Your clubs biggest rivals?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 345
xHamster's Free Porn Videos

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eire32 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2015 at 7:22pm

Arlington was always the big derby for us!
Was this in kiss chasing eire ?

Combined countys league!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2015 at 7:31pm

Arlington was always the big derby for us!
Was this in kiss chasing eire ?

Combined countys league!

jesus, ye take kiss chasing seriously in the midlands

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PanteirA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2015 at 7:40pm

All credit to Cark at the end of the day for their recent pulling prowess. Must be the langer thing they always go on about..

Is getting numbers through the turnstiles is the benchmark for measuring the size of clubs ? If so, then based upon population numbers Dundalk and Sligo would far outdo Cark over the recent past.

On saying that if you travel abroad and talk football very few will have ever heard of any of our teams with one notable exception.
Killarney Celtic ? I have heard their name being sung in some far flung places in the past

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Wheelo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2015 at 8:37pm
In fairness rovers are the only club that would have any chance of benefiting globally. They're the most famous Irish club abroad.

Why they never took advantage of this, I'll never know. Surely there's money to be made with Irish Americans in America? Did I read before (mightve even been on here) that they tried an american your in 80s?
Bitored View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bitored Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2015 at 8:52pm
Originally posted by Wheelo Wheelo wrote:

In fairness rovers are the only club that would have any chance of benefiting globally. They're the most famous Irish club abroad.

Why they never took advantage of this, I'll never know. Surely there's money to be made with Irish Americans in America? Did I read before (mightve even been on here) that they tried an american your in 80s?

I remember reading about that ages ago too. I think it was when the Yanks were setting up there league they invited a few clubs over to play in a makeshift league in the summer. Shamrock Rovers went, Linfield, Aberdeen and maybe a few English clubs too.

Edit: found a bit out about it here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_Soccer_Association

It wasn't Linfield it was Glentoran that went. All the clubs represented franchises that were about to be set up. It happened in 1967. Stoke, Wolves, Hibs, Aberdeen and Dundee United also went.

Shams are definitely missing a trick by not targeting Irish areas in America like Boston and Chicago. I`m sure at least 5,000 - 10,00 Shamrock Rovers jerseys could be flogged over there. Half the people buying them wouldn't even know anything about Shams but just create a bit of a brand. Its very fashionable to show off your "Irish roots" in these areas.

I read a few months back that a small Spanish club was going bust so they set up a GoFundMe account and apparently got a nice few bob from people in Ireland. So the international root is something to look at.

Edited by Bitored - 09 Apr 2015 at 9:03pm
1980 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 1980 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2015 at 9:49pm
anyone who follows the Waterford whispers page, story on there today sums up the Cork Fans on here.
AnCearrbhach View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AnCearrbhach Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2015 at 10:59pm
Originally posted by 1980 1980 wrote:

anyone who follows the Waterford whispers page, story on there today sums up the Cork Fans on here.

I enjoyed that alright Sure where better
Xpro View Drop Down
Not a WUM anymore

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xpro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2015 at 12:57am
The south Dublin derby between Rovers and Pats is my favourite fixture in the LOI. Both teams get a chance to play the ball on the deck instead of having to resort to long ball and head tennis when playing away. And I`m not alone here. The late great journo Con Houlihan, who was an avid Pats fan, had been to grounds throughout the island in his work as a sports reporter. His favourite game to watch was when Rovers came to Richer.

North London has it`s Arsenal-Spurs rivalry, with quality on the pitch and without the sectarianism of Celtic vs Rangers or the bitterness of Leeds vs Man Utd. South Dublin has it`s Rovers-Pats rivalry and if you want to convert some randomer to follow the LOI, then a Rovers-Pats or Pats-Rovers game is a good place to start.
GoneToShowgies View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GoneToShowgies Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2015 at 9:24am
Originally posted by Wheelo Wheelo wrote:

Fame has nothing to do with it really. For a lot abroad its about Irish identity and to have a jersey called 'Shamrock' is about as big a cliché as your going to get. A jersey called 'Bohemian or 'Wanderers' doesn't have the say right to it. Something like that would be hard to get off the ground in fairness.

Edited by GoneToShowgies - 10 Apr 2015 at 9:25am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shoco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2015 at 10:54am
Jaysus the cork fans in here LOL

Pity they haven't the bottle to go with being a big club

Richmond Ultra View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Richmond Ultra Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2015 at 2:14pm

I suppose you'd have to pity Dundalk being a big club but not having a pitch or stadium worthy of the name.
Omnia Causa Fiunt

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2015 at 2:16pm
Originally posted by Richmond Ultra Richmond Ultra wrote:

I suppose you'd have to pity Dundalk being a big club but not having a pitch or stadium worthy of the name.
No, you don't have to pity Dundalk for anything. sh*t ground, sh*t Town....that's the way they like it.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote roverstillidie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2015 at 2:26pm

To be fair to the Dundadalk fans, and I rarely am, they barely even claim to be the biggest club in Louth.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shoco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2015 at 2:34pm

show me where we try and claim to be the biggest club?

we are happy enough just to be known as your league champions  Smile

starryplough View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote starryplough Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2015 at 9:25am
For most hoops it will be Bohs due to historical purposes and battles through the years, the only ones this might be different for would be oldschool hoops around in the Drums days who may still feel more of a rivalry with other culchie teams, however there is nowadays since the Tallaght move a few of the younger generation especially those around Ballyer etc who would find Pats more their derby, couple with Bohs collapse over the past five years.

Bohs home/away and the first fixture of the season are my first games I look for when the games come out, followed by Cork, Derry and Galway away as the three best trips in the league I find
Some Clubs Are Bigger Than Others
Joe Stalin View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Joe Stalin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2015 at 11:57pm

I agree, looking down their noses at others because things are going well at the moment. I wish them well but they'd do well to remember they've been on the uppers plenty of times in all their different guises over the last 30 years.
scottyccfc View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote scottyccfc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Apr 2015 at 9:27am
Jaysus the bait here.... Some people are too easy
Hometown football, cant beat the feeling...
saintjoey View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote saintjoey Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Apr 2015 at 2:46pm
Shels, rovers, bohs/dundalk in that order!
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 345