URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=59006
Printed Date: 18 May 2024 at 10:41am

Topic: Cheltenham 2024
Subject: Cheltenham 2024
Date Posted: 26 Feb 2024 at 7:08pm
https://www.thecotswoldsgentleman.co.uk/cheltenham-festival-2024.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.thecotswoldsgentleman.co.uk/cheltenham-festival-2024.html

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 12:24am
William Hills doing a free €5 bet every day of the racing this year, all you have to do is opt in.

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 7:47am

https://news.paddypower.com/horse-racing-news/2024/01/23/cheltenham-festival-2024-entries/" rel="nofollow - https://news.paddypower.com/horse-racing-news/2024/01/23/cheltenham-festival-2024-entries/" rel="nofollow -

Our fearless leader is, once again, sponsoring the big race on St Patrick’s Thursday – the Paddy Power Stayers’ Hurdle – and this year’s renewal looks set to be a competitive edition after 36 names were chucked into contention by connections including French superstar Theleme.

Posted By: Mush Cassidys Donkey
Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 8:03am

William Hills doing a free €5 bet every day of the racing this year, all you have to do is opt in.

Posted By: Deco79
Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 9:58am
I see my brother-in-laws uncles horse is entered in the Baring Bingham Novices Hurdle on Wednesday 13th at 13:30, 86 Entries so far...
Ran in Thurles last week but came 3rd, Rachael Blackmore has ridden it the last couple of times. Will pass on any information if or when its running, but its Cheltenham so don't shoot the messenger if its crap on the day LOL 

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 10:01am
Be good if I mentioned the Horses name Clown "Nas Na Riogh"

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 10:05am
Originally posted by Deco79 Deco79 wrote:

Be good if I mentioned the Horses name Clown "Nas Na Riogh"

He wasn't left in at the last forfeit stage. 

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 10:06am
The handicap weights out today. Be interesting to see what the Handicapper does would some of the higher profile Irish horses this year.

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 2:53pm
I’d a lovely ante post that I got together in Jan but Allaho not running is a big blow to the sexy odds I had stacked up with. Gallopin was 4/1 when I put it on.

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 3:27pm

I’d a lovely ante post that I got together in Jan but Allaho not running is a big blow to the sexy odds I had stacked up with. Gallopin was 4/1 when I put it on.
Antepost prices are steadily getting worse year on year Dead

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 3:35pm
Looks like Constitution Hill could be out

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2024 at 2:04am

Antepost prices are steadily getting worse year on year Dead

Ah man prices in general are the pits nowadays. Big bookies like PP, Ladbroke etc having the multis available online just f**ked the prices available at the festival big time. I’m going back for the first time since 2015 this year and the prices of favs even since then is mental. Good thing about Cheltenham for the betting ring is that signal on the phones is sh*te so u have to sign up to the jockey club Wi-Fi and u can’t get any outside betting apps on it. Leopardstown and Punchestown nowadays the atmosphere down the betting ring is f**ked cox everyone’s betting on their phones.

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2024 at 8:05am

https://youtu.be/bN-IA196c80?si=dbflxMsD_OF0SW8M" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/bN-IA196c80?si=dbflxMsD_OF0SW8M

Date Posted: 28 Feb 2024 at 3:39pm
Yeah been pulled out, meant to be running now at the Aintree Festival a few weeks later

Date Posted: 12 Mar 2024 at 8:11am
May have a dabble in some these today.

Supreme - Mystical power
Arkle - Gaelic warrior ( Quilixios EW)
Ultima - Trewlane
Champion hurdle - Irish point
Mares - Ashroe diamond (Marie’s rock EW)
Boodles - Palamon
NH chase - Apples away

Date Posted: 12 Mar 2024 at 8:19am
good man DM, 

have Thursday and Friday booked off myself for the Festival. 

Today could be a complete whitewash from WM. Will have a punt on The Goffer in the Handicap Chase, Milan Tino in the Hurdle and if Lossiemouth blows up i'll have an EW on Telmesomethinggirl 

Date Posted: 12 Mar 2024 at 9:06am
Best week of the year Clap Had an excellent 2023 so hoping to repeat it. Work tonight & tomorrow night then done till Tuesday. 

Tullyhill & The Goffer for me today 

Date Posted: 12 Mar 2024 at 9:22am
Don't quite have the full on Cheltenham buzz I normally have each year (still can't wait to get down there later in the week) but it's becoming more obvious that there are issues with NH racing and the 4 day Cheltenham as it stands. Hopefully this year will be the wake up call to push for change. 

Posted By: Trigboy 10
Date Posted: 12 Mar 2024 at 2:43pm

Don't quite have the full on Cheltenham buzz I normally have each year (still can't wait to get down there later in the week) but it's becoming more obvious that there are issues with NH racing and the 4 day Cheltenham as it stands. Hopefully this year will be the wake up call to push for change. 
Should never really have gone from the 3 days to the 4 days.

Date Posted: 12 Mar 2024 at 10:11pm
There is nothing easy about the 4 days. From experience 3 was enough.
Chianti & Corbett's kept things going well today 

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2024 at 8:11am
Cant really see anything past the WM treble today of Ballyburn, Fact to File & El Fabiolo. Like yesterday my tip was Telmesomethinggirl EW and today is You Oughta Know again for WM in the Last at 10/1 

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2024 at 9:18am

1:30 - Ballyburn
2:10 - Stay Away Fay
2:50 - Built by ballymore
3:30 - El Fabiolo
4:50 - Hardy Du Seuil
5:30 - Teeshan

4:10 race abandoned 

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2024 at 10:01am
The Cheltenham festival is f**ked. Crowds seem to be way down and field sizes way down too. 

I think the treble is hard to see past today also but it's plenty short. I'm trying a few outsiders. 

1.30 Jimmy Du Seuil each way
2.10 Sandor Clegane w/o fact to file
2.50 Zandabad and Lombron each way
4.50 Madara each way
5.30  C'est ta chance and argento boy each way. 5 places with bet365 which will be important. 

Take advantag of all the bookie offers and go well!

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2024 at 10:12am
Originally posted by irish_major irish_major wrote:

The Cheltenham festival is f**ked. Crowds seem to be way down and field sizes way down too. 

I think the treble is hard to see past today also but it's plenty short. I'm trying a few outsiders. 

1.30 Jimmy Du Seuil each way
2.10 Sandor Clegane w/o fact to file
2.50 Zandabad and Lombron each way
4.50 Madara each way
5.30  C'est ta chance and argento boy each way. 5 places with bet365 which will be important. 

Take advantag of all the bookie offers and go well!

Fact to File is the one shorty I'd take on.

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2024 at 10:15am
Also - ballyburn pushed to even money on bet365 to a max of €50. I can't see that losing, great offer. 

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2024 at 10:23am
I may stick an e/w bet on Mercurey in the 13:00 today?

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2024 at 10:29am

First race now reduced to 7 runners so only 2 places. Not worth an each way play imo.

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2024 at 10:32am

First race now reduced to 7 runners so only 2 places. Not worth an each way play imo.

Okay thanks for the heads up. 

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2024 at 11:36am

Also - ballyburn pushed to even money on bet365 to a max of €50. I can't see that losing, great offer. 
Not the greatest horse on soft ground

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2024 at 11:42am

Not the greatest horse on soft ground
Apart from his last two runs which were both on soft ground (Actually soft to heavy in once case) and he won by a combined distance of 32 lengths LOL

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2024 at 1:54pm
A machine, lovely place money by jimmy too

Posted By: Huggybeer
Date Posted: 13 Mar 2024 at 4:36pm
EL FABIOLO ruined a few doubles and accumulators

Getting old and intolerant

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2024 at 5:37am
1.30 Ginny's Destiny
2.10 Alpesh Amin
2.50 Stage Star
3.30 Sire Du Berlais
4.10 Theatre Man
4.50 Dysart Enos
5.30 Bowtogreatness

Posted By: notpropaganda73
Date Posted: 14 Mar 2024 at 9:02am
Originally posted by Huggybeer Huggybeer wrote:

EL FABIOLO ruined a few doubles and accumulators
I'd a fiver e/w on Captain Guinness in a double, cashed out for £60 and the second horse came nowhere so happy out Clap

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2024 at 10:13am
Bet365 superboost is worth taking again today in the first race. Great offer. 

2.10 Icare Allen e/w
2.50 Capodanno e/w
3.30 Noble yeats and Janadil e/w
4.10 Crebilly 
5.30 Fakir D'Alene e/w

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2024 at 1:20pm
https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/horse-racing/cheltenham-festival-wimbledon-drink-cost-32348225" rel="nofollow - https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/horse-racing/cheltenham-festival-wimbledon-drink-cost-32348225

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2024 at 4:26pm

Bet365 superboost is worth taking again today in the first race. Great offer. 

2.10 Icare Allen e/w
2.50 Capodanno e/w
3.30 Noble yeats and Janadil e/w
4.10 Crebilly 
5.30 Fakir D'Alene e/w

Dead

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2024 at 10:07pm

1.30 Ginny's Destiny
2.10 Alpesh Amin
2.50 Stage Star
3.30 Sire Du Berlais
4.10 Theatre Man
4.50 Dysart Enos
5.30 Bowtogreatness

f**k me DM that’s shocking picking LOL

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2024 at 7:41am

1.30 Ginny's Destiny
2.10 Alpesh Amin
2.50 Stage Star
3.30 Sire Du Berlais
4.10 Theatre Man
4.50 Dysart Enos
5.30 Bowtogreatness

f**k me DM that’s shocking picking LOL

Love you too.

Heart

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2024 at 7:42am
1.30 Bunting E/W
2.10 Pied Piper E/W, Paramount E/W
2.50 Captain Teague E/W
3.30 Galopin de Champs
4.10 It's on the Line
4.50 Dinoblue
5.30 Quai de Bourbon

Posted By: cardwizzard
Date Posted: 15 Mar 2024 at 8:04am
quai de bourbon my biggest hope/bet of the week.

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2024 at 2:58pm
Is Irish racing the Man City and PSG of horse racing.  

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 12:58am

When Willie steps down it’ll become more even again. The greatest of all time by a distance, will more than likely never be matched. Over 100 festival winners is just madness.

Was there all week, prices have gone mental. No wonder crowds were down Tues - Thurs..Friday still absolutely packed to the rafters mind. Tuesday crowd was only 40k, been going years never seen it’s quiet and it wasn’t like the quality wasn’t there that day.

Posted By: King_Kenny
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 1:04am

When Willie steps down it’ll become more even again. The greatest of all time by a distance, will more than likely never be matched. Over 100 festival winners is just madness.

Was there all week, prices have gone mental. No wonder crowds were down Tues - Thurs..Friday still absolutely packed to the rafters mind. Tuesday crowd was only 40k, been going years never seen it’s quiet and it wasn’t like the quality wasn’t there that day.
😂😂Willie wasn’t long bailing out the bookies when they needed it. 100 festival winners? Racing against himself. Madness indeed!

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 7:52am

Like Pep then 

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 8:07am

I thought Tuesdays card was the worst I can ever remember 

Posted By: Trigboy 10
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 10:26am

I thought Tuesdays card was the worst I can ever remember 
Tuesday was always the day real racing fans went always a great opening supreme race the big famous Cheltenham roar at start and the champion hurdle the race of the week. Always an Irish banker that came in on the Tuesday aswell.

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 11:15am
Tuesday was always my favourite day in the old 3 day festival format. 

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2024 at 11:11am
When Willie steps down, Patrick takes over. Not much will change. They'll still have the same people sourcing the horses for them etc and the owners will still be there. I'd say Willie has a few years left yet!

The Tuesday and the Wednesday this year were the most underwhelming I can remember in a long time.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2024 at 4:48pm
He sounds bitter.

https://www.balls.ie/horse-racing/british-trainer-suggests-banning-irish-horse-from-uk-races-591411#:~:text=Grand%20National%2Dwinning%20trainer%20Richard,their%20recent%20dominance%20at%20Cheltenham" rel="nofollow - https://www.balls.ie/horse-racing/british-trainer-suggests-banning-irish-horse-from-uk-races-591411#:~:text=Grand%20National%2Dwinning%20trainer%20Richard,their%20recent%20dominance%20at%20Cheltenham .

Posted By: E2016
Date Posted: 19 Mar 2024 at 5:21pm
First time ever at it and it's not somewhere I'd be going back to any time soon.

Far too expensive. 7.50 a pint, some sh*te burger and chips is about 14 pounds. And you get to queue for aaaages for the pleasure of either.

Cost me over 100 pounds just to get in, granted it was a club ticket, but still. It's a very expensive day out, and that's before you factor in the cost of getting there and accom.

I saw them having crisis talks on ITV about the lower attendance. It's an experience designed to rip you off and with a bunch of short priced favourites the racing doesn't make up for it.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2024 at 7:37pm
I like horse racing but give me a day watching it in front of the telly with a laptop doing bets anyday over being there. You see dad more and can concentrate on your betting 

I suppose if you want the craic it’s better being there  

Posted By: Badgersboys9
Date Posted: 19 Mar 2024 at 8:03pm

I like horse racing but give me a day watching it in front of the telly with a laptop doing bets anyday over being there. You see dad more and can concentrate on your betting 

Is your da a jockey?

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2024 at 8:36pm
Originally posted by Badgersboys9 Badgersboys9 wrote:

Is your da a jockey?

**far 

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2024 at 8:36pm