Topic ClosedRonnie Drew Tribute

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ronnie Drew Tribute
    Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 9:33am
I know this forum is a Plank-free zone, but Late Late tonight is Ronnie Drew tribute, so hopefully some good moments on that, although I see Kila are involved, I fckn hate them.  Worth taping though so I can zip through the bad bits. 

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 9:39am
 Fair play to all those involved in the tribute for Ronnie Drew. The man is a living legend.  Clap

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 9:41am
what do ye think of the song thats been released?

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 9:53am
I heard it only once, it's ok, I wouldn't be mad about it to be honest but I agree with its sentiments, cos he is a living legend, if a sometimes cantankerous one but aren't we all at times?  Tremendous performer though.
Justice Shark View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 10:23am
Yeh Ronnie is a gud man..will be out with da bird so won't see it..hope he takes no sh*te from the Plank

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 11:11am
Ronni is great, but a real grumpy lad. Went too see him once and he spent more time arguing with people in the audience!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 12:57pm
Originally posted by GerKeano GerKeano wrote:

Ronni is great, but a real grumpy lad. Went too see him once and he spent more time arguing with people in the audience!

Yep the brother had a run in with him on the phone. Ronnie f'ing and blinding at him and the bro says if it wasnt for Luke Kelly he'd hate the dubliners cos of it.

Personally i dont like his voice - only listen to luke and the Dubs - but best of luck Ronnie and well deserved.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 1:18pm
personally think that the song could have been a lot better..... I'd say they slapped it together in a hurry to coincide with a date they could all get together to record it

The Special One View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 1:53pm

Ronnie Drew is a total Legend.... Love his stuff. HAve been to see him and agree he is a grumpy ow'll sh1te..  and he tells too many stories instead og singing during performances. Legend though..

Long live Irish music and Ballads, its not appreciated enough by our generation...!!
Bondvillain View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 2:55pm
Ronnie's a "Great oul character" (© Joe Duffy) , being amusing , talented and grumpy, and deserves all plaudits due to him.

The song's a load of ould gock though.
Forza Verde!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 3:43pm
Jayzus that Shane McGowan fella is fookin in bits!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 4:15pm
a few things i've concluded from the first bit:

Ronnie = Legend

Bono - wile c*nt. he could save all the starving children and bring world peace and he'd still be a c*nt.

Sharon Corr - Christ she'd get one!

Shane - Absolute legend and (after Ronnie and Luke) the voice of Irish music. They shuda had him singing the whole song!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 6:21pm
btw, fair play to plank for starting the ould triangle. Would have been classic had they stuck with that.

And as for those f*cking feminists, fair paly again to the plank....you come here spouting sh*t* and Irelands had a woman president for god knows how many years.

And the funny side of feminism.......me f*cking hole! Yet to see a funny woman stand up...sorry....its the truth.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 6:31pm
those 2 stupid yankee american feminists were an awful pile o sh*te! Near put me off me harp tonight! 
Babysis View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 6:41pm

btw, fair play to plank for starting the ould triangle. Would have been classic had they stuck with that.

And as for those f*cking feminists, fair paly again to the plank....you come here spouting sh*t* and Irelands had a woman president for god knows how many years.

And the funny side of feminism.......me f*cking hole! Yet to see a funny woman stand up...sorry....its the truth.

Totally agree - They were a pile of sh*te. Would have preferred to have seen the monks on again - they might have been scary but they were slightly funny. No good female stand ups spring to mind - and jesus those two tonight were dire - made me turn to the drink (admittedly doesnt take that much)LOL
First Commander-Galway Regatta

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 7:53pm
excellent...the two ppl i didn't want to p*ss off by saying that agree with me....!

Yeah, those yankee monks were gas alright....a wee bit odd but anyways!

Didn't mind the song at all...good tune....will never be a big fan  of bono's voice but there ya go

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 8:16pm
So you's all stayed in and watched the Late Late then yeah?....wild bunch Big%20smile

Is the repeat on sunday or monday night??

Edited by Honey Monster - 22 Feb 2008 at 8:17pm

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2008 at 8:30pm
Jaysus I cringed when the Plank tried to start The Oul Triangle.
Fair play to the great Patsy Watchorn (another legend of Dublin City Ramblers fame) to bail him out