URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=58716
Printed Date: 29 Mar 2024 at 7:58am

Topic: Sean Moore
Subject: Sean Moore
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 3:57pm
Welcome aboard Clap

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/republic-of-ireland-new-boy-sean-moore-declined-meeting-with-michael-oneill/1217462294.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/republic-of-ireland-new-boy-sean-moore-declined-meeting-with-michael-oneill/1217462294.html

Posted By: TheNumber6
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 4:00pm
Legend ☘️

Posted By: Eoink21
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 4:30pm
Wow. So refreshing to see a lad back himself like that in making this call. Funny how he even refused to hear O'Neill out -- he must have known the expect the same rubbish we all hear in the media from him. 

Posted By: Green Cockade
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 4:38pm
I think Marc Wilson was the last one to do that. Well done to Sean.

Posted By: Given's zimmerframe
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 4:47pm
Fair play!

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 4:58pm

Welcome aboard Clap

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/republic-of-ireland-new-boy-sean-moore-declined-meeting-with-michael-oneill/1217462294.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/international/republic-of-ireland-new-boy-sean-moore-declined-meeting-with-michael-oneill/1217462294.html
This your new McGeadyClap

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 5:03pm
I haven't seen him play to be fair but it's great to have a Belfast lad on board. Long may it continue.

Posted By: J89
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 5:20pm
Spared himself an afternoon from listening to absolute dribble from O'Neill anyway. Hopefully he plays a blinder for the U19s and helps us qualify.

Posted By: Given's zimmerframe
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 5:38pm
There is a lot of hype around him in the nordie media lately

Posted By: King_Kenny
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 5:41pm
Originally posted by Given's zimmerframe Given's zimmerframe wrote:

There is a lot of hype around him in the nordie media lately
Watch the hype turn to hate.

Posted By: TraphadBalls
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 5:53pm
Gwan Kid [:
 Will be delighted to watch you play. Give it a lash Jack!

Kennycandoit

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 5:58pm
Hope he doesn't get too much hate in the next couple of months. He'll be out of that league in the summer anyway, but he'll probably get a fair bit from some of the neanderthals at Irish League grounds before then.

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 6:40pm
He plays for Cliftonville so is well used to it. West Ham are favourites to get him in the summer at the moment.

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 6:42pm
Hopefully O'Mahony can talk him into joining Brighton and adding to the contingent there.

Posted By: aviva8
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 7:08pm
The beat of luck to the young man, hopefully he will go on to have a great career.

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 7:54pm
Great stuff to tell those bitter ****s to f**k off at such a young age.

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 9:02pm
Is Cliftonville a so called 'Nationalist' type team?

Posted By: Nialler
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 10:21pm

Yes very nationalist.

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2023 at 10:30am

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2023 at 10:57am

Peculiar phrasing to say the least.

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2023 at 11:42am

It was a very simple question. I dont follow N.I teams so dont know who is who. Nialler answered with a very simple answer. Your peculiar.

Posted By: Badgersboys9
Date Posted: 18 Mar 2023 at 11:59am

It was a very simple question. I dont follow N.I teams so dont know who is who. Nialler answered with a very simple answer. Your peculiar.

Hasn't seen his grammar bat signal yet.

Date Posted: 18 Mar 2023 at 12:51pm
Cliftonville is the oldest club in the country, founded in 1879. Their support is largely from nationalist areas these days, wasn’t always so but changing demographics have made that happen. Players and staff are recruited from different backgrounds and the club has a strong non-sectarian ethos.

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 1:23pm
Signs for West Ham Thumbs Down

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 1:38pm
I hate West Ham, Chelsea, Millwall and all the London teams.  Can't understand how anyone Irish can support a London team.  Arsenal are the least hatable.

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 1:38pm

What's wrong with that move? More irish players at the highest level the better

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 1:42pm

What TJ says above.

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 1:45pm

What's their recent record with bringing through youth players. Obviously all comes down to how good the player themselves are but Rice, Johnson, and Bowen are the only three recently off the top of my head that are playing first team with West Ham.

Posted By: Badgersboys9
Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 1:49pm

What TJ says above.

Aye, he should of signed for one of the Irish PL clubs.

Posted By: SC92
Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 1:54pm
Originally posted by J89 J89 wrote:

What's their recent record with bringing through youth players. Obviously all comes down to how good the player themselves are but Rice, Johnson, and Bowen are the only three recently off the top of my head that are playing first team with West Ham.

Bowen is from Herefordshire and came through at Hull. Not West Ham in the slightest as they bought him as a 24 year old.

I'm with you about PL academies but if he's good enough he will get good coaching and eventually useful development loans so it's not doom and gloom.

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 1:57pm
I would like liked to see him sign for Brighton, Wolves or Brentford as an example...

Will he get much opportunities with WH?

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 2:08pm
Originally posted by Badgersboys9 Badgersboys9 wrote:

What TJ says above.

Aye, he should of signed for one of the Irish PL clubs.

Or that Irish club up in Scotland that has just been a wonderland of Irish player production in recent years.

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 2:15pm

I hate West Ham, Chelsea, Millwall and all the London teams.  Can't understand how anyone Irish can support a London team.  Arsenal are the least hatable.

Loads of Irish emigrated to London over the last 60 years so many would have supported London teams. 

Posted By: Bandwagon
Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 2:15pm
Its not a great move for him.

They'd no real interest in giving their youth players much of a chance, even lat season Coventry only got games in Europe once they were through. Started 3 from 8 and had subs in 2 others. Didnt start in the FA Cup and was taken off after an hour in the League Cup.

Cullen was similar before having to look elsewhere.

Okoflex and Odubeko were let go this summer with even less of a look in.

Posted By: Fozz
Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 2:33pm

Its not a great move for him.

They'd no real interest in giving their youth players much of a chance, even lat season Coventry only got games in Europe once they were through. Started 3 from 8 and had subs in 2 others. Didnt start in the FA Cup and was taken off after an hour in the League Cup.

Cullen was similar before having to look elsewhere.

Okoflex and Odubeko were let go this summer with even less of a look in.
Not disagreeing with you but maybe none of those lads were good enough?

We shall see very soon how Cullen fares at PL level week in week out, but the other three may never see gametime in a match in the PL in their careers, and there's zero evidence to the contrary.

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 2:34pm
Callum Marshall (18) made his debut for NI recently, came on as a sub and had what looked like a good goal ruled out by VAR after five minutes. He has a great chance of coming through at West Ham and there are several other lads of similar age from the north who are doing really well. One or two of them might switch their international allegiance down the line. They were all spotted by the same scout, Stephen Whelan, who pushed the boat out to get Sean Moore signed ahead of six or seven other big clubs who were interested. He has outstanding natural talent, hopefully the full-time environment will bring the best out of him.

Posted By: Banana_RepublicFC
Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 2:39pm
West Ham U18s won The FAYC last season and also won The U18 PL South. 

City beat them 2-1 in the North vs South decider.

Maybe Moyes will use some of them next season now that they're in Europe again. Mubamba, 18, made 6 appearances for the first team.

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 2:54pm
Originally posted by SC92 SC92 wrote:

Bowen is from Herefordshire and came through at Hull. Not West Ham in the slightest as they bought him as a 24 year old.

I'm with you about PL academies but if he's good enough he will get good coaching and eventually useful development loans so it's not doom and gloom.

Learn something new everyday. Also thought he came through the West Ham system. Thought he was younger too and turns 27 in December.

Posted By: Banana_RepublicFC
Date Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 3:02pm
Originally posted by J89 J89 wrote:

Originally posted by SC92 SC92 wrote:

Learn something new everyday. Also thought he came through the West Ham system. Thought he was younger too and turns 27 in December.

Just because he's shagging Danny Dyer's daughter or what?

Posted By: pateen
Date Posted: 02 Jul 2023 at 3:28pm

London is a far less English place than say cities like Liverpool or Manchester. Lots and lots of diversity and backgrounds which helps young lads coming over. Also one of the best cities in the world live and a sizeable Irish community as well.

Flying so high, trying to remember
How many cigarettes did I bring along?
When I get down I'll jump in a taxi cab
Driving through London town, to cry you a song

Date Posted: 02 Jul 2023 at 3:58pm
True, and Sean already knows the four other Irish lads at the club around the same age who also joined West Ham from Irish League clubs. He’s got a great chance there, a three year contract and every opportunity to kick on.

Date Posted: 03 Jul 2023 at 1:03pm
Originally posted by pateen pateen wrote:

London is a far less English place than say cities like Liverpool or Manchester. Lots and lots of diversity and backgrounds which helps young lads coming over. Also one of the best cities in the world live and a sizeable Irish community as well.

WH have a very sizeable contingent of Irish fans. As I understand it, the Ford motor factor in Dagenham had a large number of Irish staff, particularly from Cork and also Dublin. 

I'd separate the likes of Chelsea, given their links with Rangers etc, and I can really not understand where the draw would be for them. But most other London clubs have a decent Irish following, not least because of the massive diaspora in London. I suppose attending matches is preferable to supporting a club miles away, in another city.