Rough Pubs

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 16>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2012 at 6:32pm
The Station House always had a rough element to it.
A friend of mine got stabbed in the throat about 10 years ago.
A good few years ago one of the bouncers was chasing some bloke around the place with a machete on a Sunday afternoon with the place packed with kids,

Sunday nights years ago the place use to packed whereby people would have to queue for hours from all parts of Dublin - there would always be fights as well.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Clonbhoy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2012 at 6:36pm
Originally posted by BaileNuisBhoy BaileNuisBhoy wrote:

Holly hill inn on corks north side ]

Not too mention the fob and Gill aka the rob and kill!!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Clonbhoy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2012 at 6:38pm

That just across from Liverpool street station, been in there a few times. Full of bankers with a capital W.Not the worst pub in the city though

Edited by Clonbhoy - 06 Jul 2012 at 6:39pm
Black Knee Stevie View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Black Knee Stevie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2012 at 6:50pm

Originally posted by Rostrevor Fan Rostrevor Fan wrote:

I mufc there is pub like that at home its that hard of place even the arms of the chsirs have tattoos on them

You might be able to answer me this, are loyalist pubs in the north called 'black pubs' and if so why? ive always wondered that one as i nearly wandered into one in enniskillen before the ex from the north warned me not to go in

Loyalist areas are called black holes, dunno why, think it's if ya go in, your not comin back out. They are also called black ******** and always wondered this myself, is it because of the black institute (gay fraternity) or black and tans?

But there is also a term Black Irish, dunno if its derogatory or what but it's used to in reference to us, Irish Irish. It could mean Black haired Irish, as one in three Irish are from the sons of a spanish king or just outcast Irish. In OZ O'Reily says to yer man, where the same me and you, black irish. 

Don't know if it makes any sense, its been a long day. But let me know if ya ever find outThumbs Up  
It is not just a simple game, it is a weapon of the revolution
Rostrevor Fan View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Rostrevor Fan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2012 at 6:53pm
The roughest pub i was ever in was recently in south armagh called " the decommisioned arms"

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thebronze14 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2012 at 6:55pm
See a lot more fights in Donegal Town than I do in dublin
daboi89 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daboi89 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2012 at 7:00pm

How has no one coped the title of the thread LOL

Was wondering this myself LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2012 at 7:36pm
Ha ha some fecker changed it my title. fixed now.

One of my mates went to college in maynooth and his flatemate went to some pub in ballymun with a local from the area he was friendly through teaching with.he said it was so rough you could only order your drink of a bouncer who d go to the bar and he d order it off the barman nd give you back your change. Basically you could go nowhere near the bar.Havent a clue of the name and the lad who said it to me wouldnt be a bullsh*t type so im assuming its true
SuperDub View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDub Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2012 at 8:35pm

Newtown House in darndale looks rough enough, never been in i, but id imagine you wouldnt wanna be outside it on ur own at 1am on a saturday night<div id="isChromeWebToolbarDiv" style="display:none">

I have been in the Newtown House on a number of occasions and I found it no different to any other pub, Good bar staff and the regulars seem sound enough. I was in Messer Maguires last Christmas and I didn't feel comfortable, the place is really rundown and some of the clientele looked really dodgy.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote drog addict Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2012 at 9:20pm
The bottom of the hill in finglas......kiiiiiiip!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denis Irwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2012 at 9:26pm

Ha ha some fecker changed it my title. fixed now.

One of my mates went to college in maynooth and his flatemate went to some pub in ballymun with a local from the area he was friendly through teaching with.he said it was so rough you could only order your drink of a bouncer who d go to the bar and he d order it off the barman nd give you back your change. Basically you could go nowhere near the bar.Havent a clue of the name and the lad who said it to me wouldnt be a bullsh*t type so im assuming its true

Probably The Towers

The bottom of the hill in finglas......kiiiiiiip!

Kip is an understatement

Joe Stalin View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Joe Stalin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2012 at 9:26pm
Someone mentioned the steering wheel pub in Limerick - I was in there about 20 years ago on the way back from an under-age football match, a few of us went in there for a piss. Inside were a load of oul lads watching porn on the big screen....

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2012 at 9:51pm
Originally posted by Joe Stalin Joe Stalin wrote:

Someone mentioned the steering wheel pub in Limerick - I was in there about 20 years ago on the way back from an under-age football match, a few of us went in there for a piss. Inside were a load of oul lads watching porn on the big screen....

LOL fcukin hell. watching porn had to be a communal thing in the 80's i suppose. thank god we live in the internet porn age

czechstreets.com Clap (went onto this by accident one night thinking it was a street guide to prague) dont worry i clicked straight off (after half an hour) Cool 

Edited by irishmufc - 06 Jul 2012 at 9:51pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Saint Tom Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2012 at 10:40pm
Originally posted by Rostrevor Fan Rostrevor Fan wrote:

The roughest pub i was ever in was recently in south armagh called " the decommisioned arms"

harry View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote harry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2012 at 11:25pm
Jaysus i was going to post up a couple but after reading the last few pages they make some of the roughest pubs in Kerry seem like 5 star taverns!
Le God View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Le God Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2012 at 12:51am
Its a grand spot when rovers are and bohs are not playing

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2012 at 7:34am
Originally posted by harry harry wrote:

Jaysus i was going to post up a couple but after reading the last few pages they make some of the roughest pubs in Kerry seem like 5 star taverns!

The pubs i was in were nothing compared to some of the ones the lads were going on about. one of my mates was saying if we think some irish housing estates are rough, you should see some of the ones in england

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote drog addict Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2012 at 8:47am

Originally posted by harry harry wrote:

The pubs i was in were nothing compared to some of the ones the lads were going on about. one of my mates was saying if we think some irish housing estates are rough, you should see some of the ones in england

We haven't a patch on the Brits when it comes to rough pubs. Some of the scummy pubs I have ventured into over there are unreal, a lot like shameless but worse.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 16>