URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=58985
Printed Date: 10 May 2024 at 2:16pm

Topic: Finland Away 10th October
Posted By: gmfc90
Subject: Finland Away 10th October
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 12:11pm
All booked up for this now. Anyone doing direct or what's you indirect route?

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 12:13pm
Just booked a hotel called Citybox Hotel which is due to open this year. What could possibly go wrong? LOL

Posted By: wanderer
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 12:14pm
Dublin - Munich - Helsinki for the way out then onto Greece after

Posted By: ButtySugrue
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 12:20pm

Looking at a stoppover. Are you in Munich long?

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 12:24pm
Originally posted by ButtySugrue ButtySugrue wrote:

Looking at a stoppover. Are you in Munich long?

6hrs or so yeah. There is one with a 1hr connection but it just seemed too tight.

Not the worst place to have 6hrs anyway

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 12:25pm
This game on in Helsinki, Sweden?

YARN | - As in Helsinki, Sweden. - Finland. | Die Hard (1988) | Video clips  by quotes | 327a30e8 | 紗

Posted By: Badgersboys9
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 12:31pm

Seems to be the best option alright. Can fly direct to Helsinki on the 12th for €235 also.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 12:36pm
out via Amsterdam better times only booked one way as yet 

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 12:44pm

out via Amsterdam better times only booked one way as yet 

Direct with Finnair then onto Athens with Aegean and a late flight back from Athens with Aegean incase the game is elsewhere in Greece . 

NR we gave Portugal a miss now . 

Posted By: DublinScouse1916
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 1:37pm
Not flying Finnair. I hear they are starting to weight passengers. That doesn't well with me. Especially a man of my size. 

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 1:38pm
Originally posted by DublinScouse1916 DublinScouse1916 wrote:

Not flying Finnair. I hear they are starting to weight passengers. That doesn't well with me. Especially a man of my size. 

Every airline does it and has to do it every few years. Not sure why Finnair made such global news with it. 

Posted By: Seanachie
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 1:42pm

That's just part of a three-month operational study to evaluate expected onboard weight. It's voluntary so you don't have to partake.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 2:21pm

A bit of motivation to get into shape!?

Posted By: PGNWTLOI1D
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 2:39pm
I have Dublin - Stansted - Helsinki booked for €90 on the tuesday. Gonna wait and see if any potential routes open up to go down to athens for a while. 
€220 for a twin room for 3 nights in city centre free cancelation too  

Posted By: jordik
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 2:51pm
Booked

9th = Dublin -> Helsinki
12th = Helsinki -> Thessaloniki
12th = Thessaloniki -> Athens
14th = Athens -> Dublin

520 euro total per person for the flights

Posted By: Bonehead24
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 3:01pm
Portugal and England booked. 
Costly trip trying to organise this alongside Greece. 
Was looking at stopover in Stockholm on way out. 

Swore I'd never go to Greece again after last year but here we are.

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 5:25pm

Just booked a hotel called Citybox Hotel which is due to open this year. What could possibly go wrong? LOL

Booked the same one looking at their website it's already opened so should be grand LOL

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 5:26pm

Booked the same one looking at their website it's already opened so should be grand LOL
A load of us in there also. 

Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 5:52pm
Anyone out via Gatwick with Norweigian on the Wednesday? 

Got the Omena Lonnrotinkatu for €130 for 2 nights and it's very central. Pretty decent price. 

Posted By: wicklowrunner
Date Posted: 09 Feb 2024 at 9:15pm
Helsinki via Amsterdam on Thursday. Fri & Sat in Tallin - fly to Athens Sunday

Posted By: lukesmyth9
Date Posted: 10 Feb 2024 at 12:44am
Think I might do the Gatwick to Helsinki route, is 90 minutes enough for connection at Gatwick?

Posted By: LeedsUnitedEire
Date Posted: 10 Feb 2024 at 7:27am
Plan so far is Fly into Helsinki from Stansted on Wednesday night. Ferry to Tallinn and bus to Riga on Friday. Fly Saturday to Athens. Then hope it’s in Athens otherwise it’s a bus/train/boat to wherever it is in Greece.

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2024 at 10:04am
Originally posted by lukesmyth9 lukesmyth9 wrote:

Think I might do the Gatwick to Helsinki route, is 90 minutes enough for connection at Gatwick?
If you have to change terminals then it probably wouldn’t be 

Date Posted: 10 Feb 2024 at 10:45am

If you have to change terminals then it probably wouldn’t be 

Woukd probably disagree unless you need to go through passport control eg flying in from Helsinki and trying to make a Dublin flight 

Going from Dublin you shoukd be fine and if it’s the same terminal you just come up the small escalator, take a left and head up the big escalator for departures 

Date Posted: 13 Feb 2024 at 11:10pm
yeah both are from South Terminal,I think it should be okay

Date Posted: 14 Feb 2024 at 7:47am

Is it a connection though or 2 individual tickets ?

If its 2 do you not have to come out of arrivals and go back in again through departures and through security again, if thats the case 90 mins seems tight to me

Date Posted: 14 Feb 2024 at 9:10am

Is it a connection though or 2 individual tickets ?

If its 2 do you not have to come out of arrivals and go back in again through departures and through security again, if thats the case 90 mins seems tight to me
You do indeed so I wouldn't be chancing it, and that's on a good day. 

When I was connecting there en route to Athens last year, the 1st flight from Dublin was held back from departure for about 30 minutes due to ATC restrictions at all the London airports. As it turned out, the restrictions were still in place when the Athens flight was due to depart so it was also late, but on another day they could have been ended with the 2nd flight going on time. The only reason I was happy to book that route was that there were 3 hours between the flights (both South Terminal).

Basically, I'd be looking for at least a 2-hour connection at LGW, add on an extra 30 minutes if changing terminals, just to be on the safe side.Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 14 Feb 2024 at 1:33pm
GTW - ATH 90 mins should be more than enough time to transfer unless you are hitting peak travel season and the security queues are bad but you cant really afford much of a delay on the inbound flight 

Terminal to terminal is 10 mins max , 5 min wait , 5 minute monorail journey 

ATH-GTW  GTW- DUB - is more problematic as you need to go through UK border as well security and I wouldnt risk that tight a connection at 90 mins 

Fast Pass is always an option  though if security queues are long everybody buys one 

Gtwick Security is generally on the ball , 5 mins max albeit on a thurs afternoon/evening 

Date Posted: 14 Feb 2024 at 8:31pm

GTW - ATH 90 mins should be more than enough time to transfer unless you are hitting peak travel season and the security queues are bad but you cant really afford much of a delay on the inbound flight 

Terminal to terminal is 10 mins max , 5 min wait , 5 minute monorail journey 

ATH-GTW  GTW- DUB - is more problematic as you need to go through UK border as well security and I wouldnt risk that tight a connection at 90 mins 

Fast Pass is always an option  though if security queues are long everybody buys one 

Gtwick Security is generally on the ball , 5 mins max albeit on a thurs afternoon/evening 

Grand stuff, it's from Shannon to Gatwick in the morning so I don't see that being delayed. I have two options anyway, this way or via Paris. But the first way gets me in earlier which would be ideal

Posted By: Godzilla
Date Posted: 15 Feb 2024 at 2:23pm
I haven't been to an Ireland away game in a long time.

I'm thinking about going to this one and turning it into a bit of a weekend break/holiday while we're at it.

Would tickets be difficult to get?

Date Posted: 19 Feb 2024 at 8:03am
not at all

Posted By: baresi41
Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 1:56pm
Originally posted by Godzilla Godzilla wrote:

I'm thinking about going to this one and turning it into a bit of a weekend break/holiday while we're at it.

Bring plenty of money - outside of happy hours €9 pints minimum

FRANCO BARESI: Always supporting the green brigade

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 2:10pm
Originally posted by baresi41 baresi41 wrote:

Originally posted by Godzilla Godzilla wrote:

Bring plenty of money - outside of happy hours €9 pints minimum

Midweek game, Old Irish bar in Helsinki, same one we'd have been in when in Aarhus, €3.50 local beer all day and night midweek. Won't be as expensive a trip as you'd think.

But yeah if spending more than a 2/3 days it'll get expensive quickly 

Posted By: Godzilla
Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 2:46pm
Cheers, lads. Probably spend 3-4 days there overall.

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 2:58pm
I am thinking this will be my most likely trip as well. Do ye see it being tough to get tickets for? Haven't been at an away in over 10 yrs I'd say

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 3:44pm

I am thinking this will be my most likely trip as well. Do ye see it being tough to get tickets for? Haven't been at an away in over 10 yrs I'd say

Gone are the days of baking someone a cake to be part of the 'football family'.

These new lads might like a Victoria sponge.

Posted By: irish_goat
Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 3:48pm

Midweek game, Old Irish bar in Helsinki, same one we'd have been in when in Aarhus, €3.50 local beer all day and night midweek. 

That's a bargain tbf.

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 3:57pm

Hard to tell to be honest. With it being a double header some may opt just for the 1 game and for a few it could be the first away since October 2023 if they don't go to the away friendly in June.

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 4:12pm
And some might favour Finland over Greece as we've been there recently enough.

Posted By: Mush Cassidys Donkey
Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 4:20pm
MM you should join the Yacht Club out west. 

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 4:21pm

And some might favour Finland over Greece as we've been there recently enough.

I'd say most whare planning to do 1 of the 2 aways in October will pick finland 

Posted By: ButtySugrue
Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 4:22pm
Any truth to the rumour that Helsinki is one of the boring capitals cities in Europe?

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 4:24pm

Any truth to the rumour that Helsinki is one of the boring capitals cities in Europe?

Why? Is there a lot of tunnels there?

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 4:38pm

Depends what you're into. Most Finns I've met are either painfully boring or absolute headers. There's no middle ground. 

I think (but others will know better) that there's a similar drinking regime to Sweden with state controlled off licenses etc. 

Anyone who was in Stockholm in 2013 will remember the hassle getting into bars (auld lads in their 60s and 70s getting asked for ID, etc) and buying tins before the game. Hopefully it's not the same sh*te. 

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 5:22pm
Apart from the game, Is there much to do or see in Helsinki?

Posted By: Tyronebhoy
Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 5:25pm
Originally posted by cliffrichard cliffrichard wrote:

Depends what you're into. Most Finns I've met are either painfully boring or absolute headers. There's no middle ground. 

I think (but others will know better) that there's a similar drinking regime to Sweden with state controlled off licenses etc. 

Anyone who was in Stockholm in 2013 will remember the hassle getting into bars (auld lads in their 60s and 70s getting asked for ID, etc) and buying tins before the game. Hopefully it's not the same sh*te. 

Was in bar in Stockholm by myself in 2013 and four Irish lads came in, were having the craic among themselves, totally harmless, not rowdy at all. Bar man comes over to me and says can I ask my friends to quieten down. I'd never seen them before in my life. Told him to fcuk off. Swedes are odd alright.

Northmen, Southmen, Comrades All

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 5:42pm

Why? Is there a lot of tunnels there?

Worked there for 9 months. Blokes can be a bit boring.
All underground carparks that you can access through all the shopping centres and link up through them all.

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 6:08pm
Originally posted by Tyronebhoy Tyronebhoy wrote:

Was in bar in Stockholm by myself in 2013 and four Irish lads came in, were having the craic among themselves, totally harmless, not rowdy at all. Bar man comes over to me and says can I ask my friends to quieten down. I'd never seen them before in my life. Told him to fcuk off. Swedes are odd alright.

Was the barman being a smartarse or genuinely thought they were with you? 

Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 6:42pm

Apart from the game, Is there much to do or see in Helsinki?

Probdbly grand for 3-4,nights not much more 

Posted By: Tyronebhoy
Date Posted: 20 Feb 2024 at 7:50pm

Originally posted by Tyronebhoy Tyronebhoy wrote:

Was the barman being a smartarse or genuinely thought they were with you? 

They were at other end of bar. He must have thought every Ireland fan knows every other Ireland fan, the tube.

Northmen, Southmen, Comrades All

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2024 at 6:32am
Originally posted by Mush Cassidys Donkey Mush Cassidys Donkey wrote:

If you join RISSCW you will still be the same as everyone else as you will get a ticket if you have done so many away's like everyone else . 

Posted By: jamo1
Date Posted: 21 Feb 2024 at 2:19pm
Tallinn is 2 hours away by boat, a day trip could be easily done. I think most Finns leave at the weekends and head to Tallinn and Riga.

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2024 at 2:34pm

Originally posted by Mush Cassidys Donkey Mush Cassidys Donkey wrote:

If you join RISSCW you will still be the same as everyone else as you will get a ticket if you have done so many away's like everyone else . 

Mieow Smile

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2024 at 6:05pm
Originally posted by jamo1 jamo1 wrote:

Tallinn is 2 hours away by boat, a day trip could be easily done. I think most Finns leave at the weekends and head to Tallinn and Riga.

Great Shout 

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2024 at 6:14pm
Tallinn is class as well

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2024 at 6:30pm
The crossing might be a bit Dead

Date Posted: 21 Feb 2024 at 7:16pm
staying in Tallinn Fri & Sat. Fly 3am Sunday to Athens.

Posted By: RobsYourUncle
Date Posted: 23 Feb 2024 at 11:13am
Am I right in saying this is a 9:45pm kickoff local time? 

Booked up for this now, direct to Helsinki on matchday arriving 3:20pm, ferry to Tallinn on Friday and might take in Estonia v Azerbaijan that evening. Direct home on the Ryanair then on Saturday afternoon, €245 all in, not including whatever the ferry costs.

Posted By: SportingRizlaCF
Date Posted: 26 Feb 2024 at 6:55pm
Going to estonia and taking the ferry from there. much cheaper than staying in findland but the boat will be like the mail boat to hollyhead back in the day not looking forward to it after the pints ha!

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2024 at 10:09pm
Originally posted by SportingRizlaCF SportingRizlaCF wrote:

Going to estonia and taking the ferry from there. much cheaper than staying in findland but the boat will be like the mail boat to hollyhead back in the day not looking forward to it after the pints ha!
checkout the taxi price from the airport in Tallinn before you fly - they rip you off bigtime

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2024 at 8:27am
One of the lads in work was in Helsinki last weekend and it was nearly 18 quid for two pints of lager in the O'Malley's Irish pub there which is bad enough. It was over 25 quid for 2 pints in the airport LOL

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2024 at 8:34am

One of the lads in work was in Helsinki last weekend and it was nearly 18 quid for two pints of lager in the O'Malley's Irish pub there which is bad enough. It was over 25 quid for 2 pints in the airport LOL

Old Irish bar will be the saviour. We've been in there in Aarhus and Copenhagen in the last few years.

The one in helsinki is €3.50 pints of a local lager all day during midweek 

Posted By: Roberto_Carlow
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2024 at 8:51am

Old Irish bar will be the saviour. We've been in there in Aarhus and Copenhagen in the last few years.

Until Irish fans turn up in their numbers and the price doubles.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2024 at 8:34pm
Originally posted by Roberto_Carlow Roberto_Carlow wrote:

Correct - or if we suss a place that's cheap, and some gombeen on here as usual posts it out to the world about it, then the price doubles.. It's like when we try to keep a lid on travel routes and some bungalow head posts on here saying  - I found a cheaper way, and ryanair double the price.  

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2024 at 10:49pm
Originally posted by Roberto_Carlow Roberto_Carlow wrote:

Nope. Didn't happen to NI fans there late last year and didn't happen to us in Aarhus or Copenhagen.

Price is the price midweek is what the NI fans I know said 

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2024 at 10:52pm
Originally posted by baresi41 baresi41 wrote:

Originally posted by SportingRizlaCF SportingRizlaCF wrote:

checkout the taxi price from the airport in Tallinn before you fly - they rip you off bigtime

Or pre book a taxi 

Posted By: SportingRizlaCF
Date Posted: 23 Mar 2024 at 12:33am
o.k thanks for that will keep an eye on it