URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=58712
Printed Date: 20 Apr 2024 at 8:23am

Topic: Castore for Ireland Football
Posted By: foggy.nelson
Subject: Castore for Ireland Football
Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 11:55am
FAI announce new multi-year kit deal with sportswear brand Castore https://the42.ie/6018010" rel="nofollow - https://the42.ie/6018010

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 12:01pm
A relatively new, and diversified brand. It is interesting to get in on the ground level with them, and how this develops, especially as other teams/clubs will continue to join the platform.

Posted By: wanderer
Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 12:13pm

A relatively new, and diversified brand. It is interesting to get in on the ground level with them, and how this develops, especially as other teams/clubs will continue to join the platform.
Other football clubs fans have had nothing but bad things to say about them, from the quality of the merchandise to the customer service

Posted By: savo01
Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 12:15pm
Will the jerseys be available in all good staunch rangurz shops?  

Jackie Charlton, Eoin Hand
Johnny Giles. Ireland
Mick McCarthy, Stephen Staunton
Cascarino
Tony Galvin, Niall Quinn
Packie doesn't let em in
North of Ireland
South of Ireland
Only one can go

Posted By: Pinginí
Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 12:17pm
They're shocking. Have had nothing but bad experiences with them buying Newcastle stuff. They take an age to fulfil orders. When they eventually do it's usually faulty and they have terribe customer service.

You can bet this kit release was pushed back to the 20th because of their shoddy supply chain. Kit being shown two days before the first match, missing St. Patrick's day and the team wearing the kit against France with not a single person in the crowd weraing the new jersey.

Wait until everyone sees the extortionate prices they charge for their tat too. Will be fun!

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 12:22pm
I think I'll pass on the €86 jerseys that are really poor quality. 

Very few people will be buying

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 12:28pm
Expensive rubbish seems to be the recurring theme. A real missed opportunity with O Neills imo 

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 12:30pm

Expensive rubbish seems to be the recurring theme. A real missed opportunity with O Neills imo 

I doubt O'Neills would have been able to match the money that Castore are paying. 

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 12:33pm
Originally posted by savo01 savo01 wrote:

maybe not the staunch shops, but the not so staunch shops is a real possibility.

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 12:35pm
The FAI needs money so were always going to go for the most lucrative deal. I am interested to see how it will look with the new crest etc. 

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 1:00pm

The FAI needs money so were always going to go for the most lucrative deal. I am interested to see how it will look with the new crest etc. 

Unfortunately this is the reality of the situation. I heard through the grapevine that Puma made an early play with an offer that was more than the expiring umbro deal so it was being seriously considered by the powers that be in Abbotstown.

Castore subsequently came in and basically blew this offer out of the water by almost double. Given the lack of a lead sponsor and the horrific financial situation as a whole, The FAI commercially would have been foolish to turn it down.

I'll reserve judgement until I see the final product but the feedback from fans of their existing clubs isn't exactly positive.  And there is no chance I'll be paying €90 for a jersey 

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 1:07pm
"You don't win anything with Castore" (Alan Hansen)

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 1:23pm

I doubt O'Neills would have been able to match the money that Castore are paying. 
I understand that & financial situation is driving the decision. But sometimes going for the higher initial figure isn’t the best long term decision 

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 1:27pm

"You don't win anything with Castore" (Alan Hansen)

Wasn’t funny the first time you posted this.

Fair play on doubling down. 

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 1:30pm

I don’t remember people complaining in the 2000’s when Ireland and rangers both had Umbro as kit supplier or Adidas in the mid 90’s.

Posted By: Badgersboys9
Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 1:41pm

I don’t remember people complaining in the 2000’s when Ireland and rangers both had Umbro as kit supplier or Adidas in the mid 90’s.

I agree, but this is a little different. Castore sponsor a few teams that would be known to us. Rangers were the first to have them that I know and took a lot of sl*gging about the quality etc. Umbro/Addias/Nike practically monopolised the kit manufacturers. 

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 2:32pm
I think i will give this a miss also , must be the first home kit i have not bought for about 20 plus years .

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 3:05pm

I think i will give this a miss also , must be the first home kit i have not bought for about 20 plus years .

You haven't even seen it yetLOL

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 3:18pm

You haven't even seen it yetLOL

Posted By: Roberto_Carlow
Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 3:19pm
Would have loved Nike. Hate Castore, will say I won't buy it now and then will no doubt buy something at some point.

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 3:23pm
I think people exaggerate on Castore. They are linking up with some big clubs so they cannot be as bad as people say. Lets wait and see the jersey. I assume it will be along lines of other jerseys they have with other clubs. Could be the round neck like Newcastle or a more v neck type like Sevilla. Not made on their logo design myself but the jerseys over the last while have been bland. Away orange one lately was quite nice though. Might look ok.

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 9:01pm
Hoping to pick up one of the polo's 

A dark one be nice 

Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 9:03pm

Hoping to pick up one of the polo's 

A dark one be nice 

I agree. Might be some nice polos with the new crest

Posted By: AbuAbu
Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 9:19pm
Where can we see the kit available

It's not me it's you:-)

Posted By: Fitz
Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 9:23pm
They can shove their Castore right up their arse tbh. 

Posted By: CantonasCat
Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 9:52pm
Having just seen the teaser on Facebook (the one about the Pre-order), I have to say, I think this is gonna be a gorgeous jersey.   The castore logo and the new Ireland crest sit really well side by side.  If that Specific shade of green can be perfectly replicated in the actual shirt, then I’m in love 

Posted By: Fatnacho
Date Posted: 13 Mar 2023 at 10:24pm
Start saving up some cash or wait for the inevitable summer sale next year. Guts of €70 for a t-shirt and €50 for a pair of shorts if the Newcastle gear is an indicator for the pricing. They seem to like placing emphasis on them being a “premium” sportswear brand.
https://shop.nufc.co.uk/collections/match-day-range" rel="nofollow - https://shop.nufc.co.uk/collections/match-day-range

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 9:35am
Adidas and Nike jerseys are €90 so nothing new there.

Posted By: Greener92
Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 10:50am
Originally posted by Fatnacho Fatnacho wrote:

Start saving up some cash or wait for the inevitable summer sale next year. Guts of €70 for a t-shirt and €50 for a pair of shorts if the Newcastle gear is an indicator for the pricing. They seem to like placing emphasis on them being a “premium” sportswear brand.
https://shop.nufc.co.uk/collections/match-day-range" rel="nofollow - https://shop.nufc.co.uk/collections/match-day-range

How much did you think the jersey would retail for? €70 would be a win for the punters 

Posted By: djhegzy
Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 11:09am
Originally posted by Greener92 Greener92 wrote:

How much did you think the jersey would retail for? €70 would be a win for the punters 

I would be guessing it will be 80-90 euro, they are charging £75 for new home kits for uk teams

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 11:14am

Apologies, misread the initial comment thought it was €70 for a jersey

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 11:41am

Think I read €86 and exclusive in shops to Lifestyle sports 

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 11:52am

Think I read €86 and exclusive in shops to Lifestyle sports 

I am not going to pay that .

Posted By: dangere_here
Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 1:13pm
Originally posted by Fitz Fitz wrote:

The sheep will buy it, but I know I certainly wont. ONeills jersey 55 quid now, even with the manky cream collar

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 2:37pm
Meanwhile, the announcement is going down well:

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10358816/blue-strip-ireland-delete-rangers-castore-kit/" rel="nofollow - https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10358816/blue-strip-ireland-delete-rangers-castore-kit/

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 2:51pm
Imagine being wound up over a kit supplier because they also supply the kit of a club team you don’t like. As was said yesterday, this isn’t the first time both teams have had the same supplier.

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 2:54pm

Imagine being wound up over a kit supplier because they also supply the kit of a club team you don’t like. As was said yesterday, this isn’t the first time both teams have had the same supplier.

Or, just maybe, it's the absolute sh*te quality and service they produce. 

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 3:04pm
I assume the same lads moaning about Castore because they supply Rangers kit dont wear Adidas, Nike, Umbro or Puma gear?

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 3:08pm
Only 3 pages on the thread and can't see one post with someone moaning about Castore because they supply Rangers.

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 3:09pm
There was on the umbro thread and online in replies to the the FAI announcement on their SM channels. The world is bigger than this recently started threadThumbs Up

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 3:10pm

actually page 1 of this thread.

Posted By: manchesterbhoy
Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 3:15pm

they should be how they rip off the gaa despite the quality going down also 

only the playing gear is irish manufactured everything else like nike and adidas from a sweatshop somewhere in the world 

Posted By: Deco79
Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 3:16pm
I checked the "Footy Headlines" website to see if they have any leaked images which they are good for but none there, but I see the deal with Castore is until 2028.
https://www.footyheadlines.com/2023/03/ireland-announced-multi-year-deal-with-castore.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.footyheadlines.com/2023/03/ireland-announced-multi-year-deal-with-castore.html

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 3:21pm

There was on the umbro thread and online in replies to the the FAI announcement on their SM channels. The world is bigger than this recently started threadThumbs Up

Dead on, hadn't seen anything on that thread either apart from the quality issues but will take your word for it. 

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 3:35pm
Originally posted by dangere_here dangere_here wrote:

The sheep will buy it, but I know I certainly wont. ONeills jersey 55 quid now, even with the manky cream collar

I always laugh at people that call other people sheep. If people want to buy it they will buy it. Maybe your the sheep ever think of that.

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 3:49pm
Sure bloody Celtic and Rangers had the same shirt sponsors at the exact same time in the early 2000s.  NTL.   They had different kit manufacturers though, tbf, but still Confused

Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 4:14pm
Originally posted by CantonasCat CantonasCat wrote:

Sure bloody Celtic and Rangers had the same shirt sponsors at the exact same time in the early 2000s.  NTL.   They had different kit manufacturers though, tbf, but still Confused

CR Smith, Tennents, Carling.......

Posted By: Fozz
Date Posted: 14 Mar 2023 at 4:25pm
Originally posted by Deco79 Deco79 wrote:

I checked the "Footy Headlines" website to see if they have any leaked images which they are good for but none there, but I see the deal with Castore is until 2028.
https://www.footyheadlines.com/2023/03/ireland-announced-multi-year-deal-with-castore.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.footyheadlines.com/2023/03/ireland-announced-multi-year-deal-with-castore.html

Social Media gives a voice to the eejits, and you never have to go far to find them spewing nonsense.
This is yet another example, if any more were needed.

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2023 at 10:05am

I always laugh at people that call other people sheep. If people want to buy it they will buy it. Maybe your the sheep ever think of that.

Anybody paying €86 quid for a subpar piece of crap like that is a sheep or a fool with their money LOL 

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2023 at 11:22am
what are you on about?

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2023 at 11:26am

[QUOTE=Deco79]I checked the "Footy Headlines" website to see if they have any leaked images which they are good for but none there, but I see the deal with Castore is until 2028.

Social Media gives a voice to the eejits, and you never have to go far to find them spewing nonsense.

what are you on about?

Posted By: Fozz
Date Posted: 15 Mar 2023 at 11:29am

[QUOTE=Deco79]I checked the "Footy Headlines" website to see if they have any leaked images which they are good for but none there, but I see the deal with Castore is until 2028.

what are you on about?

Apologies..I was meant to respond to Mr. Snub's link:
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10358816/blue-strip-ireland-delete-rangers-castore-kit/" rel="nofollow - https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10358816/blue-strip-ireland-delete-rangers-castore-kit/

Date Posted: 15 Mar 2023 at 12:30pm

what are you on about?

I just think coughing up 86 or 96 yoyos for a poor quality design manufactured in North Korea is not exactly worth the hard earned money. If my kids ask for that they can fook off and buy it themselves.

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 7:26pm
https://twitter.com/IrelandFootball/status/1636442209351520257?t=WK5z4dPBbKjkwErk7FTMzg&s=19" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/IrelandFootball/status/1636442209351520257?t=WK5z4dPBbKjkwErk7FTMzg&s=19

A little tease 

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 7:42pm

https://twitter.com/IrelandFootball/status/1636442209351520257?t=WK5z4dPBbKjkwErk7FTMzg&s=19" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/IrelandFootball/status/1636442209351520257?t=WK5z4dPBbKjkwErk7FTMzg&s=19

A little tease 

Nice touch

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 7:45pm

A little tease 

New Balance 2.0

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 7:58pm
It’s gonna be lovely.  And a few folks on here will end up - begrudgingly - changing their tune 

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 8:06pm
Women’s team in the parade tomorrow ideal opportunity to launch it with them wearing it 

Posted By: Bandwagon
Date Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 8:13pm
Originally posted by Charlton's Child Charlton's Child wrote:

Women’s team in the parade tomorrow ideal opportunity to launch it with them wearing it 

Maybe they'll be getting their own one again different to the mens

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 8:15pm

Originally posted by Charlton's Child Charlton's Child wrote:

Maybe they'll be getting their own one again different to the mens

Either way if there not wearing it tomorrow , big chance missed 

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 8:20pm
Available for pre order from the 20th! That's not a good start by them 

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 8:38pm
Originally posted by irish_major irish_major wrote:

Why??? 

Posted By: newrynyuk
Date Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 9:41pm

Why??? 

“Pre order from the 20th”, meaning it won’t actually go on sale until later, possibly much later. You’d think it would be in the shops by Monday in time for everyone to buy it before the Latvia and France games. But no.

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 9:49pm
Originally posted by newrynyuk newrynyuk wrote:

Why??? 

“Pre order from the 20th”, meaning it won’t actually go on sale until later, possibly much later. You’d think it would be in the shops by Monday in time for everyone to buy it before the Latvia and France games. But no.

Actually that's a good thing because it's so sh*te they're doing everyone a favour wha

Posted By: DubLife
Date Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 10:00pm
the Font on the Eire is a bit bland ya?

Texture looks sweet tho.

Date Posted: 16 Mar 2023 at 10:20pm

A little tease 

New Balance 2.0

Ya we have had Eire on the New Balance shirt alright. Nothjng new there

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 2:12am
If Ireland lose badly to France sales will plummet on a jersey that is on pre sale from the 20th. A one week window Thumbs Up

Posted By: wanderer
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 10:31am
Some new Castore gear on show here
https://twitter.com/IrelandFootball/status/1636676130546540544?t=xNonfWZDJ7a0lnCX5fMhJQ&s=19" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/IrelandFootball/status/1636676130546540544?t=xNonfWZDJ7a0lnCX5fMhJQ&s=19

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 10:40am
Jesus the crest looks brutal on that Dead looks like a sticker, doesnt even match

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 10:44am
Muck.

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 10:59am
Looks like something that would be handed out at Augusta 😳

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 11:27am
That does look brutal. The jersey or whatever piece of gear would want to be the same colour as the badge now.

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 11:32am

That is dirt 

Posted By: Rustybedsprings
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 11:50am
Hideous effort jesus

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 12:15pm
Ah lads holy f**k. That is absolutely f**king horrendous LOL

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 12:28pm
Looks like aer lingus jacket or something. The colour of the crest clashes with the darker green. 

Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 1:11pm
Yiz get what yiz pay for FAI

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 5:09pm
Is that actually the first official released pic? The kit looks terrible. They are also wearing tops a size too big as well. 

Posted By: J89
Date Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 5:26pm
Hope the one in the middle is the fan version of the jacket and that the Sky crest didn't just fall off. Knowing Castore though and other teams having crests fall off players kits it probably did fall off.

Posted By: edthered
Date Posted: 18 Mar 2023 at 9:22am
Looks like a rushed job for the parade. The crest is centered with the Castore logo on the jacket in the middle, whereas the others are off as they have the Sky logo too

Posted By: DubLife
Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 7:30pm
I bet the FAI are sweating buckets tonight in anticipation of the backlash. 

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 7:58pm
Look the talk is they got a ball of money for this. The only losers out of this if the gear is sh*te and overpriced is Castore. If we got big money, so be it. Next time though I would love to see us go with O'Neills. But that's just personal taste. Money talks 

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 8:09pm

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 8:16pm
Proper dunnes jersey LOL

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 8:21pm

Mother of god...

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 8:22pm
Wow some design though went into that. I had a feeljng that crest wouldn't look good on a jersey. The slanted shamrock was a bad idea. Bland as fook

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 8:24pm
How is this on sale before its even been announced? Is this a balls up?

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 8:25pm
That is absolutely vile. Who in their right mind is gonna buy this 

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 8:31pm

It's available for pre-order but is only available for delivery from 13 April....

Posted By: JollyGreenGiant
Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 8:32pm
Higher quality images:

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 8:35pm

It's available for pre-order but is only available for delivery from 13 April....

But even before the FAI announce it? Seems daft. Can hardly have a big reveal now

Posted By: Bandwagon
Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 8:37pm
Look pretty much the same as the Umbro 2021 centenary Home shirt with some pin stripes like O'Neills used on the in the early 80s and the new badge.

Its not awful.

Posted By: DalyerRegular
Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 8:48pm
https://www.brandmax.com/castore-ireland-home-jersey-senior-371216#colcode=37121615" rel="nofollow - https://www.brandmax.com/castore-ireland-home-jersey-senior-371216#colcode=37121615

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 8:52pm
Seen a comparison with rangers 2022 fourth strip.

Design is identical.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 8:58pm
Meh. I've seen worse  

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 9:11pm
Expected a lot worse. It’s more so the crest that looks terrible than the jersey 

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 9:20pm
Jolly Green LOL

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 9:22pm
If this is it, it’s quite nice actually. Subtle. A real grower .  Small stripes obviously a retro feel . A sense of less is more. A trendy shirt too; tasty with a pair of jeans and nice gutties!   Although the likeness with the Rangers away shirt above is quite amusing 

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 9:29pm
Looks great and a safe bet designwise. Crest let's it down though.

Date Posted: 19 Mar 2023 at 9:54pm
Similar design to one of the retro o Neils jerseys, I will say as par usual shall wait until I see it in person before dismissing it fully