United Airlines

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lassassinblanc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 12:20pm
I'd imagine Sbyrne may come in handy for this debate but yes as Bhob says if you are asked to leave an airplane by staff and refuse then you are seen as a disruptive passenger and are therefore trespassing and can be removed by force if necessary

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bhob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 12:25pm
I've seen the video, the force they used is excessive. When a couple of huge security lads come up to you and say get out of the seat, what's the point in fighting them?

They could be in trouble as they did knock him out in the process and made him bleed from his mouth and nose.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 1:13pm
Kinda happened to me and Trapped coming back from Armenia, they were over booked and offered $500 and 2 nights hotel not to get on the plane, luckily for them us 3 rocked up 1 hour after check in and they wouldn't let us through

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pipkin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 1:22pm
Its shameful that they can do what they like in a situation like that. They shouldnt be permitted to operate where they are reliant on no shows to facilitate their own operational needs and make fortunes from doing so.

Reality is though that reputational damage has negligible effect in an industry with so little competition so will have zero impact

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 1:28pm

I'd imagine Sbyrne may come in handy for this debate but yes as Bhob says if you are asked to leave an airplane by staff and refuse then you are seen as a disruptive passenger and are therefore trespassing and can be removed by force if necessary

Is he still banned from the whatever section, after being callously thrown off it, akin to how this poor passenger was treated by United Airlines?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 1:35pm
Appallingly handled from United.

Why they didn't just stop people from boarding I don't know. They should have realised before boarding started that they were overbooked and everyone had checked in. It's much easier to deny someone boarding than it is to take someone off a plane like that.

Also, I wonder how much of an opportunity the doctor was given to explain his side. If he told United staff that he was a doctor who had to go to hospital the next day, they should have let him be. Hell, if nothing else, it's always good to have a doctor on board, you know, for example, in case someone "slips" and suffers a facial injury.

That said, the cops have more to answer than United do.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sligo Hornet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 1:37pm

Flying with them in the summer

They offeerred 800 dollars supposedly and no takers

I suspect you would have volunteered to give up your seat for $8

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FREEWHEELER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 1:45pm
I was only thinking that Bhob, surely to fook they can identify who the last four bookers were and tough titty, we're overbooked, last bookers first to leave.  Assaulting yer man should ensure a nice lawsuit and humiliating the guy like that, those apes who carried it out should be sacked and jailed.  Vile stuff.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 1:46pm

Surely they are able to ensure that flights don't become overbooked in this day and age.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ConorMac77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 1:53pm

Appallingly handled from United.

Why they didn't just stop people from boarding I don't know. They should have realised before boarding started that they were overbooked and everyone had checked in. It's much easier to deny someone boarding than it is to take someone off a plane like that.

Also, I wonder how much of an opportunity the doctor was given to explain his side. If he told United staff that he was a doctor who had to go to hospital the next day, they should have let him be. Hell, if nothing else, it's always good to have a doctor on board, you know, for example, in case someone "slips" and suffers a facial injury.

That said, the cops have more to answer than United do.
Couldn't have put it better myself Dave, absolutely no brains or common sense used by United staff at all in this sorry, avoidable episode. Heads are bound to roll when the dust has settled.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lassassinblanc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 1:58pm

Surely they are able to ensure that flights don't become overbooked in this day and age.

I would have thought that too tbh, Actually always assumed Airlines left about 4-5 seats unfilled for this reason

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Devrozex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 2:03pm
I think it's emerged in the last few hours that the flight may not have actually been overbooked at all - United Airlines were trying to make space for four employees of a partner airline and wanted four passengers to give up their seats to accommodate them. If this transpires to be definitively proven then the story has just gotten a lot worse from United Airlines' perspective.

I think nearly all the issues I've encountered flying around different places have related to US airlines. The likes of United Airlines and American Airlines are the absolute dregs of international air travel.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ConorMac77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 2:05pm

Obviously too much money to be made from no-shows RB. For example, there were plenty of us who hedged our bets by booking cheap flights home from France last year for the day(s) after the Italy game at the Euros and then not used them once we had qualified for the 2nd round (I was one of them). And I'll not even go into flights missed by fans due to drunken shenanigans! LOL

The airlines have obviously worked it out that whatever it costs them to bribe (for the want of a better word atm) people to take later flights - plus hotel accommodation/food vouchers - is outweighed by the money they make from these double-bookings.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ConorMac77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 2:07pm

I think it's emerged in the last few hours that the flight may not have actually been overbooked at all - United Airlines were trying to make space for four employees of a partner airline and wanted four passengers to give up their seats to accommodate them. If this transpires to be definitively proven then the story has just gotten a lot worse from United Airlines' perspective.

I think nearly all the issues I've encountered flying around different places have related to US airlines. The likes of United Airlines and American Airlines are the absolute dregs of international air travel.
What, there are airlines worse than Ryanair?! ShockedLOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Borussia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 2:16pm

I was only thinking that Bhob, surely to fook they can identify who the last four bookers were and tough titty, we're overbooked, last bookers first to leave.  Assaulting yer man should ensure a nice lawsuit and humiliating the guy like that, those apes who carried it out should be sacked and jailed.  Vile stuff.

But the last 4 bookers could be frequent flyers who use them a lot so they'll go for some "regular" passenger first before they'd go near them 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ConorMac77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 2:16pm
Originally posted by randyrandolph randyrandolph wrote:

offered 800 notes and a hotel. amazingly no takers so they picked him by lottery and he refused. 

imagine ryanair offered 800 notes and a hotel to a flight from dublin? you'd have a scramble to get off the fooker.
Funny, you should say that but this has appeared on my FB news feed...LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 2:25pm

Yeah, that's correct. They were bumping 4 passengers to make room for a crew who had to move to get to work in Louisville (or wherever the plane was heading).

Overbooking does happen commonly though, because they know that a certain percentage of passengers won't show up. If you have a fleet of planes that all hold 200 passengers, and you know that on average 10 passengers won't show, why wouldn't you sell 205 tickets? It happens all the time.

The other issue is that flexible tickets cause things to change at short notice. The passengers with flexible tickets have generally paid a heap for them (well, their employers have), or else are very valuable frequent fliers. You have to accommodate those passengers, because they're the ones who will fly with you again and again. If it means having to pay one or two passengers a few quid because the plane is overbooked, boo hoo: you get the frequent flier on board. Hell, even if it means bumping the frequent flier up to business or first, they do it.

Having said all that, the gate staff and onboard staff should have had the data to show that there were 204 places required (200 booked & checked in plus the 4 staff they wanted to bump on) and only 200 seats on the plane. That data should have been available to the staff *before* boarding started. If it wasn't, that's an IT failure on United's part. If that data was available, it's a staff failure not to deny boarding to people at the gate. That's a matter of staff discretion, and seeking volunteers from the queue, but if it comes to it, it should boil down to the last four people to check in, provided each of those four was on a no-flex, cheap ticket. You don't want to piss off business travellers or those who have paid a fortune for tickets.

Overbooking happens for multiple reasons and 99% of the time, it doesn't even give rise to issues, because of no shows. And even when it is an issue, 99% of the time, the crew handle it properly and/or there are volunteers for a few hundred quid and a night in a decent hotel. This time, very much the exception, they f**ked up. It could definitely have been handled better but it's no reason to get rid of overbooking.

If you get rid of overbooking, it makes all flights a little more expensive, and when the airlines normally get it right, why worry about it?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denis Irwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2017 at 2:29pm
Dave ye reckon he'd get a huge payout if he pursues this ?