URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=9490
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 11:19pm

Topic: Joe Kinnear
Subject: Joe Kinnear
Date Posted: 05 Aug 2009 at 5:59am
Rumours that the skunks are giving him a 2 year contract.

Posted By: seaniemac
Date Posted: 05 Aug 2009 at 7:13am
on SSN now that he's not going back.

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2009 at 7:17am

on SSN now that he's not going back.

On local radio here that he would consider working again in 3 months and Fat man Ashley DID offer him a 2 year comtract.

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2009 at 7:19am
SSN is never ever wrong , local radio me hole WinkTongue

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2009 at 7:21am

SSN is never ever wrong , local radio me hole WinkTongue

Its a BBC local radio station don't you know !

Posted By: seaniemac
Date Posted: 05 Aug 2009 at 7:44am
The guy on SSN said it was a misunderstanding. That Ashley wanted to do right by Kinnear so obviously went to him first to see what his health was like, Kinnear said he wouldn't be ready for another three months so that rules him out. Sounded like Ashley offered him the contract ages ago as well and was just being decent to Kinnear now.

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2009 at 7:51am

So, if they have offered this to Kinnear, does this mean Alan turned it down first or what??

Kinnear makes Newcastle job claim

Joe%20Kinnear

Kinnear was a shock choice to succeed Kevin Keegan as boss in 2008

Joe Kinnear claims Newcastle owner Mike Ashley offered him a two-year deal to return as manager, which he rejected as he continues to recover from surgery.

Kinnear, 62, has been sidelined since a triple heart bypass operation in February and in his absence Newcastle were relegated from the Premier League.

"I told him I'm not going back to football until at least another three months," Kinnear told BBC Radio 5 live.

"If Newcastle feel they need to get another manager, then so be it."

As Kinnear recuperated, former Newcastle striker Alan Shearer took over as manager until the end of the season but he could not save the club from dropping into the Championship.

To add to the air of confusion, Ashley is trying to sell the club and until Newcastle's future is sorted out, Chris Hughton and Colin Calderwood will be in charge of the first team.

Shearer has admitted he has no idea if he will be appointed Newcastle boss on a full-time basis while uncertainty over the club's ownership persists.

He is likely to be at Newcastle's Championship opener at West Brom on Saturday - but working for the BBC as part of its live coverage.

Meanwhile, Kinnear said he had been given the all-clear by the specialist and planned to return to management "as soon as I get the opportunity," but he wants to pace himself.

606: DEBATE

http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/A55333361 - It's very far from ideal, but right now I don't care. My senses are numbed regarding Newcastle because all I want to see is the headlines "Toon Sold!".

Incognito

"I've been offered a two year contract - it's something I'm mulling over at the present time." he added.

"It was about two weeks ago - I was due to go back for pre-season friendlies as manager but I told him I wasn't up to it for medical reasons.

"I need to take time out and reassess the situation, then take it from there. In another three months the picture might be completely different."

A spokesman for the club said Ashley had no comment to make at this stage.

Posted By: criostoir Óg
Date Posted: 05 Aug 2009 at 7:57am
Give the job to Shearer, I like what he did with that team!

What happens on away trips, stays on away trips...except syphilis!

Posted By: Tash Kent
Date Posted: 05 Aug 2009 at 8:38am
Originally posted by Crostir g Crostir g wrote:

What get them relegated again.Thumbs%20UpLOL

Good for Joe Kinnear to not go near that place again, his health is more important than football anyway.

Philip Greene RTE Radio Legend
10 Seconds Gone Here In Limerick And No Score.

Date Posted: 07 Aug 2009 at 2:12pm
Originally posted by Tash Kent Tash Kent wrote:

Originally posted by Crostir g Crostir g wrote:

What get them relegated again.Thumbs%20UpLOL

Good for Joe Kinnear to not go near that place again, his health is more important than football anyway.

Shows how daft the geordies are Joe would do a much better job than Poppins as would Steve Coppell but they can't see past their geordie mesiah.

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2009 at 3:45am
Linked again with skunks job on Talksport !!

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2021 at 5:40pm
Joe has passed away 

RIP.

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2021 at 5:51pm

Joe has passed away 

RIP.
Seeing articles that his family have announced he’s suffering with dementia but nothing yet saying he has died.

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2021 at 5:55pm

Joe has passed away 

RIP.
Seeing articles that his family have announced he’s suffering with dementia but nothing yet saying he has died.

My sincere apologies looks like my source was incorrect.

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2021 at 6:07pm
Jaysis. I was thinking I had just read about the dementia and now he is dead.

You’d wonder if the dementia played a part in the erratic behaviour and the famous talk sport interview 

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2021 at 7:03pm
Very sad news, been suffering it since 2015 apparently, family have kept it under wraps till now. Very moving interview with his wife in the Telegraph this afternoon.   

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2021 at 7:07pm

Jaysis. I was thinking I had just read about the dementia and now he is dead.

You’d wonder if the dementia played a part in the erratic behaviour and the famous talk sport interview 

I would suspect he may not have long to go and his family are releasing this now.  Either that or someone else was going to release it.  Always liked Joe but yet I reckon it may explain his behaviour at Newcastle in 2014. 

Terrible stuff. 

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2021 at 7:11pm
Awh poor auld Joe. Only seems like yesterday he had Wimbledon flying high in the PL. Great days back in the 90s.

Date Posted: 22 Sep 2021 at 10:22pm
This is really sad to hear. Unfortunately not massively surprising as his struggles at Newcastle in his final football job suggested he may have been in the early stages of dementia at the time. 

I remember the Second Captains lads taking the piss out of one of his interviews at the time on their podcast and thinking it was pretty tasteless as his struggles with players' names was always likely to be linked to something like this.

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 7:24pm
Passed away today after battling dementia since 2015. Shame he never got to manage Ireland in his pomp.

Too old to remember him playing, but probably one of our more high profile players when at his peak.

RIP

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 7:27pm
Hope there's something organised tribute wise for the Hungary home game. 

RIP. 

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 7:28pm

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 7:30pm
I remember that and the headline in the Mirror the next day was something like 'Joe The Volcano' with the top half of his head erupting. LOL

Posted By: 1874eire
Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 7:33pm
Strange how he never got the Ireland job when he seemed to really want it and was fairly successful for a while. Remember Dunphy ranting for years about McCarthy getting it instead of him. 

Posted By: Roberto_Carlow
Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 7:47pm
Always liked Kinnear. A horrible disease, rip.

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 7:50pm
His career was cut short in 1999 and Wimbledon’s demise followed shortly after. He was immense while he was at Wimbledon especially in 1997. I also used enjoy his punditry. RIP.

Posted By: ButtySugrue
Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 7:53pm
Charles Insomnia instead of N'Zogbia

Comhar, Cabhair, Cairdeas

Posted By: Strazdas
Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 7:56pm
Some people might have assumed he was an Anglo because of his accent, but he was actually born in Kimmage and the family didn't move to England until he was eight.

He was a big part of RTE's WC coverage in 1994 and was on their TV panel the night we beat Italy.

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 8:00pm
One of the dying breed of proper characters

Imagine the Dublin Dons had have come true 

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 8:07pm

Some people might have assumed he was an Anglo because of his accent, but he was actually born in Kimmage and the family didn't move to England until he was eight.

He was a big part of RTE's WC coverage in 1994 and was on their TV panel the night we beat Italy.

I have a vague recollection of him on the panel in 94. Always liked his character. He had that Wimbledon side doing great things back in the 90s. 

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 8:19pm

I have a vague recollection of him on the panel in 94. Always liked his character. He had that Wimbledon side doing great things back in the 90s. 

He defied the odds. Top half finishes. Norwegian takeover, they removed him and put in Olsen. Relegated.

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 8:22pm

Predicted we'd beat Italy 1-0 

https://twitter.com/irish_pics/status/1777046873573835160" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/irish_pics/status/1777046873573835160

Posted By: 1874eire
Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 8:28pm

https://twitter.com/irish_pics/status/1777046873573835160" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/irish_pics/status/1777046873573835160

He said we would have 'total control of midfield' against the Italians. 

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 8:43pm
Great character and really wanted the Ireland job after Jack, was a bit of a surprise when they gave it to Mick. Did amazing to keep Wimbledon up as high as they were during his reign. RIP.

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 8:44pm

I remember that and the headline in the Mirror the next day was something like 'Joe The Volcano' with the top half of his head erupting. LOL
And he became known by some as JFK (Joe F**king Kinnear). LOL

RIP Joe 🙏 

Posted By: OohAah...
Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 8:46pm
sad news

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 9:07pm
I'll always remember him for Wimbledon, the Dublin Dons and arguing against his monniker of being in the cockney mafia at Newcastle.

Posted By: razzmatazaz
Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 10:21pm
Colin Healy's wife passed away recently as well.

Posted By: 50%lesssugar&salt
Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 10:36pm
RIP

Date Posted: 07 Apr 2024 at 11:31pm

One of the first things i thought about when heard the news. A great prediction.

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 8:03am
RIP

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 11:48am
https://www.theguardian.com/football/2008/oct/03/newcastleunited.premierleague" rel="nofollow - https://www.theguardian.com/football/2008/oct/03/newcastleunited.premierleague

Transcript of the Press Conference

Quote JK It is none of your f**king business. What the f**k are you going to do? You ain't got the balls to be a f**king manager. f**king day off. Do I want your opinion. Do I have to listen to you?

SB No, you can listen to who you want.

JK I had a 24-hour meeting with the entire staff.

SB Joe, you are only here six weeks, you could have done that on Sunday, or Saturday night.

JK No, no, no. I didn't want to do it. I had some other things to do.

SB What? More important things?

JK What are you? My personal secretary? f**k off.

Posted By: gmfc90
Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 12:03pm

From Terenure. Not Kimmage

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 6:09pm
Fair play Joe.

https://www.balls.ie/football/joe-kinnear-fa-cup-ireland-links-593811" rel="nofollow - https://www.balls.ie/football/joe-kinnear-fa-cup-ireland-links-593811

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 6:31pm

Was it not Crumlin he was from?

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 7:19pm
His original name was Joseph Reddy.  His mother left Dublin for England as the marriage was an unhappy one.  They Da got custody and the kids were brought up by their grandparents until Joe was six and the Ma came back for the kids and brought them to England where she had a man called Gerry Kinnear. His Da worked in the Brewery.   

Posted By: gmfc90
Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 7:37pm

Was it not Crumlin he was from?

From Corrib Road in Terenure. Old Guinness workers houses. Area was like an extension of Crumlin until the Celtic tiger brought in the culchies and gentrifiers

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 7:42pm
Complicated by the fact he also lived with his grandparents.  

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 9:52pm
RIP a good character 😔

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 10:05pm
Who’s that?

Posted By: Young Crossan
Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 10:08pm
that's Roy kinnear , English comedian 

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 10:10pm
Knowing the FAI he was probably in the running for the managers job up until this week.  

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 10:11pm

Who’s that?

Have you not seen Willy Wonka and the chocolate factory or a Carry On movie. 

Posted By: Benhur
Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 10:13pm
When I seen it I took it as Joe Kinnear  and was thinking he has changed a lot.. wouldn't even know him there LOL

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 10:18pm
Originally posted by Benhur Benhur wrote:

When I seen it I took it as Joe Kinnear  and was thinking he has changed a lot.. wouldn't even know him there LOL

His name is Roy Kinnear. 

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 10:25pm
I think it's Barry Fry but if I was a right winger I'd have went with the recently departed scumbag Rush Limbaugh. 

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 10:29pm

I think it's Barry Fry but if I was a right winger I'd have went with the recently departed scumbag Rush Limbaugh. 

It’s Roy Kinnear the actor. 

Date Posted: 08 Apr 2024 at 11:05pm
A bit of respect for Joe wouldn't go astray.

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2024 at 9:22am
According to Danny Kelly he was MoTM against Chelsea in the 1967 cup final as a 19 year old.  

His bonus from the cup final win went entirely on his Mam his sisters and his granny in Dublin including a 6 week holiday in Ireland for 8 of his family.  The bonus was gone by the start of next season.  

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2024 at 12:39pm

Thought you were joking there. Honestly thought that was Barry Fry in that pic. 

Date Posted: 09 Apr 2024 at 12:41pm

Thought you were joking there. Honestly thought that was Barry Fry in that pic. 

Barry fry has hair and Roy Kinnear is as bald as a coot or was.  He was in loads of carry on films and Willy wonka.  Famous enough British actor of the 60s and 70s 

Posted By: Fitz
Date Posted: 11 Apr 2024 at 8:55pm
A real character; a loveable rogue. 

Rest in Peace, Joe. 

Posted By: SportingRizlaCF
Date Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 9:17pm
RIP JOE