![]() ![]() |
The YBIG DIY Thread |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12345 12> |
Author | ||||
Sham157 ![]() Moderator Group ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 Jul 2009 Location: Monaghan/Dublin Status: Offline Points: 32793 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
The GerK ![]() Moderator Group ![]() Razor you wanna pint?...2 minutes later Joined: 09 Feb 2007 Status: Offline Points: 19290 |
|||
Off to the thick thread there son |
||||
The Count never won the Young Scientist of the Year award. It still haunts him to this very day, FACT
|
||||
![]() |
||||
BigStrongMan ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() Just Modding Like Joined: 22 May 2009 Location: Ireland Status: Online Points: 106796 |
|||
Rossie
![]() What's blocking it Sham? If its leaves and sh*t you need to get em out If its grim etc from the sink then the acid is yer only man Had to do it recently,about 6e for a bottle ,think I got caustic soda |
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Sham157 ![]() Moderator Group ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 Jul 2009 Location: Monaghan/Dublin Status: Offline Points: 32793 |
|||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
McG ![]() Moderator Group ![]() ![]() SISAO? What the hell is SISAO? Joined: 27 Jan 2008 Location: Christmas Island Status: Offline Points: 26049 |
|||
Sham, im sure you've put your hands up/down dirtier holes to unclog. You've a masters in it.
|
||||
AS YOU WERE McGx |
||||
![]() |
||||
|||
This is true
|
||||
![]() |
||||
McG ![]() Moderator Group ![]() ![]() SISAO? What the hell is SISAO? Joined: 27 Jan 2008 Location: Christmas Island Status: Offline Points: 26049 |
|||
Went to bleed rad last night and bleed screw snapped once i tried to turn it slightly. So one half in my hand the other half stuck in the plug. Happen anyone before? Any tips?
|
||||
AS YOU WERE McGx |
||||
![]() |
||||
Huggybeer ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 2011 Location: Ireland Status: Online Points: 1352 |
|||
have one stuck like that at home, its gone round from previous owner so cant get a key to catch onto it.
as far as i know you can A) drill a tiny hole into the top corner of your rad in the same spot as a postage stamp, put a small self tapper screw and plumbers tape into it, then when you need to bleed, just open the screw. PS close valves first This is what ive done and its worked for 2-3 years now or B) Buy a new rad |
||||
![]() |
||||
|||
Sound stuff HB.
Probably a safer option than drilling into the half plug that's stuck and trying to coax it out.
|
||||
AS YOU WERE McGx |
||||
![]() |
||||
Huggybeer ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 2011 Location: Ireland Status: Online Points: 1352 |
|||
I think you can do that as well McG but you have to rethread the hole and stuff and thats a step beyond my diy skills.
Very easy to do the self tapper thing |
||||
![]() |
||||
daithi ![]() Roy Keane ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 Oct 2010 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 10307 |
|||
Edited by daithi - 02 Oct 2013 at 6:40pm |
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
|||
Right lads, have a small 19 inch flat screen i wanna throw up on the wall in the bedroom. Wood studs too off centre for me to hang the thing where it would be best suited. So all im left with is plasterboard to work with. Knowing how brittle that stuff is, any way around it? Would it hold the tv given it's only a small one? If i was to anchor it or rawl plug? Askin for trouble?
|
||||
AS YOU WERE McGx |
||||
![]() |
||||
BigStrongMan ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() Just Modding Like Joined: 22 May 2009 Location: Ireland Status: Online Points: 106796 |
|||
No
Cut out a square were you want it You need to insert 'grounds' (timber) between joists Then put back up plasterboard you cut out Fix the tv bracket to the grounds you inserted Poly filler for plasterboard Paint |
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
|||
Whilst im a DIY enthusiast this sounds beyond my skills. How da fock do you do that? BSM, any idea of the measure of gap (in inches like) between joists in a gaff that's 8 years old? like if there's one at beginning of wall, where is next one?
Edited by McG - 30 Dec 2013 at 7:16pm |
||||
AS YOU WERE McGx |
||||
![]() |
||||
Trap junior ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() YBIG Minister of Doom & Gloom Joined: 25 Jan 2010 Location: Irish Riviera Status: Offline Points: 37066 |
|||
Have the same problem except with a 32 inch telly. I know this is of no help. Seeya. |
||||
Trap Junior Esquire now being followed by His Majesty's Loyal Subject BrendanD88 whose codename commemorates the SAS heroes of Operation Flavius
|
||||
![]() |
||||
|||
Could be 400mm?
Cut her open and sus it out Just cut the timber to fit the gap Then screw her in securely Ye get me? |
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
|||
Right i may resort to getting help. Dont want wall coming down. Will report back.
|
||||
AS YOU WERE McGx |
||||
![]() |
||||
BabbsBalls ![]() Moderator Group ![]() ![]() Joined: 12 Feb 2009 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 9889 |
|||
It's only a small telly McG . If ye dont fancy BSMs idea head down to grange builders and get some 6 or 8mm toggle bolts . All you need to fix them in is a Phillips screwdriver .
|
||||
|
||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12345 12> |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |