UPC Horizon

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 13>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2015 at 3:42pm
If you set it on the energy saving setting, it takes time to turn on, like almost sixty seconds. If you put on the non-saver setting, and leave it on standby, it takes less than ten seconds. It takes as long as the tv to turn on, put it like that.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Count Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2015 at 3:39pm

never used the menu in fairness, does the channel up and down buttons and the numbers work on the new remote as that is s*te on my own older UPC remote?

All the channels are from 101 to 999.

So when you press the remote for say 408 SSN - it times out after you press the second or third button and then defaults back to the UPC channel.

It could take about 3 minutes to get to this channel.

I have to say it really does suck the devils trumpet.

yeah thats the same with the older non horizon box/remote I have for last few years, pain in the ar*e.  thats why i just use up and down button, doesnt work most of the time either and 7 times out of 10 im back to UPC home channel but better results than pressing numbers.

does this yoke take about 10 mins to warm up in the morning aswell when ye turn it on?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2015 at 3:30pm

never used the menu in fairness, does the channel up and down buttons and the numbers work on the new remote as that is s*te on my own older UPC remote?

All the channels are from 101 to 999.

So when you press the remote for say 408 SSN - it times out after you press the second or third button and then defaults back to the UPC channel.

It could take about 3 minutes to get to this channel.

I have to say it really does suck the devils trumpet.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote heighway2heaven Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2015 at 3:10pm
Stay away from it son, it's muck Dead

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Count Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2015 at 3:08pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2015 at 2:58pm

Pretty much yeah.

The infra-red between the remote and the horizon box doesn't and never will work properly.

The ability to record multiple programs and use the pause and rewind function is great.
So is the remote record utility.

So its good horsey except the remote doesnt work?

do the old UPC remotes work with it as have a few of them?

No, the old remote don't work on it.

The menu's are beyond unusable too. On the old STP you could browse what's on now without interrupting which was great but they changed that now.

Also the new horizon box is noisy as f**k as it contains hard drives and fans.

BrenC View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BrenC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2015 at 2:54pm

Is UPC horizon still sh*t as the folks are looking at it?

Ye its crap.  Its worse to use than the version before Horizon but at least can record multiple shows at once.  Their attempt to launch their "Netflix type service" My Prime is pitiful - not a thing on it worth watching. 

Still have it as couldn't get Sky broadband in my last place and everytime I go to change they give me a discount to stay. 
Team Emmet

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Count Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2015 at 2:52pm

Pretty much yeah.

The infra-red between the remote and the horizon box doesn't and never will work properly.

The ability to record multiple programs and use the pause and rewind function is great.

So its good horsey except the remote doesnt work?

do the old UPC remotes work with it as have a few of them?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2015 at 2:48pm
Pretty much yeah.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Count Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Apr 2015 at 2:10pm
Is UPC horizon still sh*t as the folks are looking at it?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2015 at 1:21pm

My wife being one of them .

Ouch

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Devrozex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2015 at 12:01pm

Jaysus - sorry to hear that HB.

Probably didn't time my above rant too well there...

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote heighway2heaven Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2015 at 11:52am

F*ck. Sorry to hear that pal. Shocked

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2015 at 11:49am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2015 at 11:48am

Horse what news are UPC announcing??  The user inface on UPC Horizon is so sh*t I dunno if I can hack take it for another 18 months.  If they managed to make it far simpler I would stay but as of right now am going to cancel the contract which I have 14 days to do.

170 jobs gone

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Devrozex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2015 at 11:04am
Originally posted by heighway2heaven heighway2heaven wrote:

like a kid who hasn't got the patience to build his new kite properly and ends up  looking like a complete spastick running around the green at the top of his road with a mashed up bundle of sticks and fabric on a string dragging behind him.

Definitely one of the better UPC based analogies I've heard! LOL

They are complete and utter joke shop, they really are. As soon as someone can come along and rival their broadband they are hopefully finished....horrible fookers.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2015 at 8:51am
TJ from what I can see from your posts, there is nothing wrong with the UPC equipment.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2015 at 12:15am
Unless you port your old landline number you'll get a new number from UPC
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 13>