The Rugby Thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 466467468469470>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The GerK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Mar 2024 at 9:50pm

Why’s there such a focus on a grand slam?

Ireland have the 6 nations won

It’s like winning the Euros but being all disappointed as you lost a match against a neighboring country along the way  

Winning the Six Nations is not like winning the Euros LOL

It was just an example 
Always found it strange that if you win the tournament but don’t win every game to do so you aren’t really that happy 

In what other sport would this strange scenario occur. 
It’s daft

And that’s before you even get into the triple crown

Yea true. Sure isn't there a cup for every match?

Just a rugby thing. You are right, Ireland will win Six Nations but still won't be happy 

Edited by The GerK - 09 Mar 2024 at 9:55pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irelandfan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Mar 2024 at 9:53pm

It’s like winning the Euros but being all disappointed as you lost a match against a neighboring country along the way  

Winning the Six Nations is not like winning the Euros LOL
The carling nations cup would be a better comparison.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eireland Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Mar 2024 at 10:09pm

Let me guess Ireland would need 4 player's sent off to beat Scotland?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote doherty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Mar 2024 at 10:27pm
Disappointing today we just didn't play well. Too many errors that we normally don't make. Few things went against us. I dont like this 6/2 split on the bench the last few games. Nash goes off and Frawley comes on. Frawley then goes of after a HIA. Gibson Park then ends up on the wing. O'Mahony gets binned for 10 minutes also. We need to have more backs on the bench to cover these eventualities.

And as bad as we played we still could have hung on. Thats a positive. England played pretty well. Attacked well. Cant see us slipping up next week against Scotland. This defeat will give us added motivation.
Godzilla View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Godzilla Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Mar 2024 at 2:19pm
I wouldn't be the biggest rugby fan. Scratch that, I hate it. But even I draw the line when it comes to playing England.

It was hilarious seeing the likes of Heaslip humbled though.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Mar 2024 at 2:51pm
Originally posted by Godzilla Godzilla wrote:

I wouldn't be the biggest rugby fan. Scratch that, I hate it. But even I draw the line when it comes to playing England.

From his very recently edited wikipedia page: 

Having waited the requisite time after his career had ended, he switched allegiances to England and became a cut price Clive Woodward. Making arrogant, attention grabbing claims about the incumbent Irish team. Claims he wouldn’t have made while he played. Some called it getting carried away, others called it loosing the run of himself.

Godzilla View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Godzilla Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Mar 2024 at 3:07pm

Having waited the requisite time after his career had ended, he switched allegiances to England and became a cut price Clive Woodward. Making arrogant, attention grabbing claims about the incumbent Irish team. Claims he wouldn’t have made while he played. Some called it getting carried away, others called it loosing the run of himself.

Ouch. LOL
notpropaganda73 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote notpropaganda73 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Mar 2024 at 3:21pm
Really disappointing performance all things considered, England were always going to be up for it and have given this team plenty of trouble the last few years even though they've been poor overall by their own standards. 

Even if we had snuck it I've a feeling we would have lost to the Scots by how we've been playing so far, just not quite at it. But now I expect a pretty big reaction against Scotland, god love them.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eireland Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Mar 2024 at 4:08pm

I knew heaslip was a clown when he spent thousands advertising his Facebook page to gain relevance. Despite being a top player he wasn't gaining anywhere near the following of the more likely players like ROG and BOD. Paid his way to relevance then unfortunately the media fell for it and gave him a platform..
cliffrichard View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cliffrichard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2024 at 6:47pm
2-in-a-row European Champions for our gallant rugby boys.  What a team 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eireland Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2024 at 6:50pm
Next world cup in the bag goys.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Paulie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2024 at 8:32pm

Next world cup in the bag goys.

f**k the begrudgers

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Het-field Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2024 at 9:21pm
People can laugh at the achievement, but people on here are working about whether Sam Szmodics will play for us over Hungary.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2024 at 9:26pm

People can laugh at the achievement, but people on here are working about whether Sam Szmodics will play for us over Hungary.

Just shows you the interest there is in rugby in some quarters 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Het-field Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2024 at 10:05pm

It was pretty active last week when they lost.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ConorMac77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2024 at 10:29pm

It was pretty active last week when they lost.
Just imagine how active it (this forum) would have been if it existed in the 1990s...LOL

Edited by ConorMac77 - 16 Mar 2024 at 10:30pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2024 at 10:33pm
Rugby was better in the 90s, when Ireland were sh*t and you used to see a mound of sand to kick penalties and conversions off 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Het-field Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2024 at 10:42pm

Rugby was better in the 90s, when Ireland were sh*t and you used to see a mound of sand to kick penalties and conversions off 

Why was Ireland being poor better?
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 466467468469470>