URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=54637
Printed Date: 27 Apr 2024 at 4:38am

Topic: Roughest place you have ever been to
Subject: Roughest place you have ever been to
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 11:31am
Now what the worst city, town or even country you have ever been to ?

Now I have seen a few places where I did feel unsafe I have to say at least even beaten up in places .

Now Fitzroy Crossing in Northern Australia was something else wild west really , never got into trouble but got out of there within minutes .

When I was working in San Fran for a removal firm I had one move where this guy was moving out of the projects , I really did think I could be killed for a table and two chairs .

Was in Cambodia in the early 90s and was told not to go out after dark otherwise we may never see you again , hey I got the hint .

Anyone else .

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 11:33am
Burnley Dead

Close the thread now

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 11:38am
how can I start a thread so I can namedrop all the places I have been but its not that obvious from the title Tongue

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 11:41am
La Boca in Buenos Aires. I thought the rest of the city was fine but that area was seriously dodgy. 

Posted By: LHurlz
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 11:45am
Tallaght

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 11:46am
Dalkey, should have known it would be rough when I seen the pair of Prada trainers hanging from the electricity wire.......

Posted By: AnCearrbhach
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 11:46am
Toss up between Oakland, CA and Long Beach, CA. 

Que PM coming in and saying Bandon LOL

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 11:51am
Those underground tunnels in Chisinau LOL

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:04pm
Hartlepool, close thread. Ive also stayed in a very rough suburb on the very outskirts of Berlin the name of which escapes me. But Hartlepool is the roughest spot ive ever been in hands down

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:04pm
Tegucigalpa - Honduras. One of the murder capitals of the world. Lots of slums and punters wandering around the city with machetes. I never really felt safe there. 

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:07pm
Passed through Watts in East L.A. & our taxi broke down in the Tenderloin area of San Francisco. Was absolutely sh*tting myself in those places but no one said anything to us. Being the only 2 white people on a public bus through a black neighbourhood in L.A. where this fella was ranting about big bad white people to the bus driver LOL. Noone in fairness said anything to us.

What we call a rough estate here is Disneyland compared to the U.S. You've a serious chance of being shot to death for the even the slightest of things.

Posted By: seaniemac
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:09pm
Grimsby is the most horrible place I have experienced in the UK. The only place I have been a week before Christmas where they didn't even have any council/city decorations or Christmas lights up, not even a tree. There's also an element of your sister is your mother, your father is your brother about the locals too. 

The area around McCarthy's Irish bar in Cleveland is rough as fook. Couldn't get a cab for ages and about six different people started following up at various points. Didn't help that my two mates and I were hammered as well.

Around Anfield a few years ago before they did up the new stand sticks out also. I'm told it looks a lot better now.

Askeaton in Limerick is terrible too.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:11pm
East end of Glasgow takes some beating

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:12pm

Tegucigalpa - Honduras. One of the murder capitals of the world. Lots of slums and punters wandering around with machetes. I never really felt safe there. 

So a normal Monday night in Tom Tavey's so

Wink 

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:23pm
Johannesburg well dodgy you went down the wrong street you weren't come back up it

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:25pm
Johannesburg, Oakland California is some spot to

Detroit also. The black areas are rough dodgy and dangerous, terrified

YBIG Resident Pilot

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:30pm

Johannesburg well dodgy you went down the wrong street you weren't come back up it

One Way streets can be very inconvenient indeed

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:36pm

Grimsby is the most horrible place I have experienced in the UK. The only place I have been a week before Christmas where they didn't even have any council/city decorations or Christmas lights up, not even a tree. There's also an element of your sister is your mother, your father is your brother about the locals too. 

The area around McCarthy's Irish bar in Cleveland is rough as fook. Couldn't get a cab for ages and about six different people started following up at various points. Didn't help that my two mates and I were hammered as well.

Around Anfield a few years ago before they did up the new stand sticks out also. I'm told it looks a lot better now.

That sounds brilliant, I was going to Blundell on Good Friday, might go for Xmas now. f**king lights were being put up here last week.Angry

You are correct An C., Bandon is a kip!
When dividing places into kips you have to factor in the local character too, Hornet may not like this but I preferred Luton To Watford as anything could happen in Luton and Watford is the sort of place that feels like Royston Vasey. Was in Stevenage recently, felt like I was in some Dystopian drama. Every building looked thesame and it had completely sucked the life out of the locals.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:37pm

Johannesburg, Oakland California is some spot to

Detroit also. The black areas are rough dodgy and dangerous, terrified

I recall we had to pick up a BBQ at some Mexicans house once in Oakland  , my mate said stay in the truck I said don't worry I will only get out if they set light to the truck  LOL

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:51pm
Angles City, Phillipines. Town sprung up just outside a US Army base. It was sold to us as "the Phillipines answer to Vegas", loads of bars, clubs and casinos. Really just a load of strip bars and brothels, and bars where everyone had a gun.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 12:54pm
Voronezh- Russia

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:10pm

That sounds brilliant, I was going to Blundell on Good Friday, might go for Xmas now. f**king lights were being put up here last week.Angry

When dividing places into kips you have to factor in the local character too, Hornet may not like this but I preferred Luton To Watford as anything could happen in Luton and Watford is the sort of place that feels like Royston Vasey. Was in Stevenage recently, felt like I was in some Dystopian drama. Every building looked thesame and it had completely sucked the life out of the locals.

Why bring Chubby into this. YFB...........
window.post_1478092213443_15 = function(win,msg){ win.postMessage(msg,"*"); }window.post_1478092214468_40 = function(win,msg){ win.postMessage(msg,"*"); }

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:17pm

Why bring Chubby into this. YFB...........
window.post_1478092213443_15 = function(win,msg){ win.postMessage(msg,"*"); }window.post_1478092214468_40 = function(win,msg){ win.postMessage(msg,"*"); }
Was referring to the town named after him on 'The League of Gentleman' on which he appeared, the only time the **** was ever funny.

Posted By: de scientist
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:25pm
jackman park (bin laden park) limerick

Posted By: de scientist
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:25pm
the foxes pub ballyvolane.....

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:30pm
Was over in Rhyl for a Bohs European game a few years ago. Didn't feel unsafe but my God, what a kip. Every second shop was a cash for gold pawn shop style yoke and the rest were discount shops, pubs and bookies. Everyone in the town seemed to be on disability benefits of some description and either driving a mobility scooter or on crutches. Loads of trailer parks visible on the drive in from holyhead, apparently they moved a load of rough heads from Liverpool and Manchester out there years back, total sh*thole. We stayed in Llandudno about an hours drive away which was actually quite nice in an old seaside town sort of way.

Posted By: Mulvanystrasse
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:32pm
The 3 Liverpool suburbs built in the '60's, Tower Hill, Cantril Farm and Netherley looked like they had been bombed by the Luftwaffe by the early '80's. Was only ever out there in the early morning so it was safe enough. In contrast, Anfield and Norris Green were ok areas back then.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:41pm
Some parts of Glasgow are shocking. Red Road before the flats were knocked was like the third world.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:43pm
Originally posted by Mulvanystrasse Mulvanystrasse wrote:

The 3 Liverpool suburbs built in the '60's, Tower Hill, Cantril Farm and Netherley looked like they had been bombed by the Luftwaffe by the early '80's. Was only ever out there in the early morning so it was safe enough. In contrast, Anfield and Norris Green were ok areas back then.

stayed in Toxteth for a weekend and it was rough as f**k all around the area.Good craic in the pub locals were sound and couldnt believe we were staying around there LOL

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:46pm

Originally posted by Mulvanystrasse Mulvanystrasse wrote:

stayed in Toxteth for a weekend and it was rough as f**k all around the area.
+ 1. Loved it though, helped I was with a local I worked with. Collected tickets from those three towers behind Celtic Park before, couldn't get in the lift as some poor junkie had passed out. Some really great people in both places.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:46pm
Oakland was rather shady LOL

Ended up in some back alley drug den all because the lads wanted to get some weed Geek 

Downtown Edmonton isn't overly appealing either, the amount of drug addicts floating about is scary. 

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:48pm
East End of Glasgow is like stepping back into the 1960s LOL

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:51pm
There are some parts of Kowloon in Hong Kong that'd be a bit shady

Posted By: bannerboy95
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 1:58pm
Spanish Harelm, Bronx, NYC used to commute few years back from Manhattan and change then up here to get a bus to Randalls Island for football training never understood racism before then

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 2:10pm
Chester Pennsylvania (outside Philadelphia) where we met Costa Rica in 2014 looked really rough.  The stadium was fine but the area around the railway station for a few miles looked really dangerous.  I went down early on my own and felt really uncomfortable before getting on a public bus and even on the bus it felt dangerous.  

I visited the old Den in the late 80's and the new Den in the 90's and both were pretty rough.  Brilliant atmosphere in the old Den though.

The East End of Glasgow obviously as others have said.  

Parts of Lodz in Poland where we stayed for the euros looked rough but no issues there.  

The area around the stadium in Orlando in 1994 was a real "no go" area also.  

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 2:28pm
The New DEn isn't that rough, just on an industrial estate. Can be made feel a bit intimidating on a Tuesday night alright.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 2:33pm

There are some parts of Kowloon in Hong Kong that'd be a bit shady
  Wow did you ever see the Walled City ?

Unreal never saw anything like it really walked in and you knew you would get lost in seconds really hard to describe .

Posted By: Hickster74
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 2:33pm
Cabramatta, suburb of Sydney.
I read its been cleaned up now but when I went there in 97 doing a sales job, it was a mental heroin hell-hole. It was like the city had decided to just let all the addicts go there and leave it to rot. All the sober people were Vietnamese business owners - the whites were mostly like characters from the walking dead. People were sprawled all over the place, I must have been offered heroin 10 times - they all just assumed that was why I was there. I refused a young lad a smoke coz I'd already given half a pack away that morning. He was shaking and collapsed in front of me, hitting his head hard on the concrete. A geyser of blood shot up from his forehead. I ran into the doctor's surgery beside and called for the doctor. He was Vietnamese and took one look, just shook his head like he saw it every day and called an ambulance. Your man was still out when the ambulance arrived.

Later I was walking down a street and two cops stopped to search a likely looking lad walking in front of me. He pointed at me and asked 'why aren't you stopping him too, mate?' Just then a new bright red bmw with the top down drove past, the gold covered Lebanese looking passenger smiled at me before gobbing full force at the cops, hiiting one on the back of the head. The driver put the foot to the floor and disappeared round the corner. 

All the shops were like banks with the stock and tills behind the counter. I was trying to sell a phone line to a pawnshop owner when I heard a Dublin accent behind me. An early 20s girl was trying to sell jewellery and arguing with one of the staff over the price. I chatted to her for a while. Turned out she was from Dun Laoghaire, arms marked to bits. I asked her did her family know where she was - she said they thought she was still backpacking. She made a quick exit when I turned the conversation towards getting help.

"Perhaps the reason that they did not consider the worst, was because discussion of such cases would have cast suspicion on the planner as being a "saboteur". Paranoia was rampant throughout."

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 2:51pm
Anyone ever been to downtown Vancouver? 

Saw a documentary a few years ago, seems to be plagued with a Heroin problem and it's all done out in the open. 

Posted By: Gigibongi33
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 3:18pm
Originally posted by de scientist de scientist wrote:

If you think that's rough don't ever venture to the 'rob & kill'

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 3:56pm

ffs ive worked in rougher pubs than the fox and hounds in ballyvolane, its actually not a bad spot.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 3:59pm
That Yellow House in Waterford is worse for a start, is that still open?

Posted By: Peter Stöger
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 3:59pm
Shankill Rd or Sandy Row : friendly but clearly felt in the wrong part of town 
Daly City in San Fran: plenty of characters sitting around the BART station deciding which granny to mug
Newcastle and Liverpool in parts LOL Dundee was a kip too
In other parts of the world, probably close to the Serbia/Bulgaria border inside Serbia, saw a few villiages that were gypsy ghettoes.  

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 4:00pm
Originally posted by Gigibongi33 Gigibongi33 wrote:

to be fair a lot of the pubs that have bad reputations such as 
the fob and gill
the red cove
the hollyhill inn

are not as bad as people make out, usually they are clannish but i bet you there are more people thrown out of the East Village in douglas than there is out of these places.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 4:02pm

the fob and gill
the red cove
the hollyhill inn

are not as bad as people make out, usually they are clannish but i bet you there are more people thrown out of the East Village in douglas than there is out of these places.
The East Village is on a very short list of places I have been thrown out of. We were having a good sing song at about six o'clock and we got two warnings.

Posted By: Gigibongi33
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 4:03pm

the fob and gill
the red cove
the hollyhill inn

Agreed Kevin. I grew up 5 mins away from the fob and gill and it's not that bad at all. And the foxes is fine too.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 4:15pm
Got held up at gun point by a dozen or so Zapatista rebels in the Chiapas region of Mexico last year. That was pretty hairy. It was also just days after getting caught in a riot in the Estadio Azteca at the season opener for Club Americas. Some buzz. So probably Mexico.

Although like D69er, I've also been to Rhyl, so it's a tough call. Never seen so any mobility scooters also.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 4:16pm
Originally posted by Hickster74 Hickster74 wrote:

I read its been cleaned up now but when I went there in 97 doing a sales job, it was a mental heroin hell-hole. It was like the city had decided to just let all the addicts go there and leave it to rot. All the sober people were Vietnamese business owners - the whites were mostly like characters from the walking dead. People were sprawled all over the place, I must have been offered heroin 10 times - they all just assumed that was why I was there. I refused a young lad a smoke coz I'd already given half a pack away that morning. He was shaking and collapsed in front of me, hitting his head hard on the concrete. A geyser of blood shot up from his forehead. I ran into the doctor's surgery beside and called for the doctor. He was Vietnamese and took one look, just shook his head like he saw it every day and called an ambulance. Your man was still out when the ambulance arrived.

Later I was walking down a street and two cops stopped to search a likely looking lad walking in front of me. He pointed at me and asked 'why aren't you stopping him too, mate?' Just then a new bright red bmw with the top down drove past, the gold covered Lebanese looking passenger smiled at me before gobbing full force at the cops, hiiting one on the back of the head. The driver put the foot to the floor and disappeared round the corner. 

All the shops were like banks with the stock and tills behind the counter. I was trying to sell a phone line to a pawnshop owner when I heard a Dublin accent behind me. An early 20s girl was trying to sell jewellery and arguing with one of the staff over the price. I chatted to her for a while. Turned out she was from Dun Laoghaire, arms marked to bits. I asked her did her family know where she was - she said they thought she was still backpacking. She made a quick exit when I turned the conversation towards getting help.

That's some account - didn't think Sydney would have a place like that even back in the day. Must ask my uncle about the place he's lived in Sydney for 40 years

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 4:23pm
The Brandywell area...an absolute fooking dive.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 4:23pm
Originally posted by heighway2heaven heighway2heaven wrote:

Got held up at gun point by a dozen or so Zapatista rebels in the Chiapas region of Mexico last year. That was pretty hairy. It was also just days after getting caught in a riot in the Estadio Azteca at the season opener for Club Americas. Some buzz. So probably Mexico.

Although like D69er, I've also been to Rhyl, so it's a tough call. Never seen so any mobility scooters also.

Yarmouth has almost as many, think it is better than Rhyl mind.

How were the Zapatistas, always been, erm, interested in their work.

Posted By: Hickster74
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 4:46pm

That's some account - didn't think Sydney would have a place like that even back in the day. Must ask my uncle about the place he's lived in Sydney for 40 years

I'd say he'll know it alright - the place was infamous - the local MP was shot dead a couple of years before.

"Perhaps the reason that they did not consider the worst, was because discussion of such cases would have cast suspicion on the planner as being a "saboteur". Paranoia was rampant throughout."

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 4:51pm
3 pages in and not a mention for Darndale

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 4:52pm

They were a bit arsey when they didn't get their pay-off. They had spike strips you see, so we had to pay up to let our bus pass. Anyway, there was only about 12 of us on a 44 seater bus, so I think they were expecting quite a bit more loot. So after quarantining our bus and escorting us off it at the business end of a few AK's and sticks with nails in them, we had to make our own way to a place called Palanque. Pretty dodgy too as it was nightfall. 

Other than that, I couldn't really tell you. Was fully behind their wishes for indigenous rights and protection of their lands however, just not the whole shakedown thing they were at. LOL

Did a quick google of it and seems a good few others have ended up in the same hassle. Probably the same lads who held us up LOL

http://mexiconewsdaily.com/news/thieves-target-buses-on-chiapas-highway/" rel="nofollow - http://mexiconewsdaily.com/news/thieves-target-buses-on-chiapas-highway/

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 4:54pm

good shout, only place I've ever been attacked in my life as well

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 4:59pm

They were a bit arsey when they didn't get their pay-off. They had spike strips you see, so we had to pay up to let our bus pass. Anyway, there was only about 12 of us on a 44 seater bus, so I think they were expecting quite a bit more loot. So after quarantining our bus and escorting us off it at the business end of a few AK's and sticks with nails in them, we had to make our own way to a place called Palanque. Pretty dodgy too as it was nightfall. 

Other than that, I couldn't really tell you. Was fully behind their wishes for indigenous rights and protection of their lands however, just not the whole shakedown thing they were at. LOL

Did a quick google of it and seems a good few others have ended up in the same hassle. Probably the same lads who held us up LOL

http://mexiconewsdaily.com/news/thieves-target-buses-on-chiapas-highway/" rel="nofollow - http://mexiconewsdaily.com/news/thieves-target-buses-on-chiapas-highway/

Likewise, not sure if I would fancy an AK being waved in my own face but I can understand why. I'm sure you will have watched 'A place Called Chiapas' but I recommend it to those that haven't. 
I used to have the t-shirts too as a teenager, in my 'Rage' days.LOL

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 5:02pm

That after a league of Ireland match ? The local hoods as there known who attacked shels fans a few years back are apparently only seen when there's an away side from Dublin playing derry and aren't linked to the club.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 5:09pm

Likewise, not sure if I would fancy an AK being waved in my own face but I can understand why. I'm sure you will have watched 'A place Called Chiapas' but I recommend it to those that haven't. 

Not seen it PM. Nice one, will give that a go later. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 5:10pm
It is on youtube.

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 5:17pm

That after a league of Ireland match ? The local hoods as there known who attacked shels fans a few years back are apparently only seen when there's an away side from Dublin playing derry and aren't linked to the club.

twas indeed, presume be grand any other time, and it wasn't even that bad but still the only place I have been attacked so will go for there

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 5:29pm
Never been but ive heard Merthyr Tydfil is one of the worst places of all time

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 5:33pm

Its closed now a while but my god what a kip but being the only pub near the RSC it got business from that. A scumbag element about it. Another rough Waterford pub was the Toddle on the yellow road, its was like the wild west in there, fights everynight and if u looked at someone the wrong way you were in trouble. It closed down and is now a Calvary religious club lol

Masons sports bar in Waterford is another kip as it sells all drinks for 3 euro and anyone is let in there, few pubs in the barrack street area are bad but nothing compared to the likes of the Yellow house and Toddle 

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 5:54pm

I'd say he'll know it alright - the place was infamous - the local MP was shot dead a couple of years before.

The film Little Fish was set in Cabramatta.Worth checking out deals with a recovering heroin addict trying to go straight. 

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 8:46pm

Your  rage days are over? Must say, I wouldn't have noticed
LOLWink

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 8:50pm

Its closed now a while but my god what a kip but being the only pub near the RSC it got business from that. A scumbag element about it. Another rough Waterford pub was the Toddle on the yellow road, its was like the wild west in there, fights everynight and if u looked at someone the wrong way you were in trouble. It closed down and is now a Calvary religious club lol

Masons sports bar in Waterford is another kip as it sells all drinks for 3 euro and anyone is let in there, few pubs in the barrack street area are bad but nothing compared to the likes of the Yellow house and Toddle 

I was in the Yellow House with a few lads I was in college with from Arklow once, dunno how we didn't get the head bate off us LOL

Is Masons still open? I heard loads of stories of people getting spiked in there. Still,never as bad as Oxygen

Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 8:57pm

LOLWink
Don't listen to them as much as I used to, my tastes are to eclectic to be tied down to one band.Wink

Posted By: farfar
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 11:25pm
The surrounding area around the Athens port Piraeus is a dodgy aul area. Also made the mistake of booking a hotel pretty much directly outside Gare de L'est in Paris...

Posted By: deebee
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 11:41pm

The closure of Waterford Crystal across the road from Yellow house killed it.Would be packed on a Monday morning up to lunchtime.Linden village can sales well down now LOL.

Posted By: devondudley
Date Posted: 02 Nov 2016 at 11:55pm
Miami has some right dumps of areas full of pikey latinos with no English it ain't safe in little Haiti, its full of broke pitbull lookalikes, defo not safe, most dangerous country I was in isn't even a county anymore Netherlands Antilles was there back in 2006 was doing Central America and the guide book said of it at the time basically avoid it as it's lawless, nothing bad happened but I wasn't safe there at all at any stage and although Trinidad and these places have bad reps are nothing like here, clearance seedorf is from there as a Rasta with a machete kept telling me

But fumble in a greasy till

And add the halfpence to the pence

And pray to shivering prayer, until

You have dried the marrow from the bone.

W. B. Yeats, September 1913

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 1:27am

Anyone ever been to downtown Vancouver? 

Saw a documentary a few years ago, seems to be plagued with a Heroin problem and it's all done out in the open. 
Yep Gastown. Lovely city but they seemed to move all the junkies there. Tight spot but one or two good bars around there. Could buy literally anything down thereLOL

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 1:37am
Originally posted by farfar farfar wrote:

The surrounding area around the Athens port Piraeus is a dodgy aul area. Also made the mistake of booking a hotel pretty much directly outside Gare de L'est in Paris...
Omonia square  area in athens actually. The only place I've seen people openly injecting...People out of their head and out of it on the ground. Brazzers everywhere. Loads of rats on the street. Was a horrible place

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 2:09am
Detroit is a absolute shocker. People in cars constantly running red lights for fear of being car jacked. Its crazy because right over the border is the affluent city of Windsor in Canada. Lovely spot and walk two minutes over the border and its this soulless hellhole.

My boss, ex Canada U17s head coach was telling me a story of when he was in El Salvador for an international and the team bus was held at gunpoint. In order to let the players leave safely he basically gave them everything he had (watch, money, jewellery etc) and was taken hostage as the bus was allowed leave. Think he said he was 3 days in the jungle before he was released. 

Posted By: baresi41
Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 5:49am
Ulan Bator - Mongolia. Having spent time in India and Kazakstan almost as bad . Streets of New York stuff, cut ya for the coat of your back. Wrexham is a kip. Most of the north of INGERLAND towns are dumps. 

FRANCO BARESI: Always supporting the green brigade

Posted By: Croftman
Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 10:18am
Was only in Naples for a few hours one time but had a strangely uncomfortable feel to it

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 10:38am
Fresno, California.

A total and utter sh*thole. Stopped at a motel for the night on the outskirts. Fookin place was full of drugged up zombies staring at you. People late at night just wandering the streets in a daze. A very unnerving experience and certainly the least safest place I've been to. During the same trip we went to LA... stopped in Compton without realising at the time. Despite being the only white people in the McDonald's we didn't feel intimidated. The levels of poverty in the US is shocking and yet they think America is the greatest country in the world.

The east end of Glasgow is grand. A lot of poor people but the salt of the earth.

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 10:57am

Fresno, California.

A total and utter sh*thole. Stopped at a motel for the night on the outskirts. Fookin place was full of drugged up zombies staring at you. People late at night just wandering the streets in a daze. A very unnerving experience and certainly the least safest place I've been to. During the same trip we went to LA... stopped in Compton without realising at the time. Despite being the only white people in the McDonald's we didn't feel intimidated. The levels of poverty in the US is shocking and yet they think America is the greatest country in the world.

The east end of Glasgow is grand. A lot of poor people but the salt of the earth.

That's the place where Louis Theroux did a documentary on. You should watch it. It's excellent. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 11:18am

Did you see Ross Kemp doing his documentary in Glasgow? He visits that oul fella who was literally rotting away. He pulled off his own toes and kept them in his flat DeadDeadDead 

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 11:24am

The levels of poverty in the US is shocking and yet they think America is the greatest country in the world.
True.
The worst (First World) poverty I've witnessed was in the US. 

They think it's great because they are ignorant and uneducated about the rest of the World.

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 11:29am

“Go back to bed, America. Your government has figured out how it all transpired. Go back to bed, America. Your government is in control again. Here. Here's American Gladiators. Watch this, shut up. Go back to bed, America. Here is American Gladiators. Here is 56 channels of it! Watch these pituitary retards bang their f**king skulls together and congratulate you on living in the land of freedom. Here you go, America! You are free to do what we tell you! You are free to do what we tell you!”

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 11:29am
The amount of homeless people in the U.S. cities really shocked me. You're tripping over them.

Dublin seems to have gotten worse in the last few years too.

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 11:35am

The amount of homeless people in the U.S. cities really shocked me. You're tripping over them.

The chickens are coming home to roost in Dublin/Ireland regarding the years of austerity. The majority of us didn't earn as much money as we wanted for a few years due to increased taxes and a lot of people have suffered terribly at the hands of the banks/government/EU/IMF but the worst victims have been the people on the periphery of society economically. They have been further marginalized and that is being illustrated by the number of people sleeping rough. 

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 11:45am

LOLWink
Don't listen to them as much as I used to, my tastes are to eclectic to be tied down to one band.Wink

Same as myself. Listened to Bulls on Parade last week for a trip down memory lane. My favourite lyric when he describes the Pentagon 

"That five sided fist-a-gon
Tha rotten sore on tha face of mother earth gets bigger
Tha triggers cold empty ya purse"

Cool

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 11:48am

The chickens are coming home to roost in Dublin/Ireland regarding the years of austerity. The majority of us didn't earn as much money as we wanted for a few years due to increased taxes and a lot of people have suffered terribly at the hands of the banks/government/EU/IMF but the worst victims have been the people on the periphery of society economically. They have been further marginalized and that is being illustrated by the number of people sleeping rough. 

I used to pass by that Merchants Quay Ireland place after work and it's sobering thought when you look at the poor devils outside in the depths of drug addiction and homelessness. The colour on their faces alone. Awful existence Disapprove

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 12:13pm

Fresno, California.

That's the place where Louis Theroux did a documentary on. You should watch it. It's excellent. Thumbs Up

I think it was ,place was full of meth addicts all sleeping in tents around the city.

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 12:21pm
Originally posted by baresi41 baresi41 wrote:

Ulan Bator - Mongolia. Having spent time in India and Kazakstan almost as bad . Streets of New York stuff, cut ya for the coat of your back. Wrexham is a kip. Most of the north of INGERLAND towns are dumps. 
Give me a dump in Lancashire or Yorkshire over a dump down south any day, at least the people are individual. Go to Stevenage, Crawley, Milton Keynes,High Wycombe, Watford, Chelmsford etc. All full of Danny Dyers, Ian Beales and low level accountants called Nigel who live with their dead mother. These places would be nuked if they thought it could kill them.

Might put a bit of 'rage' on actually MUFF, far too mellow this morning.

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 12:42pm

I used to pass by that Merchants Quay Ireland place after work and it's sobering thought when you look at the poor devils outside in the depths of drug addiction and homelessness. The colour on their faces alone. Awful existence Disapprove

Now a friend of mine in San Fran had his own homeless dude who used to sleep in his front steps each evening . I said did it worry him he said no just stepped over him every morning without waking him .
The sad thing is one day he will be gone as that's what happens they don't go anywhere else just die .

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 12:42pm
Can't bate RATM. Even that covers album 'Renegades' is an absolute belter.

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 12:48pm
How could I Just Kill a Man blaring now. Even better than the original and I like Cypress Hill. Music needs anger.

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 1:14pm

Beautiful World Clap

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 1:18pm
Edenderry,awful kip especially on a bank holiday weekend, avoid at all costs

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 1:43pm
Lapa, neighbourhood in Rio de Janeiro. Told a local youth that the cigarette in my hand was my last one. Came up from behind and punched me in the jaw.

Tijuana, Mexico. Police pointed guns at me and my friend, put us up against a wall, took all the cash we had in our wallets then sent us on our way to the border.

Posted By: Peter Stöger
Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 1:46pm

Detroit is a absolute shocker. People in cars constantly running red lights for fear of being car jacked. Its crazy because right over the border is the affluent city of Windsor in Canada. Lovely spot and walk two minutes over the border and its this soulless hellhole.

My boss, ex Canada U17s head coach was telling me a story of when he was in El Salvador for an international and the team bus was held at gunpoint. In order to let the players leave safely he basically gave them everything he had (watch, money, jewellery etc) and was taken hostage as the bus was allowed leave. Think he said he was 3 days in the jungle before he was released. 

Any chance the FAI could arrange a friendly for Noel King over there? 

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 1:54pm

Lapa, neighbourhood in Rio de Janeiro. Told a local youth that the cigarette in my hand was my last one. Came up from behind and punched me in the jaw.

Tijuana, Mexico. Police pointed guns at me and my friend, put us up against a wall, took all the cash we had in our wallets then sent us on our way to the border.

Jaysus

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 3:41pm

Fresno, California.

Ha no way?!?! Must check it out. The Mrs would love it. She was totally freaked out by the place. The place at night is like a scene from an apoplectic movie.

The next morning we got up early and headed to Denny's next door. Filled up and got the f**k out of there.

There's parts of America bat-sh*t crazy and then there's Fresno. Stopped in a small red neck town in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada mountains. As I crossed a car park there was a bumper sticker facing me supporting Trump and Palin as his VP. A Trump/Palin ticket would have been comedy gold.

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 3:43pm

Jaysus

Sweet mother of jaysus

Posted By: AnCearrbhach
Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 3:51pm

similar incident happened to a couple of squaddies in our hostel in SD. Not sure why people are so determined to leave the paradise of SD to go there. These boys said they swam back as their passports had been taken from them so they wouldn't go to Tijuana (this could have been bullsh*t).

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 4:02pm

Jaysus

A taxi driver in Lapa robbed my mate at gun point which was obviously bad news for him. However, I did get the ride off some Brazilian strange which was great news for me. So swings and roundabouts and all that.

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 4:11pm

Beautiful World Clap
window.post_1478189429231_16 = function(win,msg){ win.postMessage(msg,"*"); }window.post_1478189430322_38 = function(win,msg){ win.postMessage(msg,"*"); }

Their gig in the Point a few years back is my favourite gig of all time Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 4:32pm
Andy's pizza

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 4:34pm
The area around Budapest Keleti station - total kip. Full of dodgy lads looking to gouge something off you. I shall be in said kip next friday embarking on my Viennese adventure however

Date Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 4:38pm

The area around Budapest Keleti station - total kip. Full of dodgy lads looking to gouge something off you. I shall be in said kip next friday embarking on my Viennese adventure however

Think the murphs quite liked it