URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=55573
Printed Date: 28 Mar 2024 at 8:53pm

Topic: Michael Obafemi
Subject: Michael Obafemi
Date Posted: 30 Aug 2017 at 12:17am
Young lad at Southampton doing very well recently. No idea that he was Irish with Nigerian ancestry obviously!Jonathan Afolabi also doing well and of similar heritage...2 to watch for the future!

Posted By: Strazdas
Date Posted: 30 Aug 2017 at 1:06am
Are you sure about Obafemi? I can't find any Irish link for him. Afolabi is definitely Irish though, grew up in Dublin.

Posted By: GUFC_Andy
Date Posted: 30 Aug 2017 at 3:47am
Obafemi is Irish 100%, remember seeing it somewhere a few times

Don't ban me for no reason, please.

Date Posted: 30 Aug 2017 at 12:01pm
Another kid, Corrie Ndaba with the Ipswich Town u18s.

Formally of Palmerstown United and Cherry Orchard.

Posted By: gazurtoids
Date Posted: 30 Aug 2017 at 12:12pm
What part of Ireland is this accent?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m9Jtl_zss14" rel="nofollow - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m9Jtl_zss14

Posted By: keith3307
Date Posted: 30 Aug 2017 at 12:37pm
Hes been called up to our u17s with will smallbone in the past.

Posted By: keith3307
Date Posted: 30 Aug 2017 at 12:38pm
Originally posted by keith3307 keith3307 wrote:

Hes been called up to our u17s with will smallbone in the past.
https://southamptonfc.com/news/2017-01-13/international-ireland-under-17-will-smallbone-michael-obafemi" rel="nofollow - https://southamptonfc.com/news/2017-01-13/international-ireland-under-17-will-smallbone-michael-obafemi

Date Posted: 30 Aug 2017 at 1:04pm

Another kid, Corrie Ndaba with the Ipswich Town u18s.

Formally of Palmerstown United and Cherry Orchard.

has he a younger brother ,Aaron,about 11...formerly of C Orchard?

Posted By: gmfc90
Date Posted: 21 Jan 2018 at 6:26pm
Just saw he got on for Southampton for a few minutes. Had a decent chance too.

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2018 at 7:02pm
Missed a sitter but showed some very good movement. He's some tank fitness a 17 year old!

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2018 at 7:55pm
Can be forgiven in missing a sitter five minutes into his Premier League debut at 17. He looks a solid unit

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2018 at 7:59pm
a sitter wtf are you mentallers on?

Posted By: Patman Scoop
Date Posted: 21 Jan 2018 at 8:17pm

a sitter wtf are you mentallers on?

Not a sitter but he'll be disappointed not to have scored when he watches it back

Why no wine??!

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2018 at 8:20pm
He’ll have been disappointed to not make proper contact with the ball at all

It was a sitter IMO

Posted By: cildaratown
Date Posted: 21 Jan 2018 at 8:39pm
Hope he doesn't pull a Grealish...FAI needs to be better about cap tying. Any indication he'd switch to Nigeria? 

Posted By: schillaci
Date Posted: 21 Jan 2018 at 8:44pm
I cant see him defecting to Nigeria. Apart from the fact he has never lived there, an international career for an African team is very disruptive. The ACN is played every 2 years mid season and means players have to take a month off club duties.  Also there are qualification games to contend with too (all played in Africa) sometimes played in mid June when players are on their break, not to mention the extra hassle of long return trips to the African continent. Its not like he is a mid level English player whose only chance of International football is to go with his parents country. He has a very attractive option with Ireland

He'd be mad to switch

Posted By: Irish2011
Date Posted: 21 Jan 2018 at 8:50pm
Originally posted by schillaci schillaci wrote:

I cant see him defecting to Nigeria. Apart from the fact he has never lived there, an international career for an African team is very disruptive. The ACN is played every 2 years mid season and means players have to take a month off club duties.  Also there are qualification games to contend with too (all played in Africa) sometimes played in mid June when players are on their break, not to mention the extra hassle of long return trips to the African continent. Its not like he is a mid level English player whose only chance of International football is to go with his parents country. He has a very attractive option with Ireland

He'd be mad to switch

African nations gone to summer but hope your right.

Posted By: schillaci
Date Posted: 21 Jan 2018 at 9:01pm
Originally posted by Irish2011 Irish2011 wrote:

Originally posted by schillaci schillaci wrote:

He'd be mad to switch

African nations gone to summer but hope your right.

You are correct sir. Its moved to summer from 2019.

In that case, he'd be mad to play in 50 degree heat LOL

Date Posted: 21 Jan 2018 at 9:39pm
We have the advantage over Nigeria in that they have qualified for a WC, and we have not.

They won’t cap him in a competitive game, their next one will be in the WC, while we could call him up to our squads for the friendlies, and play him in the nations league.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 8:09am

We have the advantage over Nigeria in that they have qualified for a WC, and we have not.

They won’t cap him in a competitive game, their next one will be in the WC, while we could call him up to our squads for the friendlies, and play him in the nations league.

The next round of qualifers for the ACON will be played in March and then in August . Two chances for them before we have a naitons league game if they seriously want him

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 8:17am
If anything, Nigeria's situation is a hindrance to us. They'll surely have a few friendly games before the world cup in which they'd have a low risk chance to call him up. Seeing as he's already played at U-19 level for us, the mere change of association would be enough to tie him to them.

Posted By: dubstep
Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 8:33am
It takes 6 months for a player to change. So won't be able to play before world cup

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 8:43am
Where was he born? how does he qualify for us?

Posted By: aviva8
Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 8:46am
If I was martin I bring him in in march

He's Dublin born and bred.

Posted By: aviva8
Dublin

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 8:52am
Well then lets settle down and stop worrying about him switching to Nigeria, and more ridiculously, stop talking about him being called into the 2018 Nigerian World Cup squad after 5 minutes of first team football.

Posted By: Bainneban
Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 9:24am
He would qualify for three countries if he wanted, England being the third. Hopefully he develops into a good player.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 9:25am
I'm not sure if that chance was as easy as it first looked - mainly because the ball bounced on the greasy surface just before it got to him. He'll still be disappointed not to have done better but would disagree that it was a 'sitter'. I've watched a couple of his goals for the Southampton under age teams - looks a very good prospect. Quick with a decent finish.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 9:32am

Well then lets settle down and stop worrying about him switching to Nigeria, and more ridiculously, stop talking about him being called into the 2018 Nigerian World Cup squad after 5 minutes of first team football.

No.

I fully believe he'll captain Nigeria to world cup success, go on to be better than George Weah and we'll be left wondering 'what if' as a 43 year old Robbie Keane comes out of retirement and starts for Ireland.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 9:47am

I'm not sure if that chance was as easy as it first looked - mainly because the ball bounced on the greasy surface just before it got to him. He'll still be disappointed not to have done better but would disagree that it was a 'sitter'. I've watched a couple of his goals for the Southampton under age teams - looks a very good prospect. Quick with a decent finish.

If he'd went with his left foot, it would have been a simple enough finish. He admitted as much himself after the game. Anyway, I doubt anyone will hold it against him, I'd imagine he was extremely nervous coming on.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 9:53am

Moved over to England at a young age far as I can find out. Beeh over there long enough to qualify for them under the residency rule.

Be absolutely amazed if O'Neill brought a 17 year old into the squad, would be totally out of character.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 10:05am

Moved over to England at a young age far as I can find out. Beeh over there long enough to qualify for them under the residency rule.

Be absolutely amaO'NeillO'Neill brought a 17 year old into the squad, would be totally out of character.

He must have moved over the water pretty young as he has an English accent. Anyway, it's good to see one of our underage players getting game time in the EPL. 

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 10:16am
He has to start against Turkey, it will be absolutely ridiculous if he doesn't.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 10:25am
Can't decide who should get the armband in Turkey. Obafemi, Rice or Cullen

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 10:28am
Originally posted by Charlton's Child Charlton's Child wrote:

The next round of qualifers for the ACON will be played in March and then in August . Two chances for them before we have a naitons league game if they seriously want him

Sh*te, didn’t think they’d have qualifiers before the World Cup.

Posted By: Dr. Pat
Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 10:30am
Brilliant to see him given a chance yesterday. It is amazing how one selection can catapult somebody into potential senior international recognition. Generally speaking, Johnation Afolabi is rated higher than Obafemi. Pellegrino said he wanted someone with real pace as an option because Tottenham defend with a high line. Obafemi is lightning so he got the call. He doesn't often start for the Saints' u23. For our u-19s Afolabi, Neil Farrugia of UCD, Thomas Byrne and Aaron Connolly were all ahead of him last Autumn.

But ya, call him up in March.

Geremi has let Kilbane in here, cross comes out to Holland, 1:1!!

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 10:37am
Originally posted by Dr. Pat Dr. Pat wrote:

Brilliant to see him given a chance yesterday. It is amazing how one selection can catapult somebody into potential senior international recognition. Generally speaking, Johnation Afolabi is rated higher than Obafemi. Pellegrino said he wanted someone with real pace as an option because Tottenham defend with a high line. Obafemi is lightning so he got the call. He doesn't often start for the Saints' u23. For our u-19s Afolabi, Neil Farrugia of UCD, Thomas Byrne and Aaron Connolly were all ahead of him last Autumn.

None of them have played EPL yet, which means they are all still sh*te. He has to start in Turkey.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 10:40am

None of them have played EPL yet, which means they are all still sh*te. He has to start in Turkey.

Posted By: Fanny MaGee
Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 11:30am

That's because he's 17 and plays for their U-18's.

Ask MaGee

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 11:32am

Being treated like sh*t and needs a move though

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 12:11pm
Originally posted by Fanny MaGee Fanny MaGee wrote:

Many, many players are fast tracked to the u-23s but are under 18. Afolabi plays pre-dominantly for the u23s but played in the u-18's FA Youth Cup last week against Blackpool. Aaron Connolly at Brighton is another example. Plays every week for the u-23s but gets pulled back to play for the u-18's in the FA Youth cup as it's viewed as a prestigous competition. Same with Thomas O' Connor at Southampton last year.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 12:35pm

Originally posted by Fanny MaGee Fanny MaGee wrote:

Many, many players are fast tracked to the u-23s but are under 18. Afolabi plays pre-dominantly for the u23s but played in the u-18's FA Youth Cup last week against Blackpool. Aaron Connolly at Brighton is another example. Plays every week for the u-23s but gets pulled back to play for the u-18's in the FA Youth cup as it's viewed as a prestigous competition. Same with Thomas O' Connor at Southampton last year.

On Southampton's website he's listed in the U-18 squad and nowhere to be seen in the U-23 squad and he's started about 6 of the last 7 U-18 games. Anyway, he must be doing something right if he got called up to the 1st team. I work with a saints fan and he says O'Connor, O'Driscoll and Smallbone are all highly thought of in their youth set up, as well as Obafemi and Afolabi.

Ask MaGee

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 1:19pm

No he isn't...Obafemi has been the one to watch for the underage teams this past year following in the footsteps of Sims, Hasketh and Mc Queen. Afolabi doesn't start every game unlike Obafemi

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 1:51pm
No he isn't...Obafemi has been the one to watch for the underage teams this past year following in the footsteps of Sims, Hasketh and Mc Queen. Afolabi doesn't start every game unlike Obafemi

Ok, I don't want to de-rail the thread but that's misleading. Obafemi is never picked over Afolabi at underage level. 12 apps. and 4 goals for Afolabi, 2 appearences and 0 goals for Obafemi at u-23. Both are eligible for the u18s but Afolabi is rarely selected as he plays so often with the 23s.

I'm delighted Obafemi came on yesterday and I hope it's the start of a great career for him. I just think that 8 minutes of Premier League football does not immediately elevate him from 3rd/4th choice striker for our u-19s to a senior international call up.
  https://us.soccerway.com/teams/england/southampton-u23/37164/gf" rel="nofollow - https://us.soccerway.com/teams/england/southampton-u23/37164/gf

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 3:13pm
Jaysus the guy came on for 5 mins. If long or austin were fit he wouldnt even be near the bench. If he goes off to nigeria then let him. We will survive like we always do.

Posted By: Icy Bread People
Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 3:35pm
He's got an English accent and a Nigerian name. What's his link with Ireland? He was born here and lived here for a few years? Are we sure he'll play for us if he's ever good enough? 

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 3:42pm
Originally posted by Icy Bread People Icy Bread People wrote:

He's got an English accent and a Nigerian name. What's his link with Ireland? He was born here and lived here for a few years? Are we sure he'll play for us if he's ever good enough? 

He already is playing for us.

Ask MaGee

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 3:42pm

ICB
an English accent -- so what ?
Nigerian name - again so what ?

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 3:45pm
Originally posted by BohsinMunich BohsinMunich wrote:

ICB
an English accent -- so what ?
Nigerian name - again so what ?

So it makes me think he'd play for a better team like Nigeria or England if they came calling as he may not have any ties to the rainy old sod. I don't generally associate English accents and Nigerian names with Irish people you get me fam? 
Same with Declan Rice, I thought he was born and bred here till I heard him talking, then I immediately think bollocks, if he's any good England will be after him. 

Posted By: smart man
Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 3:46pm
He can take it then that his grandad wasn't in the GPO in 1916

alive and kicking

Posted By: smart man
Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 3:47pm
We can take it then that his grandad wasn't in the GPO in 1916

alive and kicking

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 3:54pm
We do think differently.

As has been mentioned a few times on several threads, others do think like you for example when it comes to the accents of Irish fans esp on Away trips. 

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 3:59pm
You have to laugh at the panic regarding players who actually play for us. If he stays with us, great. If he pulls a Grealish, so be it.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 4:18pm
His goalscoring record this season is far superior to Afolabi's. Hopefully they both end up making the breakthrough.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 5:06pm
As mentioned on the other thread, he is the type of player we should be bringing along to training camps for the senior team with a view to the future rather than now.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 5:13pm
Getting him involved with U-21's would be a more logical first step I'd say.

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 5:13pm

Ok, I don't want to de-rail the thread but that's misleading. Obafemi is never picked over Afolabi at underage level. 12 apps. and 4 goals for Afolabi, 2 appearences and 0 goals for Obafemi at u-23. Both are eligible for the u18s but Afolabi is rarely selected as he plays so often with the 23s.

I'm delighted Obafemi came on yesterday and I hope it's the start of a great career for him. I just think that 8 minutes of Premier League football does not immediately elevate him from 3rd/4th choice striker for our u-19s to a senior international call up.
  https://us.soccerway.com/teams/england/southampton-u23/37164/gf" rel="nofollow - https://us.soccerway.com/teams/england/southampton-u23/37164/gf
I didn't realise Afolabi was playing so much with the U23s!apologies! Also thought Obafemi played a few more games for the U23s. Anyway, good to see them doing well

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 5:14pm

Getting him involved with U-21's would be a more logical first step I'd say.

No reason why both can't happen in tandem. 

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 6:04pm
I'm already mixing up them 2 lads!

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 6:17pm
Just shows how much we're clutching at straws. How I long for the days of the early 00s when there were green goals all over teletext page 221...

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2018 at 7:11pm

I'm already mixing up them 2 lads!

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 10:31am
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/nigeria-to-battle-ireland-for-saints-starlet-michael-obafemi-466157.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/nigeria-to-battle-ireland-for-saints-starlet-michael-obafemi-466157.html

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 10:37am

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/nigeria-to-battle-ireland-for-saints-starlet-michael-obafemi-466157.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/nigeria-to-battle-ireland-for-saints-starlet-michael-obafemi-466157.html

"He has already attended some training camps at the invitation of the English FA but it is unclear if he is yet eligible as he or his parents would need to have obtained a passport."

I don't think that's true, he'd qualify under the 5 year residency rule regardless of his parents passport status.

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 10:48am
It shows the craziness of football these days. 3 countries (reportedly) "battling" for him, after five minutes of top flight football.
He could just as easily be at Woking in a few years as he will get more than 2 caps

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 11:01am
TBF, there's not a single source in that article to suggest that anyone is "chasing" him. It's idle speculation.

Posted By: AbuAbu
Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 11:12am
I don't think that's true, he'd qualify under the 5 year residency rule regardless of his parents passport status.

My understanding is the residency period of 5 years begins from 18 years of age. So he would need to wait until he is 23. Do you know of many players who have gone down this route to play international football? Does not seem to be to common.

Anyway looks like idle paper talk to me. as someone else pointed out, no sources, 8 mins of first team football etc

It's not me it's you:-)

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 11:14am

TBF, there's not a single source in that article to suggest that anyone is "chasing" him. It's idle speculation.

True. Its almost as if they just read this thread yesterday and created a story from it.

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 11:27am
I have never heard of this player
I have never seen him play

Get him into the next squad NOW
Get him his first cap NOW
Future Ireland captain 

Posted By: kingofkings
Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 11:38am
If papers are to believed the FA are chasing him and Rice. No idea of the truth, but should we be following the Welsh mentality with Woodburn and Wilson and get them capped as soon as they're out of the womb just in case 

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 12:00pm
Originally posted by kingofkings kingofkings wrote:

If papers are to believed the FA are chasing him and Rice. No idea of the truth, but should we be following the Welsh mentality with Woodburn and Wilson and get them capped as soon as they're out of the womb just in case 

At least we'd have a few good dribblers to watch for a change

Posted By: mandrake
Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 12:28pm

True. Its almost as if they just read this thread yesterday and created a story from it.

that's what I was thinking this morning,............if Nigeria are looking to add him  to their squad for wc2018 then it doesn't look good for them.......  imagine if he had actually scored ...!!!

there was better young players who got more time for Norwich last week v chelsea

Come on Irelind

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 12:29pm

It shows the craziness of football these days. 3 countries (reportedly) "battling" for him, after five minutes of top flight football.
He could just as easily be at Woking in a few years as he will get more than 2 caps

In fairness, i think it's good practice more than craziness. The media say it in a way that implies Southgate, O'Neill and [insert the Nigeria manager, cant be arsed googling] are working night and day to win his affections. There are lads in each FA who have it as their job to watch these guys at underage level and know they have potential, and want to keep or get them on board. It's smart to do so for 100 players even if only 1 amounts to anything, and it's not like they'll be thrown straight in the senior side.

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 1:13pm
He should be called in and made captain and manager.

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 1:24pm

There is absolutely no need for panic here. The lad is currently with us. For better or worse, he will know the score regarding the Ireland set up. If in time, for whatever reason, he chooses to play for another nation that he is eligible to line out for then more power to him. Thems the breaks. That's if he even develops into a full senior international quality player at all. 

At the moment, he should be afforded all the same privileges of any other talented underage Irish youngster. 

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 1:47pm

There is absolutely no need for panic here. The lad is currently with us. For better or worse, he will know the score regarding the Ireland set up. If in time, for whatever reason, he chooses to play for another nation that he is eligible to line out for then more power to him. Thems the breaks. That's if he even develops into a full senior international quality player at all. 

At the moment, he should be afforded all the same privileges of any other talented underage Irish youngster. 

Feck that PC crap. Get him in the squad and give him 5 minutes as a sub. Cut out all the kind of crap that went with McCarthy playing.

Posted By: kingofkings
Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 1:57pm
I tend to agree with get him in and get him capped. The McCarthy episode as well as Grealish should be learned from

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 1:57pm

There is no need for panic? Really!? I think MON needs to be organising at least two panics before the Turkey game.

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 2:07pm
Originally posted by AbuAbu AbuAbu wrote:

My understanding is the residency period of 5 years begins from 18 years of age. So he would need to wait until he is 23. Do you know of many players who have gone down this route to play international football? Does not seem to be to common.

Anyway looks like idle paper talk to me. as someone else pointed out, no sources, 8 mins of first team football etc

I'm not certain myself, hadn't heard that it started at 18 before but it might. 

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 2:36pm

There is no need for panic? Really!? I think MON needs to be organising at least two panics before the Turkey game.

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 3:39pm

I have never heard of this player
I have never seen him play

Get him into the next squad NOW
Get him his first cap NOW
Future Ireland captain 
LOL Clap, there will be mass hysteria on here over him

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 4:08pm
https://guardian.ng/sport/obafemi-commits-senior-international-future-to-nigeria/" rel="nofollow - https://guardian.ng/sport/obafemi-commits-senior-international-future-to-nigeria/ Don't wanna cause panic or anything!

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 4:29pm

https://guardian.ng/sport/obafemi-commits-senior-international-future-to-nigeria/" rel="nofollow - https://guardian.ng/sport/obafemi-commits-senior-international-future-to-nigeria/ Don't wanna cause panic or anything!

There’s a good chance we’ll see him playing in a green jersey in the future.

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 4:30pm
well best of luck to him, not much of a link to Ireland anyway

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 4:59pm
allnigeriasoccer.com can exclusively report LOL

If you believe that then good luck

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 5:00pm

Besides being born here?

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 5:03pm

allnigeriasoccer.com can exclusively report LOL

If you believe that then good luck

Without playing on stereotypes, that website sounds like something set up by one of those “African experts” that you see commenting on Manchester United’s Facebook posts.

Posted By: RKeane
Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 5:08pm
If it's true he wants to play for Nigeria good luck to him. As I said before some people get confused on this forum and are unable to tell the difference from club and international football. You have one nationality and only one, the likes of people spouting out names like Noble,Bamford etc is embarrassing, they are English men and fans want them playing for Ireland

YESSSS! IT'S THERE

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 5:20pm
Originally posted by RKeane RKeane wrote:

If it's true he wants to play for Nigeria good luck to him. As I said before some people get confused on this forum and are unable to tell the difference from club and international football. You have one nationality and only one, the likes of people spouting out names like Noble,Bamford etc is embarrassing, they are English men and fans want them playing for Ireland

Well in this instance, the fella is Irish. 

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 5:28pm

You should have a look at Deco, Thiago Motta, Diego Costa, Jermaine Jones & Nacer Chadli's careers then if you think that's the case.

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 5:34pm

Besides being born here?

I doubt he is even the type to remember it.

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 5:39pm

there's a lot of mentions of him on the Team Nigeria UK twitter page over the last few days: https://twitter.com/Team_NigeriaUK" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/Team_NigeriaUK
http://twitter.com/Team_NigeriaUK/status/955160002918014976" rel="nofollow -
http://twitter.com/Team_NigeriaUK/status/955160002918014976" rel="nofollow - Seems the game in question was when he was 14:
http://twitter.com/Team_NigeriaUK/status/955160002918014976" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/Team_NigeriaUK/status/955160002918014976 http://twitter.com/Team_NigeriaUK/status/955160002918014976" rel="nofollow -

FWIW there's no mention of him on the FAI's social media, and he changed his twitter profile pic from his Irish jersey to him in his Southampton jersey since he made his debut

All goals, red & yellow cards posted on https://mastodon.ie/@irish_abroad" rel="nofollow - mastodon and https://www.facebook.com/irishfootballstatisics" rel="nofollow - facebook

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 6:20pm

Irishman in playing for Ireland shocker!!!!

Date Posted: 23 Jan 2018 at 9:41pm

You should have a look at Deco, Thiago Motta, Diego Costa, Jermaine Jones & Nacer Chadli's careers then if you think that's the case.

Ironically, his one appearance for Morocco before switching to Belgium, was against the North.

Posted By: willmcc83
Date Posted: 24 Jan 2018 at 10:29am

Incorrect. Carol Frampton and Rory McIlroy have identified as Irish, British and Northern Irish. Nationality is a complex issue; a Basque or Catalan player playing for Spain could identify as having more than one nationality. Similarly anyone living in a country with a history of immigration may identify with two or more nationalities.

Time To Get Behind Mick & The Team

Date Posted: 24 Jan 2018 at 10:32am
Originally posted by willmcc83 willmcc83 wrote:

Incorrect. Carol Frampton and Rory McIlroy have identified as Irish, British and Northern Irish. Nationality is a complex issue; a Basque or Catalan player playing for Spain could identify as having more than one nationality. Similarly anyone living in a country with a history of immigration may identify with two or more nationalities.

Many people in the North would identify as such.

Date Posted: 24 Jan 2018 at 11:56am

Well in this instance, the fella is Irish. 

Nope. If this lad feels Nigerian in the same way that Kilbane etc are Irish then good luck to him. No issues if he picks them over us

Posted By: AbuAbu
Date Posted: 24 Jan 2018 at 12:15pm

Nope. If this lad feels Nigerian in the same way that Kilbane etc are Irish then good luck to him. No issues if he picks them over us[/QUOTE]

If he genuinely feels Nigerian then best of luck to him. I would say he should withdraw from our underage teams if that is the case. I understand players changing countries when nationality is confused and have no issue with that. But if he clearly has his mind made up maybe he should go now.

It's not me it's you:-)

Date Posted: 24 Jan 2018 at 1:08pm
Carol Frampton!? Who is she?

Posted By: Dalymount79
Date Posted: 25 Jan 2018 at 8:28pm
Saints just signed an Argentinian striker for 19m so can't see MO featuring much between now and end of season. He may never be seen again in EPL.