Martin O'Neill...

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 238239240241242 419>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Territorial Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jan 2018 at 3:24pm
Originally posted by Dalymount79 Dalymount79 wrote:

Has he or any of the management team been seen at games over the last few weeks?
I believe Roy Keane was at PNE v Forest just on 23rd December.

And speaking of Forest, this was just a few days before they sacked their Director of Football, Frank McParland, followed by the sacking of his good mates Warburton and Weir yesterday.

Still, Keane was most likely checking out the ROI players on view.

Yeah, that'll be it.

Cathal Sheehan View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cathal Sheehan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jan 2018 at 11:51am
Has anyone any inside info or something that points to us knowing MON's future with the NT? My gut is telling me that the FAI know the majority of the nation will be have even more knife's out for them than they already do if they simply announce he is staying so they are trying to sneak it under the radar that he is staying. Either than or something is up, been ages since the play off and nothing to report at all it seems.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote doherty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jan 2018 at 8:37pm
So mark hughes has been sacked by stoke city. Already talk on sky sports that our management team could be in the running esp due to tbe fact that stoke apparently want to stick with a british or irish manager. He may actually be in the running for this one.........wha ye reckon.

Edited by doherty - 06 Jan 2018 at 8:37pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Newryrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jan 2018 at 8:49pm

So mark hughes has been sacked by stoke city. Already talk on sky sports that our management team could be in the running esp due to tbe fact that stoke apparently want to stick with a british or irish manager. He may actually be in the running for this one.........wha ye reckon.

hopefully
greenmachine68 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greenmachine68 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jan 2018 at 9:12pm

Unfortunately the stoke owners may be familiar with our brand of football under O’Neill. The fans would be in revolt too. Couldn’t see them chancers taking a full time post either!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote doherty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jan 2018 at 9:34pm
http://www.stokesentinel.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/stoke-city-martin-oneill-rowett-1022289

Already a thread on o'neill on the skoke forum also. They dont seem too put of the idea of him taking over.

Edited by doherty - 06 Jan 2018 at 9:34pm
Fozzy B View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fozzy B Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jan 2018 at 10:08pm
the stoke fans will love his style of play. it will be just like old times. long throws, the big centre half's going up for ever set piece, no imagination when it comes to corners and free kicks. shaqiri must be salivating at the very idea of playing in a Martin O'Neill side. and just wait till the set piece specialist Guppy gets to work on him. it will be magic in the potteries.   
Trigboy 10 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trigboy 10 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jan 2018 at 10:20pm
Originally posted by Fozzy B Fozzy B wrote:

the stoke fans will love his style of play. it will be just like old times. long throws, the big centre half's going up for ever set piece, no imagination when it comes to corners and free kicks. shaqiri must be salivating at the very idea of playing in a Martin O'Neill side. and just wait till the set piece specialist Guppy gets to work on him. it will be magic in the potteries.   
Was there any need to mention the potteries

Edited by Trigboy 10 - 06 Jan 2018 at 10:21pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lenny82 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 1:49pm
Yeah, hopefully O'Neill gets the Stoke job and we get somebody in who can transform our Burnley and Preston players in to Neymar and Ronaldo, and we can go back to the swift passing Tika taka style we were all so used to for the last 30 years in Irish football before MON got the job!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 2:25pm

Yeah, hopefully O'Neill gets the Stoke job and we get somebody in who can transform our Burnley and Preston players in to Neymar and Ronaldo, and we can go back to the swift passing Tika taka style we were all so used to for the last 30 years in Irish football before MON got the job!

To be fair Lenny, absolutely nobody thinks that can or will happen, we are all aware of our players limitations. But there is some football styles somewhere in between Barcelona and the Wimbledon team of the late 80s, it shouldn't be a case of one or the other.  If we persist with this crap of having possession stats, goals, shots on goal at the rate of European minnows like Georgia, Luxembourg & Macedonia rather than the mid ranking European nations, we can't realistically hope to compete with them over a long term basis. 

Yep, as the draw specialists of Europe, we might not lose too many either, but our current style relies too much on holding out at the back and hoping to nick one of the 2 or 3 chances that come our way during a game. In some games, like Wales at home, we didn't even get to have a shot on goal. 

Look at Big Sam & Everton, he immediately realised his main problem was conceding goals, so he sorted that pretty immediately, their goals conceded ration is 3 times better than it was under Koeman. This suggests sorting out a defence is relatively easy if you know what yer at. However, this led to Everton having the least shots on goal of any other EPL team over the same period. So off he goes & buys another striker. 

That isn't an option available to us, but my point here is more that he was immediately able to identify the problems. We can all see that we don't create enough chances in nearly any game (FFS, Duffy is our main goal threat these days from set pieces) , but after more than 4 years, it doesn't appear that MON has the slightest clue how to solve it either. 

The one thing I would kind of agree with you on, and maybe this is what you are getting at, I've said it here before too, is that while MON may not be the best manager for us (and I don't think he is), he may well be the best manager the FAI would get us, if he left tomorrow, Mick McCarthy would likely be straight in as favourite, at best it would be a marginal improvement, at worst, it wouldn't work out, it seldom does when lads return to previous jobs. 

planning View Drop Down

Football version of Comical Ali.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote planning Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 2:45pm

Nobody is suggesting that, but that's the stock answer everytime it looks like we might get the chance to see the back of the gombeen.

We just lost 1-5 at home to a country with no hope of winning the World Cup. The sort of result that usually results in the P45 being sent out. Here, it gets you a new contract, as he and his accomplice might sell a few more tickets. Just exactly how many is a moot point.

Stoke are now looking to see what Norwich, Villa and Sunderland couldn't. But their fans, like Everton fans before them, and West Brom fans before them, are not exactly licking their lips at the prospect of a return to Pulis-era football.

I presume the "holiday" is over by now, and we're still none the wiser with the Nations Cup draw just over 2 weeks away.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The O'Shea Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 2:51pm

Just because something hasn't happened in a while doesn't mean you should give up on it forever, then it just becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy...

And the last 30 years haven't been equally bad in terms of our style, Kerr and McCarthy mixed it up a lot more than Trap/O'Neill/Charlton. We need to nurture a more balanced style of play again if we're going to improve.

Edited by The O'Shea - 07 Jan 2018 at 2:52pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zizu Kilbane Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 3:04pm
M'ON is on a serious salary for ,what is in reality, a part time job. At his age I think that he is happy out with his current employment situation. He's going nowhere IMO. Keane on the other hand might be tempted away if the offer was right
JAVIER View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JAVIER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 3:11pm

Nobody is suggesting that, but that's the stock answer everytime it looks like we might get the chance to see the back of the gombeen.

We just lost 1-5 at home to a country with no hope of winning the World Cup. The sort of result that usually results in the P45 being sent out. Here, it gets you a new contract, as he and his accomplice might sell a few more tickets. Just exactly how many is a moot point.

Stoke are now looking to see what Norwich, Villa and Sunderland couldn't. But their fans, like Everton fans before them, and West Brom fans before them, are not exactly licking their lips at the prospect of a return to Pulis-era football.

I presume the "holiday" is over by now, and we're still none the wiser with the Nations Cup draw just over 2 weeks away.

i agree......if we got defeated  5-1  we couldnt  offer him a new contract.  he was without some vital players  ...i remembered some of the irish folks saying hope eriksen or any other got injured bla bla bla.....
we got them  without key  Jonnie Walters  James McCarthy Seamus Coleman.....one up front, in the middle and the skipper....

toasted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 3:41pm

M'ON is on a serious salary for ,what is in reality, a part time job. At his age I think that he is happy out with his current employment situation. He's going nowhere IMO. Keane on the other hand might be tempted away if the offer was right

Agree. I doubt MON at 66 would be keen to take on a club role after this.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 4:04pm
Liam Lawrence was on the radio in England saying Roy Keane would be a terrible appointment. He says he would destroy the dressing room.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 6:06pm
Keane should stick to bring a pundit.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jan 2018 at 7:46pm
Originally posted by JAVIER JAVIER wrote:

i agree......if we got defeated  5-1  we couldnt  offer him a new contract.  he was without some vital players  ...i remembered some of the irish folks saying hope eriksen or any other got injured bla bla bla.....
we got them  without key  Jonnie Walters  James McCarthy Seamus Coleman.....one up front, in the middle and the skipper....

toasted

Has your caps lock button finally been worn out?
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 238239240241242 419>