Roughest place you have ever been to

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 8>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Claret Murph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:37pm

Johannesburg, Oakland California is some spot to

Detroit also. The black areas are rough dodgy and dangerous, terrified

I recall we had to pick up a BBQ at some Mexicans house once in Oakland  , my mate said stay in the truck I said don't worry I will only get out if they set light to the truck  LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shedite Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:51pm
Angles City, Phillipines. Town sprung up just outside a US Army base. It was sold to us as "the Phillipines answer to Vegas", loads of bars, clubs and casinos. Really just a load of strip bars and brothels, and bars where everyone had a gun.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Salzburglilly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:54pm
Voronezh- Russia

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:10pm

Grimsby is the most horrible place I have experienced in the UK. The only place I have been a week before Christmas where they didn't even have any council/city decorations or Christmas lights up, not even a tree. There's also an element of your sister is your mother, your father is your brother about the locals too. 

The area around McCarthy's Irish bar in Cleveland is rough as fook. Couldn't get a cab for ages and about six different people started following up at various points. Didn't help that my two mates and I were hammered as well.

Around Anfield a few years ago before they did up the new stand sticks out also. I'm told it looks a lot better now.

Askeaton in Limerick is terrible too.

That sounds brilliant, I was going to Blundell on Good Friday, might go for Xmas now. f**king lights were being put up here last week.Angry

You are correct An C., Bandon is a kip!
When dividing places into kips you have to factor in the local character too, Hornet may not like this but I preferred Luton To Watford as anything could happen in Luton and Watford is the sort of place that feels like Royston Vasey. Was in Stevenage recently, felt like I was in some Dystopian drama. Every building looked thesame and it had completely sucked the life out of the locals.

Why bring Chubby into this. YFB...........
window.post_1478092213443_15 = function(win,msg){ win.postMessage(msg,"*"); }window.post_1478092214468_40 = function(win,msg){ win.postMessage(msg,"*"); }

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:17pm

Grimsby is the most horrible place I have experienced in the UK. The only place I have been a week before Christmas where they didn't even have any council/city decorations or Christmas lights up, not even a tree. There's also an element of your sister is your mother, your father is your brother about the locals too. 

The area around McCarthy's Irish bar in Cleveland is rough as fook. Couldn't get a cab for ages and about six different people started following up at various points. Didn't help that my two mates and I were hammered as well.

Around Anfield a few years ago before they did up the new stand sticks out also. I'm told it looks a lot better now.

Askeaton in Limerick is terrible too.

That sounds brilliant, I was going to Blundell on Good Friday, might go for Xmas now. f**king lights were being put up here last week.Angry

You are correct An C., Bandon is a kip!
When dividing places into kips you have to factor in the local character too, Hornet may not like this but I preferred Luton To Watford as anything could happen in Luton and Watford is the sort of place that feels like Royston Vasey. Was in Stevenage recently, felt like I was in some Dystopian drama. Every building looked thesame and it had completely sucked the life out of the locals.

Why bring Chubby into this. YFB...........
window.post_1478092213443_15 = function(win,msg){ win.postMessage(msg,"*"); }window.post_1478092214468_40 = function(win,msg){ win.postMessage(msg,"*"); }
Was referring to the town named after him on 'The League of Gentleman' on which he appeared, the only time the **** was ever funny.
de scientist View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote de scientist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:25pm
jackman park (bin laden park) limerick
de scientist View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote de scientist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:25pm
the foxes pub ballyvolane.....

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Drumcondra 69er Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:30pm
Was over in Rhyl for a Bohs European game a few years ago. Didn't feel unsafe but my God, what a kip. Every second shop was a cash for gold pawn shop style yoke and the rest were discount shops, pubs and bookies. Everyone in the town seemed to be on disability benefits of some description and either driving a mobility scooter or on crutches. Loads of trailer parks visible on the drive in from holyhead, apparently they moved a load of rough heads from Liverpool and Manchester out there years back, total sh*thole. We stayed in Llandudno about an hours drive away which was actually quite nice in an old seaside town sort of way.
Mulvanystrasse View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mulvanystrasse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:32pm
The 3 Liverpool suburbs built in the '60's, Tower Hill, Cantril Farm and Netherley looked like they had been bombed by the Luftwaffe by the early '80's. Was only ever out there in the early morning so it was safe enough. In contrast, Anfield and Norris Green were ok areas back then.

Edited by Mulvanystrasse - 02 Nov 2016 at 1:35pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote corkery Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:41pm
Some parts of Glasgow are shocking. Red Road before the flats were knocked was like the third world.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rossieman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:43pm
Originally posted by Mulvanystrasse Mulvanystrasse wrote:

The 3 Liverpool suburbs built in the '60's, Tower Hill, Cantril Farm and Netherley looked like they had been bombed by the Luftwaffe by the early '80's. Was only ever out there in the early morning so it was safe enough. In contrast, Anfield and Norris Green were ok areas back then.

stayed in Toxteth for a weekend and it was rough as f**k all around the area.Good craic in the pub locals were sound and couldnt believe we were staying around there LOL

Edited by rossieman - 02 Nov 2016 at 1:49pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:46pm

Originally posted by Mulvanystrasse Mulvanystrasse wrote:

stayed in Toxteth for a weekend and it was rough as f**k all around the area.
+ 1. Loved it though, helped I was with a local I worked with. Collected tickets from those three towers behind Celtic Park before, couldn't get in the lift as some poor junkie had passed out. Some really great people in both places.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Green Devil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:46pm
Oakland was rather shady LOL

Ended up in some back alley drug den all because the lads wanted to get some weed Geek 

Downtown Edmonton isn't overly appealing either, the amount of drug addicts floating about is scary. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Green Devil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:48pm
East End of Glasgow is like stepping back into the 1960s LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote OnTheOneRoad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:51pm
There are some parts of Kowloon in Hong Kong that'd be a bit shady
bannerboy95 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bannerboy95 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:58pm
Spanish Harelm, Bronx, NYC used to commute few years back from Manhattan and change then up here to get a bus to Randalls Island for football training never understood racism before then

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gspain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 2:10pm
Chester Pennsylvania (outside Philadelphia) where we met Costa Rica in 2014 looked really rough.  The stadium was fine but the area around the railway station for a few miles looked really dangerous.  I went down early on my own and felt really uncomfortable before getting on a public bus and even on the bus it felt dangerous.  

I visited the old Den in the late 80's and the new Den in the 90's and both were pretty rough.  Brilliant atmosphere in the old Den though.

The East End of Glasgow obviously as others have said.  

Parts of Lodz in Poland where we stayed for the euros looked rough but no issues there.  

The area around the stadium in Orlando in 1994 was a real "no go" area also.  

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 2:28pm
The New DEn isn't that rough, just on an industrial estate. Can be made feel a bit intimidating on a Tuesday night alright.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 8>