The First Division Thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 3738394041 182>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 4:38pm
Much the same thoughts as Durka, I really feared for us at the start, Shels came tearing out of the blocks, and only 2 excellent saves by Burns kept us in it. Great show in the 2nd half, totally dominated, and Murphy did exceptionally well to set up both the goals.

Hard luck to Landon, Gaz and any other Shels lads, and thanks to the gracious fans we met on the way out who congratulated us after the game.
Bring on Mons in the RSC Tuesday

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 5:05pm
:(
sledgehammer View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sledgehammer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Nov 2010 at 6:24am
Cassidy coming off was absolutly huge in changing the match. Upto then he was completly running the show for us!! I don t know why after the hour he then decided to defend so deep an equaliser was inevitable. Well done to Matthews for bringing it to the last day we looked dead and buried before he took over. Well done to Waterford too your number 42 looked some player!! Great crowd you brought down as well good luck in the play offs
Up there for thinking. Down there for dancing

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Nov 2010 at 7:35pm
Originally posted by sledgehammer sledgehammer wrote:

Cassidy coming off was absolutly huge in changing the match. Upto then he was completly running the show for us!! I don t know why after the hour he then decided to defend so deep an equaliser was inevitable. Well done to Matthews for bringing it to the last day we looked dead and buried before he took over. Well done to Waterford too your number 42 looked some player!! Great crowd you brought down as well good luck in the play offs

Very true Sledge, yer man Cassidy was running the show til he went off. I'm not sure it was Shels intention to defend as deep, obviously I haven't seen too many of their games,don't know if they always play at that pace, but I thought with the pace they started at just could not be kept up for much more than an hour, and so it proved. No 42 is Paul Murphy, excellent signing for Blues, puts himself about, good at holding up the ball, can pick a pass (set up both goals) and has skill and pace as well. Had a good stab at a 40 yard free as well, good save by Shels keeper. Looking forward to tomorrow....

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sledgehammer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Nov 2010 at 7:42pm

Originally posted by sledgehammer sledgehammer wrote:

Very true Sledge, yer man Cassidy was running the show til he went off. I'm not sure it was Shels intention to defend as deep, obviously I haven't seen too many of their games,don't know if they always play at that pace, but I thought with the pace they started at just could not be kept up for much more than an hour, and so it proved. No 42 is Paul Murphy, excellent signing for Blues, puts himself about, good at holding up the ball, can pick a pass (set up both goals) and has skill and pace as well. Had a good stab at a 40 yard free as well, good save by Shels keeper. Looking forward to tomorrow....

He had unbelievable pace!! Where did ya s sign him from

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Nov 2010 at 7:50pm
Signed him from Wexford Bohs (No, I've never heard of them either)in June, midway through the season. He was previously at Ipswich, signed a pro contract and was doing well in their reserves, but suffered from severe homesickness, so left them to come home. I think he has signed for next season (not sure on that, Durka may be able to confirm), we will have problems holding on to him if we are not promoted I reckon.

Still only 19 as well, def one of the best talents in the first division anyway.

Edited by deise316 - 01 Nov 2010 at 7:52pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sledgehammer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Nov 2010 at 7:56pm
Thinking it was the lad with Ipswich alright. Played in the U17 European Championship a few years back on the same team as Clifford, Brady etc. Looked a real workhouse then ala Kevin Doyle. I can see him getting another chance over in England he was a different class to everyone else in the 2nd half the other night
durka durka View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote durka durka Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Nov 2010 at 10:36pm

Signed him from Wexford Bohs (No, I've never heard of them either)in June, midway through the season. He was previously at Ipswich, signed a pro contract and was doing well in their reserves, but suffered from severe homesickness, so left them to come home. I think he has signed for next season (not sure on that, Durka may be able to confirm), we will have problems holding on to him if we are not promoted I reckon.

Still only 19 as well, def one of the best talents in the first division anyway.

As far as I know Murray is the only player signed up for next season so far. On Murphy he is a real class act, left england as deise said due to home sickness. he would surely get another chance over there, if he would take it or not is another question. We've had the Man City scout at several games in the RSC this season. Could be watching a couple of our players.

There was also a represantative from the FAI at the shels game to have a look at burns.

"Insert Funny Comment"
durka durka View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote durka durka Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Nov 2010 at 10:45pm

Originally posted by durka durka durka durka wrote:

what a game in tolka park, blues showed real grit to come back from the goal down. only for kevin burns and a string of top class saves shels would have run away with it.

Shels played a great first half but defended to deep in the second. Great finish to the season.

apart from the shels fans f**king full bottles of coke at the waterford players as they where going into to the dressing rooms.

looking forward to tuesday in the RSC should be a cracker

Fair play Durka. You were much the better team after we scored. When we scored we did what we did all last season by having our midfield sit deep and hoof the ball up front for the strikers to hold up, which never works unless you have Drogba or somebody of that ilk upfront. Also your supporters were a lot classier than the scum that usually comes up from Cork or Limerick. I didnt see any bottles thrown but condemn any scummer that did throw anything.

was suprised by the bottles myself, we never have any trouble from the travelling shels fans down in the RSC. We had to escort Hendo off the pitch got awful abuse from a few of the shels fans.
"Insert Funny Comment"
OldBawnHoop View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote OldBawnHoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2010 at 5:14pm
Paul Murphy is some player. I think the only reason he's home is because of homesickness
kessler View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kessler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Nov 2010 at 7:05pm
Well I figured a couple of months back when we started hitting some form that we'd most likely go on a great run to get us in a position of success and then no doubt blow it on the final day at home for the hat-trick of seasons but expecting that doesn't make it any easier. I'm still pretty gutted from how it went on Saturday in Tolka. We started brilliantly and looked really up for it and I was worried when the keeper made some fantastic early saves for Waterford. Once we got the goal, I hoped we could push on to get a second but sitting back after an hour was an invitation for trouble and so it proved.

It's a shame it hasn't worked out for Waterford tonight but they were good value for the win in the end on Saturday. To be fair, I think Waterford got a really good reception from almost every Shels fan who stuck around at the end to applaud them off. I did see one bottle thrown from some t**ser and i've not time for anyone with that mindset but I do feel it's fair to point out most stuck around to give them a good reception.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Nov 2010 at 4:18pm

The last game of the season, Shels V Waterford could be the decider for 3rd place by the look of it. Wouldn't hold out too much hope, every rime in the past few weeks we looked like being back in contention, we have found a way to f**k it up. Nearly be happier if Mons won the league, they have beaten us 3 times this season, dont think we would beat them in a playoff.

Clap Deise316 knows his football

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Barry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2010 at 9:51pm
see you prags next season

Edited by The Q Man - 18 Nov 2010 at 9:54pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2010 at 2:21am

this thread is your new home sonCryCryCryCryCry

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2010 at 4:58am

A diet coke with you is the silver lining on on the cloud that is the 1st Division

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Barry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2010 at 9:06am

this thread is your new home sonCryCryCryCryCry
Cry
PaddyBurke View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PaddyBurke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2010 at 6:38am
Originally posted by Q Man Q Man wrote:

See you prags next season
Welcome to the graveyard. The home of fallen champions. You will join Cork City and Shelbourne as the divisions sleeping giants. Hope you enjoy your stay
TAFKAS View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TAFKAS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2010 at 7:13am
Originally posted by John Caulfield John Caulfield wrote:

Originally posted by Q Man Q Man wrote:

See you prags next season
Welcome to the graveyard. The home of fallen champions. You will join Cork City and Shelbourne as the divisions sleeping giants. Hope you enjoy your stay

OH MY GOD! JOHNNY HAS RETURNED

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 3738394041 182>