URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=6733
Printed Date: 23 Apr 2024 at 5:24pm

Topic: Noel Hunt definitely scored the goal last night
Posted By: Catman
Subject: Noel Hunt definitely scored the goal last night
Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 7:12am
I've watched the replays of the goal last night and Noel Hunt definitely scored it. The reports this morning say he is claiming it. The replays clearly show he got it and the reason he is holding his leg in the celebrations is because that is where Robbie kicked him.

The sequence now is, should he miss this, and Ireland's next penalty is scored, then the match and the progress are Ireland's....Timofte against Bonner..

Posted By: boblimerick
Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 7:34am
100% agree. Defo Hunt

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 8:13am
hunt for me too after repeated viewing

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 8:20am
no doubt if it was the other way around and it was Hunt was in Keane's position then no one would be trying to take the goal off Hunt.

Posted By: Killer K
Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 9:01am

He deserves it for the perfomance he put in!

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 9:16am
still think its keane's goal..

Posted By: Donal Cullen
Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 9:33am
http://javagim.com/goal-video-clip-highlight-youtube-italy-1-vs-1-ireland-0142009-iaquinta-keane-goal - http://javagim.com/goal-video-clip-highlight-youtube-italy-1-vs-1-ireland-0142009-iaquinta-keane-goal

Posted By: gouldinho
Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 9:34am
I think its Bob Keane's because the direction and pace it went in, it would be consistent with keane's position. The angle and pace that Hunt was coming in with wouldnt of got the bounce and pace on it as it would with Bob Keane's position  Geek

Posted By: walsheman
Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 9:35am
think keano just about got his big toe onto it,presume the bookies paid out on keane?

Going To The Euro's,Poland and Ukraine 2012 HO HO!!!!

twitter.......@walsheman

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 10:11am
Also if you look at the celebrations Keane is running off KNOWING he scored and Hunt is running after him as is the rest of the Irish team! Love young Hunt to score but we can't take it from Robbie. 

Posted By: Guests
Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 10:44am
It looks like Noel Hunts touch was going in but then Robbie Keane doubled on it.

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 10:51am

George Hamilton told us again last night for about the 5th time that Stephen Hunt's uncle won "Know Your Sport" in 1988.

Posted By: JH91
Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 11:34am
Originally posted by Donal Cullen Donal Cullen wrote:

we can't take it from Robbie. 

We can't but Hunt can

http://www.setanta.com/us/Articles/Football/2009/04/02/World-Cup-Hunt-Keane-on-goal/gnid-46872/ - http://www.setanta.com/us/Articles/Football/2009/04/02/World-Cup-Hunt-Keane-on-goal/gnid-46872/

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 11:48am
I remember my brother coming back from a trip to Iceland and telling me that the Irish team were messing around with Gary Waddock who scored the first goal. They were saying it was "definately" an own goal and he got pretty mad about it as there was no defender anywhere in sight. I can imagine the same thing is going on with Keane and Hunt and to tell the truth I can't say either way looking at the replys on the Net. Keane definately celebrates as if he scored straigth away and I take the point about Hunt saying he was claiming it as he was chasing after Robbie. It reminds me a lot of the goal in the 1979 FA Cup fianl between Arsenal and Man U. Price and Sunderland both claimed the goal but Price was later credited with it as Sunderland scored later on. Thats not going to happen here but I would give it to Robbie and hope that Hunt gets a few in the next few games. 

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 12:20pm
Houghton and Aldridge in 88 springs to mind when the cameras picked up Aldridge as if he had scored.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FP2HR3PZX-M - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FP2HR3PZX-M http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FP2HR3PZX-M -

Posted By: Howya Head
Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 1:00pm
Thanks Donal Cullen for the video clip. Can't make up my mind who struck the ball last night but I am sure glad somebody got the touch. Don't think I have ever jumped higher or shouted louder. It would be nice if Hunt got the goal it would help his confidence the next time he plays. A really good display by all who played ClapClapClap

It is better to have the world think you are a Gobsh*te than to open your mouth and prove it to them.

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 2:21pm
This is the best screenshot I can do of the goal, Hunt's leg is nowhere near to the ball, Keane is making clean contact

You can download the goal in slow motion here: http://tetsujin1979.googlepages.com/RobbieKeaneVSItaly.mpg - http://tetsujin1979.googlepages.com/RobbieKeaneVSItaly.mpg
It's only a few second long, I'd recommend using the slow motion option in VLC to view it

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 2:40pm
That's very misleading, Hunt had already made contact in this still. i'm convinced when ya watch it, keane has hit hunt's leg. it's not a criticism of robbie. i'm just convinced hunt put it in and he's holding his leg afterwards

The sequence now is, should he miss this, and Ireland's next penalty is scored, then the match and the progress are Ireland's....Timofte against Bonner..

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 2:42pm

WHO GIVES A FLYING FOOK !

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 2:44pm

cos i want to know the answer when george hamilton brings back know your sport

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 3:01pm
Originally posted by Catman Catman wrote:

cos i want to know the answer when george hamilton brings back know your sport

You'll have tough competition in Stephen Hunt's uncle. Did you know he won in 1988 so George "danger here" Hamilton keeps telling us.

Posted By: theworm2345
Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 5:19pm
I've put two replays side by side and slowed them down, perhaps it will help perhaps not, I've thought it was Keane's goal the whole time
http://www.mediafire.com/?mvm2hni2dkj - http://www.mediafire.com/?mvm2hni2dkj

http://www.globalsportsarchive.com/competitions/soccer/" rel="nofollow - League of Ireland archive with reports back to 91/92 (goalscorers for First Division) now online, plus Twitter: twitter.com/StattoLOI

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 5:30pm
worm, have you the game in full anywhere?

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 5:44pm

worm, have you the game in full anywhere?
I can get it in Russian, though I dont have it in myself.  Perhaps tetsujin will upload it like he did the Bulgaria game.

http://www.globalsportsarchive.com/competitions/soccer/" rel="nofollow - League of Ireland archive with reports back to 91/92 (goalscorers for First Division) now online, plus Twitter: twitter.com/StattoLOI

Posted By: The Rovers
Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 5:48pm
Just seen few bits on youtube since got back, jeez we really could have won it. The deflected shot was closer than I thought, that ball that went across the box too, how did it not go in, not to mention keanes chance. Looking forward to seein game on tv, am sure someone would ave recorded it, still very hard to tell who got the goal, thought it was hunt after looking at it on youtube.

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 5:50pm
http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/soccer/noel-hunt-contacts-fai-to-claim-goal-against-italy-1696696.html - http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/soccer/noel-hunt-contacts-fai-to-claim-goal-against-italy-1696696.html

Thursday April 02 2009

A dispute has arisen today as to who scored the Republic of Ireland's equalising goal against Italy in last night's World Cup qualifier.

The 87th minute goal in Bari rescued a vital Group Eight point for Giovanni Trapattoni's side, and has been credited to captain Robbie Keane.

But Noel Hunt later claimed he was the last man to get a touch to the ball, and confirmed this evening he has taken-up the matter officially.

Tottenham frontman Keane appeared to stab the ball past Gianluigi Buffon during last night's game, but closer examination of the footage would appear to show the Reading striker has some claim to the glory.

"I called the FAI first and then just had to make sure that they had video evidence," Waterford man Hunt told his local radio station Beat 102 103 this evening.

"They think I have grounds for an appeal so it's a matter I will go looking at."

The issue of who got the goal has been a subject of debate in papers and on the internet since full-time last night, and the Reading striker thinks he deserves acknowledgement for it.

"It would be a great start for me for my international career," Hunt said.

"You know I played a friendly there against Poland, so to come on and play some way well and contribute and score a goal against the World Champions in a World Cup qualifier is massive."

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 7:54pm

Date Posted: 02 Apr 2009 at 8:01pm
In fairness, who gives a ballox who scored!

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 4:27am
Clearly there is noway Hunt put that ball into the net. He got a touch just before Robbie smashed his foot through the ball. Just look at their body positions and then the power and the trajectory of the ball.... it gets smashed into the ground before flying into the net.... a toe poke would not generate that kind of power or trajectory!

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 9:15am
Just watched it from different angle on Rte.

Defo Keanes goal

Posted By: Ginzo
Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 9:22am
yep link on rte website keane buried it hunt didnt make much if any connection to it which makes his claim look a bit strange now

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 10:10am
Keane's goal defo

Posted By: Funsize Crouchy
Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 10:13am
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0403/1n_soccer1_av.html - http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0403/1n_soccer1_av.html  defo Robbies. Thought from other clips Hunt had got it.

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 12:47pm
Exclusive RTE fotage shows that Keane deffo got the last touch. Debate Over

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 12:48pm
Thank God... I can sleep tonight now :)

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 2:12pm
i stand corrected..god bless technology

Posted By: bmorgan87
Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 2:25pm

brutaL-it wont let me watch it..

says im not in ireland..

i think i am in ireland..what is the craic with that???

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 2:30pm
just watched it...defo Keane alright, looks like Hunt didnt even touch it at all

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 2:33pm
why would Hunt claim it then? Very strange

Posted By: bmorgan87
Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 2:44pm
hunt touched it.. so he knows he got a touch to it..
and next thing he sees is the ball in the net..
what would you do?
but i think the whole thing is gettin outa hand a bit..
do u think it could cause tension between the players.. be it just hunt and keane?
anyone got another link of this view of the goal.. because im in newry, which according to rte isnt in ireland

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 9:24pm
For the exiles among us, I've uploaded the RTE report here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FRBSW5RZ - http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FRBSW5RZ

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 9:44pm
Thanks tets, I watched it with an Irish proxy but how did you convert the .ivr to AVI?  I usually burn to DVD then rip it.  Or did you record it off the actualy report on TV?

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 10:25pm
Originally posted by theworm2345 theworm2345 wrote:

Thanks tets, I watched it with an Irish proxy but how did you convert the .ivr to AVI?  I usually burn to DVD then rip it.  Or did you record it off the actualy report on TV?

This is how I did it
  • Download and install RealAlternative from http://www.codecguide.com/download_real.htm - http://www.codecguide.com/download_real.htm (this might not be necessary, but I have a pathalogical hatred of Real Player)
  • Download and install mPlayer from http://www.mplayerhq.hu/design7/dload.html - http://www.mplayerhq.hu/design7/dload.html (I used the MPlayer SVN Windows with SMPlayer GUI option)
  • Using your browser of choice, open http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0403/1n_soccer1_av.html - http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0403/1n_soccer1_av.html for the news report
  • When the video starts playing, hit Pause
  • Right click on the video and select "Play in Real Player"
  • This should open the report in Real Alternative
  • IMPORTANT - DO NOT CLOSE THE BROWSER
  • In Real Alternative, select File -> Save As and enter the filename you want to save to. Ensure the extension is ".txt"
  • This is not the video itself, it is an XML file with intructions for an application on how to open the video
  • Open the file in a text editor - I use TextPad, but NotePad is fine
  • In the text file, look for a link starting with "rstp://"
  • Open a command line window and CD to the directory where you installed mPlayer.
  • If you used the one I listed above this is "C:\Program Files\SMPlayer\mplayer\"
  • enter the following command mplayer -noframedrop -dumpfile out.rm -dumpstream <link from text file>
  • This saves the actual RealMedia file to the same directory
  • The filename is out.rm
  • When the download is complete, you can close the browser
  • The rest of the instructions are not necessary, but I don't like working with RM files
  • Download and install SUPER video converter from http://www.erightsoft.com/Superdc.html - http://www.erightsoft.com/Superdc.html
  • Open the file in SUPER video converter
  • Use the tool to convert to AVI
  • In this case, the RM file is the entire news bulletin so I just clipped out the relevant section using AVI Splitter
  • Done and done

Date Posted: 03 Apr 2009 at 10:55pm
Alright thanks tets, I've tried doing the above but have been trying with WMR11 instead of mPlayer so I'll give this a shout

EDIT: It says
Cache size set to 640 KBytes
realrtsp: Stream EOF detected
Core Dumped ;)
Exiting.. <end of file>

Yet I see no out.rm

Date Posted: 04 Apr 2009 at 9:03am
probably need to include the proxy in the command line for mplayer as well, see example here: http://howto.wikia.com/wiki/Howto_use_mplayer_with_a_proxy_server - http://howto.wikia.com/wiki/Howto_use_mplayer_with_a_proxy_server
Be sure to use the same proxy as your browser

Date Posted: 04 Apr 2009 at 2:10pm
Originally posted by tetsujin1979 tetsujin1979 wrote:

probably need to include the proxy in the command line for mplayer as well, see example here: http://howto.wikia.com/wiki/Howto_use_mplayer_with_a_proxy_server - http://howto.wikia.com/wiki/Howto_use_mplayer_with_a_proxy_server
Be sure to use the same proxy as your browser
I was trying with a file that wasn't Ireland only though

Date Posted: 04 Apr 2009 at 8:55pm
what's the file? I'll try downloading it myself

Posted By: criostoir Óg
Date Posted: 05 Apr 2009 at 8:29am
I loved the RTÉ report when they could 'exclusively reveal' that Keane scored that goal - they were so proud of themselves. Having seen the footage, I can't believe that this thread exists, Hunt's touch clearly wasn't sending that ball on its way - but it would have been a wee bit funny had the two of them argued on the pitch about it - do I have a sick sense of humour? Perhaps...LOL

What happens on away trips, stays on away trips...except syphilis!

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2009 at 8:59am
I've seen the goal plenty of times but the quality of picture is too bad to tell, don't know how anyone can say who got it watching the youtubes clips.

ps. cheers Tsetjuin for the link

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2009 at 9:14am
I love when you watch something on RTÉ/BBC and its not them who are controlling the broadcasting (ie Wednesday or at the World Cup) - they remind you all the time so that you don't start blaming them!

Date Posted: 05 Apr 2009 at 10:01am
It was Keane's no doubt about it!

Date Posted: 11 Apr 2009 at 1:34pm

Well I think this clears up all doubt.....Confused

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2009 at 4:55pm
Just off the phone talking to my brother in Ireland and he says that the goal was definately scored by Keane. Apparently they showed some vid of him scoring. Is this true or is the bo11ox trying to f**k up my stats again!Big%20smile

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2009 at 5:06pm

Just off the phone talking to my brother in Ireland and he says that the goal was definately scored by Keane. Apparently they showed some vid of him scoring. Is this true or is the bo11ox trying to f**k up my stats again!Big%20smile

It's true. They had Dunphy on the news showing the goal from RTE's own camera in slow mo and it was defo Keano's goal.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2009 at 5:09pm
Originally posted by Jim26 Jim26 wrote:

It's true. They had Dunphy on the news showing the goal from RTE's own camera in slow mo and it was defo Keano's goal.

Thanks Jim! Any vid of it on YouTube?

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2009 at 5:24pm

Originally posted by Jim26 Jim26 wrote:

Thanks Jim! Any vid of it on YouTube?

eh check out page 1-5 Donal, theres a fair few links thereConfusedLOL

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2009 at 5:49pm
Now that I want to tell you to F**k off more then I have to Count but F**k off and now you will do me the favour of finding the vid Jim was talking about on YouTube as I can't find the feckin thing...and do it before DUMB AND DUMBER starts.

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2009 at 6:01pm
Jaysis Count, don't p*ss of the Canadians !

Date Posted: 26 Apr 2009 at 6:17pm
Ach but sure they all make up in the end don't they, Donal and Count will have to kiss and make up eventually!

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2009 at 3:44am
Originally posted by Críostóir Óg Críostóir Óg wrote:

Ach but sure they all make up in the end don't they, Donal and Count will have to kiss and make up eventually!

Broken%20Heart

Posted By: Ireland4ever
Date Posted: 27 Apr 2009 at 8:07am

Should this thread not be renamed to ''Robbie keane definitely scored the goal last night''?

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2009 at 8:12am
Ermm

Date Posted: 27 Apr 2009 at 10:08am
Originally posted by Ireland4ever Ireland4ever wrote:

Should this thread not be renamed to ''Robbie keane definitely scored the goal last night''?

Ach sure there'd be no debate then would there, might as well start a thread which says 'Gomes definately got a touch on Carrick's ball'!

Posted By: Farrelk
Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 3:01pm

For the exiles among us, I've uploaded the RTE report here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FRBSW5RZ" rel="nofollow - http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FRBSW5RZ

Hunt still moaning over the goal  https://www.offtheball.com/football/robbie-keane-noel-hunt-italy-992549" rel="nofollow - https://www.offtheball.com/football/robbie-keane-noel-hunt-italy-992549

The links to the 'Rté exclusive angle' are now dead - you hardly still have it saved all this time later?

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 3:42pm
It's funny how much it rankles with him; if he'd drop the indignation for a minute and actually rewatch it properly it'd be obvious that Robbie did score it. Hunt's logic seems to boil down to "Robbie got loads anyway, can't he just give me that one?"

Posted By: gmfc90
Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 3:46pm

It's funny how much it rankles with him; if he'd drop the indignation for a minute and actually rewatch it properly it'd be obvious that Robbie did score it. Hunt's logic seems to boil down to "Robbie got loads anyway, can't he just give me that one?"

The Hunt brothers just seem like pains in the arse. Stephen Hunt praising JD in the midst of the crisis. Noel Hunt still moaning about something that doesn't matter and shows a selfish side.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 3:58pm
Originally posted by Farrelk Farrelk wrote:

For the exiles among us, I've uploaded the RTE report here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FRBSW5RZ" rel="nofollow - http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FRBSW5RZ

Hunt still moaning over the goal  https://www.offtheball.com/football/robbie-keane-noel-hunt-italy-992549" rel="nofollow - https://www.offtheball.com/football/robbie-keane-noel-hunt-italy-992549

The links to the 'Rté exclusive angle' are now dead - you hardly still have it saved all this time later?
Didn't save the video, but there's a screenshot here that shows Keane getting the last touch
https://twitter.com/irish_abroad/status/1182273802744582144" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/irish_abroad/status/1182273802744582144

All goals, red & yellow cards posted on https://mastodon.ie/@irish_abroad" rel="nofollow - mastodon and https://www.facebook.com/irishfootballstatisics" rel="nofollow - facebook

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 4:09pm
Originally posted by Farrelk Farrelk wrote:

Embarrassing. Was clearly Keane's touch. 

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 4:25pm
The speed of the ball would speak to it being Keane’s goal. If you slow down the goal it would take a major trick of the eye to miss Keane’s strike on the ball.

Posted By: amccarten313
Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 4:30pm
I could understand where hes coming from in the sense that he only got 3 ireland caps, so getting that goal would be massive/highlight of his career, and i do think he really believed he scored it at the time. But as has been posted, evidence clearly shows otherwise, bad look trying to be a martyr about it imo

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 4:40pm
Originally posted by amccarten313 amccarten313 wrote:

I could understand where hes coming from in the sense that he only got 3 ireland caps, so getting that goal would be massive/highlight of his career, and i do think he really believed he scored it at the time.

This is what I think as well.

Hunt should just be glad he has 3 Ireland caps, a very mediocre player.

Posted By: JohnSwift
Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 5:57pm

The Hunt brothers just seem like pains in the arse. Stephen Hunt praising JD in the midst of the crisis. Noel Hunt still moaning about something that doesn't matter and shows a selfish side.

My thoughts exactly. They're not the sharpest knives in the drawer.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 6:28pm
Noel does believe he scored it though.

In terms of Stephen, can't say I was impressed about the whole Delaney thing and what he wrote.
As for Noel, can see how he might not be everyone's cup of tea - But he is a generous type of bloke, not just with his money but with his time also. He's a small bit of a lad but no more so then most of us our on an away trip. 

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 6:38pm

Noel does believe he scored it though.

In terms of Stephen, can't say I was impressed about the whole Delaney thing and what he wrote.
As for Noel, can see how he might not be everyone's cup of tea - But he is a generous type of bloke, not just with his money but with his time also. He's a small bit of a lad but no more so then most of us our on an away trip. 

The fact he believes it despite all the video evidence to the contrary is baffling though. It's delusional. 

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 6:46pm
In fairness, I think there is all the elements for a belief. Particularly as he did make a connection with the ball and if you believed you were the last one to touch the ball, you could also look at the replays and be convinced that Keane whiffed the ball, which would leave his as the last connection. Look at it that way and a conviction you’ve long held would become more and more believable.

It’s also very possible that in the heat of the game it would move so fast that Keane’s touch would have totally and legitimately escaped his notice.

On both counts, that’s unfortunate, especially as it is reasonable to believe his touch would have been sufficient for the ball to hit the net, but Keane’s touch is too obvious for me.

Date Posted: 01 Apr 2020 at 6:51pm
All he needs to do is watch the video.