Anybody know anything about cars?????!!

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 7576777879 133>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2017 at 7:10pm

Just another thing and probably miles off but I have a 12 month warranty with Audi (cost 250 in additional when i bought it)... hardly covers my timing belt? Probably more electrical stuff? I'll try dig out the small print and examine. 

A question that is the bane of my life, which I answer about once a week to somebody- No, the timing belt isn't covered under warranty, however, if it broke within that 12 month period, it would be. 

Explaining the difference between service & warranty is a pain in the hole, particularly as it is something that should be explained to customers by salesmen when buying a car. There is a variety of reasons that this question arises, some people are generally not in to cars, and genuinely wouldn't have a clue. 

Sometimes, the salesman will not mention service at all, for fear of putting frighteners on the customer, particularly if it is an already tight deal. They are happy to just ignore the subject, even though when they speak of warranty to the customer, they are well aware that the customer is under this misapprehension that everything is covered. They know they won't see them for 8-12 months, and in the meantime, they hope to get a better job and not see them at all. 

When the customer does arrive and starts arguing that the service should be covered under warranty, they will be in the furthest away car park, smoking fags, and claim 'That's not what I told him' when asked. 

Sometimes, the customers act like cute hoors, and just claim they were told it was covered, knowing full well it isn't, hoping to catch a raw salesman or service advisor out. When that one doesn't work, the next line is inevitably 'But John told me the first service is free when I bought the car' . That doesn't normally work any more either. 

Warranty generally excludes all wearable items, and yes, that does include the clutch, so brakes, fluids & filters, wipers, tyres and timing belts are all excluded from warranty, there are some exceptions in certain cases, where the failure of a warrantable part has caused the failure of a wearing part, in which case a wearable part can be covered by an associated damage warranty clause, but that's generally the way it works. 

Warranty is for the likes of the engine, the control units, electrical wiring, multimedia functions, water leaks, oil leaks, gearbox issues, switches - stuff that you don't normally change during the lifetime of the car, within reason. 

Not ever answering that question here again. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2017 at 8:01pm
Is it ever the case that certain wearable parts are covered once the mileage is under a certain amount? Like would a timing belt be covered for snapping within the first 30,000km but after that not covered?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2017 at 8:19pm

Is it ever the case that certain wearable parts are covered once the mileage is under a certain amount? Like would a timing belt be covered for snapping within the first 30,000km but after that not covered?

Yep. Most timing belts these days would be well over 100k, newer Fords I think are up around 140 or 160k for example. While brake wear is not covered, a brake pad or disc snapping in half (not that it happens often) would be covered too, as would any subsequent damage caused by the part failure. Could be here for a week answering hypothetical questions about warranty to be honest, tis a quite complex subject in the industry and subject to many variances. On a simple level, each case is different and repairs have to be authorised by the manufacturer or the distributor for the country. (which isn't always the case either, BMW for example allow dealers to self determine warranty cases under a certain value). 

JUICEBOMB View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JUICEBOMB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2017 at 9:06am
I'm looking to change my car and am interested in a 2008 Laguna estate it's a 2. Litre deseil and above the basic model,parking sensors,nice trim etc and it falls in the low tax range (I'm guessing the car was registered after July 08)it's nct'd till 03/18,the car was priced at €2000 and the garage has just dropped it to €1750...my problem is that the original price was low for the year and make and even condition of the car and now it's dropped even more....is it to good to be true or is the garage just trying to get rid of a turkey??? Oh and I checked the car out on line and all was good .

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2017 at 11:19am

I'm looking to change my car and am interested in a 2008 Laguna estate it's a 2. Litre deseil and above the basic model,parking sensors,nice trim etc and it falls in the low tax range (I'm guessing the car was registered after July 08)it's nct'd till 03/18,the car was priced at €2000 and the garage has just dropped it to €1750...my problem is that the original price was low for the year and make and even condition of the car and now it's dropped even more....is it to good to be true or is the garage just trying to get rid of a turkey??? Oh and I checked the car out on line and all was good .

99.9% of the time If a car seems to good to be true then stay clear.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GB 1HughJarse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Oct 2017 at 11:39am
Missus had her VW Golf NCT’d yesterday, after driving it then for 3/4 miles the exhaust emissions warning light came on and stayed on, car began to chugg as well.
Down to mechanic this morning, needs a new coil €45 yo-yo’s.
Could the NCT process have caused this, or is it just a coincidence?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Oct 2017 at 1:22pm

Missus had her VW Golf NCT’d yesterday, after driving it then for 3/4 miles the exhaust emissions warning light came on and stayed on, car began to chugg as well.
Down to mechanic this morning, needs a new coil €45 yo-yo’s.
Could the NCT process have caused this, or is it just a coincidence?

Coincidence and a lucky one too, had it happened before hand you’d more than likely failed the emissions test & would’ve had to pay for a retest.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote heighway2heaven Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Nov 2017 at 5:44pm
9F bud, you work much on VAG??

Could use some advice if you do..

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Nov 2017 at 8:52pm
Originally posted by heighway2heaven heighway2heaven wrote:

9F bud, you work much on VAG??

Could use some advice if you do..

VAG yerrrr
Not a whole pile sadly but I’m sure i can make some enquiries on your behalf? What’s the question?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote heighway2heaven Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Nov 2017 at 11:49pm
I have a red ‘low oil pressure’ warning coming up on a 2012 2.0 tfsi A5. Getting a little worried. Anyway, long story short, looking for a good VAG specialist somewhere on south side of Dublin. Could be a small thing, or could be BIG so not driving anywhere in it. Before I go and get it towed somewhere though, I’d like to get an oil pressure test done and plug it in to a VAG Com. Know anyone who might come out and do that? If oil pressure is ok, its most likely a sensor or wiring I think, but if not, god only knows. Already topped it up with approved 5w30, thinking that might be it, but warning still came on (when warm, at low revs). Any thoughts?

Thanks 9f

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Nov 2017 at 6:08am

I have a red ‘low oil pressure’ warning coming up on a 2012 2.0 tfsi A5. Getting a little worried. Anyway, long story short, looking for a good VAG specialist somewhere on south side of Dublin. Could be a small thing, or could be BIG so not driving anywhere in it. Before I go and get it towed somewhere though, I’d like to get an oil pressure test done and plug it in to a VAG Com. Know anyone who might come out and do that? If oil pressure is ok, its most likely a sensor or wiring I think, but if not, god only knows. Already topped it up with approved 5w30, thinking that might be it, but warning still came on (when warm, at low revs). Any thoughts?

Thanks 9f

Oil pressure sensors give issues throughout the petrol range and have done for years but you’re right to take the precautions just to be safe.
I’ll rinf a friend later on today, an ex VAG lad from the northside, Hopefully he can give you better advice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote heighway2heaven Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Nov 2017 at 8:56am
Thanks

Love this yoke so not taking any chances.

It’s mad, it’s like what they say about self-diagnosing yourself on the internet..., never do it and go straight to your GP first. Swear to god, reading the web it’s as if every low oil pressure light that’s ever come on in a petrol Audi has resulted in catastrophic engine failure! Have myself driven up the walls with worry

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Nov 2017 at 10:03am

Thanks

Love this yoke so not taking any chances.

It’s mad, it’s like what they say about self-diagnosing yourself on the internet..., never do it and go straight to your GP first. Swear to god, reading the web it’s as if every low oil pressure light that’s ever come on in a petrol Audi has resulted in catastrophic engine failure! Have myself driven up the walls with worry

Right, Orange oil pressure light - drive it to the garage. Red oil pressure light- get it towed to the garage. (Check your insurance policy, you might have free breakdown)
He doesn’t know any specialists out your but he does recommend these lads in Swords

https://g.co/kgs/gZfoZb

Hope this helps and good luck. Nervous times!
Edit; I don’t think that link is working, it’s D&S auto services in swords

Edited by 9fingers - 10 Nov 2017 at 10:08am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote heighway2heaven Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Nov 2017 at 12:51pm
I've got it in to a garage literally 100 yards over the road from where it was parked and he's hooked it up to diagnostics. It's reading a faulty oil pressure switch so if that's the case I'll be over the f'n moon. Not counting my chickens yet though! He can't fit me in to do a pressure test til Monday though so a nervy weekend ahead but yer man reckons from the sounds of things there's pressure and oil circulating. At least the match will take my mind off things.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Nov 2017 at 1:26pm

I've got it in to a garage literally 100 yards over the road from where it was parked and he's hooked it up to diagnostics. It's reading a faulty oil pressure switch so if that's the case I'll be over the f'n moon. Not counting my chickens yet though! He can't fit me in to do a pressure test til Monday though so a nervy weekend ahead but yer man reckons from the sounds of things there's pressure and oil circulating. At least the match will take my mind off things.

As I said they’ve given trouble for years!! But you just can’t be too careful. Fingers crossed that’s all it is 👍
raclle View Drop Down

I love points

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote raclle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2017 at 9:48pm
9f or deise you know of any known issues with spongy brakes in cold weather on 06 petrol golfs?

I thought it might be the servo but not sure.

Thanks

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2017 at 11:14pm
Originally posted by raclle raclle wrote:

9f or deise you know of any known issues with spongy brakes in cold weather on 06 petrol golfs?

Thanks

No they wouldn’t be known for it, the older Passat diesels gave servo issues but the pedal would go rock hard & you’d have f**k all braking effort.

Obviously without seeing the car & knowing the condition of the braking components I’m guessing....
but my train of thought would be check all flexi hoses (especially rear ones at the bottom end) and check &/or replace the brake fluid.
Rear flexis go in them all the time, a light weep will allow air into the system causing sponginess. Possibly the cold exacerbates the issue

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2017 at 11:16pm
Originally posted by raclle raclle wrote:

Thanks

No, not really. Some of the newer Golfs, if fitted with spurious pads, make a squeaking noise under braking, but didn't come across that one before. What 9F says makes sense anyway. 

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 7576777879 133>