganda73 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote notpropaganda73 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2022 at 7:24am
The pass was absolutely class, probably the best assist I've seen live other than maybe Wes against Austria in Vienna.

Fingers crossed he's fit for Tuesday 
TBWRA View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TBWRA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2022 at 9:50am
Originally posted by Given's zimmerframe Given's zimmerframe wrote:

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2022 at 10:26am

People were giving out about his performance against Armenia. Now I would have started him too based on his club form but even yesterday he could have easily went out right instead of passing to Troy (which he said he thought about) and we wouldn't be talking about him in the same way today. Troy making the run deserves an equal share of the credit but then Troy couldn't get going in Armenia. 

Basically, hindsight is 20/20! But I think we all agree that Troy and Obafemi have shown us enough in the 55 minutes that they played yesterday that they should start together again for Tuesday (providing both fit).

Easy to say he should play.  Yes he deserves his place on Tuesday but like all our players they are ridiculously inconsistent and could be woeful in the next game.  Robinson was the saviour at the end of last year now wouldn't get a game with Accrington Stanley. 
Hendrick was lauded also for a while but is now a pariah.

EIRE are footballing musical chairs

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2022 at 5:25pm
Seems he has been ruled out according to Kenny's Kids who more than likely picked it up elsewhere.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J89 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2022 at 5:34pm

Seems he has been ruled out according to Kenny's Kids who more than likely picked it up elsewhere.

Kenny said it himself in the press conference.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BrendanD88 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2022 at 5:57pm

Yeah, just seen that, the bad news is that obafemi is out, but the bad news is that ogbene should be fit... 

Get a life you sad c**t.
Strazdas View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Strazdas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2022 at 6:22pm

A pity, but there's no guarantee either he could have delivered two strong performances in a row.
GreenDodger93 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GreenDodger93 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2022 at 6:39pm
He's prone to injuries unfortunately 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fozz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2022 at 6:48pm
Dissapointing but a huge win for this window was Obafemi's inclusion.
Not only has it completely put to bed any affiliation questions, but it turns out he's the best striker we have, all of a sudden.

Excited about watching this lad for the next decade  Hug

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote doherty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2022 at 7:09pm
Bollix. Just when we put in a great performance 3 of the main players at least are out. Sh1te it
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 979899100101 126>