URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=58407
Printed Date: 25 Apr 2024 at 1:34pm

Topic: Eurovision 2022
Subject: Eurovision 2022
Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 8:00am
The best week of the year is upon us again. First semi final on tonight at 20:00. Ireland not on until Thursdays semi final. Ukraine are on tonight, red hot for favourites this year

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 8:22am
It’s probably worth laying on the maximum bet on Ukraine to win isn’t it? Can see everything going with them

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 8:48am

It’s probably worth laying on the maximum bet on Ukraine to win isn’t it? Can see everything going with them
Ukraine @1/2 so I wouldn’t touch them to be honest. 

Ireland 1/5 not to get out of Thursdays semi finals LOL not very promising 

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 9:23am
Ukraine will get a far bit of sympathy vote from the public but that doesn't mean that will happen with the jury vote so that price is really short: There will be better odds on shots if you are trying to buy money. 
Judging by some of the previews, the 1/5 about Ireland not qualifying is buying money.

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 10:07am

Ukraine will get a far bit of sympathy vote from the public but that doesn't mean that will happen with the jury vote so that price is really short: There will be better odds on shots if you are trying to buy money. 
Judging by some of the previews, the 1/5 about Ireland not qualifying is buying money.

Ukraine's song is atrocious.

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 10:20am
UK the best song in it. Dark horses for me are the Netherlands.

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 10:25am

Sweden for me. UK is very good though. 

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 12:27pm

But no one likes the ukLOL

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 12:44pm

Ukraine's song is atrocious.

They could sing my lovely horse and win by the look of the betting odds
4/7

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 1:23pm

But no one likes the ukLOL
Their songs have just been rubbish in recent years - thats the main reason for them being so bad.
Would be a big surprise if this one doesn't make the top 5. 

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 2:48pm
The Norway one is off the wall mad

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 4:32pm
Who's togging out for Ireland? 

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 9:24pm
The Dutch will finish in the top 5 I’d say.

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 9:43pm

The Norway one is off the wall mad

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 11 May 2022 at 2:59am
Originally posted by cliffrichard cliffrichard wrote:

Who's togging out for Ireland? 

Not sure but judging by the posts there'll be plenty tugging one out for Ireland

Date Posted: 11 May 2022 at 8:13am
I've backed UK and Netherlands but I keep being drawn to the Swedish entry. Might throw a few euro on them.

Date Posted: 11 May 2022 at 12:03pm
Enjoyed the Moldova one. the essence of Eurovision, just a bit mental. Suppose Norway is like that too.
Shame that when we tried that with Dustin it went down like a lead balloon.
Wasn't the usual scantily clad females either that you'd expect.

Date Posted: 11 May 2022 at 1:05pm
Is anyone other than Ukraine going to win it though?

Date Posted: 11 May 2022 at 3:10pm

Ukraine will get the public vote. The jury will judge each song on its merits.

Date Posted: 11 May 2022 at 3:41pm

Ukraine will get the public vote. The jury will judge each song on its merits.
Correct. Ukraine won't get the jury vote.

Posted By: cildaratown
Date Posted: 12 May 2022 at 6:17pm
Hope this doesn’t become a Ukraine sympathy festival. Not that Eurovision is that legit but would rather the best performance win and not Ukraine just because they’re being invaded by Russia. That said, not like politics has ever really been separate from this show. 

Date Posted: 12 May 2022 at 6:17pm
Surprised Brooke isn’t expected to get out of tonight’s show. Song isn’t that bad and hopefully we get the UK vote given she’s from the North. 

Date Posted: 12 May 2022 at 7:47pm
Originally posted by cildaratown cildaratown wrote:

Surprised Brooke isn’t expected to get out of tonight’s show. Song isn’t that bad and hopefully we get the UK vote given she’s from the North. 

It feels like it would have done better if they'd entered it 4 or 5 years ago.

Date Posted: 12 May 2022 at 8:48pm
Malta ClapClapClap

Date Posted: 12 May 2022 at 8:55pm
Can't see Ireland getting through here. Catchy enough tune, but sounded awful

Date Posted: 12 May 2022 at 9:05pm
Thought Brooke’s performance was very good.

Date Posted: 12 May 2022 at 9:26pm

Thought Brooke’s performance was very good.

So did i way better than i thought it would be. Sweden looks pretty good. Potential winner

Date Posted: 12 May 2022 at 10:16pm
Why is Australia part of it?

$$$$$$

Date Posted: 12 May 2022 at 10:20pm
Romania song was awful. Surprised that got through. Ireland are unlucky I think. Easier draw on Tuesday.

Date Posted: 12 May 2022 at 10:27pm
Unlucky not to qualify again 

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 12 May 2022 at 11:01pm
ffs Eurovision lads, songs are generally poor, 3 or 4 tunes out of the lot would be ok.
Lordi, need more of that now.

No Pasaran!

Date Posted: 12 May 2022 at 11:40pm
Any chance we can go through on away goals?

Date Posted: 12 May 2022 at 11:42pm

Any chance we can go through on away goals?

LOL can't ve be number 33

Posted By: Bandwagon
Date Posted: 12 May 2022 at 11:44pm
Send Jedward back next year.

Date Posted: 13 May 2022 at 12:21am

Nah, I reckon we should give Dustin the Turkey another chance. LOL

Date Posted: 13 May 2022 at 12:49am

Nah, I reckon we should give Dustin the Turkey another chance. LOL

It was half tongue in cheek but just read there they've actually been our highest finish (8th) since the year 2000.

..and also, we've only qualified for 7 out the last 16 finals since the introduction of semi's in 2003 and Jedward were 2 of those 7 acts.

So maybe they should send them back!

Date Posted: 13 May 2022 at 1:03am
Send "Who's Eddie" next year ......

Posted By: planning
Date Posted: 13 May 2022 at 1:13am

Correct. Ukraine won't get the jury vote.

Ukraine will clean up the jury vote with all their neighbours, and a lot of the others. Greece can't give 12 points to Cyprus or Macedonia or Albania this year, so that leaves a very clear alternative. 

This is rigged. As it's full of men, I'm not going to vote for it, but as long as they show up, Ukraine has the win in the bag. That doesn't necessarily mean they will host it next year though. Planning the logistics of hosting pan European music contests in the middle of active warzones, isn't really going to get very far. 

Ireland 1/5 not to get out of Thursdays semi finals LOL not very promising 

It was an awful song tbh and didn't deserve to go through. With so much irony and hatred expressed in the lyrics, it wasn't going to travel well. It might help a bit if the song had lyrics that made sense, or the singer was a name, or that she had a clue what exactly she was screeching about for 3 minutes, or even if it was well promoted. Just a bit. 

Whelan went through his annual we was robbed rant after the last qualifier was announced. But whether it's Dustin or Brooke Scullion, we don't really do irony very well at Eurovision. 

Date Posted: 13 May 2022 at 8:02am
Ireland unlucky not to get through. Credit to her, she made a few changes after her qualifying and livened it up a bit and it made made the song some what presentable. It was never going to be a winner or competitive but I think she deserved to get out of the semi final.

Date Posted: 13 May 2022 at 8:11am
We don't have any neighbours to bump up our voted. If we ever going to win or even qualify, we need a very special or unique act. Generic pop song even if performed well is not going to make the cut. 

Send a rock band or a traditional Irish ballad or just a a bloke and his piano and a girl singing a love song together. Or something from LGBT community (Jedward again maybe?). 
You need something that stands out and appeals to people. The Irish one would be like, yeah she did well, ok song if I heard it on radio but not going to pick up the phone for it

Date Posted: 13 May 2022 at 11:14am
I thought this thread was a piss take.

People are generally interested in this?

Posted By: Dugs
Date Posted: 13 May 2022 at 11:31am

ya why not. You get patriotic when its on. its actually good craic, some decent songs. don't take it too seriously. i always enjoy it.

Posted By: jamo1
Date Posted: 13 May 2022 at 11:42am
Originally posted by Dugs Dugs wrote:

ya why not. You get patriotic when its on. its actually good craic, some decent songs. don't take it too seriously. i always enjoy it.

Date Posted: 13 May 2022 at 6:26pm

I didnt actually see any of it so far this year but in general I like the final, it's good to watch with the family and pick your favourite and the points pary of it is good. It's a gimme for Ukraine this year though which will take the fun our of it .

sh*t ireland keep missing out on the final 

Date Posted: 13 May 2022 at 10:57pm
She's made more semi finals than our glorious rugby team has made World cups so for me it hasn't been a bad year.

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 2:05am

I thought you were one of the good guys Brendy CryCryCry

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 8:26pm
Who do we fancy tonight? Have money on Armenia and Netherlands.

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 9:09pm
Ukraine Cool

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 9:33pm

Who do we fancy tonight? Have money on Armenia and Netherlands.

ukraine...but norway with the prize for the providing the best laugh Big smile

Posted By: Slow & Blind
Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 10:29pm
There must be more cocaine consumed at the Eurovision than a Tyson Fury fight. 

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 10:36pm
The bit I don’t understand is why would anyone want to spend money and pay for the text that it takes to vote.  And millions do and get f**k all in return not even the false hope of winning ten grand. 

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 10:43pm

The bit I don’t understand is why would anyone want to spend money and pay for the text that it takes to vote.  And millions do and get f**k all in return not even the false hope of winning ten grand. 
It’s 60 cent FFS.

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 10:44pm
Don’t think the standard this year was as good as last years.

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 10:56pm
Ukraine are 2/9 now

Apparently Putins on the verge of withdrawing his troops if they get the song contest over the line 

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 10:57pm
pretty meh alright. the hosts didn't help, fairly annoying.

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 11:00pm
The Spanish song was a grower 

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 11:06pm

It’s 60 cent FFS.

I know but you get literally nothing for it.  What is the point of voting.  It’s 60 cent per vote and you can vote 20 times.  Why would anyone vote. 

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 11:11pm

It’s 60 cent FFS.

I know but you get literally nothing for it.  What is the point of voting.  It’s 60 cent per vote and you can vote 20 times.  Why would anyone vote. 
You like a song, you vote. What’s the point of anything?

Posted By: ripbomb
Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 11:14pm
Brit's going to romp home 

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 11:17pm
Originally posted by ripbomb ripbomb wrote:

Brit's going to romp home 
This is just the jury. Public vote will be different.

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 11:18pm

It’s 60 cent FFS.

You like a song, you vote. What’s the point of anything?

Usually when one spends money they get a product or a service.  You literally get f**k all for this.  Even it was free I wouldn’t understand why millions vote but they very fact they charge for it makes it baffling.  Same
Numbskulls who vote by text on reality tv shows.  It really is a stupidity tax.  

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 11:24pm
nail biting stuff

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 11:35pm
https://twitter.com/ChrisGibsonNews" rel="nofollow - - - Chris Gibson
https://twitter.com/ChrisGibsonNews" rel="nofollow - https://twitter.com/ChrisGibsonNews" rel="nofollow - - @ChrisGibsonNews

Breaking - https://twitter.com/EBU_HQ/" rel="nofollow - @ - EBU_HQ says "irregular voting patterns were identified in the results of six countries."

https://twitter.com/ChrisGibsonNews/status/1525604676191887366" rel="nofollow - 11:31pm · 14 May 2022 · https://help.twitter.com/en/using-twitter/how-to-tweet#source-labels" rel="nofollow - Twitter Web App

OH OH!!!!

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 11:43pm
😬😬

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 11:49pm
Switzerland LOL

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 11:53pm
Hopefully not the tans or swedes.

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 11:55pm
Ukraine it is I'd say

400pts LOL

Be shocked if the others overtake

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:01am
Ukraine ClapClapClapClapClap

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:04am
the public came good ClapClapClap

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:05am
God bless Ukraine ClapClapClap

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:06am
Imagine trying to hack the Eurovision LOL

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:07am
Of course they won.

Scotland should do the right thing next month too and bang in a few own goals.

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:07am

Of course they won.

Scotland should do the right thing next month too and bang in a few own goals.
it should stop there though LOLLOLLOL

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:13am
they practically got 12 points off every one of the 39 countries that voted through the public vote.  Only dropping 37 points.  Picking up an average of 11 points off every one of the 39 countries that voted. They were never going to be caught. 

Posted By: Trigboy 10
Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:14am
6 men who should be out fighting.

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:20am
Originally posted by Trigboy 10 Trigboy 10 wrote:

erm they were and said they'll be back on the frontline on monday Stern Smile

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:20am

Go f**k yourself. Literally one of that band is fighting in the war and he wasn’t on stage. You absolute ****.

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:21am

LOL Trigger is back baby Clap

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:23am

Go f**k yourself. Literally one of that band is fighting in the war and he wasn’t on stage. You absolute ****.
Wow freedom of speech! Some fool! Go off there and start crying on your porch again 

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:24am
Zinchenko or your lad from Everton should win PFA Player of the year on this basis

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:25am
f**k me you'd swear it was a horrendous song the way some lads are getting pissy over this LOL

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:26am
thought it was a catchy tune tbh, the ballads were meh.

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:27am

Wow freedom of speech! Some fool! Go off there and start crying on your porch again 
I’m exercising my freedom of speech by calling you a ****. You’re a ****. An absolute ****. Stop crying you snowflake. You’re a ****.

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:28am

thought it was a catchy tune tbh, the ballads were meh.

Very catchy I thought. Clap

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:32am

I’m exercising my freedom of speech by calling you a ****. You’re a ****. An absolute ****. Stop crying you snowflake. You’re a ****.
Think you’re the snowflake! Maybe you should Google it. Maybe stay off the drink aswell for the rest of the night you’ve had enough. 

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:34am
stop sitting on the fence there Franko 

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:38am

Think you’re the snowflake! Maybe you should Google it. Maybe stay off the drink aswell for the rest of the night you’ve had enough. 
Maybe stop making ignorant comments and using “freedom of speech” as an excuse for your stupid comments.

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:43am

Maybe stop making ignorant comments and using “freedom of speech” as an excuse for your stupid comments.
You’re so tolerant a great example to us all. Bravo!

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:46am

1 member of the band is fighting as we speak. The rest of the lads are going back to fight on Monday. Freedom of speech doesn’t excuse you from being an idiot.

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:52am

1 member of the band is fighting as we speak. The rest of the lads are going back to fight on Monday. Freedom of speech doesn’t excuse you from being an idiot.
You sound like their spokesperson. At least you’ve cut down on the language. Go to bed now Frank.

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:53am
Go edit your comment you gobsh*te.

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:58am

Your boring me now! If it wasn’t so sad I’d find it funny. 

Posted By: planning
Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 1:46am
The brits haven't won it now in 25 years. Maybe they might have won it in another year, but the winners of this one were known before Paddy's Day. 

Onto next year in Kiev. Maybe. 

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 9:29am

Next time you abuse someone in here, it'll be a ban 👍

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 9:31am

Ukraine are 2/9 now

Apparently Putins on the verge of withdrawing his troops if they get the song contest over the line 

Got 3.7 on betfair exchange at 11.37, happens every year, people don't know how the odds work, and you get mad odds for a few mins. 

You could get 1. 1 for a little while when it was mathematically certain they'd win

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 10:02am

Next time you abuse someone in here, it'll be a ban 👍

Wise up ffs! The state of Triggers comment and you choose to concentrate on Franko’s post.

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 10:10am

Fair point in last post, I'd not read through the thread and just saw that post 

You've been banned from the a few times Trig, you're dangerously close to it being permanent

Posted By: B6 6HE
Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:00pm

FIFA ought to do the right thing and give World Cup trophy to Ukraine

UEFA ought to give Champions League title to CSKA Kiev

Only fair

Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 12:57pm
Uk song was muck if you ask me. No idea how it got so many points. Spain and Sweden were the 2 best songs. Either one of them shud have won. Ukraine's wasnt an awful song. Spain probably had the best performer and performance. 

Posted By: newrynyuk
Date Posted: 15 May 2022 at 1:58pm
UK entry was decent enough, the strongest British song in years.  Let's hear no more excuses from the Brits about nobody likes them and vote against them.  They got nul point in the past becuase they were sh*te songs.  Enter a good song and it'll get votes.  It's a lesson Ireland could learn too, to be honest.