Rip Off Ireland Alive and Well Still

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 1112131415>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Green Devil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 2014 at 11:37am

That is actually something that really annoys with pubs in Dublin, charging €1 for a dash of miwadi. The whole bottle costs about €1

It's f**king ridiculous if you ask me, fair enough if you wanted coke or orange juice you would fork out the extra few euro but for a dash of miwadi there is no you should be charged. Money grabbing ****s   

Heading out in Templebar tonight and will still give the f**kers my money

Flanno7hi View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Flanno7hi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 2014 at 1:48pm

Is changing the price of a drink throughout the day/night a regular thing? I've only ever had it in Dublin.

hulkhogan View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hulkhogan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 2014 at 4:43pm
Originally posted by Flanno7hi Flanno7hi wrote:

Is changing the price of a drink throughout the day/night a regular thing? I've only ever had it in Dublin.

done all over Cork aswell
Whacha gonna do
dundon13 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dundon13 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 2014 at 5:26pm
Originally posted by Flanno7hi Flanno7hi wrote:

A couple of pubs in Limerick do it as well, only really after 12 but that's probably got something to do with having to pay staff extra after 12. 
Doyler1993 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Doyler1993 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 2014 at 11:06pm
Carbon nightclub in galway on wednesday is buy one get one free. The barmen were playin rock paper scissors and if you lost you paid double but if you won your drinks were free. Great idea as if you lost you were still only paying the actual price for the drinks as you got one free.
IT’S NO USE BOILING YOUR CABBAGE TWICE

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob Hoskins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jul 2014 at 12:10am

Some pubs would charge as little as €8 for two pints and a pack of crisps. €6 if it was the Sportmans.

TWO packet of crisps

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob Hoskins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jul 2014 at 12:12am

That is actually something that really annoys with pubs in Dublin, charging €1 for a dash of miwadi. The whole bottle costs about €1

Far from it, they'd buy 24 bottles of the stuff or more and they would not be paying €1, a lot less.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote the_walls Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jul 2014 at 1:17am

Far from it, they'd buy 24 bottles of the stuff or more and they would not be paying €1, a lot less.

A million times worse so Angry

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote the_walls Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jul 2014 at 1:18am
Originally posted by Doyler1993 Doyler1993 wrote:

Carbon nightclub in galway on wednesday is buy one get one free. The barmen were playin rock paper scissors and if you lost you paid double but if you won your drinks were free. Great idea as if you lost you were still only paying the actual price for the drinks as you got one free.

It will always be the GPO to me

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MC Hammered Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jul 2014 at 9:47am

A million times worse so Angry
bradys pub in Terenure always charged 2.50 for mi wadi and water. We were regulars as they sponsored our football team and everyone paid the same whack. Ridiculous

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sono Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 4:55pm
Up in lifestyle getting a pair of runners and they were €125 in the shop, went outside bought them online for €85 delivered and @ €85 they are still making a profit, unbelievable stuff.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote seanyshuffler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 5:08pm
Added costs such as rent and labour can drive up in store costs.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sono Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 5:13pm
They were sold online at a profit I'm sure, anyway I'm glad I didn't purchase for €125

eire77 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eire77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 8:07pm

They were sold online at a profit I'm sure, anyway I'm glad I didn't purchase for €125

And when there are no shops left and no jobs in retail for the local workforce it'll be great too.

I remember some wan complaining on Frontline about the shop closing down in her village but then followed up when asked by admiting she did most if not all of her shopping in Tesco!

Amazon and the likes, while cheaper and convenient, will destroy the local economy.

I saw a documentary on Netflix recently which said currently 70% of jobs on the planet can be done more efficiently by computers.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sono Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 8:18pm
Jesus wept, would you give a shop €40 more for an item if you could get it elsewhere for cheaper? I would rather buy my items in a shop and keep them going but the saving is too much to be throwing money away like that, maybe if more people shop online then shops might lower their prices, we are being ripped off.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 8:20pm
Cancel that order Sono ffs and go pay the shop. Ye eejit.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sono Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 8:23pm
Done McG

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Apr 2015 at 8:58pm
Originally posted by eire77 eire77 wrote:

And when there are no shops left and no jobs in retail for the local workforce it'll be great too.

I remember some wan complaining on Frontline about the shop closing down in her village but then followed up when asked by admiting she did most if not all of her shopping in Tesco!

Amazon and the likes, while cheaper and convenient, will destroy the local economy.

I saw a documentary on Netflix recently which said currently 70% of jobs on the planet can be done more efficiently by computers.

Which doc was it?
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 1112131415>