Topic ClosedSportsmen from Northern Ireland

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Sportsmen from Northern Ireland
    Posted: 03 Oct 2008 at 9:06am
Do you feel as much for them as you do for a sportsman from the Republic? for Instance people like Eddie Irvine, Darren Clarke, Graham McDowell, George Best.

Edited by t_rAndy - 03 Oct 2008 at 9:06am

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Oct 2008 at 9:12am
If they declare as being irish they have my respect.

If not they can f**k rite off

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Oct 2008 at 9:13am

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Oct 2008 at 9:18am
Count, do you EVER get out??  I thought I was bad.........Jaysus.......but back to the point, I can't stand Eddie Irvine, admired Best for his ability but he was a boll*cks, a wife beater and a selfish bas*ard.  I like McDowell and Darren Clarke and young McIlroy, Denis Taylor, Alex Higgins, Barry McGuigan.  And as for Count's pal above, Julian.........Hug

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Oct 2008 at 9:40am
Reason i brought it up was because of McIlroy. Wasn't sure what he considered himself, British or Irish. He has played in all the Irish Championships but he is from a generally Protestant area.

Loved the way at the Ryder Cups Clarke would be there with the tricolour and loved the way McDowell was saying he wanted to play with Harrington with both of them being Irish.

He's not a sportsman but also love Charles Lawson

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Oct 2008 at 9:49am

I can't stand Eddie Irvine, admired Best for his ability but he was a boll*cks, a wife beater and a selfish bas*ard.  I like McDowell and Darren Clarke and young McIlroy, Denis Taylor, Alex Higgins, Barry McGuigan.

Agree on Irvine, and never really had any soft spot for Best as was before my time, I like Higgins and Taylor though! Darren Gibson aswellThumbs%20Up

Dont forget Marty o'Neill and Norman Whiteside Thumbs%20Up

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Oct 2008 at 9:50am

He's not a sportsman but also love Charles Lawson

What about ye Elizabeth?

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Oct 2008 at 9:51am
Didn't Irvine have to play the English anthem when he won races because the first time they played the Irish Anthem and his parent's home was attacked

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Oct 2008 at 12:59pm
Liam Nilson, Stephen Rea, Ray Stephenson....good actors.
Nilson on the set of a western with Pierce Brosnan: "A couple of Paddy's playing cowboy!"
Rea in respnoce to an American interviewer who called him English: "I am Irish"
Stephenson in ROME: "I am Roman!" (Still unsure about him!)

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Oct 2008 at 1:03pm
David Feherty,?

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Oct 2008 at 5:28pm

Reason i brought it up was because of McIlroy. Wasn't sure what he considered himself, British or Irish. He has played in all the Irish Championships but he is from a generally Protestant area.

so it's pick and choose? What f**king difference does it make..bullsh*t point

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2008 at 3:24am

Not really. Generally if they are protestant they consider themselves British. I think that's important when deciding whether you want to give your support to someone

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2008 at 7:51am
so any sportsmen that come out of Northern Irleand you do back ground checks, to make sure God forbid you could support a protestant...did it ever occur to you that a lot of these sportsmen just want to play the sport and get away from the bullsh*t of politics..but can't as peope like you make it an issue. 
Tash Kent View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2008 at 10:04am

Darren Clarke is not a catholic dont think that makes any difference, he is a decent guy and would get my support, he has no problem being photographed with an Irish flag anyway when representing Ireland with others.

In general a lot get my support and others don’t depends on their attitude, David Humphreys when asked what it was like to be winning whatever number cap it was for his country replied I haven’t won any caps for my country, what a w*nker, he played for London Irish as well so you would think he would have a better attitude then that sh1te, a good few are Irish and not British anyway, so why should we think any less of them then people from the other 26 counties.

Edited by Tash Kent - 04 Oct 2008 at 10:12am
Philip Greene RTE Radio Legend
10 Seconds Gone Here In Limerick And No Score.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2008 at 12:24pm
never liked david Humphreys....all he did was kick the egg ball non-stop when he played for ireland, never passed.Thumbs%20Down 
tirchonaill View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2008 at 12:51pm
UK commentators are annoying with most names mentioned in this thread, when their doing well, their british but when things are going bad, their Irish.. really annoying that.. they do it in golf all the time
aidz View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2008 at 3:06pm

Count, do you EVER get out??  I thought I was bad.........Jaysus.......but back to the point, I can't stand Eddie Irvine, admired Best for his ability but he was a boll*cks, a wife beater and a selfish bas*ard.  I like McDowell and Darren Clarke and young McIlroy, Denis Taylor, Alex Higgins, Barry McGuigan.  And as for Count's pal above, Julian.........Hug

geography lesson here.
mcguigan is from clones, co. monaghan.
dont start me on the flags he used to fight under though...Ouch

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2008 at 3:15pm
Oops Freudian slip there Aidz, with apols to McGuigan and everyone from Monaghan!  I was sh*te at Geogo in school, but no excuse for my blunder! Thumbs%20Down