Topic: Ireland v Latvia match thread
Subject: Ireland v Latvia match thread
Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 5:49pm
This Wednesday also on viaplay.

How's the ticket sales going for this ?

Ireland v Latvia

RTE 2
Ireland v Latvia (Kick-off 7.45pm). All the action from the match at Aviva Stadium. The hosts will be looking for a morale boosting result ahead of their opening Euro 2024 qualifier on Monday here against World Cup runners-up France. 

The sides last met in 2013, when the Republic claimed a dominant 3-0 win thanks to goals by Robbie Keane, Aiden McGeady and Shane Long. Latvia will go into the match with confidence this time around after earning promotion from Group D of the UEFA Nations League, but Stephen Kenny's men should provide a considerably sterner test for them than Moldova, Andorra and Liechtenstein did.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 5:54pm
Another in a line of minnows for friendly opposition. Nothing really to be gained from this other than giving the likes of Ferguson, Smallbone, and Johnson so game time. A win would be unremarkable, anything less is just another headache for Kenny.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 6:00pm

Another in a line of minnows for friendly opposition. Nothing really to be gained from this other than giving the likes of Ferguson, Smallbone, and Johnson so game time. A win would be unremarkable, anything less is just another headache for Kenny.

Typical FAI decision.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 6:03pm
State of Mitrovic embarrassing.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 6:21pm

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 6:23pm

Whoops what a feck up !

I'm sure it made you're day for two reasons.Big smile

Posted By: Bandwagon
Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 6:24pm

Typical FAI decision.

To be fair there was only 6 possible opponents for us to face due to the 5 team groups.

Georgia, Ukraine, Albania, Estonia, Hungary or Latvia were the teams.

Georgia and Ukraine we played recently and Estonia had already arranged a friendly with Hungary so it really only left Albania or Latvia.

..and it was a fixture that was required to be fulfilled by UEFA.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 6:31pm

Typical FAI decision.

To be fair there was only 6 possible opponents for us to face due to the 5 team groups.

Georgia, Ukraine, Albania, Estonia, Hungary or Latvia were the teams.

Georgia and Ukraine we played recently and Estonia had already arranged a friendly with Hungary so it really only left Albania or Latvia.

..and it was a fixture that was required to be fulfilled by UEFA.

Fair enough I hadn't realised that good point.

Posted By: Bandwagon
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 6:36pm
Team announced 3-5-2

----------------------Kelleher---------------------
--------Collins--Omobamidele--O'Shea-------
Doherty----Browne---Molumby------O'Dowda
--------------------Smallbone---------------------
-------------Ferguson---Obafemi------------------

Posted By: SC92
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 6:41pm
Don't mind that line up. Glad Cullen is having a rest we need him against France. Hopefully Smallbone will be able to get forward to link with Ferguson and Obafemi and the WBs high as otherwise a 352 can be negative against an objectively poorer opposition when we struggle to break such teams down.

Posted By: gally
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 6:44pm

Team announced 3-5-2

----------------------Kelleher---------------------
--------Collins--Omobamidele--O'Shea-------
Doherty----Browne---Molumby------O'Dowda
--------------------Smallbone---------------------
-------------Ferguson---Obafemi------------------

Don't think Omobamidele will play central CB.

Posted By: xRedmanLFCx
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 7:25pm
Big nights for Smallbone and Ferguson. Best of luck to them! 🤞

"We will be galvanised and motivated, and we will bring thousands to this tournament." - MON

Posted By: Banana_RepublicFC
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 7:40pm
Hopefully a 2-0 win and some good football.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 7:42pm
good too see a few new faces in the team 

RTE saying Kenny knows his 11 for Monday and some of tonights team might not be in it 

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 7:46pm
Interesting rendition of Amhrán na bhFiann.

Posted By: Nialler
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 7:47pm
Originally posted by Banana_RepublicFC Banana_RepublicFC wrote:

Interesting is a word alright

Posted By: gongman
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 7:48pm
anyone know a stream for this?

Watching from Australia, not on the usual sports channels 

Posted By: Fitz
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 7:49pm

Hate when they do that, kills the atmosphere. 

Posted By: Jimmy Raggatip
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 7:54pm
good goal. that should settle us down

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 7:55pm
Lovely work by Doc and Smallbone

Good ball in from Smallbone. 

Ferguson overhit that pass to Doherty, but it worked out. KDB-esque positioning from Smallbone.

Brilliant start. No messing about, and a very good goal. We're already improved from Malta.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 7:56pm
Happy days

Posted By: SeaSharp
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 7:57pm
Brilliant ball from Smallbone. A bit lucky, that loose pass from Collins would have been punished by a better side.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 7:57pm
I see nvidic is the Latvian manager 

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 7:59pm

I see nvidic is the Latvian manager 

Far from a compliment anyway

looks like Peter Griffin 

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:00pm
Smallbone looking a class above in the early stages here.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:02pm
Molumby's aggression is his biggest strength. He's always very quick in the tackle.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:05pm
Ferguson > Haaland confirmed.

Posted By: GaretFarellysNutSack
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:05pm
Boner looks like he can actually pass the ball forward wtf

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:07pm
Doc and Boner Clap

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:08pm
Good man EF!

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:09pm
Smallbone Cullen and  Moulmby for France please

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:10pm

Smallbone Cullen and  Moulmby for France please

Hendricks.... for Smallbone

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:10pm
Big Evan

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:11pm
poor decision making/poor finish from Browne there

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:12pm
Anybody else thing Ferguson looks a bit like SK?

Posted By: Heimatklange
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:14pm
is this a bit of a shop window for ferguson to impress southgate?

am i doing this right? LOL

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:15pm
Originally posted by Heimatklange Heimatklange wrote:

is this a bit of a shop window for ferguson to impress southgate?

am i doing this right? LOL

shop window for Boner too

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:16pm
Hate to be a pessimist, but.. what are we learning from this? This lot might the worst side I've seen us play since Oman. They run Gibraltar very close.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:18pm
Originally posted by SeaSharp SeaSharp wrote:

Hate to be a pessimist, but.. what are we learning from this? This lot might the worst side I've seen us play since Oman. They run Gibraltar very close.

a confidence boost is always welcome

Originally posted by Jimmy Raggatip Jimmy Raggatip wrote:

Absolutely but when the other team is so uncompetitive it can only count for so much 

Doherty looks fecked after 20 mins Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:19pm

đź–• Middle Finger Emoji Meaning with Pictures: from A to Z

Posted By: mully_85
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:19pm

đź¤£đź¤£đź¤£đź‘ŹđźŹ»đź‘ŹđźŹ»đź¤£

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:21pm
Screamer

Doherty's fault. Savage strike tho

Couldn’t have asked for a better start. Smallbone looking lively and Ferguson getting his goal. Now get him off t’f*ck and rest him up for Monday.

Posted By: J89
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:22pm

Who else was there to play? Georgia and Hungary wouldn't travel to Dublin as they would have wanted home friendlies since they play their first qualifiers at home. Georgia are actually playing Mongolia at home in a friendly.

How do we keep conceding these worldies

Sorta game we shud be winning 5 or 6 nil. Is it goin to turn into a bit of hard work.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:23pm
Let's be honest, Bazunu catches that goal.

đź–• Middle Finger Emoji Meaning with Pictures: from A to Z
f**k off yourself, loser.

We leave massive holes in front of our 18 yard box.

Posted By: Heimatklange
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:24pm

at least you're honest Clap

what even tense are you speaking in? oh if he was playing. he's made plenty of mistakes this season himself. 

Posted By: 84ccfc84
Brutal from Doherty

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:25pm

We leave massive holes in front of our 18 yard box.

The strikes are other worldly whatever about anything else, that was insane, no one in the world saving it.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:25pm
Originally posted by Heimatklange Heimatklange wrote:

at least you're honest Clap

Sorry guys i left my gloves in Madrid im cold. I switched off with the frost bit

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:28pm
Originally posted by GaretFarellysNutSack GaretFarellysNutSack wrote:

what even tense are you speaking in? oh if he was playing. he's made plenty of mistakes this season himself. 

It's a joke.

Posted By: Dunne23
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:29pm
Great strike tbf. Am I right in thinking we've conceded quite a few similar goals in Kenny's reign?

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:33pm
For a brief moment i thought we were world beaters. We lose a goal and we look nervy again. France on the breakaway could kill us.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:33pm
Not again ffs

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:34pm
Very good performance. 

Baz
Coleman
Egan
Cullen
Knight in against France.

Jesus Christ kelleher

Posted By: E2016
We are an absolute shambles defensively. Kenny has removed every ounce of defensive stability we had under Mick. Shocking.

lol, turns out we're as bad as ever, i can't remember i've seen a visiting team this bad

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:35pm
deflection or not that is a howler

and we've got to clear that, had plenty of chances

Posted By: PaulYK
You're kidding me! How do we do this to ourselves.

Posted By: King_Kenny
Originally posted by E2016 E2016 wrote:

We are an absolute shambles defensively. Kenny has removed every ounce of defensive stability we had under Mick. Shocking.
Back 3 very poor. Casual and can’t do the defensive basics.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:36pm
Looked shaky at the back since the first whistle. Loose passes and touches from Collins and Andy. Did not see that coming, however..

Posted By: gazurtoids
Load of ol bollox tbf

Originally posted by King_Kenny King_Kenny wrote:

Originally posted by E2016 E2016 wrote:

Back 3 very poor. Casual and can’t do the defensive basics.

France are going to run absolutely riot. We've conceeded 2 at home against Latvia. That's as bad as it gets.

Posted By: Howdo
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:37pm
Jaysus

Posted By: Strazdas
Kelleher has been beaten a lot of times for us since he made his debut - too many for my liking.

No. He's a spit of the singer for Fontaine's DC though

Posted By: djhegzy
Conflicted, played some lovely football but we have conceded 2 to one of the worst teams in europe Ouch

i'm not sure you can blame doherty's defensive howler on SK  

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:38pm

Kelleher has been beaten a lot of times for us since he made his debut - too many for my liking.

Zero he could do about the first. 2nd a big deflection, bad luck tbh.

Posted By: Fitz
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:38pm
Started positively, two well worked goals. Latvia coming into it a bit since that cracker of a goal. Browne had been poor-ish; Collins, for me, is questionable for inclusion against France. O’ Dowda, Obafemi and Smallbone have been our best players. 

Edit* more poor defending, CK a bit unfortunate, perhaps. We need to up the tempo now and not balls this up. 

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:39pm
The 3 at the back all seem a bit too nice as a trio. Need a **** in there for diversity.

Are we a bit cursed? That's 4/5 goals we've conceded under SK that would be very very low percentage chances.

Originally posted by djhegzy djhegzy wrote:

Conflicted, played some lovely football but we have conceded 2 to one of the worst teams in europe Ouch

This is an interesting summation. Playing 'open' football has its perks, but like Armenia and Scotland last year it has its obvious downsides, and we simply dont have the stuff to outscore the teams we need to beat to be in with a hope of qualifying.

Also, I fear this will convince Kenny to put the same lads from last year on the pitch, and hope for the best against France.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:40pm

The 3 at the back all seem a bit too nice as a trio. Need a **** in there for diversity.

Exactly. All 3 very young too. Expect 1 to drop out for Egan on Monday 

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:41pm
Last seasons Rovers team would spank this lot

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:41pm

Are we a bit cursed? That's 4/5 goals we've conceded under SK that would be very very low percentage chances.

A good team just wouldn't concede them. You'd have to be a bit worried about how we always seem to look defensively brittle at home.

Posted By: 10 Box
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:42pm

Conceded a fair few from outside the box alright 

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:42pm
First goal for Latvia was class. We tend to concede screamers against sh*te teams

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:43pm
Who's the guy on here who used to hammer Bazunu for not keeping clean sheets?

Your boy has conceded two vs Latvia. 

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:43pm

A good team just wouldn't concede them. You'd have to be a bit worried about how we always seem to look defensively brittle at home.
Thats my logic, it can't just be a coincidence. There's serious concerns at the back.

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:44pm
Smallbone looks excellent 

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:44pm

First goal for Latvia was class. We tend to concede screamers against sh*te teams

And just concede normal goals against everyone else.

Our defensive record is a joke, and we have some of the most dangerous attackers in world football rolling into town in a few days to fill their boots.

Posted By: The Ham
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:45pm
2 nil up against one of the worst sides in Europe and we go in at 2-2. There's no real organisation, no structure and passing is poor in their half. We're playing 3 in midfield but smallbone and browne are way too wide when we're in possession. Usual laziness from Doherty, bit of naivety amongst the back 3 and an overly rash molumby. Needs to finish 5-2 for Kenny to come out of this with anything other than a hammering. 

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:45pm

Have to agree. Best player on the pitch perhaps

Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:47pm
Old habits Die Hard...

Same mistakes and same issues remain. This performance would end in a massacre on Monday.

Something just isn't clicking regarding certain, crucial aspects of our game. 

Smallbone and Doherty have linked up very well. O'Dowda has played well. Molumby has initiated both both and been generally good. Ferguson and Obafemi look a good pairing. Lots of positives but they need to go out and win this second half well.

Posted By: xRedmanLFCx

Absolutely but when the other team is so uncompetitive it can only count for so much 
ConfusedEmbarrassed

"We will be galvanised and motivated, and we will bring thousands to this tournament." - MON

Posted By: Wheelo
Date Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:48pm
Bar the 2 goals we let in (which I’d read nothing into as kelleher wont be playing Monday), there are positives.

Ferguson and smallbone should’ve cemented places into team on Monday. O’Dowda very good too. Bazunu will be back also, etc,

Won’t read anything into result tonight, conceding 2 goals like we did might give us a much needed kick up the hole for Monday. I’m positive for Monday 👍

Posted By: Fozz

Have to agree. Best player on the pitch perhaps

Yep, on this performace so far, should start Monday.
Maybe instead of Obafemi and then have Cullen and Knight also in the team.
Browne needs to go.

Thats my logic, it can't just be a coincidence. There's serious concerns at the back.

Yes, we conceded six goals in our last four games before tonight - we can't keep putting this down to bad luck (and strangely, we look more dodgy at the Aviva than away from home).

Originally posted by xRedmanLFCx xRedmanLFCx wrote:

ConfusedEmbarrassed
Typical Ireland eh.. this lot are absolutely abysmal and we've let them back into it.