UEFA Nations League

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 9192939495 126>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 3:16pm
We simply don't deserve to qualify.  We have been utter sh*te in the NL, and any team who sets out to draw to Georgia is not a proper football team and shouldn't be let near a finals.  Joke the lack of ambition showed by us. That for me was the last straw. 

We have only beaten Georgia in the last 2 yrs.  I think we should give up football.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Territorial Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 3:18pm
Originally posted by brendy_éire brendy_éire wrote:

Bussing in and out of Belfast isn't really an option though.  You can't stop people driving up and doing as they please.  Never mind accounting for people coming from all directions as RoI fans.
A possible solution is to set a meeting point in Andersonstown, then bus/walk people to Windsor.  Or to close the northern end of Boucher Road, and have everyone enter via Stockmans Lane.  That's essentially what they did for Linfield-Derry City matches.  Loads of parking to be had on Boucher Road too, they just commandeered some retail outlet car parks.

I think the issue that'll give the PSNI the biggest headache would be what to do with public transport.  I'd probably get the train from Derry to Belfast and the bus back.  Do they put on a seperate RoI-fan train (free cans? Wink), enforce seperate carriages, or just make all fans get on a specific bus?
What about the bus from Enniskillen to Belfast?  Or how to deal with the mix of fans waiting at Europa bus station after the match?  It's a bit of a nightmare.

It seems you'll only be allocated 5% of match tickets = 900-odd.

The obvious thing would be to set up a number of assembly points outside Belfast where ROI fans could park their cars and coaches. From there bus them via the motorways to a collection point in a cordoned off part of Boucher Road, where they park up. Leave your bus, pick up your match ticket and get an escort for the couple of hundred yards to the stadium. Same in reverse after the game.

If transport/security is linked to match tickets, then ticketless ROI fans likely won't bother milling around the stadium, they'll be far more likely to go to their local pub to watch on TV (or watch at home), even the ones from NI.
counterlock View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote counterlock Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 3:21pm
I wouldn't be too worried about the travel arrangements to WP lads, unless your name is Štefan or Miroslav

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Territorial Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 3:22pm

Not sure why people are convinced Bosnia will beat NI. They've had a very poor 2019, lost four qualifiers and have conceded 17 competitive goals since March.

NI finished 3rd in a far stronger group. If I remember correctly, Bosnia's win in the NL in Belfast last autumn was a total fluke....the North battered them for 90 mins but gave away two stupid goals.

And in the away game, we had a nailed-on penalty denied in the first minute, then missed a complete sitter soon after.

Fair enough, they came into the game very well, and deserved to win (just about). But it might have been all over after the game in Belfast.

Also, Dzeko will be 34 by the time we meet them again. Surely to goodness he has to slow up sometime?
Stickittotheman View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Stickittotheman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 3:23pm

Trip to Belfast would be all away fans on busses, police escort in and out. Can't imagine they'd let us mingle in Belfast.

What about the ones who "mingle" in Belfast every other day?

Terri be honest now it only takes a few mindless twats with a few drinks in before a big 'derby' game to cause bother. Remember the video taken in a pub about a year ago now, 'We hate Catholics everyone here hates Roman Catholics'. Was it to a Tiffany song? Anywho those twats who were rightly condemned by genuine norn iron fans are the types who would love nothing more than to rock up at Windsor and cause bother(and by bother I mean anything from sectarian chanting to scuffles). Police escorts etc will not be necessary I wouldn't have thought but there is a bitterness seeping back into Loyalist communities towards the south with the current brexit debacle and the blame being laid at Dublin's door for using what they see as a threat of violence to get what they want. Let's just say the timing wouldn't be ideal for such a highly charged and important game. As an aside will Michael O'Neil be in the dugout for the Bosnia game do you think?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BrendanD88 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 3:34pm

If the North qualify, my tickets for their games in Dublin will go unused.

Stickittotheman View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Stickittotheman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 3:40pm

... if they played us down in Dublin the chances of anything major kicking off would be slight. 

The chances of absolute murder kicking off up there are much higher. The location of the stadium and transport links to it guarantee as much. 

"Murder" is it? And "guaranteed"?

We played you at home four times during the height of The Troubles and I don't recall any fatalities. Or any fights. Or even any scuffles.
Though Gspain did get called a "jammy bastard" after the final whistle in 1993. 
Fortunately he's managed to overcome his PTSD sufficiently to return to WP many times since, where he is most welcome.

Originally posted by Lostandfound Lostandfound wrote:

Exactly, this is why it should be switched to Lansdowne for security reasons. 
Ah right, anything else you'd like? Guaranteed entry to the Finals as "Team 25" perhaps?

Anyhow, I've attended 9 of the 11 games between us, home and away, and the only trouble I've seen was after the final whistle of the first one at Lansdowne in 1978, when the NI fans leaving the Main Stand were stoned by a group of wee gurriers who were waiting outside, meaning we had to run for cover.

(Not helped by there being builders' rubble lying on the ground, no barriers outside the exit gates, and not a Garda to be seen until it was all over.)

He didn't say guaranteed he said the chances of there being 'murder' would be much greater than if it was Bosnia or Slovakia. In these days of heightened tension over brexit he is correct in that assertion. But guaranteed. No one is saying that.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Maccatacca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 3:52pm
Originally posted by Stickittotheman Stickittotheman wrote:

... if they played us down in Dublin the chances of anything major kicking off would be slight. 

The chances of absolute murder kicking off up there are much higher. The location of the stadium and transport links to it guarantee as much. 

"Murder" is it? And "guaranteed"?

We played you at home four times during the height of The Troubles and I don't recall any fatalities. Or any fights. Or even any scuffles.
Though Gspain did get called a "jammy bastard" after the final whistle in 1993. 
Fortunately he's managed to overcome his PTSD sufficiently to return to WP many times since, where he is most welcome.

Originally posted by Lostandfound Lostandfound wrote:

Exactly, this is why it should be switched to Lansdowne for security reasons. 
Ah right, anything else you'd like? Guaranteed entry to the Finals as "Team 25" perhaps?

Anyhow, I've attended 9 of the 11 games between us, home and away, and the only trouble I've seen was after the final whistle of the first one at Lansdowne in 1978, when the NI fans leaving the Main Stand were stoned by a group of wee gurriers who were waiting outside, meaning we had to run for cover.

(Not helped by there being builders' rubble lying on the ground, no barriers outside the exit gates, and not a Garda to be seen until it was all over.)

He didn't say guaranteed he said the chances of there being 'murder' would be much greater than if it was Bosnia or Slovakia. In these days of heightened tension over brexit he is correct in that assertion. But guaranteed. No one is saying that.

Say what you want but there most likely will be football related trouble if we are to play each other in such a high stakes game.

If Northern Ireland were to beat Ireland in the final I think there wouldn't be as much trouble, but if we were to go up to Belfast and win... 

Things may have moved on for some, but not for all and that applies to both sides.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shedite Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 3:53pm
Originally posted by brendy_éire brendy_éire wrote:

Trip to Belfast would be all away fans on busses, police escort in and out. Can't imagine they'd let us mingle in Belfast.

Bussing in and out of Belfast isn't really an option though.  You can't stop people driving up and doing as they please.  Never mind accounting for people coming from all directions as RoI fans.
A possible solution is to set a meeting point in Andersonstown, then bus/walk people to Windsor.  Or to close the northern end of Boucher Road, and have everyone enter via Stockmans Lane.  That's essentially what they did for Linfield-Derry City matches.  Loads of parking to be had on Boucher Road too, they just commandeered some retail outlet car parks.

I think the issue that'll give the PSNI the biggest headache would be what to do with public transport.  I'd probably get the train from Derry to Belfast and the bus back.  Do they put on a seperate RoI-fan train (free cans? Wink), enforce seperate carriages, or just make all fans get on a specific bus?
What about the bus from Enniskillen to Belfast?  Or how to deal with the mix of fans waiting at Europa bus station after the match?  It's a bit of a nightmare.
I was at a West Ham/Milwall game a few years back (as a West Ham fan, game in Milwall). The tickets to the game were scanned at West Ham, as you were entering the bus, the bus then drove to the stadium and dropped us inside the ground. 

Realise this is a lot different with fans coming from all over the Island.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Territorial Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 3:59pm

Terri be honest now it only takes a few mindless twats with a few drinks in before a big 'derby' game to cause bother. Remember the video taken in a pub about a year ago now, 'We hate Catholics everyone here hates Roman Catholics'. Was it to a Tiffany song? Anywho those twats who were rightly condemned by genuine norn iron fans are the types who would love nothing more than to rock up at Windsor and cause bother(and by bother I mean anything from sectarian chanting to scuffles). Police escorts etc will not be necessary I wouldn't have thought but there is a bitterness seeping back into Loyalist communities towards the south with the current brexit debacle and the blame being laid at Dublin's door for using what they see as a threat of violence to get what they want. Let's just say the timing wouldn't be ideal for such a highly charged and important game.

Of course there is potential for trouble, but we've not seen it at previous games bar offensive chants etc, nor in IL games between Linfield and C'ville (or vs Derry or Dundalk, for that matter).
So assuming the PSNI get properly organised (I know, I know), the ability to link travel and security to ticket collection should see us fine.
On which point, it would help, though rankle severely, if the ROI SC's in NI found their allocation was mysteriously, er, "mislaid". Wink

As an aside will Michael O'Neil be in the dugout for the Bosnia game do you think?
It's not certain, either from Stoke or IFA, but my guess is that Michael has secured a verbal agreement that he'll be available, possibly conditional on Stoke being out of relegation trouble by March?

And as he said himself, he could pick his team now, if that helped!
belt View Drop Down
Fantasy Football Champion 17/18

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote belt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 4:05pm
Can discussion on a hypothetical game not take over? Looks like we are getting ahead of ourselves.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Maccatacca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 4:12pm
Also Iceland really are a jammy shower of lads. 

Another lucky draw that they’ve gotten off the back of being a seed 1 side a few years ago.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 4:14pm
As jammy as us for getting a playoff? They achieved something!
Strazdas View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Strazdas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 4:15pm
I'm reading on Twitter that Bosnian manager Robert Prosinecki is in imminent danger of being sacked, despite the play off place.

Bosnian fans don't like him, think he has done a terrible job and would prefer if a new guy came in.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 4:23pm
We should merge the 2 teams and go to the Euro's and win it under Micheal O'Neill
Strazdas View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Strazdas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 4:23pm

Not sure why people are convinced Bosnia will beat NI. They've had a very poor 2019, lost four qualifiers and have conceded 17 competitive goals since March.

NI finished 3rd in a far stronger group. If I remember correctly, Bosnia's win in the NL in Belfast last autumn was a total fluke....the North battered them for 90 mins but gave away two stupid goals.

And in the away game, we had a nailed-on penalty denied in the first minute, then missed a complete sitter soon after.

Fair enough, they came into the game very well, and deserved to win (just about). But it might have been all over after the game in Belfast.

Also, Dzeko will be 34 by the time we meet them again. Surely to goodness he has to slow up sometime?

I think their results this year have been very ropey and they finished 4th in perhaps the weakest group of all - Greece and Armenia are two terrible sides and Finland were an automatic qualifier having lost four matches 
peterbelfast View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote peterbelfast Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 4:26pm
Originally posted by counterlock counterlock wrote:

I wouldn't be too worried about the travel arrangements to WP lads, unless your name is Štefan or Miroslav

Wouldn't worry about that either. A handfull of poles slapped them about around the stadium. The n.i fans not far off a minority in Belfast anyway 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Territorial Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2019 at 4:28pm

We should merge the 2 teams and go to the Euro's and win it under Micheal O'Neill

What, like the rugby team? LOL
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 9192939495 126>