URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=58819
Printed Date: 14 May 2024 at 9:23am

Topic: English fa cup 2023/2024
Subject: English fa cup 2023/2024
Date Posted: 17 Jul 2023 at 9:38pm

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2023/jul/05/premier-league-closes-on-deal-to-buy-fa-cup-international-media-rights" rel="nofollow -

Wed 5 Jul 2023 07.48 EDT Last modified on Wed 5 Jul 2023 09.03 EDT The Football Association is prepared to sell the FA Cup’s international media rights to the Premier League in a huge...

Date Posted: 20 Oct 2023 at 10:16am

FA Cup third and fourth round replays and the two-legged EFL Cup semi-finals are expected to be scrapped as part of reforms to the English football calendar.

The changes will also see the FA Cup fifth round restored to a weekend slot.

Changes have been triggered by pressure on the domestic calendar such as the expansion of European competitions.

It is not yet known when the changes could come into effect, though a new TV contract is set to commence in 2025-26.

However, the domestic calendar will feel extra pressure from next season when the Champions League and Europa League first phases expand to 36 clubs.

Subsequent alterations to the Uefa match calendar mean the opening phase will cover 10 midweeks rather than the current six.

Date Posted: 05 Nov 2023 at 10:55am
Should be a cracker! 

Today

17:30
Charlton Athletic v Cray Valley Paper Mills
FA Cup First Round
BBC TwoBBC iPlayerBBC Sport Website

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2023 at 3:41pm

Barnsley have been kicked out of the FA Cup for fielding an ineligible player in their first-round replay win at non-league Horsham.

The seventh-tier side will now play League Two Sutton United in round two.

The League One Tykes had  https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/67402795" rel="nofollow - won the replay 3-0 last week  after drawing 3-3 in the initial tie at Oakwell.

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2023 at 11:29am

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/34651/13020853/fa-cup-third-round-draw-arsenal-vs-liverpool-sunderland-vs-newcastle-and-wigan-vs-man-utd" rel="nofollow - https://www.skysports.com/football/news/34651/13020853/fa-cup-third-round-draw-arsenal-vs-liverpool-sunderland-vs-newcastle-and-wigan-vs-man-utd

Date Posted: 04 Dec 2023 at 12:20pm
Sunderland v Newcastle the standout tie. Not a whole pile of other really interesting ties.

Posted By: Greener92
Date Posted: 04 Dec 2023 at 1:14pm

Sunderland v Newcastle the standout tie. Not a whole pile of other really interesting ties.
1st v 2nd in the Premier League?

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 6:01am
What a strike from Porro for the winner last night.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 12:44pm
How many fookin ad breaks are ITV gonna take in this Sunderland match?! 

Absolutely ridiculous. 

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 1:02pm
Kit clash is a f**king joke. Newcastle surely should be wearing their away jersey. Newcastle wore their away against Sheff United

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 1:05pm
Originally posted by Greener92 Greener92 wrote:

1st v 2nd in the Premier League?

Boring. Can see that in the PL. I wanna see random ties you never get anymore.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 1:22pm
Own goal by the North's Ballard. Delighted LOL

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 1:54pm
This is some comedy sequel to Sunderland Till I Die LOL

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 4:26pm
Absolute joke of a competition! Sooner it f**ks off to mid week the better.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 5:12pm

What's your beef with Sunderland?

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 5:55pm

I just don't like them DM and their back slapping fanbase who made a show of themselves in that Sunderland Till I Die cringefest. 

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 6:03pm

Posted By: counterlock
Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 6:53pm

I just don't like them DM and their back slapping fanbase who made a show of themselves in that Sunderland Till I Die cringefest. 

I'd much rather a back slapping fanbase, than an exercise in sports washing off the back of a third world empire, built on slave labour and the blood of innocent people, to be honest

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 7:22pm
Originally posted by counterlock counterlock wrote:

I'd much rather a back slapping fanbase, than an exercise in sports washing off the back of a third world empire, built on slave labour and the blood of innocent people, to be honest

Exactly well said that man.

Posted By: Roberto_Carlow
Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 7:39pm
Must say I have enjoyed the pettiness and insults on twitter between both sets of fans in the run up to the game, respect.

Wanted Sunderland to win as can't stand Newcastle, but realistically it was never going to happen.

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 9:14pm

Originally posted by counterlock counterlock wrote:

Exactly well said that man.
This! 

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 9:16pm

FA Cup is great. Get to see some teams you wouldn’t normally see and get a chance to visit grounds you don’t normally get to visit. 
The Emirates doesn’t really qualify on that front but still really looking forward to the game tomorrow. 

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 9:25pm
Will it be two second strings?

Date Posted: 06 Jan 2024 at 9:33pm

Will it be two second strings?
No idea on Arsenal to be honest but I think Klopp fields 6/7 of the regulars. After the Fulham game next Wednesday they get a break of 11 days, assuming no replay. 

Date Posted: 07 Jan 2024 at 11:07pm
Max O Leary looks like he really had a great game against West Ham.  Would be great if they can now beat West Ham in the replay.  

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2024 at 3:34pm

FA Cup is great. Get to see some teams you wouldn’t normally see and get a chance to visit grounds you don’t normally get to visit. 
The Emirates doesn’t really qualify on that front but still really looking forward to the game tomorrow. 

The FA Cup is still great!

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2024 at 3:37pm

Agree. I still like it. Not the PL ties but the other random games. I think in a few more years it will lose its value even more though. Pity.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2024 at 3:40pm
Great result for Liverpool yesterday. Arsenal the better team but couldn't put the ball in the net.

Looking forward to the draw tonight.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2024 at 3:42pm

Agree. I still like it. Not the PL ties but the other random games. I think in a few more years it will lose its value even more though. Pity.
Great atmosphere at the game yesterday - The larger away allocation in the cup certainly made a difference. 
I definitely should have gone home earlier than I did!

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2024 at 3:50pm

Great atmosphere at the game yesterday - The larger away allocation in the cup certainly made a difference. 
I definitely should have gone home earlier than I did!

I actually didn't watch the game yesterday. Dosent feel like a cup game when the teams play each other all the time. Look at Paul Cooke and Chesterfield, almost toppled Watford. There the games for me.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2024 at 4:07pm

Great result for Liverpool yesterday. Arsenal the better team but couldn't put the ball in the net.

Wigan should be looking to win it imo 

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2024 at 4:16pm

Did you ever hear about the time Dave Whelan broke his leg in the final? LOL

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2024 at 5:13pm

It should be a big confidence booster for liverpool in their title challenge. Missing their 2 best players, brought on a couple of kids (Bradley looked good) and still won.

Arsenal up front are a shambles. 60+ shots in the last 5 games and scored 1 goal. Nelson was starting to cause problems again after his positive start and then he’s taken straight off. Saka should have been taken off instead, but Arteta plays him in every game. Brings Trossard and Smith Rowe in the 88th minute then LOL

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2024 at 7:31pm

I was there when they beat man city 1 nil a few years ago when they were in league 1. Was a brilliant night

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2024 at 7:37pm
The team Utd have out tonight should be no excuses. On paper should win handy. On paper of course.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2024 at 8:39pm

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2024 at 9:42pm

The team Utd have out tonight should be no excuses. On paper should win handy. On paper of course.
Onana starting is disgraceful. He'll head off to AFCON and will be replaced by a keeper with a grand total of zero minutes of football this year.

Stinks of Ten Hag using Bayinder as an excuse if results don't go their way while Onana is away. Any poor result will be met with a "we had a keeper who did not have many minutes this season and it affected us"

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2024 at 10:15pm

Time to grow up.

Date Posted: 08 Jan 2024 at 10:31pm
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/67918293" rel="nofollow - https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/67918293

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2024 at 12:21pm
A peak audience of 7.6 Million tuned into the Arsenal v Liverpool game on Sunday which is a record for the 3rd round.
So much for the FA cup being dead. 

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2024 at 1:28pm
Two big teams playing each other on free to air tv! Hardly surprising. 

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2024 at 1:30pm

A peak audience of 7.6 Million tuned into the Arsenal v Liverpool game on Sunday which is a record for the 3rd round.
So much for the FA cup being dead. 

Free football, it's not a surprise really.

Arsenal v Liverpool is always usually guaranteed to be a a decent game as well, I hate the scousers, but do enjoy watching them.

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2024 at 1:41pm

Two big teams have played each other in the 3rd round before. 

Date Posted: 10 Jan 2024 at 2:23pm

Two big teams have played each other in the 3rd round before. 

Nope! Never happened. 

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2024 at 6:07pm
City game is a cracker. City should be five nil up, playing unbelievable and are somehow 2-1 down.

Edit - This should not be in the FA Cup thread.

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2024 at 6:28pm
Yeah mad game 
Said to myself they needed to take one of those chances when 1 up and put the game to bed
Newcastle look dangerous everytime they put a ball in behind now 

Doku gave the first away jumping out of a tackle that he was favourite to win 

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2024 at 6:30pm
Kyle Walker … 

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2024 at 6:56pm
Kev De Bruyne to come on and change this?

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2024 at 6:57pm
Originally posted by Roberto_Carlow Roberto_Carlow wrote:

No it’s gone I think this one 

KDB wouldn’t be fit 

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2024 at 7:08pm

KDB wouldn’t be fit 

Kev doesn't f**k about

Posted By: King_Kenny
Date Posted: 13 Jan 2024 at 7:09pm

KDB wouldn’t be fit 
You cried that one out😂

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2024 at 7:28pm
Magic of the cup Clap

De Bruyne a magician, Guardiola a genius bringing on Bobb over £100m man Grealish.

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2024 at 7:30pm
Another cinderella comeback story by the plucky underdogs in the Kafala derby Clap

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2024 at 7:30pm
Nearly a replay there 😀

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2024 at 7:35pm
Burnley in the next round.

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2024 at 7:39pm

Magic of the cup Clap

De Bruyne a magician, Guardiola a genius bringing on Bobb over £100m man Grealish.

I’d have Grealish over Doku any day 

Date Posted: 13 Jan 2024 at 7:39pm
Originally posted by King_Kenny King_Kenny wrote:

KDB wouldn’t be fit 
You cried that one out😂

Reverse psychologizing Manchester city on here since 2010

Date Posted: 17 Jan 2024 at 7:57pm
I know it's pretty cold but a very poor turnout for Blackpool fans tonight especially when they get an EPL side at home in a replay. 

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2024 at 8:37pm
FFS

https://morningstaronline.co.uk/article/newport-forced-close-ticket-office-after-appalling-abuse-towards-staff" rel="nofollow - https://morningstaronline.co.uk/article/newport-forced-close-ticket-office-after-appalling-abuse-towards-staff

Date Posted: 27 Jan 2024 at 2:32pm
Maidstone, now that is what the cup is all about

Date Posted: 27 Jan 2024 at 10:42pm
They’d a bit of luck with decisions going their way 

Date Posted: 15 Feb 2024 at 4:59pm

https://www.tntsports.co.uk/football/fa-cup/" rel="nofollow - https://www.tntsports.co.uk/football/fa-cup/

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2024 at 9:06pm
How come Mark Robins never gets mentioned for better jobs in the Championship. He seems to be doing a great job at Coventry. Overall i mean not just in the FA Cup.

Date Posted: 26 Feb 2024 at 9:36pm
Wait a second......would he come to Ireland?

Posted By: Godzilla
Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 9:52am

How come Mark Robins never gets mentioned for better jobs in the Championship. He seems to be doing a great job at Coventry. Overall i mean not just in the FA Cup.

He found a home with Coventry. Apart from Rotherham, he hasn't done very well elsewhere.

He must be happy there. He's loved and has job security.

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 9:21pm

It's about time Haaland took this game seriously.

Big smile

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 9:53pm
I like the way Eustace has Blackburn playing
tonight. 

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 10:10pm
Good FA Cup tie. Always had a soft spot for Blackburn since the 90s. Would like to see them do well. 

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 10:28pm
I reckon 10 mins each way would be enough extra time at the end of games. 30 mins is quite a long time. 

Posted By: StuttgartKY
Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 10:36pm

I reckon 10 mins each way would be enough extra time at the end of games. 30 mins is quite a long time. 
Yeah its always a drag, although I’d like golden goal

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 10:42pm

Especially with the current trend of adding on a pile of stoppage time.

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 10:51pm
Originally posted by StuttgartKY StuttgartKY wrote:

Yeah its always a drag, although I’d like golden goal
usually is but that was quality tbf

Date Posted: 27 Feb 2024 at 11:07pm
Ya very good game. Wanted Blackburn to get through. Pity. Played well.

Date Posted: 29 Feb 2024 at 8:02am

FA Cup quarter-final draw in full 

Wolverhampton Wanderers vs Coventry City

Man Utd vs Liverpool

Chelsea vs Leicester City

Manchester City vs Newcastle United

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 2:37pm
The chelsea support in the stadium in very reminiscent of how it was at the emirates for most of the 2010’s. Toxic.

Posted By: eireland
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 2:46pm

The chelsea support in the stadium in very reminiscent of how it was at the emirates for most of the 2010’s. Toxic.
Their results are also reminiscent of Arsenal back then. f**king sh*te. 

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 3:03pm

Sterling doesn’t help himself to be fair. Taking the ball off their very good penalty taker only to miss, then comically blazing a free over the bar when standing over it with Palmer again.

He’s always had sh*t feet, could never understand him thinking he’d be a free kick or penalty taker 

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 3:27pm

Sterling doesn’t help himself to be fair. Taking the ball off their very good penalty taker only to miss, then comically blazing a free over the bar when standing over it with Palmer again.

He’s always had sh*t feet, could never understand him thinking he’d be a free kick or penalty taker 

Agreed. Thought Sterling was an embarrassment today and was asking for the crowd to get on his back.

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 3:29pm
That Sterling free kick was ridiculous LOL

Was there any booing when he was subbed? 

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 3:49pm
It was an outrageous free kickLOL

There was a mixture of booing and applause as he was going off.

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 6:24pm
Fair play to Utd. Liverpool were so sloppy and wasteful and didn't deserve anything from that game. 
Plenty of chances to put the knife into Utd but just wrong decisions time and time again.

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 6:46pm
What a game that was. United could have been 2 nil up to six one down before winning it. 3 proper cup ties this weekend, still gutted I turned the Wolves game off at 2-1.

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 6:50pm
What a game. How often have we been let down by damp squib fixtures between the two. Great craic Clap

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 6:53pm

Fair play to Utd. Liverpool were so sloppy and wasteful and didn't deserve anything from that game. 
Plenty of chances to put the knife into Utd but just wrong decisions time and time again.

Big time.

I couldn't believe how complacent Liverpool were - at times I thought they were just going to stroll to the victory but it just didn't happen.

Was hoping for penos.

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 7:28pm

Big time.

I couldn't believe how complacent Liverpool were - at times I thought they were just going to stroll to the victory but it just didn't happen.

Was hoping for penos.

That 5 on 2 wasted chance was criminal. But there were others too when it was just waiting for the right decision but just took too long or wrong decision. Haven't been that frustrated watching a match for ages.

Klopp will be going absolutely crazy

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 7:32pm

Big time.

Was hoping for penos.

That 5 on 2 wasted chance was criminal. But there were others too when it was just waiting for the right decision but just took too long or wrong decision. Haven't been that frustrated watching a match for ages.

I take it you haven't watched our national side play in ages so? Tongue

Relax Andy, it's only your English club side of choice that lost a game today. 

It's our national day and our country is playing again on Saturday against a top side. Life could be worse. Wink

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 8:06pm

Big time.

Was hoping for penos.

I take it you haven't watched our national side play in ages so? Tongue

Relax Andy, it's only your English club side of choice that lost a game today. 

It's our national day and our country is playing again on Saturday against a top side. Life could be worse. Wink

With our national side, I know we are limited. Liverpool it was like they were not up for the fight and were so sloppy/complacent. 
I would have loved to see a last dance between Klopp and Pep at Wembley. 
All of these things make it very frustrating!

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 8:25pm
Klopp being his usual lovely and gracious self today I see after a defeat. Walking out of an interview and insulting the interviewer for asking a standard enough question. 

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 8:36pm
Lost the plot in that interview. Complete meltdown LOL

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 8:59pm
Lots of “tragedy chanting” today, and a flare thrown by Liverpool fans into the disabled section of United fans 

Let’s hear the outcry….

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2024 at 9:46pm
The bigger outcry is that I was left alone for the weekend with 3 kids, managed to get them into the car and along to the Manchester St Patrick's parade, only to be told on arrival it had taken place a week ago on police advice because of todays game.

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2024 at 11:19am

Lots of “tragedy chanting” today, and a flare thrown by Liverpool fans into the disabled section of United fans 

Let’s hear the outcry….
Didn't see the flare but the disabled section is in front of the away fans so if something was thrown there is a fair chance it landed there which is out of order.
There were thousands singing "Murderers" during the game - It wasn't just one or two.
Held back by the cops for 30 minutes after the game as the natives can't be trusted to let us leave without hassle.  When we did get out there were still lads there happy to chant anti- Hillsborough slurs at us. 

Liverpool got what they deserved from that game which was nothing.

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2024 at 11:44am
Think it was from both sides.....

https://x.com/YNWA_Kaiser/status/1769627203912831144?s=20" rel="nofollow - https://x.com/YNWA_Kaiser/status/1769627203912831144?s=20

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2024 at 11:47am
Only seeing Sterling's free kick now LOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOL

Posted By: Ibaraki
Date Posted: 18 Mar 2024 at 11:54am
Tragedy chanting, ffs Embarrassed

The modern football fan is so precious. 

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2024 at 11:55am

Think it was from both sides.....

https://x.com/YNWA_Kaiser/status/1769627203912831144?s=20" rel="nofollow - https://x.com/YNWA_Kaiser/status/1769627203912831144?s=20

That happens. And anybody who does that should be banned from going - No ifs, no buts.
It's a lot less frequent now amongst match going Liverpool fans thankfully but there are still one or two.
But I was very surprised at the amount of people getting involved in the "Murderers" chant. 

Posted By: razzmatazaz
Date Posted: 18 Mar 2024 at 1:26pm
I saw that Klopp interview. He has some temper on him. Looked like he would've given him a box if there wasn't a camera there.

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2024 at 1:26pm
Garnacho and Mainoo were brilliant yesterday

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2024 at 1:43pm
Originally posted by razzmatazaz razzmatazaz wrote:

I saw that Klopp interview. He has some temper on him. Looked like he would've given him a box if there wasn't a camera there.

He’s an amateur 

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=O7P7XJxATAA" rel="nofollow - https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=O7P7XJxATAA

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2024 at 2:23pm
Originally posted by razzmatazaz razzmatazaz wrote:

Link?