Topic ClosedThe North Qualifying

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 10:16am
Holy jaysus, that's some debate you've got yourselves into here.
Personally, after the famous game in windsor in 93', I've never liked the North since - the abuse we got up there was absolutely disgraceful apparently. however, i will say, i always like to see small countries/underdogs doing well - lets face it the north are sh1te but theyve exceeded all their potential and expectations - if we performed to that potential we'd be winning the Euros next summer ffs!

Cookie Monster View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 10:29am
Lads, I wudnt support the North because of their supporters who just use it as a vehicle to throw abuse at catholic players and promote their britishness ahead of their supposed Irishness.
I couldnt tell you of the current Republic Squad who is catholic, protestant or hindu and I couldnt give a sh1te in any case, but no matter creed they were I wouldnt give them abuse or death threats for it.
They're in the same league of supporter as the english scum element in my book.
I used to be a schizophrenic.......and so was I
RedWhiteArmy! View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 11:08am
I wouldn't support them, in fact I'm going to get behind Spain tonight :D

No surrender (to the terrace bigots)
LEAVE BERTIE A LOAN.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 11:53am
Originally posted by Justice Justice wrote:

Originally posted by billybob billybob wrote:

f**k them all.

My sentiments exactly.
If theyre not Irish, i dont support them.
Reminds me of those idiots jumping on couches when the Scots scored.
Fook off Erimus and Billybob you absolute muppets with your "the north's not our country" sh*te.. just goes to show what  ignorant uneducated pieces of sh*te you really are..They are also Irishmen in the North regardless of race or religion . The war is effectively over and twats like you clearly never did anything for the cause nor to improve current strides forward to peace and prosperity so just piss off back behind whatever rock you crawled from under. The two of you are an embarrassment to IrelandAngryAngryAngry.
Like the English team, I like some of their players and hope they qualify ( which realistically they won't)..for the love of the game...

Uneducated?? Ask me ar$e and i'll email ye my CV if you want!!

I'm entitled to my opinion and dont think i deserve your little petty rant. You're the one spouting off about the Wolfe Tones and their Republican songs...i sir am not!

I support the National flag of our country, the tri-colour, and any team that plays under it!! I'm an avid supporter of the game and try make as many home/away games as i can. I dpnt travel to Paris, Germany,Wales etc etc to watch our Brazilian-esque football.....because we're clearly $hite, i travel to support/follow our team.

Northern Ireland, Scotland, England or whoever dont play under the tri-colour so you wont see me supporting them anytime soon. Thats not to say i've a keen interest in the games and will watch them. Please dont tell me to start cheering if one of the above qualify as I really dont give a fcuk, i'm pi$$ed off enough at the state of our own game.

If England dont qualify, tough, theyre obviuosly not good enough.(They will though)

RedWhiteArmy! View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 12:08pm

lads leave the wolfe tones out of this...they're sh*te.

gary og's the only man for your rebel tunes ;)

LEAVE BERTIE A LOAN.
L.Y.A. View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 12:42pm

We're not Brazil, We're Norn Iron!

Go on the Nordies hope they win.Clap

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 12:44pm
AngryAngryAngryAngry
L.Y.A. View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 12:44pm
Originally posted by Cookie Monster Cookie Monster wrote:

Lads, I wudnt support the North because of their supporters who just use it as a vehicle to throw abuse at catholic players and promote their britishness ahead of their supposed Irishness.
I couldnt tell you of the current Republic Squad who is catholic, protestant or hindu and I couldnt give a sh1te in any case, but no matter creed they were I wouldnt give them abuse or death threats for it.
They're in the same league of supporter as the english scum element in my book.
You can't tar all the Nordy supporters as scum. Pure ignorance

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 1:47pm
Off the point (probably a good thing) but how quality would it be travelling to Gran Canaria for an away game - the nordies are fookin lovin it
L.Y.A. View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 1:55pm
HALF TIME AND IT'S STILL A POSSIBILITY
Spain 0 Norn Iron 0
Sweden 0 Latvia 0

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 2:09pm
sweden 1 latvia 1 lya

spain are toying with NI

AND CROATIA HAVE SCORED>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>GET IN MY SON

Edited by Percy - 21 Nov 2007 at 2:10pm

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 2:12pm
lads, i reckon i have as much a perspective on this as anyone. I  share a flat with a couple of NI fans and have been a republic fan since i can remember kicking a ball about.

I  could not give a toss who wins this match. I've always kinda liked the spanish side but i am a neutral here, two sides who i have no affiliation with.

The only reason i'd be pissed off if the north did qualify is that we have a much better side and made a complete arsehole out of it.

end of
L.Y.A. View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 5:15pm
Credit where credit is due the Nordies had some campaign...down to the last game...where we were out after two.
billybunter View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 5:37pm
 I would not support them. 
darmurt View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 5:56pm

Yes I'd have been sympathetic to them up till Nov 93 when Bingham and Tommy Wright and the rest showed their true colours.  Hope they win tonight but that Sweden get an injury time goal to sicken them.
agree 100per cent with fw

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 6:32pm
How anyone can support Norn Iron is utterly beyond me.
The majority, not minority, of their fans were pure bigot scum when we last played them

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 6:43pm
jaysus, only reading through all the comments now, some good stuff there!

At the end of the day, no matter what spin you want to put on it Justice, Norn Iron is a different country when it comes to football (Is that ok for you) and their fans sing passionately when their Anthen comes on, Yes God Save The Queen.

And just as Billybob said, Irish fans cheering on the likes of Norn and Scotland, well let's just say you would not catch me doing it.

Neil Lennon is aperfect example of why we should not support Norn

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2007 at 3:27am
If the north really wanted to be a team that represented both communities than God save the queen would not be their national anthem. A pure discrace in my opinion, it descriminates against the nationalist players. For this reason i would never support norn iron and their biggotted association, until they change the anthem.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 234