The Rugby Thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 260261262263264 470>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 1:38pm
My mistake. I thought I read she was behind a screen and therefore no-one could see her.
Makes sense now.
randyrandolph View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote randyrandolph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 1:49pm

Originally posted by SimonCox SimonCox wrote:

Yes she is dealing ever so well with this Mr. Kelly QC. 

He has introduced this stuff about her being attracted to northern ireland footballers etc, Im told that this is all fodder for the prosecution, they'll say that the complainant has been further disparaged by all these allegations. 

But, I guess, the defence have decided that is a ploy worth taking, cos the evidence is heavily stacked against them 

Now obviously a defence is entitled to take whatever line they want in questioning the woman and attempting to damage her credibility in the eyes of jury.

And obviously the jury should give their verdict based on the evidence.

However, given the current climate, with the #metoo movement and all that, I think the "slapper defence" line being taken by Mr. Kelly may not play well with the jury. 

agreed. i too think this woman is coming across well from what i've read. the whatsapp messages are very damming and the fact that she left the house crying and harrison had to get her in a cab with her and calm her down doesn't paint a great picture. i wouldnt be surprised if these boys go down.

the woman who walked past (or looked in) the room is a strange one and will perhaps be key. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sid waddell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 1:58pm
Originally posted by randyrandolph randyrandolph wrote:

He has introduced this stuff about her being attracted to northern ireland footballers etc, Im told that this is all fodder for the prosecution, they'll say that the complainant has been further disparaged by all these allegations. 

But, I guess, the defence have decided that is a ploy worth taking, cos the evidence is heavily stacked against them 

Now obviously a defence is entitled to take whatever line they want in questioning the woman and attempting to damage her credibility in the eyes of jury.

However, given the current climate, with the #metoo movement and all that, I think the "slapper defence" line being taken by Mr. Kelly may not play well with the jury. 

agreed. i too think this woman is coming across well from what i've read. the whatsapp messages are very damming and the fact that she left the house crying and harrison had to get her in a cab with her and calm her down doesn't paint a great picture. i wouldnt be surprised if these boys go down.

the woman who walked past (or looked in) the room is a strange one and will perhaps be key. 

I don't think she will be key in establishing whether consent was given. 

The alleged rape had already taken place by then, although it had not finished by then. 

As an aside, it's quite interesting that Blaine McIlroy alleges he had sexual contact with the woman, yet she says he didn't.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 2:17pm
It does seem like the evidence is staked against them. I think there are one or two things that might add some doubt to jurors. Wouldn't be surprised if this is a hung jury

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GB 1HughJarse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 4:14pm
Paddy Jackson said to the taxi driver “I’m Paddy Jackson” when the taxi driver told him his taxi was booked for someone else. What a plonker.
The taxi driver is a bigger clown for actually then telling Jackson to get in.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob Hoskins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 4:42pm
Jaysus, that's easily the worst thing I've heard about this trial Shocked

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 5:03pm
Originally posted by randyrandolph randyrandolph wrote:

They're not really, though.

Even if you agree she didn't consent, the question is was it clear, from all the circumstances, to the accused, that she wasn't consenting at the time.

They're very different questions.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 5:13pm

Really?
That just makes Jackson an arrogant bastard, not a rapist

Edited by Roberto Baggio - 06 Feb 2018 at 6:10pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 6:05pm

Really?
They just make Jackson an arrogant bastard, not a rapist

Jaysus Baggio LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hans Moleman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 6:22pm
Well played Baggio LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DUBLIN DOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 6:40pm

Why is she giving evidence from behind a screen?

Because she is a munter

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 6:58pm
Most trials of this nature in the republic of Ireland are not held in public so we wouldn't know the defendant or the alleged victim. Obviously it's a different legal system in Belfast.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sid waddell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 7:01pm

Why is she giving evidence from behind a screen?

Because she is a munter
Incorrect. 

She's a partitionist.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greenforever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 9:37pm

Most trials of this nature in the republic of Ireland are not held in public so we wouldn't know the defendant or the alleged victim. Obviously it's a different legal system in Belfast.

Are you sure that the defendant has anonymity here?

It is wrong that the defendant's are publicly identified before a verdict, and it's IMO disgraceful that this or any rape trial allows the public to attend.  Yes, allow the media attend and report but where there is significant penalties for publishing any information that could identify either party prior to a verdict, and only to allow the guilty party to be identified when found guilty.

I still believe in this case from reading the reports that the lads are guilty.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 10:13pm

It is wrong that the defendant's are publicly identified before a verdict, and it's IMO disgraceful that this or any rape trial allows the public to attend.  Yes, allow the media attend and report but where there is significant penalties for publishing any information that could identify either party prior to a verdict, and only to allow the guilty party to be identified when found guilty.

There's no harm in identifying defendants at all. It happens in every other case, including kiddy porn and murder. It is there to protect victims, not perpetrators. If a defendant is acquitted, they have the publicity of that, and the public is entitled to know if they are convicted. Nor is there any harm in allowing the public to attend, if a complainant has waived their right of anonymity, or if it can be protected. Now in the North, they seem to have a system that allows that, but they don't here. The only time defendants here are given anonymity is if it would identify the complainant - if it is a random attack or something like this (where there is no personal link between the defendant and the complainant), it would be public knowledge. Say, for example, this had happened after a match in Dublin, there would probably be equal publicity, because the fact the perpetrator is Paddy Jackson doesn't make it public knowledge who the victim is. In cases where the victim knows the perpetrator (as in, for more than that evening), that's where there is anonymity.

There's little merit to protecting the right of an accused prior to verdict. The role of the jury doesn't change either way and it doesn't affect them.

Edited by SuperDave84 - 06 Feb 2018 at 10:55pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 10:40pm

I said most. If the alleged victim gives up their anonymity here they may then release the names of the defendant.   In Belfast it is a different legal system. Most crimes of this nature here we wouldn't know anybodies name who were involved.
JUICEBOMB View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JUICEBOMB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2018 at 11:22pm
The victim says she can't even be sure it was olding that she gave oral sex to.....surely that's him off the hook????plus the defence asked her if she motioned toward the person that she gave oral sex too....she said that she can't remember.i guessing that there defence lies in that if she moved her head toward this persons cock that it was consensual???im not so sure about the whatsapp messages...there's nothing there that any other gang of lads would send after they got there hole...out of four blokes,if something like this had happened,I'm sure one of them would of whatsapp ex the group that "she ran out of the house crying" or "jasus lads that was a bit out of order last night with that skank"

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daithi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Feb 2018 at 12:11am
Apologies for taking this slightly off topic but this might be best answered by SD or another person in the legal game. Not so long ago my family had to go to the coroners court for a verdict on my youngest sisters death, now a couple of unwanted people (I used a lot more colorful terms on the day) turned up to antagonize us and also a few randomers were sitting in aswell there was a fair bit of commotion out in the lobby before we were called in and the receptionist had to call an extra couple of guards from the station beside,we informed the Garda of who these bastards were only to be told that the coroners court is open to any member of the public to just waltz in and listen to the horrible details and misfortunes of families that has to deal with sudden death (or any death) the guards and the receptionist were very apologetic to us regarding this but were powerless, so the question why is something that is so personal to so many families left open to this sort of stupidity we’re any fooker can just wander in and take a seat, sorry for going off topic but was just thinking about my lil sis just there
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 260261262263264 470>