URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=58617
Printed Date: 25 Apr 2024 at 6:32am

Topic: Next Ireland Manager - Criteria
Subject: Next Ireland Manager - Criteria
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:05pm
Be interesting to get peoples consensus on where the next manager will  come from (whenever Kenny does go)

Example candidates:

A - Steve Bruce, Big Sam, Neil Leonnon 
B - Lee Carsley, Brian Barry Murphy, Stephen Bradley
C - Robbie Keane, Damien Duff
D - Bielsa 

A for me seems the most likely, but the worst scenario. Bargin basement shopping again to paper over cracks. sh*t football from semi retarded hasbeens.

B makes most sense IMO, although you could argue it would result in another Kenny situation (lack of top level managerial experience being detrimental.

C would be a car crash. Just no.

D would be great with the right candidate but the money just simply isn't there to attract anyone half decent 

Posted By: Greenie50
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:08pm
I'm not engaging in a referendum over the managers job because of a couple of friendlies. Inane stuff on here tonight.

Posted By: Green Man
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:09pm
Not sure I'd agree with your poll options having Lennon in English part?

Not that I'd want Lennon 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:09pm
Steven Gerrard would be a popular choice. 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:10pm
Originally posted by Greenie50 Greenie50 wrote:

I'm not engaging in a referendum over the managers job because of a couple of friendlies. Inane stuff on here tonight.
If only it was a couple of friendlies not years of failure and mostly losses.

Posted By: Fitz

Right, because up to this point his reign has been a triumph 

Posted By: 84ccfc84
not being funny here but kenny is twice the manager bradley is. 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:12pm
Before people start attacking Big Sam and other English managers they should realise they'd probably turn us down now. It's not the same job as before Kenny took over. We've gone so far backwards I'm not sure we could attract English championship managers. 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:13pm

We could do a lot worse than Gerrard, but again I doubt he'd take it.

Posted By: SeaSharp
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:14pm
Originally posted by Green Man Green Man wrote:

We wouldn't have the money to pay Gerrard for a month, let alone years

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:16pm
The FAI will need someone to fill the seats in the stadium. So I'm sure Roy Keane and even Gerrard will be on their list. 

It's very hard to say who we should go for, we have no idea who even wants the job. Probably very few of the names in this thread would want it. 

Posted By: Nax
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:17pm
Domenico Tedesco...would file him under left field.. Has turned around every team he has gone too in a very very short period Schalke, Leipzig, Spartak etc.Young manager who adapts to the players he has at his disposal. Especially at Schalke when he couldnt sign players and had to make do with what he had. Could probably pass on knowledge of the underage coaching systems in Germany and try and apply best practices in grassroots here. But zero chance we could afford him.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:18pm
Ange Postecoglou but we have now dropped beneath his level

Posted By: Bandwagon
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:24pm
Leam Richardson worth a mention?

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:25pm
Jim Goodwin if he'd take it.

Posted By: B6 6HE
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:29pm
Originally posted by SeaSharp SeaSharp wrote:

Was just about to to post this.

Jim Goodwin or Michael O'Neill

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:29pm
Originally posted by B6 6HE B6 6HE wrote:

I think Goodwin wouldn't touch it unfortunately. He's got a budding career going for him, he'd be mad to throw it away to come manage us.

Posted By: J89
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:31pm

Leam Richardson worth a mention?

Definitely but he's a young coach so likely will wait for club offers.

Could probably count Carsley and BBM out. Southgate was on 500k a year before getting the senior job so Carsley is on decent wages with a handy commute. City surely pay decent wages and BBM probably lives locally too.

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:41pm

Its no longer an attractive job

These are realistic targets

Chris Hughton
Michael O'Neill 
Steve Bruce  

Posted By: 50%lesssugar&salt
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:44pm
Jonathan Hill could ask John Giles to give Paul Jewell another call. 

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:44pm
Goodwin if we could afford to buy him out of his Aberdeen contract. I think he'd probably want the job. Carsley if he wanted a shot at senior football.

Michael O'Neill if people are happy to sacrifice football quality completely in favour of organisation that brings improved results. His style suits international football where there's limited time with the players, but it would be tough stuff to watch (though no tougher than what we're currently being subjected to). Hughton would bring a similar style but is probably past it at this stage.

McKenna at Ipswich but he'd be a nonstarter unfortunately, he's heading towards better things and he knows it. 

There's probably 50+ managers in the English lower leagues that would be an improvement on Kenny if we wanted to go down that road. Even watching Welcome to Wrexham recently the likes of Phil Parkinson would be miles ahead of Kenny, and he's managing in non-league, albeit it's a specific situation with him where there's financial backing to have him there.

Obviously the "names" like Roy Keane, Allardyce, Lurgan Flop etc are instant non-starters. No doubt they'd be up high in the early betting but that's meaningless in terms of actually getting the job.

Posted By: E2016
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:45pm

Nobody cares if you engage in anything. LOL

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:45pm

I think Goodwin wouldn't touch it unfortunately. He's got a budding career going for him, he'd be mad to throw it away to come manage us.

In that case, we are looking at an older manager or damaged goods

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/trainer/verfuegbaretrainer/statistik/189/plus/0/galerie/0?land_id=189&wettbewerb_id=GB2&seit=alle&punkteschnitt=0+-+3&filtern_nach_punkteschnitt=0%3B3&0=0&3=3&spielklasse=0&plus=0" rel="nofollow - https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/trainer/verfuegbaretrainer/statistik/189/plus/0/galerie/0?land_id=189&wettbewerb_id=GB2&seit=alle&punkteschnitt=0+-+3&filtern_nach_punkteschnitt=0%3B3&0=0&3=3&spielklasse=0&plus=0

Steve Wilder

Posted By: Bandwagon
Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:52pm
Left field one, Vahid Halihodzic.

Was most recently manager of Morocco, he qualified them for this World Cup but was sacked after disagreements with the association.

Has also previously managed

Ivory Coast (Qualified them for the 2010 WC)

Algeria (Qualified them for the 2014 WC & reached the last 16 narrowly losing 2-1 in ET to Germany who then went onto hammer Brazil 7-1)

Japan (Qualified for the 2018 WC)

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:55pm

Left field one, Vahid Halihodzic.

Was most recently manager of Morocco, he qualified them for this World Cup but was sacked after disagreements with the association.

Has also previously managed

Ivory Coast (Qualified them for the 2010 WC)

Algeria (Qualified them for the 2014 WC & reached the last 16 narrowly losing 2-1 in ET to Germany who then went onto hammer Brazil 7-1)

Japan (Qualified for the 2018 WC)

Seems to have a good track record but also seems to fall out with people nearly everywhere he goes LOL

Date Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 11:56pm
Philippe Troussier anyone?

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 12:01am
If you squint hard enough then Ollie Horgan could pass for Vahid Halihodzic. I remember when he tried to square up to a fan in the markets field though the gowl deserved it and much more if stewards didn't step in

Posted By: decky_eire
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 12:13am
Age Hareide

I am no miracle worker....... I am just Giovanni

Posted By: TheBigFella32
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 12:24am
Would Dunphy take it? 😄

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 1:03am

No f**king thanks. Callum Davidson is a more successful SPFL manager than Gerrard was.

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 2:36am
Chris Wilder could be worth a punt. He might fancy a change of scenery

Posted By: Adobolo
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 3:57am
For me it's plain and simple, after the world cup offer Anthony Barry what ever he wants to become the Irish manager, even if that means he can keep his coaching role with Chelsea. 
Our best results under kenny came when Barry was actually running the show.
Anthony had us playing the best football and getting results since Mccarthys first tenure. 
He is the football brain we need to get the best out of our young crop. 

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 5:03am
Originally posted by Adobolo Adobolo wrote:

For me it's plain and simple, after the world cup offer Anthony Barry what ever he wants to become the Irish manager, even if that means he can keep his coaching role with Chelsea. 
Anthony had us playing the best football and getting results since Mccarthys first tenure. 

Probably one of the best realistic or semi-realistic options.  

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 6:56am

What the hell is going on LOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 7:02am

Could Joe Biden be tempted? 
Someone in the other thread said Kenny is on more money than him. 

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 9:59am

Said before maybe the way Ghana has gone could be an option of head coach and someone that works above him even like Stan and Robinson before.

Probably easier to get a good young coach to come in and work as a head coach if they're allowed remain with their club side like Barry and Eustace did. Big issues obviously wages of hiring two people and a coaching staff plus the possibility the coach leaves mid campaign for a club job.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 10:00am
Originally posted by Artie Ziff Artie Ziff wrote:

Chris Wilder could be worth a punt. He might fancy a change of scenery

His stock has definitely fallen after Boro that a part time gig with Ireland to get better club offers could be a possibility.

Posted By: Robsham1
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 10:15am

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 10:52am

Hill should be speaking to him and see if he's interested in it.

Mate of mine did the UEFA license with Carsley - and he said he's never take it. He's content just working away in the background etc...

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 11:03am
Carsley has often said how he prefers working with underage teams and helping to develop players rather than senior management. He's got the perfect gig doing England's U21s and working with top talent coming through while doing it on his door step.

Posted By: TheNumber6
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 11:14am
Give it to Giggseh

Posted By: Landsdowne90
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 11:25am
Originally posted by TheNumber6 TheNumber6 wrote:

Give it to Giggseh

Til end of season?

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 12:29pm
Joey Lapira with Ali Dia as his assistant. They couldn't be any worse than Stephen Kenny. I am sure they could muster a 26% winning rate from 30 matches. All they have to do is beat the likes of Malta and Andorra in friendlies, be allowed lose to the likes of Luxembourg and Armenia with no repercussions and have us out of qualifying after 3 matches or so capping a few young lads in between. That's how low the bar has now been set for any new coach.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 1:31pm
Huge % want an up and coming coach with an Irish connection (e.g. Stephen Bradley), which is exactly what Kenny was when hired, and the same people want Kenny out LOL

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 1:32pm

Huge % want an up and coming coach with an Irish connection (e.g. Stephen Bradley), which is exactly what Kenny was when hired, and the same people want Kenny out LOL

I knew this would he the outcome 😂

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 1:37pm

Who is the 'huge' percentage?

There should never be a LOI manager in the job again, unless in 20 years on the back of reform it has improved beyond league 2/conference level, any of them would be miles out of their depth. 

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 1:48pm

I knew this would he the outcome 😂

Posted By: Jimmy Raggatip
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 2:22pm
anyone but fúcking Hughton. We can aim higher than that and appointing him would prove the limited football knowledge of those in charge

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 2:40pm
Ideally I’d like someone who plays an outdated style of football, has managed small to medium sized clubs in England and has absolutely no clue whatsoever about our domestic league or won a trophy in management.

As an added bonus, I’d prefer someone to prioritize players who have 3 senior club appearances over players with 60+ international caps. Someone who won’t play players over 30 years of age.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 2:43pm

Ideally I’d like someone who plays an outdated style of football, has managed small to medium sized clubs in England and has absolutely no clue whatsoever about our domestic league or won a trophy in management.

As an added bonus, I’d prefer someone to prioritize players who have 3 senior club appearances over players with 60+ international caps. Someone who won’t play players over 30 years of age.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 3:14pm

Posted By: TooOldForThis
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 4:16pm

Your first paragraph sounds like Jack Charlton's biography. I would rather win nothing in a half decent league than win a trophy in a Mickey Mouse one! 

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 5:12pm
Originally posted by E2016 E2016 wrote:

There should never be a LOI manager in the job again, unless in 20 years on the back of reform it has improved beyond league 2/conference level, any of them would be miles out of their depth. 

61% of the poll is a huge % LOL

Posted By: Benhur
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 5:18pm
Mark kennedy would probably be best placed to fill that criteria I seen somewhere recently he was the most successful irish coach throughout the leagues not sure if that's true.. Goodwin would be my preferred  choice that's if he was interested init 

Posted By: Badgersboys9
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 5:21pm

61% of the poll is a huge % LOL

Without context maybe. Its 24 people.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 8:14pm

Definitely crucial for the manager to have a clue about our domestic leagues what with all the call ups that we see from it.LOL

Even a LOI manager won't pick those players. If the next manager has never heard of St Pat's it won't make a jot of difference in his ability to manage the senior team.

And a trophy LOL. Get John Caulfield on the buzzer, he got himself a few trophies too. LOLLOL

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 9:32pm
What we need is a manager with a track record of overachieving with a committed but limited group of players. 

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 9:36pm
Jim Goodwin being mentioned widely on this thread, jaysus 

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 9:46pm

Meaning? Done well in his 3 club jobs so far.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 9:54pm

Ah me bollix. So far hes done a decent job at St Mirren. Thats about it. Aberdeen should be in or around 3rd every year in the SPL. Prob be fighting with Hearts for that this year. Im not suggesting he might not be a good manager but the logic of Kenny OMG no but what you might call a middle of the road SPL manager Yes please does not make sense to me. If were dumping Kenny due to what some people might say not a big enough CV i would want a bigger name than Goodwin 

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 9:56pm

Do we really want rid of Kenny who’s highest achievement in Britain is getting a team to the Scottish cup final to replace him with something similar?

Posted By: TooOldForThis
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 10:01pm

Preferably not a manager that gets his team relegated from a Scottish league.

Do we really want rid of Kenny who’s highest achievement in Britain is getting a team to the Scottish cup final to replace him with something similar?

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 10:04pm

Ah me bollix. So far hes done a decent job at St Mirren. Thats about it. Aberdeen should be in or around 3rd every year in the SPL. Prob be fighting with Hearts for that this year. Im not suggesting he might not be a good manager but the logic of Kenny OMG no but what you might call a middle of the road SPL manager Yes please does not make sense to me. If were dumping Kenny due to what some people might say not a big enough CV i would want a bigger name than Goodwin 
I understand that but obviously we have financial constraints, do we really have the money to attract a big name? 

Goodwin kept Alloa up in the 2nd tier despite all the players being part time. We could do with somebody that has even a bit of a track record for overachieving with limited resources.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 10:15pm
Jim Goodwin shouldn't be within an asses roar of the Irish Senior job. That would just be an appointment akin to Stephen Kenny.

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 10:16pm
FFS we’re talking about Alloa now 

Posted By: Territorial
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 10:46pm

Michael O'Neill if people are happy to sacrifice football quality completely in favour of organisation that brings improved results. His style suits international football where there's limited time with the players, but it would be tough stuff to watch (though no tougher than what we're currently being subjected to). Hughton would bring a similar style but is probably past it at this stage.
That misunderstands O'Neill.

At heart he's a pragmatist. Meaning that for his first four years with NI, when all our best players were defenders (4 or 5 PL-standard CB's alone), his teams were defensive. Also had Chris Brunt to take set pieces, and Kyle Lafferty on a run of form to provide a target man up front.

But after the 2016 Euro's a lot of the old guard were in decline, or even retired, while the best new young players coming through were more attack-minded, midfielders etc. As a result, he switched to a more attacking, possession-based style.

This reached its peak in 2019 at home to Germany, where Lowe admitted that NI had completely outplayed Germany in the first half, such that he had to switch his tactics and personnel at H-T to try to deal with it. And even then, after Germany got a fortunate goal early in the second half, they were hanging on to their lead, until Gnabry got a second from a breakaway, 5 mins from the end.

I hadn't believed it possible to be so proud after a 2-0 home defeat as that evening, and Michael was the architect.

I suspect that right now, ROI need someone to organise them like MO'N did for NI  in 2013, but in  any case it's hypotheteical, since the NI job is there for the taking for Michael, and I can't see any way he'd turn it down for ROI.

Posted By: GaretFarellysNutSack
Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 10:49pm
It's going to be Christ f'n Houghton I know it, and it'll be the same bunch of awful players just playing as conservative as possible trying to hold teams to draws and lashing long balls up the pitch. We still wont qualify and it will be even worse to watch. 
Our players can't trap a ball or cross a ball or pass it forward most of the time, there's just no talent. And none coming through that can do anything at this level. 
Remember USA used to come to Lansdowne for friendlies every now and again and we'd usually look a class apart. Last time even I think we put 4 past them, Robbie Brady scored. They looked like they were from a different planet tonight and we're just not getting close to that level in my lifetime in my opinion.
Unless we get ridiculously lucky and get a couple of top class players just by chance. 
It's hopeless. 

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 10:52pm
Originally posted by GaretFarellysNutSack GaretFarellysNutSack wrote:

It's going to be Christ f'n Houghton I know it, and it'll be the same bunch of awful players just playing as conservative as possible trying to hold teams to draws and lashing long balls up the pitch. We still wont qualify and it will be even worse to watch. 
Our players can't trap a ball or cross a ball or pass it forward most of the time, there's just no talent. And none coming through that can do anything at this level. 
Remember USA used to come to Lansdowne for friendlies every now and again and we'd usually look a class apart. Last time even I think we put 4 past them, Robbie Brady scored. They looked like they were from a different planet tonight and we're just not getting close to that level in my lifetime in my opinion.
Unless we get ridiculously lucky and get a couple of top class players just by chance. 
It's hopeless. 

Well everyone’s pretty much been tried at this stage, as has playing a more non-conservative style, and it hasn’t gone too well 

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 10:52pm

Agreed; nowhere near it. 

Date Posted: 21 Nov 2022 at 11:01pm

Well everyone’s pretty much been tried at this stage, as has playing a more non-conservative style, and it hasn’t gone too well 

Exactly. It's hopeless. We are minnows now regardless of who's in charge. 

Posted By: Shermanator1
Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 12:11am

That misunderstands O'Neill.

At heart he's a pragmatist. Meaning that for his first four years with NI, when all our best players were defenders (4 or 5 PL-standard CB's alone), his teams were defensive. Also had Chris Brunt to take set pieces, and Kyle Lafferty on a run of form to provide a target man up front.

But after the 2016 Euro's a lot of the old guard were in decline, or even retired, while the best new young players coming through were more attack-minded, midfielders etc. As a result, he switched to a more attacking, possession-based style.

This reached its peak in 2019 at home to Germany, where Lowe admitted that NI had completely outplayed Germany in the first half, such that he had to switch his tactics and personnel at H-T to try to deal with it. And even then, after Germany got a fortunate goal early in the second half, they were hanging on to their lead, until Gnabry got a second from a breakaway, 5 mins from the end.

I hadn't believed it possible to be so proud after a 2-0 home defeat as that evening, and Michael was the architect.

I suspect that right now, ROI need someone to organise them like MO'N did for NI  in 2013, but in  any case it's hypotheteical, since the NI job is there for the taking for Michael, and I can't see any way he'd turn it down for ROI.

Precisely!  Michael O'Neill assessed his team's relative strengths and weaknesses, and developed a style that allowed them the greatest opportunity to be successful.  They were disciplined, difficult to break down, spirited, and had a bite to them.

Whereas Stephen Kenny came in with a philosophy and style that he has insisted his players conform to, regardless of their talents or ability to do so.

Michael is a pragmatist.  Stephen is a dreamer. Sadly the dream has become a bit of a nightmare.

Is there anyone out there who honestly wouldn't feel more confident of our chances to ultimately reach a major tournament with Michael O'Neill at the helm rather than S.K.?

Posted By: PaddyMaddenIsCounty!
Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 1:15am
Dobt think we getting to tournament with this squad whether o neill or kenny. Football under o neill ended up depressing despite grinding out results, football bit better in stages under kenny but results depressing and he seems to have regressed n become more conservative trying to turn results around but it’s not his style and situation is becoming a farce. Ok saying blooding odd young players but they struggling at club level even in championship. Kenny or no kenny, pragmatism or principle, until our youth fulfill potential at club level the present will always be bleak.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 8:19am
Kenny came in and tried to replicate with Read Madrid were doing with players playing in L1.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 8:31am

Real Madrid are flexible enough tactically. They can dominate the ball when required but they are also happy to absorb pressure and hit on the break. What similarities do you see between them and Kennys Ireland?

If you’re saying that you trying to keep the ball and build from the back is some sort of unrealistic utopian ideal then turn on League 1 and watch most of the teams play. They are not Real Madrid either. There’s a reason why modern teams do this. Fail to evolve and you become extinct. Unfortunately we are behind the curve and have a lot of catching up to do. Given the resistance there is to change, I think we are fooked. I hate the lack of ambition for football in this country 

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 8:40am
Trying to replicate Real Madrid when you don't have technically proficient players is not going to work. It's going to fail. It's not a lack of ambition it's more about taking a pragmatic approach with the players you have available,

A starting point is getting organised at he back and becoming difficult to beat and building the team from there. 

We are too easy to beat, Kenny on record said he's not concerned with the fact that we have conceded sloppy goals from outside the box, I think we conceded 5. Which ended up with Ireland losing those games.

I also don't think Kenny is able to communicate his game plan effectively to the players either. Just a hunch.

Terzino and Bundy's posts are spot on.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 9:19am
Even Bohs and LOI teams keep the ball though, what we were doing pre SK could not continue. I fear the FAI will hire Houghton and whatever little progress we've made in our style of play will have been in vain. 
On the other hand I think the national team is doomed at this stage, I can't see a way out with the state of our own league (yes I go to games as a proud Friday night merchant) and lack of facilities and talent. 

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 9:35am

Trying to replicate Real Madrid when you don't have technically proficient players is not going to work. It's going to fail. It's not a lack of ambition it's more about taking a pragmatic approach with the players you have available,

A starting point is getting organised at he back and becoming difficult to beat and building the team from there. 

We are too easy to beat, Kenny on record said he's not concerned with the fact that we have conceded sloppy goals from outside the box, I think we conceded 5. Which ended up with Ireland losing those games.

I also don't think Kenny is able to communicate his game plan effectively to the players either. Just a hunch.

Terzino and Bundy's posts are spot on.

You're picking Real Madrid rather than Ipswich or Sheffield Wednesday for a reason though. Its reductive. "Don't even bother trying, we're just inferior" is the message. 
Everyone is technical these days. There is not going to be a successful return to the style of Irish teams gone by. 
Our players are going to return to their clubs where, mostly, they will knock the ball about pretty well.

This isn't an argument in favour of keeping Kenny. But this was always my fear when he was appointed. He wouldnt be successful and the fans and administration would abandon any progressive notions we had. 
If Kenny isnt the right man and theres a better attainable alternative then grand, lets appoint him. But we can't go back to packing our defence with no intent to commit bodies forward except for set pieces. 

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 9:59am
It was Kenny that picked Real Madrid and trying to replicate what they are doing. This is what he spoke about in one of the calls.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 10:00am
Originally posted by GaretFarellysNutSack GaretFarellysNutSack wrote:

Even Bohs and LOI teams keep the ball though, what we were doing pre SK could not continue. I fear the FAI will hire Houghton and whatever little progress we've made in our style of play will have been in vain. 
On the other hand I think the national team is doomed at this stage, I can't see a way out with the state of our own league (yes I go to games as a proud Friday night merchant) and lack of facilities and talent. 

I think people massively overestimate the importance of a link between the domestic league and the national team. The top end of the League of Ireland is the equivalent of League 2 in England. Mid table would be equivalent to the National League and, in all honesty, the bottom of the league is probably equivalent to the National League North/South.

The Ireland senior team almost never calls up players from League 2 in England, never mind non-league, and I have no idea when was the last time a League 2 player actually played for us in a competitive game. So there really doesn't need to and shouldn't be any direct link between the LoI and the national senior team.

The domestic league is what it is, it provides opportunities for players to play as full time professionals in Ireland and regularly contributes to underage squads. The better players outgrow it and move on, and always will. There is/was also an under 23 team where domestic based players could stay in the national setup to some extent after Under 21s. Better facilities for spectators are absolutely needed, but the product on the pitch isn't going to change much from what is there now. What it does well in particular is it offers senior football opportunities to developing players at a reasonable standard at a young age, which is a very good thing.

Every now and then a player will emerge from the league and go on and be good enough to play for the senior team - like Fahey, Hoolihan and McGrath. But realistically they'll have to prove themselves at a higher level before they get the chance. Just as John Egan had to move up the divisions in England before he got into the Ireland team.

What we have at the moment is a senior team of mostly Championship level players, with a few Premier League players thrown in. But they're managed by a League 2/National League standard manager. It makes no sense and we probably shouldn't be surprised that it hasn't worked. I think once people accept that the domestic league and the senior team are two completely separate entities that don't need to have any direct relationship with each other it will be better for both the team and the League.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 10:10am

It was Kenny that picked Real Madrid and trying to replicate what they are doing. This is what he spoke about in one of the calls.

Fair enough. I didnt know that. 

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 10:46am
I've said this about Kenny before. There's no doubting he has good ideas and great intentions but I fear he juat hasnt the resence or commanding personality to implement it.  He may be a bit naive.

For all his nice football with Dundalk in the 2016 Europa League they were not gettin results.  Kennys teams just dont seem to get the job done even after good performances.

And lads dont be voming back quoting Azerbaijan and Malta at me. They are the worst teams in Europe.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 11:11am

I've said this about Kenny before. There's no doubting he has good ideas and great intentions but I fear he juat hasnt the resence or commanding personality to implement it.  He may be a bit naive.

For all his nice football with Dundalk in the 2016 Europa League they were not gettin results.  Kennys teams just dont seem to get the job done even after good performances.

And lads dont be voming back quoting Azerbaijan and Malta at me. They are the worst teams in Europe.
In Kenny's defence, a club like Dundalk would never be expected to get results in the Europa League. To have qualified and put in a few good performances like they did was a really good achievement.

Posted By: Fozz
Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 12:11pm

Which adds more credence to the theory that the coaches (Barry especially) were key.
Maybe he'll have a key new coach for March and we'll be far better?

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 12:14pm

Which adds more credence to the throry that the coaches (BVarry especially) were key.
Maybe he'll have a key new coach for March and we'll be far better?

Who of that standard would come into this sinking ship though? Anyone can see they'd be out in under a year with a sacking on their CV. It's notable that the role has been vacant for months since the last lad left for Birmingham.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 12:15pm

In Kenny's defence, a club like Dundalk would never be expected to get results in the Europa League. To have qualified and put in a few good performances like they did was a really good achievement.

Meh. Some of the games were there for them and the opportunity passed them by.  No ruthless streak in his sides.

And if the likes of Dundalk the best side the LOI has produced in donkeys and donkeys years has no hope of competing in a poor standard Europa League then why in the name of God would we need a manager who has any interest in the LOI?!  If its so substandard that merely not disgracing yourself in Europe is seen as an achievement how in the name of God are we supposed to compete at international level scouting and picking players from said league!? 

The LOI is and never will be a league of any decent level that we can draw players from even if attendances quadrupled.

Posted By: Stickittotheman
Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 7:31pm
Any criteria must be based on a track record of achieving success or relative success with limited resources. Chris Hughton gets some amount of criticism on here which is frankly embarrassing considering the state we find ourselves in. There is no doubt in my mind he would do a very solid job. Genuinely he is the only one I see that is available and likely to take the job. A left field choice might be someone like Vladamir Petkovic who is available. Bottom line is Kenny has a pathetic record so anyone defending him hasn't a leg to stand on criticising anyone else.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 9:01pm
Originally posted by Stickittotheman Stickittotheman wrote:

Any criteria must be based on a track record of achieving success or relative success with limited resources. Chris Hughton gets some amount of criticism on here which is frankly embarrassing considering the state we find ourselves in. There is no doubt in my mind he would do a very solid job. Genuinely he is the only one I see that is available and likely to take the job. A left field choice might be someone like Vladamir Petkovic who is available. Bottom line is Kenny has a pathetic record so anyone defending him hasn't a leg to stand on criticising anyone else.

The stick Hughton gets is flabbergasting

Hughton
Wilder
Even Bruce. The Kennian cult will deride all of the above.

All available. Careers at a point where we are attractive option. We can't actually get worse. Plus, they like have a free hit at euro play offs thru NL.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 9:33pm
I think Bruce or Hughton would be regressive appointments.

Wilder on the other hand could be a very good fit. 

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 9:36pm
Originally posted by 50%lesssugar&salt 50%lesssugar&salt wrote:

I think Bruce or Hughton would be regressive appointments.

Wilder on the other hand could be a very good fit. 

Roadie Collins or Pat Fenton would be regressive. 

They Kennys contemporaries. 

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 10:46pm
Wilder or Bruce wouldnt go near it anyway. They are waiting forntheir next Championship job to come around on the wheel. And it will.come round. Personally wouldn't want either anyway.

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 11:14pm

Wilder or Bruce wouldnt go near it anyway. They are waiting forntheir next Championship job to come around on the wheel. And it will.come round. Personally wouldn't want either anyway.
500k per year.

Built in bonus for qualifying. 

Bruce has a fine gaff in the west mids. Hence, his preference for local sides there. He won't travel far afield anymore. Intl ball would suit him. Has irish connection. A geordie. 

Wilder would be more difficult to get. 

Hughton, may be reluctant to take it given how weak we are.

Lennon. Wouldnt fancy him.

Roy. No. Tactically inept.

Robbie. No.

Duff. Has done OK with she's. Has something about him.
Duff with Woy Hodgson is a shout?

Date Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 11:48pm

Wilder is just off the back of a failure with Boro and is probably looking at a long term rebuilding job at a lowe championship club as his next job. We aren't an unattractive proposition for him to quickly restore his reputation.

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2022 at 12:28am
Giuseppe Rossi 

(the Dundalk one)

Posted By: Nialler
Date Posted: 23 Nov 2022 at 1:54am

What we need is a manager with a track record of overachieving with a committed but limited group of players. 

Bielsa :)

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2022 at 2:39am
David O Leary 

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2022 at 7:29am
whoever it is should be told to continue with keeping the ball on the deck , its not exclusive to Kenny, 
a bit of up and under action occasionally to mix it up. 

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2022 at 7:38am

500k per year.

Built in bonus for qualifying. 

Bruce has a fine gaff in the west mids. Hence, his preference for local sides there. He won't travel far afield anymore. Intl ball would suit him. Has irish connection. A geordie. 

Wilder would be more difficult to get. 

Hughton, may be reluctant to take it given how weak we are.

Lennon. Wouldnt fancy him.

Roy. No. Tactically inept.

Robbie. No.

Duff. Has done OK with she's. Has something about him.
Duff with Woy Hodgson is a shout?

Wouldn't let Duff near the job. Also that set up reminds me of Stan/Robson. Would prefer to just have Woy. 

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2022 at 8:19am
You'd want a manager to be able to organise the players, who has a plan A and a plan B and who can motivate them to perform above themselves.

At the moment, none of this is happening.

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2022 at 9:27am

Wilder is just off the back of a failure with Boro and is probably looking at a long term rebuilding job at a lowe championship club as his next job. We aren't an unattractive proposition for him to quickly restore his reputation.

Yeah we might look like an option while he waits for his next club. Most the managers getting hired in the championship now seem to be young coaches so he could be waiting awhile for someone like a Stoke to sack their manager.

Big issue with Wilder is he'd likely be someone that would f**k off after six months if a club job was offered to him.

Date Posted: 23 Nov 2022 at 12:05pm
Herve Renard appears to be the Afrcian/Middle East Bielsa