URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=58264
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 6:44pm

Topic: Scotland Away 24th Sep 2022
Subject: Scotland Away 24th Sep 2022
Date Posted: 02 Feb 2022 at 4:36pm
So thinking of going over for the Scotland game on the 23rd Sep 2022

I imagine ticket will be like gold and very hard to come by for the away end. Any help will be appreciated

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2022 at 4:41pm
Book your transport and hotel anyway. Keep an eye on the Scottish FA for general sale tickets.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2022 at 4:41pm
So, you have to try and give yourself a chance of being in the mix for a Scotland ticket: Get yourself a season ticket if you don't have one already and try and get to the Ukraine and Armenia away games if you can (both of those unlikely to fill our allocation). That still might not be quite enough for a Scotland away ticket but it would help you for future games moving forward.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2022 at 5:49pm

So, you have to try and give yourself a chance of being in the mix for a Scotland ticket: Get yourself a season ticket if you don't have one already and try and get to the Ukraine and Armenia away games if you can (both of those unlikely to fill our allocation). That still might not be quite enough for a Scotland away ticket but it would help you for future games moving forward.
Straight forward enough so. Just 2 trips half way around the world first,then your sorted

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2022 at 6:00pm
with the new ticketing system I imagine it wont be anywhere near as hard to get tickets as it was for “big” aways like this before, but you’d still need a season ticket and a few aways on your account 

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2022 at 6:05pm

Straight forward enough so. Just 2 trips half way around the world first,then your sorted

Or Indulge in some Harvesting.

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2022 at 6:24pm

Everyone has to start somewhere. 

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2022 at 6:28pm

with the new ticketing system I imagine it wont be anywhere near as hard to get tickets as it was for “big” aways like this before, but you’d still need a season ticket and a few aways on your account 

this 

Luxembourg away last year being a prime example 

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2022 at 8:51pm
Is the season ticket a pre requisite now for away tickets or whats the story

Posted By: wanderer
Date Posted: 02 Feb 2022 at 9:05pm

If its over subscribed its season ticket plus x number of away games from the previous 9 undersubscribed games 

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2022 at 9:44pm

If its over subscribed its season ticket plus x number of away games from the previous 9 undersubscribed games 

Mmm that's a bit annoying. Been season ticket holder for a good while but can only make 2 of the next season ticket games so pointless enough getting one

Date Posted: 02 Feb 2022 at 10:33pm

Mmm that's a bit annoying. Been season ticket holder for a good while but can only make 2 of the next season ticket games so pointless enough getting one
Fairly sure a season ticket has been part of the away criteria for oversubscribed games for the last few years so not really new

Posted By: Roberto_Carlow
Date Posted: 03 Feb 2022 at 7:46am
Scotland away in the Nations League won't be as popular as it would be if it was a qualifer imo. 

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2022 at 9:23am
If Scotland are going to a world cup it will be very popular.

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2022 at 11:30am

To the Scots, more so than ourselves.

We'll have a fair wedge travel but it won't be near what was in Parkhead that time.

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2022 at 12:11pm

We'll have a fair wedge travel but it won't be near what was in Parkhead that time.
Sorry that's what I meant in regards to getting home end tickets. Our away support is very average at best and appalling compared to what the Scots bring on their travels.
Our last aways where away fans were permitted.
Luxembourg 1200
Baku 200
Geneva 3000
Tbilisi 300
Copenhagen (not sure but wasnt over subscribed) maybe 3000

Posted By: ColemanKillybegs123
Date Posted: 03 Feb 2022 at 4:23pm
I'd say if its a shootout between ourselves and the scots to top the group, we'll have a good crowd heading over

We're on the one road!

Posted By: VanBosch
Date Posted: 03 Feb 2022 at 6:06pm

Sorry that's what I meant in regards to getting home end tickets. Our away support is very average at best and appalling compared to what the Scots bring on their travels.
Luxembourg 1200
Baku 200
Geneva 3000
Tbilisi 300

Not That I disagree with your general point but there was more than 300 in Tbilisi wasn’t there?

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2022 at 7:44pm
Originally posted by VanBosch VanBosch wrote:

Luxembourg 1200
Baku 200
Geneva 3000
Tbilisi 300

Not That I disagree with your general point but there was more than 300 in Tbilisi wasn’t there?
Yer close to five hundred i would have said 

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2022 at 7:54pm
Scots only have us 5% the last time wasn't it? 
If it is 10% of hampden that maybe that might be enough? 

Will also depend on how both teams fair out

Date Posted: 03 Feb 2022 at 8:25pm

They've only to give us 5% and if they're off to the world cup in November there's not a hope of them giving us 10%

The new ticketing system though will ensure that the allocation is done fairly though amongst Ireland fans unlike the previous trip to Scotland. 

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2022 at 8:51am

They've only to give us 5% and if they're off to the world cup in November there's not a hope of them giving us 10%

The new ticketing system though will ensure that the allocation is done fairly though amongst Ireland fans unlike the previous trip to Scotland. 
That was the start of JDs down fall for sure .

Posted By: tapfit2004
Date Posted: 04 Feb 2022 at 1:42pm

That was the start of JDs down fall for sure .

I know a fella who was in a restaurant with about 10 lads from his job a few months before the the last Scotland game. Delaney was in the same restaurant and one of the lads went up and asked him for tickets for the game in Celtic Park. JD gave yer man his email and sorted them all out with tickets. A few of them had never been at an Ireland game home or away and none of them were season ticket holders.

We ended up two sections over from the away section behind the goals with a row of rangers supporters in front of us. Great craic so it was. 

Let Christy Take It.

Posted By: Roberto_Carlow
Date Posted: 04 Feb 2022 at 2:35pm
Scotland away turned into a disaster for me last time. Was one of the many with great away records that got that Friday email telling me I was unsuccessful. 

Four of us regular travellers then bought tickets in the exec area at hampden on my card, and then I ended up with a further four from the FAI once we had all complained. As I didn't need the four exec tickets, I organised them to be sold for charity and they want for £200 each, nice £800 for charity.

I had eight tickets on me day of the game, and was driving up from Cheshire as was working there. Motorway got completely blocked from an oil spill and I moved 4 mile in 5 hours. Problem here is it meant not only did I have to refund the lads who had paid me for the fai tickets,  I also had to refund the £800 to the people who had donated to charity, as they weren't going to receive their tickets.

Managed to get off the motorway just in time to watch in a boozer as we lost, and nearly a grand out of pocket.

Moral of the story - Don't do anything for charity. 

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2022 at 2:39pm
Holy sh*t that is some misfortunate there Roberto

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2022 at 2:41pm
yip the only good thing about the last Scotland away game was it was in a small way the beginning of the end for JD 

Posted By: Badgersboys9
Date Posted: 04 Feb 2022 at 4:27pm
Met plenty of fellas at that Scotland game who had no interest in football nevermind Ireland and said it was there first ever time going to a match.

Date Posted: 04 Feb 2022 at 7:28pm
I have no interest going back there i have to say to watch a game  .

Posted By: forza trapp
Date Posted: 19 Feb 2022 at 1:02pm
Got home end tickets two blocks away from our corner, a group of Hearts fans made it as uncomfortable as possible for us. With that and being refused entry to two pubs in the city centre it was my least enjoyable away trip, but plan to head over again hopefully .

Posted By: belt
Date Posted: 14 Apr 2022 at 4:12pm
This is now on Sat 24th Sept, moved from 23rd. The days delay seems to have gone under the radar, not highlighted in any article I've seen

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2022 at 4:19pm
Originally posted by belt belt wrote:

This is now on Sat 24th Sept, moved from 23rd. The days delay seems to have gone under the radar, not highlighted in any article I've seen
Check out the fixtures thread in ROI. Cool

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2022 at 4:21pm
I was due to fly back Saturday, €90 to change for Ryanair

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2022 at 4:24pm
ffs

My too - flying home with Ryanair on the Sat. I am absolutely sick of this nonsense.

Posted By: belt
Date Posted: 14 Apr 2022 at 4:34pm

I was due to fly back Saturday, €90 to change for Ryanair

Same as but €33 change with Aer Lingus. 8.35 am flight home Sunday now thoughDead

Posted By: Pauldaly1984
Date Posted: 14 Apr 2022 at 4:46pm
due back Saturday too . Would travel insurance cover 

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2022 at 5:39pm
easier to get to Belfast but 2 flights I need to try and recoup 

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2022 at 6:18pm
Why on earth was this fixture date changed?! Stern Smile

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2022 at 6:34pm

Because one of the Scotland Ukraine nations league games has been moved into this window. 

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2022 at 6:35pm

Because one of the Scotland Ukraine nations league games has been moved into this window. 

Date Posted: 14 Apr 2022 at 6:36pm
Could possibly be an afternoon kick off which would allow for a day trip .

Posted By: Mr_T
Date Posted: 14 Apr 2022 at 8:23pm
Originally posted by TBWRA TBWRA wrote:

Anyone have any indication when kick off times might be confirmed.

Booked with easyJet so it seems not to bad to change flights.  If I can get a late one back the night of the game won't even need to change accomodation.  Could be all sorted for £25

Date Posted: 20 Apr 2022 at 1:01pm
Originally posted by Mr_T Mr_T wrote:

Originally posted by TBWRA TBWRA wrote:

Anyone have any indication when kick off times might be confirmed.

Booked with easyJet so it seems not to bad to change flights.  If I can get a late one back the night of the game won't even need to change accomodation.  Could be all sorted for £25

I'd imagine we will know soon enough, although earliest I can see this one on would be 5pm, you'd be cutting it tight to be leaving Hampden to be grabbing a late flight from Glasgow

We're on the one road!

Date Posted: 22 Apr 2022 at 4:59pm
Tix for Scotland Home end for Sale already

https://tickets.scottishfa.co.uk/PagesPublic/ProductBrowse/ProductHome.aspx?ProductSubType=MENA" rel="nofollow - Mens 'A' | Scottish FA

We're on the one road!

Date Posted: 22 Apr 2022 at 5:09pm
Originally posted by ColemanKillybegs123 ColemanKillybegs123 wrote:

https://tickets.scottishfa.co.uk/PagesPublic/ProductBrowse/ProductHome.aspx?ProductSubType=MENA" rel="nofollow - Mens 'A' | Scottish FA

They were on sale ages ago after the draw was done and the original fixture was confirmed.

From what I've seen today there's irish lads snapping up tickets that come available today. Wouldn't be surprised if the Scots put a stop to that.

Game confirmed today for a 7.45 kick off as well

Posted By: Bandwagon
Date Posted: 22 Apr 2022 at 5:33pm

They were on sale ages ago after the draw was done and the original fixture was confirmed.

From what I've seen today there's irish lads snapping up tickets that come available today. Wouldn't be surprised if the Scots put a stop to that.

They didn't give much of a f**k back in 2014, they probably wont care for a much less significant NL game that probably wont even sell out either.

Date Posted: 22 Apr 2022 at 5:44pm

They didn't give much of a f**k back in 2014, they probably wont care for a much less significant NL game that probably wont even sell out either.
True, but this could well be their last home game if they get to the world cup, that'd sell out no problem.

We also know how much of a mess ticketing was in 2014 so they didn't have much choice probably but to allow it.

Date Posted: 22 Apr 2022 at 8:36pm
I presume this will be oversubscribed for Irish fans?

Date Posted: 22 Apr 2022 at 8:41pm
Depends on the allocation and if the FAI can secure a reciprocal agreement for away fans in Dublin. I think our entitlement is around 2.5k so with a proper scheme in place these days, those that deserve will recieve.

Posted By: Downman
Date Posted: 23 Apr 2022 at 8:53pm
I have heard that G7 G8 & G6 sections of Hampden park have been bought by Irish support, got myself two tickets today myself, extremely cheap

Posted By: King_Kenny
Date Posted: 24 Apr 2022 at 2:01pm
Originally posted by Downman Downman wrote:

I have heard that G7 G8 & G6 sections of Hampden park have been bought by Irish support, got myself two tickets today myself, extremely cheap
Took a couple of these as insurance in case my options for the Ireland section fall through.

Date Posted: 25 Apr 2022 at 4:43pm
Originally posted by King_Kenny King_Kenny wrote:

Originally posted by Downman Downman wrote:

Took a couple of these as insurance in case my options for the Ireland section fall through.

bought 3 tix in G7 also. A nice bit of insurance to have

We're on the one road!

Posted By: Beavis
Date Posted: 29 Apr 2022 at 8:21pm
I3 bought...cant believe was so easy !
Started out trying to put in my old UK number and address...but no need.

Was there an Irish outdoor tinnies congregation last time out? 

Mount Florida is not too nice, but nearby Pollokshaw Road is lovely, esp on a warm eve. Queen's Park/Pollockshaw Road might be the place. Not meaning to be dramatic but wonder if there'd be trouble at Georges Square or Glasgow Green.

<insert witty comment>

Posted By: ccfcmurphy
Date Posted: 30 Apr 2022 at 4:36pm
Got 4 tickets for the home end. Do people think the Scot’s would mind the presence of a few Irish in the home end ? 

There's no point being the richest man in the graveyard

Posted By: EireDub
Date Posted: 30 Apr 2022 at 5:48pm
Originally posted by ccfcmurphy ccfcmurphy wrote:

Got 4 tickets for the home end. Do people think the Scot’s would mind the presence of a few Irish in the home end ? 

Sure they’re thinking of doing the same when they visit us 

Date Posted: 30 Apr 2022 at 7:40pm

I didn't have a plesent experience in the home end last time round.

Date Posted: 30 Apr 2022 at 7:44pm

Eh yeah I think they'll mind.

Wouldn't recommend it

Posted By: limerick lad
Date Posted: 30 Apr 2022 at 8:32pm

I didn't have a plesent experience in the home end last time round.

Similar. I was expecting it to be hostile but the amount of sectarian stuff shocked me. 

just hit the fecking thing

Date Posted: 01 May 2022 at 12:38am

was in the home end myself last time we were there and it was hostile in the extreme. 90 mins of pure venom.

Date Posted: 01 May 2022 at 8:36am
no real issues beside the  away fans section though clearly plenty did 

Still am sure the away fans in the away section enjoyed their first away game …..

Posted By: trapscat
Date Posted: 01 May 2022 at 9:06am

was in the home end myself last time we were there and it was hostile in the extreme. 90 mins of pure venom.
Had tickets myself in the away, my two mates were in d home section, far end of ground, someone spat at them. They said it was hostile. Not going this time

Date Posted: 01 May 2022 at 9:27am

Still am sure the away fans in the away section enjoyed their first away game …..

Date Posted: 02 May 2022 at 7:59am

Date Posted: 04 May 2022 at 12:38pm

We're on the one road!

Date Posted: 04 May 2022 at 1:12pm

I met fellas in the away end and it was the first match they had been at never mind an away game.

Date Posted: 04 May 2022 at 2:08pm
Anyone here getting the boat over from Larne to Cairnryan? 

We're on the one road!

Date Posted: 04 May 2022 at 8:23pm

Anyone here getting the boat over from Larne to Cairnryan? 

Remember if someone is organising a bus to let Gerk know the correct hotel to go to Wink

Posted By: T HEP O U N DING
Date Posted: 05 May 2022 at 9:51pm
Do we know when ticket information for the away end will be announced? First time applying through the season ticket, not sure at all about the process

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 7:01am
Originally posted by T HEP O U  N DING T HEP O U N DING wrote:

Do we know when ticket information for the away end will be announced? First time applying through the season ticket, not sure at all about the process

Bit early for a panic Smile

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 9:05am

Yep haha. I would imagine the scots are waiting to see what we'll give them and hopefully return the favour

We're on the one road!

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 9:09am

Yep haha. I would imagine the scots are waiting to see what we'll give them and hopefully return the favour
5% we gave them

Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 9:39am

5% we gave them

Let the panic commence so LOL

We're on the one road!

Posted By: Garethr95
Date Posted: 10 May 2022 at 9:17pm
I also bought tickets for the Scotland home end. It is my first game watching Ireland away from home. 

Surprised to hear that the scottish fans would be sectarian. I thought dark side of glasgow would be to busy supporting England to care about going to a Scotland game! 

Would travel over to watch Celtic regularly. Id imagine the gallowgate or graces will be the spot for the Irish away support. 

Posted By: Il Principe
Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 1:34am
was this game changed from the friday to the saturday?

Date Posted: 14 May 2022 at 7:08am
Originally posted by Il Principe Il Principe wrote:

was this game changed from the friday to the saturday?

Yeah a number of weeks ago to facilitate Ukraine needing to play in the play offs for world cup. 

Posted By: FlyinFlynner
Date Posted: 17 May 2022 at 3:43pm
3 of us have bought tickets for Home End Section K2. Had a few gargles in us buying them and only now realizing we are up in the gods.

Date Posted: 17 May 2022 at 6:23pm
4 of us in the home end too, Section F2.
Does anyone know which section the away end will be ? 

Posted By: PMc10
Date Posted: 17 May 2022 at 6:31pm
isbthisba sell out or is there still an option to buy?

Date Posted: 17 May 2022 at 6:40pm
There’s still some available. You literally just need an email to set up an account.

Posted By: PMc10
Date Posted: 17 May 2022 at 6:57pm
thank you

Date Posted: 17 May 2022 at 7:01pm
Originally posted by PMc10 PMc10 wrote:

isbthisba sell out or is there still an option to buy?
Home end tickets online but wouldn't be recommended after the experience others had in the home end last time.

Away tickets won't be open for applications until a few weeks before the match

Date Posted: 17 May 2022 at 7:05pm

4 of us in the home end too, Section F2.
Does anyone know which section the away end will be ? 
Opposite end of the ground. Usually around A1-A5

Posted By: Qazaishvili
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 1:04pm
Considering buying tickets in the home section for this one given that there should be a big demand for away end tickets.  Has anyone any idea what kind of an away record you would need to secure an away end ticket? 

"..but the fools, the fools, the fools! they have left us our Fenian dead..."

Posted By: Robsham1
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 2:57pm
Originally posted by Qazaishvili Qazaishvili wrote:

Considering buying tickets in the home section for this one given that there should be a big demand for away end tickets.  Has anyone any idea what kind of an away record you would need to secure an away end ticket? 

According to Scottish FA website its now a Sell Out!

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 2:59pm
Wouldn't be advising anyone to go into the home end after the sh1te that went on at the last game.

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 3:35pm

I was successful in getting a ticket for the Euro 2020 play-off in Bratislava (22k capacity stadium) with only a couple of away games on my record at that time (before the pandemic f**ked everything up!). I also got a ticket for Luxembourg away (even smaller stadium, 10k capacity) with the same record.

Main difference between last time we played Scotland and now of course is that John Delaney is no longer there to dish out tickets to his mates in the 'Football Family'. Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 3:43pm

I was successful in getting a ticket for the Euro 2020 play-off in Bratislava (22k capacity stadium) with only a couple of away games on my record at that time (before the pandemic f**ked everything up!). I also got a ticket for Luxembourg away (even smaller stadium, 10k capacity) with the same record.

Main difference between last time we played Scotland and now of course is that John Delaney is no longer there to dish out tickets to his mates in the 'Football Family'. Thumbs Up

Yeah the away record was far less important the last time. It was more about meeting John randomly around Ireland and asking him for a ticket. That worked far better than actually travelling to away games. 

Let Christy Take It.

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 3:45pm

This ,

fair few i know arent going and i would expect anybody with any sort of away record say 2 away games to be ok 

Posted By: Qazaishvili
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 3:59pm
thanks for the replies lads. I'll only have one post-covid away game on my record by the time we play in Glasgow, but I'd have 2 of the last 3 away games pre-covid if that makes sense (Copenhagen and Geneva). I was thinking of just getting a home end ticket and covering up the Ireland jersey if I can't get an away ticket (and now also actually mange to find a home ticket!). Couldn't imagine any away fans ever getting hassle like that at the Aviva!     

"..but the fools, the fools, the fools! they have left us our Fenian dead..."

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 4:25pm

I think the Playoff was 2 aways on the record and even a lucky few with 1 got offered returns. That’s probably the best to work off as I think we got over 2000 tickets and if we get 5% for September we are due a similar number. Uptake on recent away games haven’t been that higher either since covid. Baku, Armenia and Poland all small enough numbers it seems and Luxembourg just about oversubscribed.

Posted By: lukesmyth9
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 4:53pm
I reckon 2/4 of the last away games will probably be okay post covid so any two of Azerbaijan, Luxembourg , Armenia and Ukraine. This is just my guess by the way! 

Date Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 7:32pm
Originally posted by lukesmyth9 lukesmyth9 wrote:

I reckon 2/4 of the last away games will probably be okay post covid so any two of Azerbaijan, Luxembourg , Armenia and Ukraine. This is just my guess by the way! 
Luxembourg was marginally oversubscribed so it won’t be counted.

Posted By: lukesmyth9
Date Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 10:04pm
Apologies, then 2/4 that were undersubsciried

Posted By: Mr_T
Date Posted: 09 Jun 2022 at 8:23pm
On a positive note the demand for tickets for this is dropping by the game!! Big smile

Posted By: Neilly71
Date Posted: 10 Jun 2022 at 10:51am
Hi folks, Scottish guy here. just to answer a few questions that i read, there is pretty much zero chance of any trouble in George Sq or wherever else was mentioned. As regards any bother with folk being in the Scotland end, it probably depends on the people, if youre being dicks then there may well be a lot of verbals but its the same anywhere, going into any away teams end is always prone to troublesome moments, ive done it following Celtic and tbh didnt enjoy either time so wouldnt do it again. Also depends on the imnportance of the fixture, believe it or not, Scotland are playing fairly well at the moment (apart from the Ukraine match) so folk are fairly hyped up just now. In general, (apart from the usual unionist knuckledraggers) the Scots look very favourably upon our Irish cousins, the best folk that arent us. but as with any crowd theres always going to be a few bellends. Sorry to hear about any sectarian abuse dished out at the game in Glasgow, Hearts fans are almost as bad as the huns, theyre known as diet huns. I've never heard any sectarian stuff at Scotland games and know quite a few fellow Celtic fans that are in the Scotland travel club, I know there used to be sectarian chants at Scotland games, but that was from the hun end and that stopped about 25 , 30 years ago when the majority of the staunch unionists decided to stop going to Scotland games, its all a bit weird and complicated as im sure you folk will understand but  there wont be any bother at all, pubs will be open to both sets of fans, no reason to be bothered about where you drink, youre not likely to wander into a loyalist pub on the south side of Glasgow, doubt there are many in the city centre either, but you'd know the signs quick enough. I could recommend some pubs that are close to Hampden, walking distance. And some some friendly Celtic pubs that arent far away either.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2022 at 10:57am
Edit: there are loyalist pubs in the south Side but none anywhere near Hampdem that I can think of, more over by Ibrox, Paisley Rd Toll, or outlying areas like Cambuslang, Rutherglen and theres no earthly reason you'd need to be over there for the game. (and if you in those areas are theres plenty decent pubs where you'd be more than welcome)

Posted By: Jack City
Date Posted: 10 Jun 2022 at 1:48pm
Thanks for the info Neilly, last time some pubs didn't want to serve us with our Irish colours on.Is it still the same policy,or are we better off just going to Celtic bars.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2022 at 6:24pm
Originally posted by Jack City Jack City wrote:

Thanks for the info Neilly, last time some pubs didn't want to serve us with our Irish colours on.Is it still the same policy,or are we better off just going to Celtic bars.

I've been there for a load of celtic games and you'd get away with a Jersey on the day of the match but we would always change or cover them up if we were heading back into the city centre after the game. The blue fellas in Glasgow wouldn't really see much difference between the Irish jersey and the celtic one. 

Didn't have a great time in celtic park the last time Ireland played there. We were behind the goals 2 sections over from the away section and there was a line of blue fellas in the row in front of us, proper asshole. They could have been mini blues (maroonies) either. 

Let Christy Take It.

Date Posted: 10 Jun 2022 at 7:16pm
Had absolutely zero issues in any pub with colours on, before or after the match. 

Date Posted: 11 Jun 2022 at 2:17pm
I wouldnt have thought any or many pubs would turn you away because you were wearing colours but it does happen, even to Scotland fans.  Neutral Glasgow pubs generally have a "no colours" rule relating to anything Celtic / rangers to stop trouble, theyd need to be thick to see Irish fans in colurs and think Celtic but some people are thick, so I daresay the vast majority of fans will have no problems atall but therell probably be someone who gets told to cover their shirt etc... Anyway, lots of pubs in the city centre so if oen refuses theres always the next one. Some bars might just use it as an excuse because they dont want a group of drunk football fans in. Bars around Hampden will be fine either way. Montford and Beechwood are closest but will be busy, 100 acres is a ten minute walk only. On the other side of the stadium Clockwork or Florida Park (if its still open) and Armstrongs are your best bet. Beechings is only 10 minutes away. Church on the Hill will likely be usy. A good wee pub thats often overlooked is The Old Smiddy in Cathcart, its a "friendly" pub and a 15 minute walk away. You wont get any bother in any of the pubs mentioned.  Theres no pubs in Mount Florida as it was a dry area, but theres a snooker club with a bar, canny mind if you need to be signed in or no, its called Minnesota Fats.

Date Posted: 12 Jun 2022 at 7:04pm
Fair play NeillyThumbs Up