UFC - thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 120121122123124 185>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 3:47pm

I live in a two-bed terraced house. I have a modest job and don’t have a tower ,Ivory or otherwise . Thanks .

Your attitude to those worse off is still highly condesending whether you live in a castle or a caravan

No it’s not. Society today has us blaming everyone bar ourselves . I’m just of the opinion that from a certain age we are responsible for our own choices, which we are. How’s thats condescending I don’t know..
I don't think you applied yourself in English class.

Edited by pre Madonna - 05 Dec 2017 at 3:47pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 3:50pm

In all the time on ybig i have never seen you lose the head in a debate PM. For that reason I call bullsh*t on your anecdote about your “friend”
How have I lost the head?Confused I merely said how your viewpoint is coming across to me, it would seem others see it as condescending.
I try to help out some homeless people in some small way because if it wasn't for my girlfriend having the love and patience of a saint, I would probably be homeless now. I merely gave you one example of a normal young guy I know who finds himself homeless and then you decided to try and understand it further, but in a bizarre way that seems to echo your own background. This  is why I suggested that you are incapable of empathy as you can only see things based on your own experiences. I find this either ignorant, naive or , most likely, a little of both.

By the way, and for what it is worth, I have, once lost my head on here, with Rolo and over nothing in particular. Despite the length of time I have spent on here, I can honestly say it is the only time I have ever taken this, or anything else on the internet, seriously and it something that I still find embarrassing when I think about it. I can assure you I haven't lost anything as the missus is away so I'm eating pizza, watching Family Guy on tv and about to interrupt this debate by having a wank.

Just not all at once I hope

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 3:51pm

In all the time on ybig i have never seen you lose the head in a debate PM. For that reason I call bullsh*t on your anecdote about your “friend”
How have I lost the head?Confused I merely said how your viewpoint is coming across to me, it would seem others see it as condescending.
I try to help out some homeless people in some small way because if it wasn't for my girlfriend having the love and patience of a saint, I would probably be homeless now. I merely gave you one example of a normal young guy I know who finds himself homeless and then you decided to try and understand it further, but in a bizarre way that seems to echo your own background. This  is why I suggested that you are incapable of empathy as you can only see things based on your own experiences. I find this either ignorant, naive or , most likely, a little of both.

By the way, and for what it is worth, I have, once lost my head on here, with Rolo and over nothing in particular. Despite the length of time I have spent on here, I can honestly say it is the only time I have ever taken this, or anything else on the internet, seriously and it something that I still find embarrassing when I think about it. I can assure you I haven't lost anything as the missus is away so I'm eating pizza, watching Family Guy on tv and about to interrupt this debate by having a wank.

Just not all at once I hope
FG on the telly, porn on the laptop. I'll finish the pizza before I start stroking.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thebronze14 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 3:52pm

I live in a two-bed terraced house. I have a modest job and don’t have a tower ,Ivory or otherwise . Thanks .

Your attitude to those worse off is still highly condesending whether you live in a castle or a caravan

No it’s not. Society today has us blaming everyone bar ourselves . I’m just of the opinion that from a certain age we are responsible for our own choices, which we are. How’s thats condescending I don’t know..
So you don't think unfortunate circumstances can play a part? If my bosses didn't fight tooth and nail for me to get a much better sick pay when I was ill I would have been back up sh*t creek and in a very precarious situation. I suppose that was my choice at the end of the day

Edited by thebronze14 - 05 Dec 2017 at 3:55pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote heighway2heaven Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 4:03pm

No, it has us blaming everybody but those we should be... the structures of power that have created and sustained the conditions for such level of poverty and homelessness. The public blames the refugees, social welfare recipients, ourselves even, rather than the banks that caused it and the politicians that allowed them off with impunity while foisting the austerity on to us.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 4:08pm
Originally posted by heighway2heaven heighway2heaven wrote:

No, it has us blaming everybody but those we should be... the structures of power that have created and sustained the conditions for such level of poverty and homelessness. The public blames the refugees, social welfare recipients, ourselves even, rather than the banks that caused it and the politicians that allowed them off with impunity while foisting the austerity on to us.

Steady on with that Communist nonsense. I'll offer up a novena for your tortured soul. Pray and save.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BabbsBalls Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 4:09pm
FAO The Bronze..

I do of course ,yeah, as my previous posts show. There are people out there who haven’t had a sniff of luck and have ended up on the streets as a result. It’s horrible for anyone to have to go through that . Im of ye opinion that these cases are in the vast minority... look at the factors that lead to homelessness. Example, lad loses his job and things go from there. For him and his family to end of on the street so many things have to happen...

1. Loses job
2. Doesn’t meet criteria to get another job.
3. Wife/partner (if not single) has no job.
4. No savings in bank so payments on mortgage/rent not met .
5. Bank repossesses home (extremely rare situation) or landlord rips up lease.
6. Family/individual has no family willing to house them temporarily.
7. Family/individual has no friends willing to house them temporarily.

That’s a lot of things that need to fall into place in this case. Are some of these factors responsibility of the individual ? Make your own judgement on that. Of course there are genuine cases which is awful. I’m not stupid enough to believe there aren’t.

Edited by BabbsBalls - 05 Dec 2017 at 4:10pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BabbsBalls Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 4:12pm

That’s another days work. If that’s how you feel on it what do you think the government could/should do ?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote heighway2heaven Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 4:22pm

That’s another days work. If that’s how you feel on it what do you think the government could/should do ?

I have about as much will to enter in to a discussion on this question as I would do on a debate about Saipan LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BabbsBalls Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 4:24pm
Fair enough

Likewise , I’m out. UFC lads will be raging with the ranting !

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MC Hammered Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 4:27pm

Spot on. Divide and conquer. Stoke the working mans outrage about the single mother up the road/ asylum seeker/ migrant diddling the taxpayer out of thousands of euro. Meanwhile, the politicians whistle with their hands in their pockets whilst looking the other way while their pals in the banks and corporations defraud the nation out of billions. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lenny82 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 5:53pm
Not so long ago, being homeless meant you were sleeping on the street. These days, if you are on the social housing waiting list and being put up in the Regency Hotel, you are given the same title.

I believe the number of people sleeping rough, who are of sound mind and without any addictions, are in the minority. Mental Health and addiction is a far bigger issue in this country.

There is a huge problem of people declaring themselves homeless, willingly leaving the family home, and lodging in a hotel unnecessarily to move them up the social housing waiting list. This is a massive expense to the taxpayer and in turn, has a knock on effect to the funds made available to addiction clinics and mental health services.

I know there are many genuine cases, and people fall on hard times then find themselves in this horrible position, but others taking advantage and playing the system are as disgusting as the bankers and politicians who played their part in causing the housing crisis to begin with.

Bring in the bedroom tax!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote coyne Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 5:55pm
Hi lads. What do you think of Francis N'Gannou.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Huntacha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 11:28pm
Cannot wait for him against Stipe. Also, think Werdum would be an interesting fight for him. Coincidentally, N'Gannou was homeless in Cameroon, and then in Paris when he moved there. Fantastic story considering he has only been fighting for 4 years.

On the other hand, Overeem is done as a HW contender. He should just be the gate-keeper now but because of the lack of depth in the division, he still may get a title shot. He's had a worrying amount of KO losses in his career in all organisations/disciplines.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Dec 2017 at 11:31pm
Stunning KO. Great post match interview. Looking forward to the title fight

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gary McKay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2017 at 4:05pm

Spot on. Divide and conquer. Stoke the working mans outrage about the single mother up the road/ asylum seeker/ migrant diddling the taxpayer out of thousands of euro. Meanwhile, the politicians whistle with their hands in their pockets whilst looking the other way while their pals in the banks and corporations defraud the nation out of billions. 
Welcome to Capitalism ClapClapClap

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gary McKay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2017 at 4:06pm

I genuinely sympathise with people who’s luck had genuinely run out akin to Dan Akryod in Brewsters millions but the issue is rife with people who have made seriously bad choices.
Twas Trading Places with Eddie Murphy and of course Jamie Lee getting her baps out Clap

Gene Wilder was in Brewsters Millions.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2017 at 7:37pm

I genuinely sympathise with people who’s luck had genuinely run out akin to Dan Akryod in Brewsters millions but the issue is rife with people who have made seriously bad choices.

Twas Trading Places with Eddie Murphy and of course Jamie Lee getting her baps out Clap

Gene Wilder was in Brewsters Millions.

f**k sake
It was Richard Pryor

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 120121122123124 185>