Europes Best and Worst Airports

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 7>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevincronin2000 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Europes Best and Worst Airports
    Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 5:57pm
A lot of people on here have traveled more than Gulliver himself and after personally having very contrasting experiences at airports travelling to and from Serbia last month i thought it was time for your opinions..... 

Worst Airport.

This Award goes to Paris Beauvais miles ahead of everywhere else unfriendly staff,  terrible queue's, poor transport infrastructure and the place wasn't the cleanest either.  My 4th time using this Airport en rout to Serbia and hopefully my last. 

Best Airport

This Award goes to Amsterdam Schiphol despite its size and long walks good transport links excellent choice of bars and restaurants very friendly and helpful support staff on the ground for when your hungover and last nights drink is starting to come out through you and you cant use the checked in luggage kiosks.  A special mention to Budapest airport too, bright clean efficient security and decent food court.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote corkery Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 6:00pm
Worst Airport was Waterford, it was like a cafe withna metal detector. Best was Copenhagen, in and out in five minutes and only ten minutes from town.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote coyne Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 6:04pm
Worst - Corfu.

Tiny, staff don't even speak English, chaotic inside, scanning pocket luggage is an absolute nightmare as the staff just throw your phones anywhere leaving anyone to pick em up.

Best - Newcastle.

Huge range of bars, good few (but expensive) take-away chains, the only airport I know where there's a smoking area past security, coming in the border police are good craic.
Transport links are amazing, you can get from Newcastle Airport to London in about 6 hours with only 1 changeover.

Edited by coyne - 04 Oct 2016 at 6:07pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 6:07pm
Nearly all modern airports are horrible, sterile places where your soul disappears the moment you open the door, that is before you even get near security. Gatwick and CDG get special awards for trying to make the experience even more miserable.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevincronin2000 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 6:10pm

Worst Airport was Waterford, it was like a cafe withna metal detector. Best was Copenhagen, in and out in five minutes and only ten minutes from town.

Is Waterford still in existence, sometimes small is good flew to Hahn from KERRY and found kerry to be a decent enough option.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 6:19pm
Approved, above and beyond: Schiphol (10/10, efficient, well planned and connected, good selection of eateries etc), Copenhagen (9/10, excellent, but expensive), Istanbul Sabiha Gokcen (9/10, all you can eat and drink lounge for €15), Frankfurt-am-Main (8/10, good facilities, efficient), London City (8/10, although frankly the majority of these points are for location).

Disapproved, nasty experiences: Luton (3/10, horrible and overcrowded), Gatwick (4/10, the same problems as Luton but it is at least closer to London).

Does-what-it-says-on-the-tin: Frankfurt Hahn (7/10, albeit too far from Frankfurt am Main, but I've only ever used it for connections), Brussels Charleroi (7/10, the same, too far from Brussels, but otherwise fine for connections), Stansted (6/10, at least it's bigger and less crowded than Luton, fine for connections, albeit too far from London), Eindhoven (7/10, a bit far from Amsterdam but otherwise a grand airport).

I've been in Liverpool (6/10, fine, pain in the arse that it's not rail connected which slows down transfer), Lisbon (7/10, also fine, cheap to get to from the city on the metro), Barcelona (6/10, a bit far out of the city), Belgrade (6/10, a lot more expensive than the city, but otherwise grand), Tuzla (5/10, miles from anywhere and not much going on, but that's to be expected), Tbilisi (6/10, fine airport, just a pity about the mad flight times), Stockholm Skavsta (6/10, (can't remember it really, so I'll give it a middle of the road 6/10, as there was nothing stand out or appalling about it, obviously), Tallinn (same as Skavsta), Prague (6/10, close enough to the city, but loses out because of the absence of a direct rail link and the hassle that causes), Bergamo (7/10, lovely airport, quite new, close to the city too), Sarajevo (6/10, does what it needs to, nothing less, nothing more, a bit compact), Lyon (5/10, grand, but no TVs in the place to watch football during the Euros, which beggared belief, and quite expensive to get to from the city centre), Marseille (6/10, does the job, not too far from the city, albeit only by bus, or bus shuttle and train), Nice (6/10, closer to the city centre, better facilities than Marseille), Warsaw (7/10, efficient enough airport, not too busy), Birmingham (5/10, bad experiences at security on multiple occasions, albeit it is only an hour from Euston in London, and with cheap advance train fares for under £10, and otherwise a good airport aside from the slow security experience), Edinburgh (7/10, decent airport, well linked to the city centre by bus and tram) and Torshavn (6/10, like Tallinn and Skavsta, I don't remember much about it, although I was drinking, so that might have something to do with it).

Sh*te, I didn't realise until now just how many airports I'd been through, and I've probably missed some out.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greenforever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 6:24pm
Dublin Airport bar in the departures lounge, means we are on another trip Thumbs Up

Seriously Amsterdam one of the best, and Paris CDG and BVA both horrible places.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote coyne Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 6:26pm
What other airports allow smoking beyond security cos Newcastle can't be the only one surely.

When I went to Alcudia last month and saw the smoking sign I almost burst into happy tears, smokers will know what I mean by when once you're past security the wait for the next cig is never ending 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Borussia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 6:29pm

What other airports allow smoking beyond security cos Newcastle can't be the only one surely.

When I went to Alcudia last month and saw the smoking sign I almost burst into happy tears, smokers will know what I mean by when once you're past security the wait for the next cig is never ending 

I was coming back though Bydgoszcz last Friday and they actually have what can only be described as a giant phone-box for smoking right beside the departure gate. You pay 1 Zloty in the turnstile and then go in and have your fag. Can accommodate about 3 people I would say !

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote heighway2heaven Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 6:33pm

Monstrously expensive though (and eerily quiet). I despise Manchester Airport. Pretty sure I'm on some list there as always get the full treatment at security and the ques are always bastardrous.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PhilliyK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 6:35pm

I was coming back though Bydgoszcz last Friday and they actually have what can only be described as a giant phone-box for smoking right beside the departure gate. You pay 1 Zloty in the turnstile and then go in and have your fag. Can accommodate about 3 people I would say !

A staple of Polish airports I think

Belfast have smoking after security, pretty certain Dublin also and I'm not even a smoker and noticed the signs

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PhilliyK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 6:43pm
Belfast city up there as the worst, 1 crappy bar/cafe and only serves from 12 think it is

Faro was a nightmare - how many fkn security points did they need?

Cardiff is a disaster given how far out it is and last time I visited was lacking few things

Best
Paris Orly is actually a decent airport I thought, place is massive and well equipped with everything you'd want and handy to get to.

Edinburgh I find always a good airport and the staff usually dead on.

Bit like SD, think I've been to almost all gb airports bar Bristol and Southend

Polish airports all tend to be the same though haven't been in Krakow since they were redeveloping it last year, Koln was good but wasn't too impressed with Berlin (before they opened the new terminal) though had good transport links

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevincronin2000 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 6:43pm

Its been a good few years since ive been here but Bourgas in Bulgaria used to have an open terrace for smoking

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 6:45pm
Worst: Paris Beauvais followed by Frankfurt Hahn t(he Ryanair one), Oslo Sandefjord Torp

Best:  Amsterdam, London Gatwick, from left field I will say Tallinn Estonia

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Borussia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 6:50pm
The old Terminal 2 at Heathrow used to be great for the sole reason that it had a Ladbrokes !

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 7:04pm
Oh and a special mention to possibly the worst is Stockholm Skavsta or whatver the one in the middle of nowhere is called.

eire32 View Drop Down
xHamster's Free Porn Videos

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eire32 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 7:22pm

Oh and a special mention to possibly the worst is Stockholm Skavsta or whatver the one in the middle of nowhere is called.

Was that the kip we had the run in With our Turkish taxi driver friend?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Steve Amsterdam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2016 at 7:37pm

Amsterdam Airport has this too. On the D-Pier. And best of all: It's in Murphy's Irish Pub!
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 7>