Question

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 12:23pm

It usually it makes absolutely no difference if he names it 3/4 days before KO because anyone with half a brain can guess it.

But this week was a perfect chance to keep it quiet and catch the Germans off guard due to injuries and the change of system.. Wishfull thinking.

At least we didnt give Jogi Loew 6 months to prepare, unlike Bilic.

Agree. As I mentioned we should have kept our cards close to our chest especially for this one because even we didn't know if we were going to go 4-4-2 or 4-5-1. You would think up until this week Loew would have thought we would be sticking with the 4-4-2. Now he would have seen the press conferences and know we are only going with one up front and that we will have one man for Ozil. So now he can work to counter act that

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 12:46pm

Think Trap was reading this last night. Coleman playing instead of Kelly in training. Whilst Keano and Andrews are sitting it out. 

The Germans will be shaking in their boots now not knowing what game plan we're usingClap

He hasn't named his team, nor has he named his system, (I wouldn't take too much notice with that Tardelli says).
I think your being critical for the sake of being critical here.

It looks to me as if he is trying different systems with different people to see who fits the system best.

So much for not changing tactics or system.

I do agree though that he should not name his team until the last minute.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FREEWHEELER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 12:52pm
I think Loewe woulda been fairly close to naming our XI and set up, given the absentees and the way Germany are set up, it's not rocket science to have a fairly decent guess at our selection/set up.

Some of yiz are looking for every possible weapon with which to beat Trap, I'm getting tired of him myself, but for Jaysus sake............. most/all of us called for change in the team and formation, well now we have it due to injury/retirement, there's just no pleasing some of yiz, I despair sometimes.

Come on Ireland.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 1:11pm
Not at all, if if was any other manager naming their team in advance I would be under the same thinking, any information you can give the opposition prior to a match is beneficial to them. I don't really see how it is of beneficial to us. I don't think you would see the likes of Alex Ferguson giving his opposition manager that kind of head start

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 1:12pm

Not at all, if if was any other manager naming their team in advance I would be under the same thinking, any information you can give the opposition prior to a match is beneficial to them. I don't really see how it is of beneficial to us. I don't think you would see the likes of Alex Ferguson giving his opposition manager that kind of head start

But he has not named his starting 11 and people are still giving out about something that has not happened or may not happen.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 1:14pm
We could even name our team and it wouldn't be clear whether it was 442 or 451 depending on who was selected.

e.g. a front six of

-------Coleman, Andrews, McCarthy

Walters ----------------------------- McGeady

---------------------Keane

You wouldn't know whether Walters was in as a winger or a striker, and whether Coleman was selected as the right winger or as a third central midfielder. Now, I'm not denying that would be an unusual team (Coleman is no central midfielder even if he has played there before and Walters isn't the best winger in the world) but with Coleman as the right most central midfielder, McGeady on the left wing and Walters as the right winger / wide striker, it wouldn't be clear what our formation was or what our game plan was. To be clear, I'm not proposing this as a team, but never underestimate the power of surprise in formation even if we reveal the team early.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 1:17pm
Keane and Andrews have picked up Achilles knocks,that's why they not training
AaronFever View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AaronFever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 1:19pm

Not worried about Keane, but Andrews possibly being out is a massive worry at this stage.

GIBBO! COME BACK! ALL IS FORGIVEN!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 1:22pm
Gibson is injured though

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pipkin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 1:35pm
Originally posted by AaronFever AaronFever wrote:

Not worried about Keane, but Andrews possibly being out is a massive worry at this stage.

I am. Trap will still play him if not 100% fit. That's extremely worrying me

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AaronFever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 1:36pm

Gibson is injured though
Oh yeah, d'oh!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AaronFever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 1:38pm

That's true, our biggest problem of the Euros was him playing unfit players

Edited by AaronFever - 10 Oct 2012 at 1:38pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 1:38pm

No he won't play him if he is not 100% fit.

fochie View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fochie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 2:53pm

No he won't play him if he is not 100% fit.

He thinks Keane is our most important player because of his "Mentality"

which is ridiculous.He would play him at 70% fitness Im quite sure of that..
depechemode View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote depechemode Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 4:43pm

we are only a english b team so the germans do give a fook.

JaysusConfusedConfusedConfusedConfused

Would ya ever go n f**k yourself Eire 32

no i not deluded, its about time fans start waking up and smelling the caviar.
bar 2 or 3 this current team is only wasting their time at international level.

That's grand. Sure the best thing you can do is sit in a pub and watch England play so. It's our country ffs, we can't buy players. That's the kind of response you get from the  know it all EPL brigade when you say you are going to an Ireland game. I'm bloody proud of my country playing sport and will support Ireland in the good and bad times.  I'd hate to have you in the army beside me wit that attitude lad.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FrankosHereNow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 4:53pm
Originally posted by depechemode depechemode wrote:

we are only a english b team so the germans do give a fook.

JaysusConfusedConfusedConfusedConfused

Would ya ever go n f**k yourself Eire 32

no i not deluded, its about time fans start waking up and smelling the caviar.
bar 2 or 3 this current team is only wasting their time at international level.

That's grand. Sure the best thing you can do is sit in a pub and watch England play so. It's our country ffs, we can't buy players. That's the kind of response you get from the  know it all EPL brigade when you say you are going to an Ireland game. I'm bloody proud of my country playing sport and will support Ireland in the good and bad times.  I'd hate to have you in the army beside me wit that attitude lad.
He's clearly taking the piss dude. Relax.

depechemode View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote depechemode Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2012 at 4:58pm
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123