URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=58768
Printed Date: 19 Apr 2024 at 1:18am

Topic: Eurovision 2023
Subject: Eurovision 2023
Date Posted: 09 May 2023 at 12:39pm
The best week of the year kicks off tonight. Ireland up tonight in the first Semi-Final. Don’t really give us much of a chance of going through. My 7 year old daughter likes the song though LOLLOL

Date Posted: 09 May 2023 at 12:45pm
Can't see us getting through either. Song is too wishy washy. I think we have had better songs over the last 4 or 5 years and we haven't been close to getting out of the semi final. Were doomed for at least another year.

Date Posted: 09 May 2023 at 1:40pm
There was another song in the qualifiers hosted on the late late show that I thought was better and could have been a good song for the eurovision (some girl from west of ireland). 
I guess the boy band had more reach though as they have already a few songs in charts etc. 

Date Posted: 09 May 2023 at 1:50pm
Last year's song was bad - If anything this year's effort may be worse. Practically no chance of making it through. 
As mentioned above, Connolly's song would have stood a far better chance. It's no coincidence that she was the choice of the international jury.
For a country with such a tradition of singing and song writing we have some knack of send up with terrible songs. 

Date Posted: 09 May 2023 at 10:10pm
No cigar....

Date Posted: 09 May 2023 at 10:12pm
Rightly gone home. A rubbish song, sung horribly out of key. Why the band felt the need to demote their regular lead singer to keyboards for a fella who couldn't sing is beyond me. 

Date Posted: 09 May 2023 at 10:14pm
Fairly poor performance from our lead singer tonight. Sounded out of tune. Every year when we got knocked out Marty Whelan says we deserved to go through. Don’t think we deserved to go through at all.

Date Posted: 09 May 2023 at 10:15pm
It was a shockingly bad performance. Didnt deserve to go thru. Did he botch that performance or what? Looked like it didnt go to plan or sumthing. No effects or anything. Brutal

Posted By: Bandwagon
Date Posted: 09 May 2023 at 11:19pm

There was another song in the qualifiers hosted on the late late show that I thought was better and could have been a good song for the eurovision (some girl from west of ireland). 
I guess the boy band had more reach though as they have already a few songs in charts etc. 

Aye I cant remember her name either but she was good alright and the song actually sounded like something you'd hear at Eurovision.

These lads are woeful, Coldplay wannabies. 

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 6:55am
Just send U2 

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 10:22am

Just send U2 

I think that's what Wild Youth were trying to go for. Failed miserably though.
Actually I think it was just the main singer. The rest of the band likenthe sound was grand. If lead singer had of put on a great performance then it might have been different. 

That's two years in a row we have sent in something sounding off key. 
It's like we are sh*tting the bed each time.

For a country that prides themselves on music and the arts, not sure how we can't find an act to just put on a great performance that at least gets us into the final. 

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 10:41am

For a country that prides themselves on music and the arts, not sure how we can't find an act to just put on a great performance that at least gets us into the final. 

Sad isn't it. Only attended 9 finals in the past 20 years (none in five years), 6th place finish is the best achievement in the last 25 years. I accept that times have changed, and the type of songs have too. Also, the voting system split is not massively helpful to our cause. But either way, the song and performance can speak for itself. 

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 10:53am

Just send U2 

Actually I think it was just the main singer. The rest of the band likenthe sound was grand. If lead singer had of put on a great performance then it might have been different. 

Even a good performance wouldn't have saved that song last night.
Was pretty universally panned before the contest even happened. 

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 11:13am
look at countries like Sweden Norway Israel they are sending absolute savage performers. Loreen for Sweden already a huge star since winning before. What are we sending? Sh1te singers who cannot perform either. what was our staging last night compared to other? A guy walking down a staircase. FFS like. We have no imagination or creative thinking. We are light years behind other countries right now performance wise.

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 11:21am
Article on BBC said they were 'As wild as a wet face cloth'
Yer man looked a bit nervous. No charisma. And he's no Harry Styles so he can't pull off wearing that jump suit.

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 1:56pm
They should take the Irish selection show off the Late Late Show for a start. Have it as its own programme on a Saturday evening before Christmas or something.

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 2:04pm

They should take the Irish selection show off the Late Late Show for a start. Have it as its own programme on a Saturday evening before Christmas or something.

This would help as the demograhic who watch the Late Late aren't the same as Eurovision votes.
They need to also have a serious look at how the finalists are chosen also.

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 2:20pm
Back in the day it was a Sunday night in March where a standalone show would take place, and the voting would occur. 

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 2:29pm
Would agree with the general consensus that it was a poor song performed badly so we can’t really have any complaints on that front.

A bigger issue for us however is definitely the lack of neighbours. Did anyone see the Croatian ‘song’? Load of aul lads rambling away. Might have been the worst Eurovision song ever - which is obviously saying something. However given their geographic location they went through, so…

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 2:34pm
The croats, they probably got the protest vote from fans around Europe who wanted to just send the most ridiculous act through.

However, we tried that with Dustin yhe turkey and it didn't work either! So yeah I do think the neighbour thing doesn't help us.
That being said, you often see likes of Iceland going far. Portgual usually make it.
If you have a good song you will go through. We have just served up poor or average songs/performances for the part 20 years more or less.

The You're a Star thing that had a link up with the eurovision act, maybe that might be worth a shot again? 

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 2:39pm

Would agree with the general consensus that it was a poor song performed badly so we can’t really have any complaints on that front.

A bigger issue for us however is definitely the lack of neighbours. Did anyone see the Croatian ‘song’? Load of aul lads rambling away. Might have been the worst Eurovision song ever - which is obviously saying something. However given their geographic location they went through, so…
None of Croatia's neighbours were eligible to vote in Semi final 1 with the exception of Serbia and that wouldn't be a guarantee of loads of votes given the history there. 

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 2:59pm
The whole thing has been taken over as a form of Pride event for the last decade or more.

Not that that's an issue, either you get with that and send an act that appeals to that demographic or you don't.

Sending a band called wild youth that are neither wild nor young appeals to no one.

Anyway, it's a totally different event these days than it's Irish heyday.

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 3:10pm
And very much on the more flamboyant side of Pride, stopped been mainstream family entertainment a long time ago. Each to their own.

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 5:22pm

Just send U2 

Kind of my point too, though I do make that joke every year, but they definitely came across as U2 wannabes. 

Date Posted: 10 May 2023 at 10:34pm
Important to note they changed the voting structure this year. Only the 15 countries taking part in semi-final 1 were allowed vote alongside three of the countries pre-qualified for the final – France, Germany & Italy. There was no block voting. 

The performance was just bad. The song was bland. The staging was dull. Middle of the road crap that was far from memorable. 
Only ourselves to blame on this one too, as said previously the song choice needs to be taken off the Late Late Show as the demographics are totally different. From memory there was a better song that night but was a bit out there for the Late Late viewers. 

I think it's time for Ireland to step outside the box a bit and consider sending a song as Gaeilge. The Seo Linn crowd who did the Irish Roar song for Euro 2016 should be prime candidates. 

Posted By: tapfit2004
Date Posted: 11 May 2023 at 1:30am

This would help as the demograhic who watch the Late Late aren't the same as Eurovision votes.

It fills up a night for the late late show. Who else are they going to get on? 

They should just send over someone singing "my lovely horse". 

Let Christy Take It.

Date Posted: 11 May 2023 at 10:20am
Originally posted by tapfit2004 tapfit2004 wrote:

It fills up a night for the late late show. Who else are they going to get on? 

They should just send over someone singing "my lovely horse". 
Great input, thanks.

Date Posted: 11 May 2023 at 5:21pm
The song was ok. Bit of a rip off of Bonos Euro 2020 anthem though.

Date Posted: 11 May 2023 at 11:17pm
Semi final 2 didn't pull up any trees anyway Sleepy

Date Posted: 12 May 2023 at 8:02am

Semi final 2 didn't pull up any trees anyway Sleepy

Yeah much weaker than the first. I liked the Belgian song. Most of my favorites are from the first semi though 

Date Posted: 13 May 2023 at 9:00pm
Poland

❤️

Date Posted: 13 May 2023 at 9:02pm
I find the Sweden song very meh... Don't think it deserves the runaway favourite tag. 

Date Posted: 13 May 2023 at 9:10pm

I find the Sweden song very meh... Don't think it deserves the runaway favourite tag. 
Yeah, it’s missing something. It’s got a big build up with no crescendo.

Not a patch on Euphoria a few years ago.

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 13 May 2023 at 9:24pm
FFS you morons Conan is on ITV4 now. f**king girlymen.
Arnie loyal.

No Pasaran!

Date Posted: 13 May 2023 at 9:33pm
There's a bang of World in Motion off of Belgium.

The main chorus is the same tune just with different words. 

Date Posted: 13 May 2023 at 10:33pm
The Brits song is catchy.

Date Posted: 13 May 2023 at 10:34pm
They put on a great show as well.

Date Posted: 13 May 2023 at 10:45pm

Fun fact she was the kid at the start of the Mika Grace Kelly video 

Date Posted: 13 May 2023 at 11:01pm

Fun fact she was the kid at the start of the Mika Grace Kelly video 
I did not know that.

Date Posted: 13 May 2023 at 11:09pm
Yer wan giving the Ukrainian Jury votes Heart

Date Posted: 13 May 2023 at 11:25pm
Baffled by the jury votes so far. 

ConfusedConfusedConfused

Date Posted: 13 May 2023 at 11:30pm
Iceland WTF LOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 13 May 2023 at 11:38pm

Needs more ex Liverpool centre backs announcing points 

Date Posted: 13 May 2023 at 11:40pm
Georgia LOL

Date Posted: 13 May 2023 at 11:44pm
I don’t get the Sweden love in.

Date Posted: 14 May 2023 at 12:02am
No longer out on our own in terms of number of wins Cry

Time to bring back Johnny the original J-Lo Cool

Date Posted: 14 May 2023 at 12:03am
Don’t get it.

Date Posted: 14 May 2023 at 12:13am

Don’t get it.
As a Eurovision connoisseur who was your choice?  

Date Posted: 14 May 2023 at 12:14am
Only a matter of time until Sweden take our record off us entirely. We can't have any complaints though, we keep sending total crap. It goes further than Eurovision though, Irish music in general has been mostly absolute crap for the last 15 years.

Date Posted: 14 May 2023 at 12:26am
Very Florence Welch sounding song won I think.. 

Date Posted: 14 May 2023 at 1:24am

Don’t get it.
As a Eurovision connoisseur who was your choice?  
I liked Norways entry. Only narrowly missed out to Sweden on the audience vote but was a mile behind in the jury vote. Finland won the audience vote. I think the audience vote is the way to go.

Date Posted: 14 May 2023 at 1:35am
Finland song was completely sh1te. How did it get so many audience votes. Thought UK song was good gor once and it got a small vote. Sweden deserved winners for me. 

Date Posted: 14 May 2023 at 8:14am
Sweden knew what they were doing this time. 
Get a known name and performer who has won the thing before.
Give them a decent song that could easily be in the charts (which was pretty similar to the song she won with before Euphoria).
Put on a huge marketing campaign before the thing starts and make it a hot favourite.
I'm also sure eurovision enthusiast's (I.e. the jury's) were also well aware that next year will be exactly 50 years since ABBA's famous win in the UK and wouldnt it actually be a nice thing that the Eurovision was in Sweden that year to mark the occasion?

Many fans bought into it (though it wasn't the most popular in fans voting).
But of course, the jury's completely bought into the package and the romance of it all and Sweden won that by a landslide.

Not taking away from the performance, it was undoubtedly top 3 anyway.

I liked the Israel one Heart

Date Posted: 14 May 2023 at 10:30am
Ireland need to go all out next year now after Sweden tied level....that's what they should do, but we'll probably do it through the Late Late show and end up sending Crystal Swing or the likes. 

Date Posted: 14 May 2023 at 10:48am
Do people really care about this competition?

Date Posted: 14 May 2023 at 11:27am

Yep. And it is an excellent PR win if you can get it. Hosting the event is also something of a money spinner, as it has expanded over the past 30 years.

I wouldn’t go as far to say it’s scandalous how far behind we have fallen, but it would be worth some pretty deep reflection and an effort to make us competitive again in the tournament. Our record number of wins is now tied with Sweden.

Date Posted: 14 May 2023 at 3:21pm
The biggest pile of cow sh*te that's ever been dropped.

Posted By: Bandwagon
Date Posted: 14 May 2023 at 3:22pm

Ireland need to go all out next year now after Sweden tied level....that's what they should do, but we'll probably do it through the Late Late show and end up sending Crystal Swing or the likes. 

RTE know what theyre doing, its literally the premise of the Fr Ted episode. They dont want us within an asses roar of winning it and having to host it due to the astronomical costs involved.  

Date Posted: 14 May 2023 at 6:55pm

RTE know what theyre doing, its literally the premise of the Fr Ted episode. They dont want us within an asses roar of winning it and having to host it due to the astronomical costs involved.  
But those days are gone now. The `new' eurovision is a week long event with huge sponsors, global audience, sell out venues and it's an all round bigger event. Its worth a fortune in revenue to any host economy. 

Date Posted: 15 May 2023 at 4:39pm
Also at the start of the night they had the overall leaderboard of countries that have won and commented on Sweden. It's as if they wanted her to win.

Sweden take it seriously though with their song choices. Who pick our songs?
My brother was in the Eurosong in the early 00's. Came second last, and because he'd already done it and they knew him they asked him back the year after, wasn't any better either.

Date Posted: 15 May 2023 at 4:50pm

I honestly can't understand how anyone takes it seriously. I presumed this thread was a wind up until I clicked in to it LOL

Date Posted: 15 May 2023 at 6:31pm
If ireland didn't participate in it then I'd have no interest. Once there is a competition and Ireland are competing then it doesn't matter if its the world farting championships, I have an interest in it and how we go about winning. 

Posted By: jamo1
Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 10:28am

Yep. And it is an excellent PR win if you can get it. Hosting the event is also something of a money spinner, as it has expanded over the past 30 years.

I wouldn’t go as far to say it’s scandalous how far behind we have fallen, but it would be worth some pretty deep reflection and an effort to make us competitive again in the tournament. Our record number of wins is now tied with Sweden.
Excellent PR win for who? Is it not now a laughing stock rather than a show with a bit of talent? Rock in Roll Kids was the last time i watched it when it was half decent.

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 10:50am
Originally posted by jamo1 jamo1 wrote:

Excellent PR win for who? Is it not now a laughing stock rather than a show with a bit of talent? Rock in Roll Kids was the last time i watched it when it was half decent.

The host city. Like any city hosting a major event. There was significant focus on Liverpool over the past 10 days, and it is a major cultural event, that has evolved over time. The 'it costs too much to host' is redundant now, in comparison to when it was a smaller event in the 1990s, and in many was was predicated on Ireland hosting it four times in five years. Those concerns no longer exist.

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 11:29am

The host city. Like any city hosting a major event. There was significant focus on Liverpool over the past 10 days, and it is a major cultural event, that has evolved over time. The 'it costs too much to host' is redundant now, in comparison to when it was a smaller event in the 1990s, and in many was was predicated on Ireland hosting it four times in five years. Those concerns no longer exist.

How do you know this?

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 11:30am

Sound like an auld manLOL It's a bit of craic tbf. I enjoy it, can't take it too seriously

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 11:34am

How do you know this?

https://www.cnbc.com/2023/05/12/how-much-does-it-cost-the-uk-to-host-the-eurovision-song-contest.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.cnbc.com/2023/05/12/how-much-does-it-cost-the-uk-to-host-the-eurovision-song-contest.html

This gives an idea of the figures involved and the potential gains. 

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 11:46am

https://www.cnbc.com/2023/05/12/how-much-does-it-cost-the-uk-to-host-the-eurovision-song-contest.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.cnbc.com/2023/05/12/how-much-does-it-cost-the-uk-to-host-the-eurovision-song-contest.html

This gives an idea of the figures involved and the potential gains. 

That article also illustrates some of the PR wins too. Thanks for the link, Borussia.

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 1:38pm
I'd rather Dublin froze over than host this sh*tfest.

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 1:46pm

How do you feel about Dublin hosting UEFA competition matches (finals etc)?

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 1:49pm

Great 👍

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 1:50pm

Great 👍

Fair enough. Just look at it as a UEFA final for singing.

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 2:01pm

Great 👍

Fair enough. Just look at it as a UEFA final for singing.

The AUL division 3a shield for singing and you may have a point.

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 2:06pm
By god Eurovision '93 put Milstreet on the map!!

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 2:08pm
It was a good competition with talented people back then.

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 2:18pm
I'd have more interest in watching my banjo string been torn.

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 2:22pm

Can't see that getting too many votes to be honest!

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 2:40pm

It was a good competition with talented people back then.

It’s still pretty good, and a number of acts of that era have returned to represent.

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 2:57pm

More dramatic than some of this years entries!

Posted By: Badgersboys9
Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 3:00pm

That was Finland's act.

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 4:19pm

On no something I don’t like in my city, whatever will I do 

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 5:51pm

On no something I don’t like in my city, whatever will I do 

Oh no something I don't like on a football forum, whatever will I do Cry

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 5:55pm
All things considered, in the town of Bill Shankly and The Beatles, it has been one sh*tty year for Liverpool. 

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 8:57pm

All things considered, in the town of Bill Shankly and The Beatles, it has been one sh*tty year for Liverpool. 

Locals were delighted to host - An extra 500,000 visitors came into the city over the week of it.

Date Posted: 16 May 2023 at 9:23pm

Prob get a sh*t tonne of views if you did it live on YouTube or TikTok to boot.

Date Posted: 17 May 2023 at 9:28am

Can't see that getting too many votes to be honest!

Gets douze points from me

Posted By: Trigboy 10
Date Posted: 17 May 2023 at 9:34am

I honestly can't understand how anyone takes it seriously. I presumed this thread was a wind up until I clicked in to it LOL
unfortunately not! Sure the person who started the thread called it the best week of the year. 

Posted By: planning
Date Posted: 19 May 2023 at 11:59pm

Important to note they changed the voting structure this year. Only the 15 countries taking part in semi-final 1 were allowed vote alongside three of the countries pre-qualified for the final – France, Germany & Italy. There was no block voting. 

The performance was just bad. The song was bland. The staging was dull. Middle of the road crap that was far from memorable. 
Only ourselves to blame on this one too, as said previously the song choice needs to be taken off the Late Late Show as the demographics are totally different. From memory there was a better song that night but was a bit out there for the Late Late viewers. 

I think it's time for Ireland to step outside the box a bit and consider sending a song as Gaeilge. The Seo Linn crowd who did the Irish Roar song for Euro 2016 should be prime candidates. 

The only change in the voting structure was removing the juries from the semi final. The Brits could vote for us last year, and they didn't. With the Brits unable to vote for our "effort" this time round, the song had no hope of qualifying whatsoever. 

I know Marty loves his annual "we was robbed" rant after every semi final we're eliminated in, but what we sent was Fr. Ted standard. Musically and visually, it was awful. The song was instantly forgettable. An Elvis impersonator screeching incoherently into a microphone was never going to compete with Eurovision superstars such as Loreen. 

Only 5 countries were eliminated in that semi final out of 15 so you don't really have to be world class to get into the final. The other contestants spent the time since their selection, doing everything you're supposed to do. Do the promotion and the marketing, go on the tours, and embrace the biggest live music event on the planet. The most notable thing the Irish representatives did in the past 3 months leading into the show, was fire their creative director for a few social network comments. And it showed on the night. They somehow managed to cobble together 10 points, finishing 12th in the semi final. Thankfully we'll never hear a pipsqueak out of them ever again. But until we actually take it seriously, Marty will continue having his rant every year. 

Date Posted: 20 May 2023 at 12:46am
Well 12th is an improvement. We've been last in the recent 2 years I think 

Date Posted: 22 Jan 2024 at 5:05pm
Eurosong this Friday - Who's winning it??

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2024 at 11:44pm
Getting some Fiona Apple style vibes from the winning song

Probably won't get by the semis but at least it's different 

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2024 at 11:47pm

I don’t know, if it gets a good draw could go through. There’s bound to be 7 absolute sh*te songs in 1 of the semis.

Not a fan of the song myself but it was up against utter garbage. Something different I suppose.

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2024 at 11:49pm

I think the phrase your looking for is fooking sh*te. Whoever picked those 6 songs should never be let near anything music related again in this lifetime or next. Embarrassing 

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2024 at 11:50pm

I think the phrase your looking for is fooking sh*te. Whoever picked those 6 songs should never be let near anything music related again in this lifetime or next. Embarrassing 

Oh I agree all 6 songs were terrible.

As I always say we should just send U2

Date Posted: 26 Jan 2024 at 11:53pm
Surely tonight was inspired by A Song for Ireland Fr.Ted episode 

Date Posted: 27 Jan 2024 at 12:09am
Just seen the winning song. Absolute garbage. She can't even sing well. But maybe something a little different that might win votes.

Maybe with a bit more production around it on the main show they could sneak a qualification because its different. 

Date Posted: 27 Jan 2024 at 12:22am
Will have a very good chance of getting out of the semi finals.

Posted By: ripbomb
Date Posted: 27 Jan 2024 at 1:16am
It sounded like a cat been doctored without anistetic.

Date Posted: 27 Jan 2024 at 1:40am

Will have a very good chance of getting out of the semi finals.
....and straight to the airport for the flight home.LOL

Date Posted: 27 Jan 2024 at 2:21am

Oh I agree all 6 songs were terrible.

As I always say we should just send U2
Is it conscription.