Tintin View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Dec 2011 at 2:21pm
There would be civil war in the Irish team if that sub-human bastard came back.
"ohh Stephen Ireland he used to be Irish but he's English now".

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Dec 2011 at 7:17pm

first good game in what? 2 years or so?

calm down lads

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Dec 2011 at 7:18pm
Originally posted by SteviesGranny SteviesGranny wrote:

Baggio is correct. It was his first decent game in a couple of years. No need to get carried away by it. He might disappear for another 2 after today.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2012 at 4:48am

Was listening to the Today FM commentary.  Brian Kerr and the commentator spent a few minutes slating Ireland claiming his body language was all wrong he didn't look interested etc etc then "wait almost a goal no it is 1-1".....

No chance he will be on the plane to Poland though.  
packiesglove View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2012 at 5:05am
amazing really, putting aside our feelings towards him, he was one of the top midfielders in the EPL about 3 years back

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2012 at 5:07am
I never want to see this person representing Ireland again.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2012 at 5:38am
Originally posted by Tintin Tintin wrote:

There would be civil war in the Irish team if that sub-human bastard came back.
"ohh Stephen Ireland he used to be Irish but he's English now".

And yiz wonder why he didnt want to play for Ireland Confused

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2012 at 5:43am

I never want to see this person representing Ireland again.

AndyMc View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jan 2012 at 6:20am
Move this to the ROI thread, he is an Ireland international
Simon: No-one brings a bag of sh*t to a pub

Jay: Your dad does

Simon: Does he?

Jay: Yeah, your mum

garretjoseph View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jan 2012 at 3:26am
IMO Stephen Ireland would be one of the best Irish midfielders on the team. Hands down. 

With that being said, he's got his head screwed on backwards & bringing him back into the Irish team just before the Euro's would be a disgrace to the players who worked there balls off to get us there. 

If Stephen Ireland is interested in coming back, it will be after Euro 2012. 

I remember France calling up a certain player who didn't want to play for France anymore & even though he said he "retired" from International football, UEFA/FIFA were going to suspend him from any club matches for something like 5 days before & 5 days after the international match (competitive) I often wonder if Trap did call him up & he refused, would he be suspended from future Villa games?
The Drifter View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jan 2012 at 7:41am
Originally posted by garretjoseph garretjoseph wrote:

IMO Stephen Ireland would be one of the best Irish midfielders on the team. Hands down. 

With that being said, he's got his head screwed on backwards & bringing him back into the Irish team just before the Euro's would be a disgrace to the players who worked there balls off to get us there. 

If Stephen Ireland is interested in coming back, it will be after Euro 2012. 

I remember France calling up a certain player who didn't want to play for France anymore & even though he said he "retired" from International football, UEFA/FIFA were going to suspend him from any club matches for something like 5 days before & 5 days after the international match (competitive) I often wonder if Trap did call him up & he refused, would he be suspended from future Villa games?

was that player nick anelka?Big smile
My dream has always been to play for the Republic of Ireland - James McClean.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jan 2012 at 7:54am
It was Claude Makelele Thumbs Up

grannyrule View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2012 at 11:42am

When Stephen Ireland suddenly left the Republic of Ireland squad in September 2007 before a European Championship qualifying match against the Czech Republic in Prague, it set in motion a most bizarre chain of events. "You couldn't make it up" hardly did the episode justice.

But Ireland, the player, did make it up. When he claimed that the reason for his hasty departure was because of the death of his maternal grandmother, it was swiftly proved to be false. And when he backtracked and said it was his paternal grandmother who had passed away, that was exposed as a lie, too.

Both were very much alive and kicking. They had most definitely not gone to meet their maker. But if much of the mystery still remains unexplained to this day, what is fact is that the enigmatic Ireland has not played for his country since.

And neither is he likely to, even with the Republic having reached the European Championship finals this summer. Giovanni Trapattoni, the stubborn Ireland manager, long ago ran out of olive branches to extend. Still, Ireland retains a sliver of hope of getting the call.

"I've not been approached," he said. "It's not really a question I have to answer because it's not a question that has come to me. I'll see when it comes to me. It's not something I think about. It's not frustrating, no. I've not been playing for so long [with Ireland] that I'm not missing it. I'm just going to concentrate on my club football."

Concentrating pretty well, too. Ireland may be a complex character, notorious for his oddball antics away from the pitch, but he is at last starting to emerge as an Aston Villa player of substance. That the home fans chanted his name in the dreary draw with Everton demonstrated significant progress.

"It's one of the targets I've set, to get on better with the fans," Ireland said. "It's nice when they sing your name. I've not had the greatest of relationships with them but I've not had a consistent run in the team. It's been frustrating but I seem to be playing now and I'm pleased."

Shay Given – a certainty to feature for the Republic of Ireland at Euro 2012 – has noticed the change. "Stephen's confidence has taken a lift," the Villa goalkeeper said. "He wants to be on the ball more and is more bubbly around the place. Sure, he likes his cars and his tattoos, all that kind of stuff. He is a character, yeah."

Alex McLeish, the Villa manager, has noticed too. "We have worked hard with Stephen. I've been patient with him, and he's now producing," McLeish said. "And he's winning the fans over. He has set a standard now which he can't drop below. We want to see that from him every week."

Two touches from Ireland helped to set up a scrappy opening goal, dispatched by Darren Bent. But Everton levelled when the excellent Landon Donovan released Victor Anichebe, a substitute, to coolly beat Given. "Landon was the best player on the pitch," David Moyes, the Everton manager, said. "His energy was fantastic."

McLeish introduced Robbie Keane, Donovan's LA Galaxy team-mate, as a late replacement but the Irishman, starting a seven-week loan spell at Villa Park, was unable to make an impact. Keane – like Richard Dunne, the Villa defender, and Given – is also likely to feature prominently in Ukraine and Poland this summer, when Ireland, the teller of tall tales, may just regret his fictitious account of the deceased grandmothers.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2012/jan/15/stephen-ireland-aston-villa-everton

Edited by grannyrule - 16 Jan 2012 at 11:43am
Dunne23 View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2012 at 11:56am
I forgot that how good he can be, but Trap making an approach? Jaysus Stephen get off your high horse.
Jonny2Times View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2012 at 12:05pm
"I'll see when it comes to me. It's not something I think about. It's not frustrating, no." 

Cocky little c*nt. Will never wear an Irish jersey again.. 
I never comment on referees and I'm not going to break the habit of a lifetime for that prat

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2012 at 12:40pm
this was all traps fault , he should be begging ireland to play for us
Undercover View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2012 at 12:49pm
Tongue firmly in cheek I hope with that comment Roger!
Nobody really knows why we're here. We just are.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 15>