Make it Irish

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 45678 16>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 12:46pm

Bosco ?
LOL I assume the link is not working...I shall try again

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denis Irwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 12:47pm
Beans as part of the fry

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 12:53pm

enjoy the main pic in this article lads
Several faults with that picture! That is clearly an English breakfast. Toast instead of Irish brown bread,no pudding and that is very clearly an English sausage, not a proper Irish breakfast sausage. It is to be expected from the shoneens at Montrose though.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 12:54pm

Several faults with that picture! That is clearly an English breakfast. Toast instead of Irish brown bread,no pudding and that is very clearly an English sausage, not a proper Irish breakfast sausage. It is to be expected from the shoneens at Montrose though.
Thought you'd like it

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FrankosHereNow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 1:32pm
I like beans but never on the same plate. I'm very fussy about my sausages as well. That's why I generally prefer making it myself than going anywhere for breakfast. Sausages have to be Superquinn, Tescos finest or from a decent butchers. No cheap or jumbo sausages. Denny sausages are muck. I love black and white pudding but I wouldn't make them them that often.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 1:37pm

No wonder there are job cuts in RTE if they pay people to write this dirge......

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 1:40pm

I like beans but never on the same plate. I'm very fussy about my sausages as well. That's why I generally prefer making it myself than going anywhere for breakfast. Sausages have to be Superquinn, Tescos finest or from a decent butchers. No cheap or jumbo sausages. Denny sausages are muck. I love black and white pudding but I wouldn't make them them that often.
Very messy alright, blood everywhere.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FrankosHereNow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 1:49pm

Very messy alright, blood everywhere.
Buy them, cook them, f**k off.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rossieman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 1:58pm

I hope that Barry O'Rourke is a competition winner,woeful article .

If you take the few things he mentioned its about 10c more for them now compared to 2008.

Beans have no place on a fry btw.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HuntysCousin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 2:33pm
You really do learn something new every day, I thought everyone has beans with a fry! I could barely eat one without them, I think they're great. Black pudding is far superior to white pudding also

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Green Devil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 2:40pm
Beans are grand with a fry, once the whole plate isn't covered in them.

Nothing worse than having your toast and fried egg covered in beans......

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 3:38pm
Those sausages are giant. Breakfast sausages should be small. The rashers should be back rashers too, not f**king streaky rashers or crispy bacon. They should be well enough cooked of course, but not crispy.

Two rashers, two sausages, two slices of black pudding, one fried egg and f**k off with your mushrooms and tomatoes. Beans I can take or leave, and I like a bit of white pudding as well, but it's not a deal breaker.

Bread, in order of preference: fried potato bread, fried or toasted soda bread (as in a soda farl), or just plain toast (third choice, but you have to have some manner of bread). And if you're not having beans, there's nothing wrong with a bit of tomato ketchup.

Orange juice and tea to drink. Orange juice and tea if you have a hangover, just tea on its own if you don't.

Rudds make good sausages and nice pudding too (not too oaty). Their bacon isn't what it was, too much water. O'Neill's bacon (green and white packaging) is nice.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 3:48pm

Those sausages are giant. Breakfast sausages should be small. The rashers should be back rashers too, not f**king streaky rashers or crispy bacon. They should be well enough cooked of course, but not crispy.

Two rashers, two sausages, two slices of black pudding, one fried egg and f**k off with your mushrooms and tomatoes. Beans I can take or leave, and I like a bit of white pudding as well, but it's not a deal breaker.

Bread, in order of preference: fried potato bread, fried or toasted soda bread (as in a soda farl), or just plain toast (third choice, but you have to have some manner of bread). And if you're not having beans, there's nothing wrong with a bit of tomato ketchup.

Orange juice and tea to drink. Orange juice and tea if you have a hangover, just tea on its own if you don't.

Rudds make good sausages and nice pudding too (not too oaty). Their bacon isn't what it was, too much water. O'Neill's bacon (green and white packaging) is nice.

So much wrong here SD, very disappointing as you started off well. Ketchup??You may as well pour honey and brown sugar on the plate. Rudds don't do anything even edible, it is all atrocious. Even Denny can manage better.
If it doesn't have pudding or proper Irish soda bread then it can't call itself an Irish breakfast. An English breakfast or an Ulster fry are all grand, but call them what they are.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AntrimMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 4:01pm
I think we can all agree here, if its not Clonakilty Black Pudding ye can fook right off. Even the English have realised this. Its THAT obvious

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 4:05pm
Ketchup is grand, and it's only a small amount.

Clonakilty black pudding is nasty stuff imo, full of oats. It's far cheaper than Rudds to make I bet, full of filler. It really isn't the best. Just because you've been brought up with it doesn't make it the best. I'll agree Denny isn't great though, albeit I do like Rudds, especially the sausages.

Also, I grew up in Ulster, and I didn't called it an Irish breakfast in my post. I'm clearly just saying the breakfast I prefer. Soda bread (by which I assume you mean what northerners would call wheaten bread, like the stuff McCambridge's make) isn't something I've ever had with breakfast.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denis Irwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 4:07pm
Used to like Granbys Black Pudding but gone off it completely. Absolute pain in the hole to cut

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 4:16pm

Ketchup is grand, and it's only a small amount.

Clonakilty black pudding is nasty stuff imo, full of oats. It's far cheaper than Rudds to make I bet, full of filler. It really isn't the best. Just because you've been brought up with it doesn't make it the best. I'll agree Denny isn't great though, albeit I do like Rudds, especially the sausages.

Also, I grew up in Ulster, and I didn't called it an Irish breakfast in my post. I'm clearly just saying the breakfast I prefer. Soda bread (by which I assume you mean what northerners would call wheaten bread, like the stuff McCambridge's make) isn't something I've ever had with breakfast.
Irish black pudding contains oatmeal, that Rudds stuff is dry, flavourless and full of salt. It is usually sold in cheap Irish breakfasts in dodgy Irish pubs, including one I worked in that did the worst breakfast ever produced. Clonakilty wouldn't be my favourite pudding, there are local butchers like Haulie O'Neill in the town, Caherbeg or Staunton's near by that I think are better. It is the best that is widely available,; I am sure every locality will have one decent butcher making it.
The debate was centred on the Irish breakfast though, I do like a potato farl ora 'tattie'  scone. I also like the Scottish square slice and Welsh laverbread, but they are all irrelevant!

Edited by pre Madonna - 22 Mar 2017 at 4:17pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DUBLIN DOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2017 at 5:47pm

Used to like Granbys Black Pudding but gone off it completely. Absolute pain in the hole to cut
Try using a knife and give you're hole a break
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 45678 16>