Sean St Ledger

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 8>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Sean St Ledger
    Posted: 31 May 2009 at 7:21am
Played centre half on Saturday but would you slot him in at right back ahead of McShane/Kelly against the Bulgarians? Personally, i wouldnt trust Foley just yet and really nervous with McShane in the team.

Obviously coverage of the Championship is limited but i know St Ledger can play at right back and has done for Preston.

Also, I wouldnt for a moment suggest moving O'Shea out to the right to accomodate a lad who has made 1 appearance for Ireland but stranger things have happened.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Donal Cullen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2009 at 9:55am
As has been said it is great to have another (good?) option for center back. This is the most worrying aspect of Trappa's team as we have little in the way of quality to replace either Dunne or O'Shea. Maybe St. Ledger is the answer, or even Bruce but they will need to be tested in a few more games beofre we can be sure.
gerrupourrathat View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gerrupourrathat Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jun 2009 at 6:18am
Well Mcshane was sh1te again in the little time he was on the other night he hasn't got a clue at how to play full back and in the limited time he was on he kept veeering into the middle. If the Nigerians had a mind to attack that space the other night he was fooked. He hasn't got the pace or the nous to play full back. I think St Ledger looked the part the other night and also has a little bit of pace. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2009 at 9:49am

Trapattoni may look to St Ledger

EMMET MALONE Reports

IRELAND NEWS: GOALKEEPERS Wayne Henderson and Colin Doyle will be among the Irish players to reconvene in London this morning, 48 hours before they are due to depart for Sofia where they take on Bulgaria in their important World Cup qualifying game on Saturday evening.

The pair were officially added to the squad yesterday due the departure of Dean Kiely from the group last week and the unavailability this weekend of Keiren Westwood.

The pair, who have seven caps between them, will provide back-up to Shay Given who had been struggling with a hip injury last week prior to being cleared to play the first half of Friday’s game against Nigeria.

In the wake of a trouble-free draw against Nigeria on Friday night, Giovanni Trapattoni is expected to have a virtually full squad available to him for training over the next couple of days with Given having suffered no significant ill effects after his 45 minutes at Craven Cottage.

Caleb Folan is likely to join the group after being allowed to rest a minor knee problem at home last week.

Despite a decent run-out against the Africans, Coventry City’s Leon Best is likely to make way for Hull City striker Folan when the team is announced towards the end of the week while the Italian continues to mull over the possibility of making changes in defence where Sean St Ledger could start with Richard Dunne in the centre with John O’Shea moving to right back.

Dunne remains in the dark as to who it is who will partner him at the Vasil Levski stadium but, he acknowledges, the newcomer certainly did well enough on Friday to leave the manager with a decision to make.

“He was excellent,” the Manchester City defender said. “He talked all the way through the game, he felt really comfortable to play along side. He looked like he’d been there for ages, to be honest.

“I think Friday will have helped all of the lads who came in for the first time, though, they’ll learn from the experience.

“You know yourself,” he continued, “the manager has said that it might be a completely different team next week. But we always know that we’ve got players who have played games and have the experience.”

The Manchester City defender says the squad is in confident mood after the game against Nigeria which was meant to keep the players ticking over ahead of Saturday’s qualifier.

“Yes, it was a good week generally, particularly for the Championship lads who haven’t played for a while.

“Now, we’ve got to look forward and try to get a win that would go a long way towards helping us qualify.”

With Trapattoni’s plans to draft in replacements for Keiren Westwood and Dean Kiely hampered by the fact several players are on holidays there may be an eagerness amongst some squad members to get the trip out of the way so as to finally wrap up an arduous long season.

However, Dunne denies that anyone views such a big match as an inconvenience.

“It’s not as if it’s a pain that the season is dragging on. This is another game, the final one of the season and we want to go out on a high. We feel, if we win, that it gives us a great chance of qualifying.”

Stanimir Stoilov’s Bulgarian squad, meanwhile, will also intensify their preparations for Saturday’s game after the locally-based squad members completed their domestic season at the weekend when Levski Sofia wrapped up their 26th title ahead of rivals CSKA with a 1-1 draw against Minior Pernik.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FREEWHEELER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2009 at 9:53am

McShane is a disaster alright.......Saint Seán can't be any worse and if he has a bit of pace, we'll need that with speedy Petrov.   Trap could move O'Shea all the same, but Johner's been solid all campaign with Richie.

Skipper View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Skipper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2009 at 1:34pm
Its half time and he aint doing bad
Stephen Irelands Superman Jocks!!
trapsflipflop View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote trapsflipflop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2009 at 2:40pm
did well fair play to him
The game is about
Being effective
Being aggressive
Winning the ball
Getting it on with the play
We'll Put 'em Under Pressure

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Count Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2009 at 2:45pm
quality first proper cap, solid performance, but having Dunne beside you would make even me look great! (remember BabbEmbarrassed)

Fair fooks to the lad, great start to his international career this weekClap

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2009 at 2:52pm
well done ledge
oreilly21 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oreilly21 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2009 at 4:12pm
he did well but beside richie dunne he didnt have alot to do

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigPodge Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2009 at 4:17pm
Totally agree there, flawless performance but with Dickie in that kinda form we barely needed another centre half!!

Hopefully we'll be able to call him St Legend soon enough!! Clap

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FREEWHEELER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2009 at 5:10pm
Aye, overshadowed by the man mountain that is Richie but anytime was needed, did his job well........very promising. Thumbs%20Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2009 at 7:04am
Lads, im pretty sure we've unearthed our second centre half. Trap will be happy to play JOS out right with Dickie and Ledge in the middle. Will be interesting to see what happens if Finnan can make it back but how and ever, solid performance by Ledge. Delighted!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RogerMilla Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2009 at 8:07am
Originally posted by McGoldrick2284 McGoldrick2284 wrote:

Lads, im pretty sure we've unearthed our second centre half. Trap will be happy to play JOS out right with Dickie and Ledge in the middle. Delighted!

i think you're right there , st ledger has played himself in
DamoGUFC View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DamoGUFC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2009 at 9:47am
Very encouraging performance from Sean, did what was asked off him. Hopefully he can build on this and add many more caps to his name. The result and performance will give him great confidence.
Galway United,
My love,
My passion,
My Life.
Chopper View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Chopper Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2009 at 10:11am
Are there any clubs intrested in this player? He seems to be playing well, and doesnt look out of place at internation level.  
Support your local LOI team :)

http://www.ybig.ie/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=7919

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Count Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2009 at 12:09pm
Does JOS deserve to be pushed out to the right or left though just cause he can? 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2009 at 12:43pm

Does JOS deserve to be pushed out to the right or left though just cause he can? 

Would be interesting to hear it from the horses mouth but as he plays there for club im sure he wouldnt have a problem with it.

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 8>