What book are you reading at the moment ?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 6263646566 75>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Flanno7hi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2020 at 1:56pm
I have "One man's terrorist" by Daniel Finn sitting on my desk. Has anyone started it? I've been mostly listening to books on Audible recently as I am working from home and I don't get much chance to read.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2020 at 2:04pm
Originally posted by Flanno7hi Flanno7hi wrote:

I have "One man's terrorist" by Daniel Finn sitting on my desk. Has anyone started it? I've been mostly listening to books on Audible recently as I am working from home and I don't get much chance to read.
Have come across it and is on the list. He seems interesting enough. Let me know how it goes if you try it.
Flanno7hi View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Flanno7hi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2020 at 2:14pm

Originally posted by Flanno7hi Flanno7hi wrote:

Have come across it and is on the list. He seems interesting enough. Let me know how it goes if you try it.

Will do, it might be a while.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hotlips_Hoolahan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2020 at 3:22pm
Ham on Rye is a seminal book, and one I think every teenager needs to read, but I found Bukowski's other stuff harder to get into.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote theheff1989 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Sep 2020 at 4:14pm
Finished. Hotel K: The Shocking Inside Story of Bali's Most Notorious Jail

Welcome to Hotel Kerobokan, or Hotel K, Bali's most notorious jail. Its walls touch paradise; sparkling oceans, surf beaches and palm trees on one side, while on the other it's a dark, bizarre and truly frightening underworld of sex, drugs, violence and squalor. Hotel K's filthy and disease ridden cells have been home to the infamous and the tragic: a Balinese King, Gordon Ramsay's brother, Muslim terror bombers, beautiful women tourists and surfers from across the globe. Petty thieves share cells with killers, rapists, and gangsters. Hardened drug traffickers sleep alongside unlucky tourists, who've seen their holiday turn from paradise to hell over one ecstasy pill. Hotel K is the shocking inside story of the jail and its inmates, revealing the wild 'sex nights' organised by corrupt guards for the prisoners who have cash to pay, the jail's ecstasy factory, the killings made to look like suicides, the days out at the beach, the escapes and the corruption that means anything is for sale - including a fully catered Italian jail wedding, or a luxury cell upgrade with a Bose sound system. 

Was good, but dragged a bit towards the end.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hotlips_Hoolahan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Sep 2020 at 4:31pm
Finished A Time to Kill by John Grisham

His novels have a tendency to be interminable and this one was no different; he has a tendency to go on tangents that sidetrack from the main story, often describing the consumption of food and drink in tedious detail. He's cranked out a few good ones I've really enjoyed, though, like The Pelican Brief, The Brethren and A Painted House.

Currently reading The Innocent Man by John Grisham

His only true crime novel to date, about a man who was wrongly convicted of murder and given a death sentence. It's a page-turner and hard to put down. That's all you can ask for. It also gives pause and makes you realise how easy it can be for cops desperate for a conviction to use incredibly unethical tactics to draw out a confession from an innocent person based on the flimsiest of evidence - in other words: ask for a lawyer.
ErsatzThistle View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ErsatzThistle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2020 at 12:10pm
So what's everyone been reading lately ?

I've dived back into Raymond Chandler's novels for the umpteenth time. I love his writing. He could write dialogue like no other.

Nice little radio documentary here which also discusses his Irish roots.

Next I'll be starting a revisionist biography of Field Marshall Douglas Haig soon which I'm looking forward too.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Newryrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2020 at 12:35pm
Originally posted by ErsatzThistle ErsatzThistle wrote:

So what's everyone been reading lately ?

I've dived back into Raymond Chandler's novels for the umpteenth time. I love his writing. He could write dialogue like no other.

Nice little radio documentary here which also discusses his Irish roots.

Next I'll be starting a revisionist biography of Field Marshall Douglas Haig soon which I'm looking forward too.
Smile think most are reading Champagne Football ET for obvious reasons

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2020 at 1:44pm
I'm actually reading 'Docherty' right now. It's excellent so far. His understanding of human emotion is uncanny and his use of prose ideal. The language really sets the scene of time and place.

Prior to that I had just read 'Billy Liar' and loved it. It seems to have been on my shelf forever and never got around to it. Seems to be misunderstood by many now as just a comic diversion,  but it really captures the anger of his generation and it is hard for anyone who grew up in a 'humdrum town not to empathise with the protagonist for all his faults, or because of them. 9/10

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings- Another one I had put off for ages, but it really should be mandatory reading for everyone. It is beautifully written and incredibly emotional. A few tears were shed at the end of this. 10/10

Dracula- Something I wouldn't have read when I was younger due to my own narrow-minded preconceptions, but a recent trip to Whitby was encouragement enough to give it a go and I really enjoyed it. It's just a damn good story well told and seeing the inspiration for it helped understand it. 7/10

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn- It's certainly an important book given it was probably the first picaresque novel in English, that it was written in the dialect of the South and, despite the horrendous racism in it for modern readers, clearly abolitionist in its nature. It still wasn't the easiest to get through as some of the humour has outdated with the language. Glad I read it, but no more. 5/10

Cheer Up Peter Reid- I have got to stop being sh*te on Kindle because it's 99p! I like Peter Reid and admire that he has kept his politics and values with him throughout his relative fame and fortune, but take the barbs about Thatcher out and you could replace his name and Everton's with many others from the time and it wouldn't be any different. I would love to have a beer with him, I'm sure he is great on the after dinner circuit, but this was mundane. 2/10, both for being a socialist.

Sing Backwards and Weep- Mark Lanegan's autobiography is worth a read even if you have little interest in his musical output. When you do hear him sing you know he has lead a bit of a life, but to be living on the street after several successful albums and only be saved by the infamous partner of your dead, and internationally famous superstar, best friend is worth telling. Lots of people die. Not one for a tough Monday! 9/10

The Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass- This fella must be one of the most incredible men to ever live. Survived slavery and got out of it by teaching himself to read and runaway, where he then became a respected speaker and orator on the subject of, not surprisingly, abolition, but also women's suffrage. A genuine hero. 9/10

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oldbilly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2020 at 1:53pm
some great tips there pm, read Dracula recently myself terrific book. Didn’t realise  Reid is a social thinker, that’s him and the great nev , what good work he’s doing.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2020 at 1:57pm
I see Nev has a book out about his work and career after football, which is, like most things he does, something different!
jamo1 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jamo1 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2020 at 2:06pm
Reading Hunt the Bismark at the moment, great so far about the most famous German battleship of WW2 and the attempts to finally sink it.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ErsatzThistle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2020 at 5:48pm

I'm actually reading 'Docherty' right now. It's excellent so far. His understanding of human emotion is uncanny and his use of prose ideal. The language really sets the scene of time and place.

Glad you like "Docherty" PM, it's a marvellous tale.

Graithnock is just Kilmarnock under a different name. The streets and buildings McIlvanney describes are a reflection of early 20th Century Kilmarnock.

I hate to be an anorak but McIlvanney did make one wee historical error with "Docherty" that bugs me. The Highland Light Infantry didn't wear kilts, they wore trews instead. Oh, I'm a miserable fecker. LOL

Edited by ErsatzThistle - 25 Sep 2020 at 5:48pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Newryrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2020 at 5:52pm
Originally posted by jamo1 jamo1 wrote:

Reading Hunt the Bismark at the moment, great so far about the most famous German battleship of WW2 and the attempts to finally sink it.

sunk by a lucky shot ( disabled its steering - so it could only go round in circles )

Edited by Newryrep - 25 Sep 2020 at 5:53pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ErsatzThistle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2020 at 5:58pm

sunk by a lucky shot ( disabled its steering - so it could only go round in circles )

John Moffat, the pilot who flew the aircraft responsible for dropping the torpedo died only three or four yeas ago. 

He gave some incredible interviews about having to line up the shot with anti-aircraft fire whizzing through the air and having the keep the plane dead level so the torpedo didn't flip in the rough seas and hit the aircraft.

Those wee Swordfish biplanes don't look at all impressive in photographs but they proved to be some of the toughest aircraft of the war.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2020 at 6:09pm

Glad you like "Docherty" PM, it's a marvellous tale.

Graithnock is just Kilmarnock under a different name. The streets and buildings McIlvanney describes are a reflection of early 20th Century Kilmarnock.

I hate to be an anorak but McIlvanney did make one wee historical error with "Docherty" that bugs me. The Highland Light Infantry didn't wear kilts, they wore trews instead. Oh, I'm a miserable fecker. LOL
Yeah, I kind of assumed that. I do have a few works of fiction by Scottish authors I want to get around to, if I can find them cheap! My 'theme' for autumm.Embarrassed

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thebronze14 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2020 at 6:11pm
Finishing Glue by Irvine Welsh...Good like all his books but not one of his best imo

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Newryrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2020 at 6:31pm

John Moffat, the pilot who flew the aircraft responsible for dropping the torpedo died only three or four yeas ago. 

He gave some incredible interviews about having to line up the shot with anti-aircraft fire whizzing through the air and having the keep the plane dead level so the torpedo didn't flip in the rough seas and hit the aircraft.

Those wee Swordfish biplanes don't look at all impressive in photographs but they proved to be some of the toughest aircraft of the war.

Where they not covered in canvas ?
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 6263646566 75>