URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=9879
Printed Date: 25 Apr 2024 at 10:40pm

Topic: The Wire
Subject: The Wire
Date Posted: 22 Aug 2009 at 2:20am
Just starting watching series 1 last night, quality stuff, never seen it before.Clap

Date Posted: 22 Aug 2009 at 7:52am
Just into season 2. Wait til ye meet Omar. He is quality!

Date Posted: 31 Aug 2009 at 5:28am
Addicted to this show. McNulty and Co are feckin class!

Date Posted: 31 Aug 2009 at 5:32am
just watched episode 1 of season 2 last night..... great show Thumbs%20Up

took a few episodes to get into it at the start though as was seriously struggling with the homeboy lingo

Date Posted: 31 Aug 2009 at 5:34am

just watched episode 1 of season 2 last night..... great show Thumbs%20Up

took a few episodes to get into it at the start though as was seriously struggling with the homeboy lingo

Was the very same. I watch it with subtitles Embarrassed

Date Posted: 31 Aug 2009 at 6:25am
Downloaded all 5 series and watched it all in about 3 weeks.

Best show on tv. FACT

Big%20smile

Posted By: The Rovers
Date Posted: 31 Aug 2009 at 8:43am
Watched them all on dvd over the summer, f**kin brilliant, cant decide whether that or sopranos is better.

Date Posted: 31 Aug 2009 at 8:45am

Just starting watching series 1 last night, quality stuff, never seen it before.Clap
i model my life on jimmymcnulty

Posted By: Ireland4ever
Date Posted: 31 Aug 2009 at 5:53pm

Great show, only found out recently that tommy carcetti is a dub!!

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2009 at 3:10am
Originally posted by Ireland4ever Ireland4ever wrote:

Great show, only found out recently that tommy carcetti is a dub!!

he was one of the cock munchers from queer as folk

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2009 at 3:11am
stringer bell english as well.. was in rocknrolla

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2009 at 3:11am
adn mcnulty is english ,
i wish they would make a few mroe seasons of this...

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2009 at 3:14am

Shocked

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2009 at 9:17am
love when they play this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOZHwWFjb30&NR=1 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOZHwWFjb30&NR=1

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2009 at 12:28pm

adn mcnulty is english ,

Yeah, do ya remember when he put on that english accent in one episode, why didnt he just speak normally???

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2009 at 3:02pm

adn mcnulty is english ,

Yeah, do ya remember when he put on that english accent in one episode, why didnt he just speak normally???

Seen him on BBC4 play the english guy who really discovered penicillan (not alexander flemming - he kinda took the credit) set in 1940's pretty good/intersting show

Posted By: Siralex
Date Posted: 01 Sep 2009 at 3:26pm

adn mcnulty is english ,

For really obvious reasons..

Date Posted: 01 Sep 2009 at 5:24pm
Originally posted by McGoldrick McGoldrick wrote:

Just into season 2. Wait til ye meet Omar. He is quality!

Omar Cool

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2009 at 11:08am
quality programme, watching season 5 on bbc2 last night, only 7 left to watch Cry absolute quality programme

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2009 at 11:12am
Originally posted by packiesglove packiesglove wrote:

quality programme, watching season 5 on bbc2 last night, only 7 left to watch Cry absolute quality programme
heard you wanna be omars bitch

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2009 at 1:20pm
Originally posted by packiesglove packiesglove wrote:

Say it aint so ?

No more series ?CryCryCry

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2009 at 1:25pm

No more series Newry. Unless the high money offers roll in.

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2009 at 1:57pm

No more series Newry. Unless the high money offers roll in.

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo Cry

Posted By: Siralex
Date Posted: 02 Sep 2009 at 2:06pm
Lads - I'm gonna have to take your word for this. But Gerk recommended this programm to me months ago. So I bought the first series and watched 4 episodes and I haven't really got in to it at all. Am I missing out on something or is it just a slow starter?

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2009 at 2:13pm
Originally posted by Siralex Siralex wrote:

Lads - I'm gonna have to take your word for this. But Gerk recommended this programm to me months ago. So I bought the first series and watched 4 episodes and I haven't really got in to it at all. Am I missing out on something or is it just a slow starter?

Its a slow starter Alex. I only got gripped mid to end of series 1 when you really start to get into the characters.

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2009 at 2:14pm
really hard to understand the homie language but stick with it siralex, well worth it!

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2009 at 2:16pm
Subtitles are a must!

Date Posted: 02 Sep 2009 at 2:47pm

Nearly all good things on TV are slow starters - best series I have seen in a long time.

seen the sopranos start to practically finish via the box set, when the wire finishes on BBC will try the West Wing on boxset

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2009 at 5:21pm
Into Season 3. There'll be a serious void in my life when i finish the boxset Cry

How this show didnt win awards astonishes me.

BEST SERIES EVER!

Date Posted: 17 Sep 2009 at 6:42pm

Into Season 3. There'll be a serious void in my life when i finish the boxset Cry

BEST SERIES EVER!

I know McG. I watched all 5 start to finish. half way through series 2 , you become so invested in the charachters its unreal!

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2009 at 2:50am
Jimmy McNulty is good poooolce!

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2009 at 2:57am

Nearly all good things on TV are slow starters - best series I have seen in a long time.

seen the sopranos start to practically finish via the box set, when the wire finishes on BBC will try the West Wing on boxset

i love the feckin west wing newry !
also try a show called brotherhood if you get a chance..

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2009 at 3:20am
just started season 3, quality stuffThumbs%20Up

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2009 at 3:27am

BEST SERIES EVER!

I know McG. I watched all 5 start to finish. half way through series 2 , you become so invested in the charachters its unreal!

Bought a McNulty leather jacket Cool

They have lined Dominic West up for another police series hope its half as good as the wire.

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2009 at 3:31am
whats next..... the shield or the unit lads?

Date Posted: 18 Sep 2009 at 3:32am
Sopranos for me. Full boxset at home and havent gone near it yet. Havent seen one full episode for my sins.

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2009 at 8:05am
Is it true there was no The Wire last week ?

Told the brother to tape it for me but he assures me it wasnt on

Date Posted: 20 Sep 2009 at 9:01am

i love the feckin west wing newry !
also try a show called brotherhood if you get a chance..

will check out the brotherhood Roger

Date Posted: 29 Sep 2009 at 5:17am
Has this finished ? or just delayed because of part conferences

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2010 at 3:07am
Been watchin box set,just startin season3,whilst its very enjoyable cant help think its over rated,in saying that i will continue to watch till da end,there is some quality characters in it but not much edge of da seat stuff,anyone else in da same boat?

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2010 at 3:11am
I'll be truly gutted when i finish it. Into season 5 now but taking it slow.
In my mind its far from over rated. The characters, acting, story lines and plots are top quality.

Best series ive ever watched Thumbs%20Up

Posted By: Babysis
Date Posted: 14 Jan 2010 at 3:16am

I'll be truly gutted when i finish it. Into season 5 now but taking it slow.
In my mind its far from over rated. The characters, acting, story lines and plots are top quality.

Best series ive ever watched Thumbs%20Up

I got season 1 for Christmas and watched the whole lot last weekend. Absolutely brilliant. Next weekend I will aim to get through most of season 2. I thought it was great ClapClapClap

First Commander-Galway Regatta

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2010 at 3:25am
You told me you were washing you hair as I was banging on the door.

Posted By: magnumpi
Date Posted: 14 Jan 2010 at 3:27am
Season 1 - amazing
Season 2 - not enough gangster action
Season 3 - amazing - brother Muzzone!
Season 4 - different but quality.
Season 5 - goes a bit too absurd....

Have heard the Shield is quite good, am gonna watch that once I'm finished with Mad Men.

Posted By: Baby_Bro86
Date Posted: 14 Jan 2010 at 6:31am
Just finished series 3, absolute class!

Lets do the hustle

Date Posted: 14 Jan 2010 at 6:34am
shame there was only 5 seasons

anyone on here see the corner its from the makers of the wire and set in baltimore with some of the cast from the wire in it but it just concetrates on the junkies

quailty telly