Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Aug 2007 at 3:53am
1st class all the way lads...LOL

The Phantom View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2007 at 7:13am
For anyone travelling by train from Bratislava to Prague we booked our train earlier this week on http://www.bahn.co.uk/db_uk/view/index.shtml

Just booked for the 12:25 on Sunday. The German lad that i dealt with has been taking bookings all week and he reckons there are only a few seats left on Sunday so anyone who hasnt booked yet, get the finger out. he also said that the Geramsn would gladly give us the points when we meet in October as they will already have won the group and he looks forward to "drinking lots of fine beer" ( i think thats German for goin on the lash) with the irish  in Astria/Switz nwext year.ClapClapClap

Edited by The Phantom - 14 Aug 2007 at 7:14am
Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2007 at 7:24am
Cheers for that Phantom, how much you pay for the train?
Is it dearer to pre book?

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2007 at 7:36am
Originally posted by The Phantom The Phantom wrote:

. he also said that the Geramsn would gladly give us the points when we meet in October as they will already have won the group .ClapClapClap

pity the feckers name wasnt jorgi löw instead of jurgen the ticket man!!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2007 at 7:42am
Originally posted by GerKeano GerKeano wrote:

Cheers for that Phantom, how much you pay for the train?
Is it dearer to pre book?

Group ticket for 7 of us €268. If you intend getting the train i would not like to take mychances turning up on the day. There are only 3 trains that day and one is at 8am so that was out and my preferred option of the 3pm was totally booked out. I'll post the number here if anyone wants it, it takes a while to get through but they were very efficient and speak perfect English so its no hassle and they will post the tickets out.
Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2007 at 8:35am
yeah good stuff Phantom will you PM me on the number?

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2007 at 8:43am
268!!!FFS thats pricey...is that a return (i hope) or a single

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2007 at 10:21am
it's only 9 euro one way if you buy a ticket at the train station but the obvious problem is that it may be sold out.

might be a good option to pay the extra and pre book.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2007 at 10:23am

268!!!FFS thats pricey...is that a return (i hope) or a single

FFS its only €39 each for 1st class tickets on a 5 hour journey. Its cost almost €600 for the weeks trip so far so im not going to start complaining about a reasonably priced train ticket.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2007 at 1:14pm
phantom, will you post that number that you rang please. The tickets you got were one way first class yeah? How long is your journey cos i looked at the site and they range from 4-6 hrs...

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2007 at 1:24pm
there are two trains Honey Monster, normal train and express train, 3 of each per day.

can you pm me the number phantom.
Might try get a monday train, dont fancy gettin up too early the sunday
L.Y.A. View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2007 at 2:42pm
Monday train all the way-let all the pigeons fly the coup Sunday..It's a long week.
cass123456 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2007 at 1:28am
Just booked the 12.25 train from bratislava on the monday on the phone.
Gets us into prague at 16.25

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2007 at 1:33am
how much??

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2007 at 1:47am
worked out around £28 (40 euro)  for the one way ticket which is dear enough for 'eastern' europe but just happy to have it sorted.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2007 at 2:46am
thats pretty pricey.is that from bratislava or vienna?

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2007 at 3:09am
whats the number cass?

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2007 at 3:47am
Its from the bahn website but you cannot book online (www.bahn.co.uk)
The number is 08718 80 80 66
I booked from Bratislava to Prague for that price. I presume it would be a fair bit cheaper to book out there but I wasn't going to risk waiting until then. £28 is not overly dear for a 4 hour train journey though