![]() ![]() |
The Crime Thread |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 265266267268> |
Author | ||
horsebox ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() Born n bred in darndale. Joined: 03 Feb 2010 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 33185 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
They used their own cars as the get away cars. Why? Hutch went to slaughter the Kinehans but was extremely sloppy in his approach, but on other jobs that he did he was extremely careful. I think Gerry has so much influence in the Gards that meant he knew he was going to get away with this. |
||
When the devil got a hold of me, He wouldn't set me free, So he kept me soul for ransom. na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na. I'm a sailor man from Glasgow to |
||
![]() |
||
Shedite ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() Joined: 09 Dec 2011 Status: Offline Points: 9526 |
|
Very interesting trial, followed most of the testimony.
Dowdall obviously was the key evidence and he seems too much of a simpleton to be taken at his work for a conviction. There was a lot of hearsay about it. I found it very odd that that the Gardai couldn't even put Hutch in the country at the time of the murder. With all the video and IT records around these days, you'd think they could have tracked him. They know he flew back from Spain for the funeral of his brother a few weeks later. |
||
![]() |
||
Huggybeer ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 29 Mar 2011 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 1360 |
|
Hes the underdog against the goliath that is the kinahans, who every rational irish person is sick of being untouchable. He laid a glove on them when, every international law inforcement agency hasent been seen too only one with the nads or stupidity to take them on, or was a rat backed into a corner that had to bite |
||
Getting old and intolerant
|
||
![]() |
||
Green Cockade ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 22 Jan 2020 Location: Belfast Status: Offline Points: 2336 |
|
An ODC with attitude, some might say.
|
||
![]() |
||
The Huntacha ![]() Roy Keane ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 Mar 2012 Location: Dubai Status: Offline Points: 11926 |
|
It was a strange move from the DPP to press forward with the charges even though the Gardai involved in the case weren’t confident that they’d get a conviction based on the evidence they had.
And having Dowdall as your key witness was a disaster for the State, as unreliable a witness as you’re likely to find. |
||
|
||
![]() |
||
irish_major ![]() Ray Houghton ![]() Bookie Slayer Joined: 20 Jan 2009 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 3751 |
|
Mental case by the state. I'd say they were just banking on the special criminal court giving the conviction as they do in almost every other case. Why the state didn't pursue a lesser charge of facilitating the murder is beyond belief.
Hutch's counsel were brilliant - the questioning of Dowdall for more than a week was certainly the winning of the case for them. He is a disgrace and was almost certainly more involved than he let on. Having to pay for that fooker to be in witness protection for the rest of his days is gutting. |
||
|
||
![]() |
||
KING-CON ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 26 Oct 2010 Status: Offline Points: 1211 |
|
This is the bit I don't get. I don't know enough about the law to know if he can now be recharged with this? Could they not have thrown a load of charges at him? No one is arguing that he wasn't involved at all.
|
||
![]() |
||
horsebox ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() Born n bred in darndale. Joined: 03 Feb 2010 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 33185 |
|
Tinfoil hat time but is it beyond the realms of possibility that Hutch's defence team orchestrated Dowdall to go into custody and basically become an unreliable witness?
It does appear that Bonney got 2 witnesses to step forward and say it was his Father who was driving the car. I mean, if you create doubt - you'll walk away a free man which is exactly what happened. Hutch is a very smart individual.
|
||
When the devil got a hold of me, He wouldn't set me free, So he kept me soul for ransom. na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na. I'm a sailor man from Glasgow to |
||
![]() |
||
The Huntacha ![]() Roy Keane ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 Mar 2012 Location: Dubai Status: Offline Points: 11926 |
|
Someone earlier in the thread mentioned Sleepers but I actually think Dowdall was just a disaster of a witness for the state rather than some ingenious tactic by Hutch.
I could be wrong but didn’t a member of Bonny’s family discredited his theory that his deceased father was driving the taxi.
|
||
|
||
![]() |
||
MC Hammered ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() Joined: 05 Oct 2011 Status: Offline Points: 6530 |
|
Yeah it did occur to me that Dowdall was too bad to be true but if he was a plant, it wouldnt explain why the DPP were prepared to go all in on his testimony.
|
||
|
||
![]() |
||
|
What other evidence did the DPP have against Hutch?
Dowdall would be a considered a rat which is the lowest of the low. |
||
||
![]() |
||
Shedite ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() Joined: 09 Dec 2011 Status: Offline Points: 9526 |
|
Listening to the Crime World podcast about it this morning, they explained that the usual for convict turned witness like Dowdell is that you're brought into court, have to basically acknowledge all the wrongs you've done, and can then explain the wrongs that the other person (Monk) did. Kinda explain how you were both in the wrong. Sounds like Dowdell didn't do any of that, always explained away his crimes, while wanting to show the crimes Monk did, so it was a tough testimony to believe
|
||
![]() |
||
|
|
||
![]() |
||
t_rAndy ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() Joined: 06 Feb 2008 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 25112 |
|
You would think it was kind a slam dunk for firearms charges or being part of a criminal enterprise type charges, etc.
Why didnt they go for that you would wonder, especially as they only got JD's to turn state witness year or so after Hutch was on remand. Could it be they needed the murder charge for the interpol warrant and extradition? And why didn't they go for Patsy instead? Or charge him too. |
||
![]() |
||
Terzino ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() Joined: 06 Apr 2016 Status: Offline Points: 478 |
|
How does this story go? Off the top of my head, it goes something like this: - Trouble occurs in the form of an assassination, but Guards are nowhere to be seen (except for the assassins in blue!) - Guards show up late because they are not allowed to use sirens and drive fast - Media have pictures of assassins, but these are censored in all publications! - The assassin in the censored photos dies (never even questioned (?)) - A Garda investigated for something minor is accidentally discovered to be a Hutch asset - Hutch trial ends in farce after State puts the entire case into the hands of an unreliable witness It's the murkiest series of events where it's difficult to tell exactly what the State was up to, from the attempted assassination of Kinahan, right up to the Hutch trial.
|
||
![]() |
||
t_rAndy ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() Joined: 06 Feb 2008 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 25112 |
|
Was that the one that killed himself?
|
||
![]() |
||
Borussia ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() Joined: 14 Oct 2010 Location: UK Status: Offline Points: 9142 |
|
Were you the lad who made that "movie" that appeared online a few years ago supposedly showing what really happened????!!!!
|
||
![]() |
||
Terzino ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() Joined: 06 Apr 2016 Status: Offline Points: 478 |
|
The Guard who killed himself caused the collapse of the earlier Patrick Hutch trial. However, the Guard I mentioned got 6 years for possession of drugs.
I can't remember exactly, but his house was raided for one thing, but loads of drugs were discovered instead. And I've never seen that Kinahan movie. However, the weirdness of this affair raises many questions. And when you combine it with previous cases, like the Kieran Boylan Affair, you are left wondering about the State's bona fides in tackling organised crime.
|
||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 265266267268> |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |