UEFA Nations League

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 5354555657 126>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Sep 2019 at 11:26pm
Originally posted by VanBosch VanBosch wrote:

Cheers, the below on UEFA is very mid leading then!!

If a UEFA Nations League group winner has already qualified via the European Qualifiers, then their spot will go to the next best-ranked team in their league. If a league does not have four teams to compete, the remaining slots are allocated to teams from another league, according to the overall UEFA Nations League rankings.

Righto, what this means is that if the 4 B group winners qualify automatically, Bos, UKR, Den, Swe - then the next highest ranked 4 not qualifying automatically take their spots in league B. Those would be the next 4 highest ranked teams. 

If all of 9 B teams qualified automatically, the remaining place would be taken by a C team. (although that is probably still mathematically possible, it nearly certainly can't happen in B)

What it doesn't account for there (but is covered in Flaghunters link) is where more than 4 teams are left in a league (with spare/available spots in a higher league) that is where the draw for who stays in B comes into place. 

Very simply, if 4 A teams didn't qualify- there would be no spots in league A free, so only the 4 highest ranked non qualified B teams would go into the playoff - you can't be drawn into a lower league. Ya have to remember the rules were written before the draw.  If the draw had ended up in a way that the entire top 20 could qualify automatically, and then did just that, then teams 21-24 would have ended up in the B playoff, with the A playoff being decided between the next highest ranked 4 C teams not already in a playoff.

Edited by deise316 - 09 Sep 2019 at 11:36pm

VanBosch View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VanBosch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 12:01am
Got it - thanks!

Rankings are used to decide if you make the play-off spots (unless a NL group winner) but if spots available in a higher league as well as your own, open draw to see who stays and who moves up.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 12:03am
Just for a further bit of clarity- UEFA's  'as it stands'' yoke was updated this evening, link here; https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro-2020/news/newsid=2581807.html

You can pretty much ignore most of the the teams named in them, but just look at Bulgaria & Israel. They are the next 2 C teams, and because there is currently one vacant playoff slot in each of C and A left, if it stayed exactly like it is now, only one of them would be drawn into the vacant C slot (not the higher ranked team- Bulgaria- going into C playoff automatically) and the other one would be drawn in A. 

In short, if there are more than 4 playoff teams in B, and there are vacant spots left in A (nearly certainly will be)- then there will be a draw among B teams as to who stays in B and who goes to A. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Healy52003 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 12:15am
we move to league A or prefer to stay in B ???

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 12:17am

we move to league A or prefer to stay in B ???

Only A can get us a home SF draw, so A is better. 

Edit- if we are in A, the likeliest outcome is a home draw V North or one of the C teams, probably Israel or Hungary. Not 100% sure Hungary and ourselves can be in the same playoff path though- probably not if we are the only 2 host nations left in playoffs. That might mean we have to be drawn in B if Hungary and no other host make playoffs, or there could be some form of process already in place, but I haven't found it if there is. 

Edited by deise316 - 10 Sep 2019 at 12:22am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 1:32am

Just for a further bit of clarity- UEFA's  'as it stands'' yoke was updated this evening, link here; https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuro-2020/news/newsid=2581807.html

You can pretty much ignore most of the the teams named in them, but just look at Bulgaria & Israel. They are the next 2 C teams, and because there is currently one vacant playoff slot in each of C and A left, if it stayed exactly like it is now, only one of them would be drawn into the vacant C slot (not the higher ranked team- Bulgaria- going into C playoff automatically) and the other one would be drawn in A. 

In short, if there are more than 4 playoff teams in B, and there are vacant spots left in A (nearly certainly will be)- then there will be a draw among B teams as to who stays in B and who goes to A. 

Subject to one proviso and that is that a League B group winner cannot be drawn in the same bracket as any League A team.

The current example is somewhat convenient in that there are exactly four League B teams currently not in automatic qualification positions and one of them is a group winner but that could easily change. Take the current example but replace Switzerland (A) with us (B).

The teams *qualified* for the playoffs then become:

League D: Georgia, North Macedonia, Belarus, Luxembourg
League C: Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Bulgaria, Israel
League B: Bosnia, Austria, Wales, Czech Republic, Ireland
League A: Netherlands, Iceland

Then you move on to path formation:

League C: Scotland, Norway, Serbia, and one of Bulgaria or Israel (because group winners cannot face higher ranked teams, the fourth team here has to be one of those two)
League B: Bosnia, and three teams drawn from Austria, Wales, Czech Republic, Ireland and Bulgaria or Israel (whichever one is left) - (again, because Bosnia cannot face a higher ranked team, the other three teams drawn have to be lower ranked)
League A: Netherlands, Iceland and the two teams left from League B/C

The interesting thing is if all four League B group winning teams qualify automatically - then there could be a situation where two non-qualified League A teams end up in different playoff paths. The UEFA document posted shows exactly that scenario at p. 64.

Incidentally, on that point, I think the current UEFA position is inaccurate. In their current example, I think the following is what happens:

Team selection:

League B: Bosnia, Austria, Wales, Czech Republic
League A: Netherlands, Switzerland, Iceland

Path formation:

League C: Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Bulgaria or Israel (draw)
League B: Bosnia, then a draw of three teams among Austria, Wales, Czech Republic and Bulgaria or Israel
League A: Netherlands, Switzerland, Iceland and whichever one of Austria, Wales, Czech Republic, Bulgaria or Israel remains.

But as ever it isn't clear. The only other thing is that that set up only has two hosts in it (Scotland and Netherlands) and they are already guaranteed to be in different paths so there is no requirement to keep them separate. That could be the spanner in the works given the Hungary and Romania situation. Hopefully only one of them actually ends up in the playoffs (which actually looks likely, given that it is unlikely that more than one of Scotland, Finland, Serbia and Israel are going to qualify automatically).

If Hungary, Romania, Scotland and ourselves all end up in the playoffs, it'll get messy, even leaving aside the chances of, say, the Netherlands joining in.

Edited by SuperDave84 - 10 Sep 2019 at 1:33am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gspain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 7:41am
If all league A qualify automatically then the A & B playoffs will be combined with countries seeded.

Say

Bosnia, Sweden, Wales, Czech,  Turkey, Us, NI

one to come up say Bulgaria
then it would be seeded

Pot 1 Bosnia, Sweden, (both have home SF)
Pot 2 Wales, Czech  (both have home SF)
Pot 3 Turkey, Us
Pot 4 NI, Bulgaria

League A Bosnia, Czech, Turkey, Bulgaria
League B Sweden, Wales, Us, NI

They will manage with 4 hosts but 5 will cause a significant re-draw. 

Edited by gspain - 10 Sep 2019 at 8:35am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GB 1HughJarse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 8:24am
Sky Sports News website.

Rep Ireland will probably not have the safety net of a playoff should they fail to finish in top 2 in their group.

And, Nations League offers no Norn Iron fallback.

Thoughts?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 8:34am

Sky Sports News website.

Rep Ireland will probably not have the safety net of a playoff should they fail to finish in top 2 in their group.

Thoughts?

Soon the science will not only be able to slow down the ageing of the cells, soon the science will fix the cells to the state and so we will become eternal.
Only accidents, crimes, wars will still kill us but, unfortunately, crimes, wars will multiply. I love football. Thank you.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gspain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 8:37am

Sky Sports News website.

Thoughts?

They are wrong.

I would say our chances of a playoff if we need it are over 90%.  NI need a little more luck but are highly likely to have a playoff.   

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 8:43am
Fair play to UEFA here. I thought it would be impossible for me to lose interest in a major championship that we have a chance of qualifying for. What a load of wank. The NL was a wonderful idea that worked great and has been completely undermined by this bollocks.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 9:14am

Subject to one proviso and that is that a League B group winner cannot be drawn in the same bracket as any League A team.

The current example is somewhat convenient in that there are exactly four League B teams currently not in automatic qualification positions and one of them is a group winner but that could easily change. Take the current example but replace Switzerland (A) with us (B).

The teams *qualified* for the playoffs then become:

League B: Bosnia, Austria, Wales, Czech Republic, Ireland
League A: Netherlands, Iceland

Then you move on to path formation:

League C: Scotland, Norway, Serbia, and one of Bulgaria or Israel (because group winners cannot face higher ranked teams, the fourth team here has to be one of those two)
League B: Bosnia, and three teams drawn from Austria, Wales, Czech Republic, Ireland and Bulgaria or Israel (whichever one is left) - (again, because Bosnia cannot face a higher ranked team, the other three teams drawn have to be lower ranked)
League A: Netherlands, Iceland and the two teams left from League B/C

The interesting thing is if all four League B group winning teams qualify automatically - then there could be a situation where two non-qualified League A teams end up in different playoff paths. The UEFA document posted shows exactly that scenario at p. 64.

Incidentally, on that point, I think the current UEFA position is inaccurate. In their current example, I think the following is what happens:

Team selection:

League B: Bosnia, Austria, Wales, Czech Republic
League A: Netherlands, Switzerland, Iceland

Path formation:

League C: Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Bulgaria or Israel (draw)
League B: Bosnia, then a draw of three teams among Austria, Wales, Czech Republic and Bulgaria or Israel
League A: Netherlands, Switzerland, Iceland and whichever one of Austria, Wales, Czech Republic, Bulgaria or Israel remains.

But as ever it isn't clear. The only other thing is that that set up only has two hosts in it (Scotland and Netherlands) and they are already guaranteed to be in different paths so there is no requirement to keep them separate. That could be the spanner in the works given the Hungary and Romania situation. Hopefully only one of them actually ends up in the playoffs (which actually looks likely, given that it is unlikely that more than one of Scotland, Finland, Serbia and Israel are going to qualify automatically).

If Hungary, Romania, Scotland and ourselves all end up in the playoffs, it'll get messy, even leaving aside the chances of, say, the Netherlands joining in.

Don't think you are right about Israel being able to be drawn in B in that scenario, because of the ''4 teams from one league form a playoff pathway'' rule- Bosnia are in B regardless and there are 3 other B teams available to make up that pathway. So I think Uefa's site is correct on that.  As C would be drawn first followed by B, there is nowhere left of the other one of Bulgaria/Israel to go bar A.

I'm aware of the 4B group winners all qualifying thing, but tried to concentrate on things that are likely to happen, which means Bosnia not qualifying automatically. Yes, the whole scenario completely changes if they do along with UKR, Den & Swe.

Pauldaly1984 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pauldaly1984 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 9:18am
Lads simple question : if we finish 3rd will we get a playoff ??what do we need for this to happen ???i don’t really care what pathway we are in at he moment .why are sky stating we won’t be in it and why is UEfas website different to other people’s ideas 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Borussia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 9:22am
Originally posted by Pauldaly1984 Pauldaly1984 wrote:

Lads simple question : if we finish 3rd will we get a playoff ??what do we need for this to happen ???i don’t really care what pathway we are in at he moment .why are sky stating we won’t be in it and why is UEfas website different to other people’s ideas 

It might be a simple question but there isn't a simple answer. Read back through the posts above. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 9:24am

We could lose our next 3 games and it has no bearing on whether we end up in a playoff or not - it depends on exactly how many teams qualify automatically ahead of us. Finishing 3rd has nothing to do with it- in Croatias group, they could finish 4th and still be guaranteed a playoff.

We aren't in it at the moment because firstly, we are in an automatic spot at the moment and secondly, so are others like the North who are also in there instead of teams that probably qualify automatically in the end.  Uefa's website is an ''as it stands'' table isn't particularly useful at this point other than to gain some info on how the playoffs work.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gspain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 9:46am

We almost certainly will get a playoff if needed.  Sky just haven't researched it properly.  

We have a lot of other countries to cheer on.  

The Czechs winning tonight in Montenegro will help and we do need England to beat Kosovo. 

We want Portugal to take care of the minnows eg win tonight in Lithuania but this should be a given.

The other group will ensure 2 teams above us will qualify.  I'd rather Turkey quaified directly with France but this is just to take out teams to avoid in the playoffs.   

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote You Tell Me Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 10:48am

The short answer to this is that if we finish anywhere other than first or second in the group we are almost certainly going to get into the playoffs. I would say the likelihood of a playoff if we don't qualify automatically is greater than 95%. Not 100% as there is a very small possibility that an unlikely set of results in matches not involving Ireland could result in us not getting a playoff, but it's only a very small chance that that would happen.

Most of the other chat on this thread relates to what playoff group we might end up in and who we might play, but really we just need to let things pan out in that regard. Or just go and win some group games and qualify automatically. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hans Moleman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2019 at 10:50am

Sky Sports News website.

Thoughts?

Soon the science will not only be able to slow down the ageing of the cells, soon the science will fix the cells to the state and so we will become eternal.
Only accidents, crimes, wars will still kill us but, unfortunately, crimes, wars will multiply. I love football. Thank you.

LOL LOL LOL
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 5354555657 126>