Subject: New Christmas traditions
Date Posted: 24 Dec 2021 at 8:23pm
Elf on the shelf

A family photo wearing your pyjamas 

The term “merry Christmas from our home to yours” posted on social media 

Date Posted: 24 Dec 2021 at 8:35pm
Let me guess - you've seen a picture on FB posted by a friend of himself and his family in their Christmas pj's with an elf on a shelf in the background and the picture is captioned with that greeting? LOL

Edit: please tell me you're not responsible for this yourself. LOL

Date Posted: 24 Dec 2021 at 9:00pm
Three different FB posts actually, didn't get them all in one 

No, haven't got involved in any of these yet

Date Posted: 24 Dec 2021 at 9:21pm
The joys of having got rid of FB, not have Instash*te of Twatter.

Date Posted: 24 Dec 2021 at 10:09pm
Whatever about new traditions, this 'The way we were at Christmas' on RTE right now is some pile of dung. 

Date Posted: 24 Dec 2021 at 10:34pm

Elf on the shelf

A family photo wearing your pyjamas 

Batin' the sh*te out of one another as soon as the friends and neighbours go home.

You know Spider, you're a f**kin' mumbling stuttering little f**k. You know that?

Posted By: oldbilly
Date Posted: 24 Dec 2021 at 11:55pm

Whatever about new traditions, this 'The way we were at Christmas' on RTE right now is some pile of dung. 

Ahhh wasn’t oireland only brilliant craic back in the 80’s 

No it f**king was not, ‘‘twas awful.

No Pasaran!

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 12:20am
First time spending Christmas with the in-laws, they're Polish. 
As they celebrate Christmas tonight dinner consisted of...

- Beetroot soup with two types of dumplings

- Porcini mushroom soup 

- Fried Carp with salad

- Two types of pickled herring. One salted the other in oil and spices

- Side dishes included mashed beetroot mixed with horseradish sauce 🔥, salad and potato salad

- Multiple cakes including home made polish cheesecake and the grandmothers poppy seed cake.

It's certainly been a different Christmas so far. Grub has been top notch tbf. 

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 12:26am

Ahhh wasn’t oireland only brilliant craic back in the 80’s 

No it f**king was not, ‘‘twas awful.

It was like an extension of all those moronic radio DJs (or content creators as they like to call themselves now) who's entire schtick seems to be 'Wasn't it great craic when we were all in school, lads! Craic! School! Send in your texts or voice notes about what great craic school was!' 

Posted By: Bandwagon
Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 12:28am

- Porcini mushroom soup 

- Fried Carp with salad

- Side dishes included mashed beetroot mixed with horseradish sauce 🔥, salad and potato salad

- Multiple cakes including home made polish cheesecake and the grandmothers poppy seed cake.

Sounds class. The Polish do a good Christmas grub alright, the neighbor always drops in with a bit of cake for us. Was the cheesecake the one with a layer of jelly in it by chance? She dropped a lovely one that sort of like a trifle cheesecake crossover before.

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 12:40am
sounds horrific  

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 2:12am

Didn't see it.  Synopsis? (besides the self explanatory title)

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 4:50am

sounds horrific  
Dead

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 8:01am

Elf on the shelf

The whole family in matching Xmas pyjamas with the capture 1 more sleep Dead

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 8:04am

- Porcini mushroom soup 

- Fried Carp with salad

Sounds like one of those I'm a celebratory jungles challenges.

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 8:15am

Elf on the shelf

The elf on the shelf is a pain in the arse.
Was grand the first year but year 3 and it’s a drain, completely out of ideas and even when put the effort in our ten year old barely raised an eyebrow when she saw what way I had done it. I’d say I forgot to move them about half the time this year! She doesn’t care anyway and said she seen it on TikTok that it’s fake and the parents moving them. So last year for her, but will have To start again down the tracks when our new baby is old enough. Dreading it already!

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 9:06am

Didn't see it.  Synopsis? (besides the self explanatory title)

Talking heads including Joe Duffy, Brendan Courtney, June Rodgers, Donal Fallon and Maurice Pratt banging on about Christmas in the old days. Sure we were poor but we were happy, we all went to town on December 8th, you could buy a turkey off the bonnet of a car, midnight mass was great till they moved it till 9pm and the best thing about Christmas was finding a tangerine in your stocking.

Well worth the licence fee. 

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 9:06am
Isolation 

Not on fb or instagram.but the wife said the new thing is now  a picture of the their children.  With the caption of the boy/girl done well from Santa. 

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 10:16am
Better read the instuctions again , so how many hours for the Turkey ..............

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 1:27pm

- Porcini mushroom soup 

- Fried Carp with salad

Sounds class. The Polish do a good Christmas grub alright, the neighbor always drops in with a bit of cake for us. Was the cheesecake the one with a layer of jelly in it by chance? She dropped a lovely one that sort of like a trifle cheesecake crossover before.

No layers no. Just baked cheesecake the whole way through with a thin layer of chocolate on top. Comes from a recipe that's at least 100 years old handed down through the generations. 

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 1:47pm

- Porcini mushroom soup 

- Fried Carp with salad

No layers no. Just baked cheesecake the whole way through with a thin layer of chocolate on top. Comes from a recipe that's at least 100 years old handed down through the generations. 

Ah right! Yoke I was talking about is called Sernik and Szarlotka. She done a knick knack this morning and left us in a lovely box of Polish chocolates this year instead.

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 2:33pm

- Porcini mushroom soup 

- Fried Carp with salad

Ah right! Yoke I was talking about is called Sernik and Szarlotka. She done a knick knack this morning and left us in a lovely box of Polish chocolates this year instead.

Sernik is what the in laws call it. They say the cake originated in Vienna. 

Szarlotka (Charlotte cake) is a type of apple cake. There's slices here in front of me. Fecking stuffed to the gills at the moment with cake Big smile

Date Posted: 25 Dec 2021 at 6:13pm
polish folks and their grub n beerClap

No Pasaran!

Date Posted: 26 Dec 2021 at 12:55am

Elf on the shelf

The whole family in matching Xmas pyjamas with the capture 1 more sleep Dead

Fair fee YBIGgers at it LOL

Date Posted: 26 Dec 2021 at 9:35am
something very weird about grown men in pjs. 

Date Posted: 26 Dec 2021 at 11:56am

- Porcini mushroom soup 

- Fried Carp with salad

Sounds lovely 

Posted By: eireland
Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 10:44am

Most grown men don't care how they look at home. 

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 10:52am
When do you take the decorations and tree down? When I was younger was always the 6th of January. 

Now I’d always have it down before the the 1st of January. 

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 10:56am

Why? 

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 11:00am
Decorations down yesterday. They're just depressing at this stage 

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 11:08am

Why? 

Cause it looks like a grown man dressed up in kids clothes.  

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 11:30am
Down yesterday too and place seems like a minimalists wet dream for about an hour 

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 1:19pm

Why? 

Do people actually wear PJs ? Confused

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 1:37pm

Why? 

There is a tradition now of people posting photos of their whole family all in matching Christmas pjs, Da and all.  These are not the classic Dessie Curley Pjs that every Da in Ireland had in the 80s if they ever went to hospital.  These are American styled Christmas ones.  Looks weird to me to be honest but each to their own. 

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 1:48pm

When do you take the decorations and tree down? When I was younger was always the 6th of January. 

This morning.

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 1:48pm
I have to say, I love my Homer Simpson drinking a duff beer while wearing a Santa hat Christmas PJs. Have them the past few years and is nice to put them on after putting up the Christmas tree and getting the house all Christmassy.

Wife made us do matching PJs one night last year too for a photo, just for the family collection versus uploading it to social media. 

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 2:56pm
Originally posted by deco911 deco911 wrote:

This morning.
Taking mine down today as well. 

Posted By: Badgersboys9
Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 3:14pm

Originally posted by deco911 deco911 wrote:

This morning.
Taking mine down today as well. 

Took mine down after the Christmas dinner.

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 3:44pm
PJs aren’t weird LOL
Grown men posing for photos in them is though 

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 3:46pm
Started taking the decorations down on Friday, theres now just a bare tree sat in the corner that will be staying there until next weekend. I'll be f**ked if Im wasting my last day off killing myself getting it back into attic.

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 4:46pm

I have to say, I love my Homer Simpson drinking a duff beer while wearing a Santa hat Christmas PJs. Have them the past few years and is nice to put them on after putting up the Christmas tree and getting the house all Christmassy.

Wife made us do matching PJs one night last year too for a photo, just for the family collection versus uploading it to social media. 

Post pic of you in the Homer ones there TR

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 5:50pm

Started taking the decorations down on Friday, theres now just a bare tree sat in the corner that will be staying there until next weekend. I'll be f**ked if Im wasting my last day off killing myself getting it back into attic.
Took ours down on the 29th , now one of the best feelings in the world fecking the tree up into thr loft for another 11 and a half months i can tell yer . 

Posted By: Artie Ziff
Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 6:09pm

Why? 

There is a tradition now of people posting photos of their whole family all in matching Christmas pjs, Da and all.  These are not the classic Dessie Curley Pjs that every Da in Ireland had in the 80s if they ever went to hospital.  These are American styled Christmas ones.  Looks weird to me to be honest but each to their own. 

So it's not wearing of pjs it's the sharing of a family pic which you find weird. 

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 6:20pm
it’s the whole package, putting on matching pjs etc etc.just find it weird.  Again each to their own.  

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 6:25pm
Agreed.

Grown men should not be wearing pyjamas, let alone matching pyjamas with their mrs and kids and posting on social media. 

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 6:28pm
Don’t we all just wear the jersey of our chosen team to bed?

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 6:51pm

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 7:14pm
t shirt and shorts and hotel pinched slippers for me Thumbs Up

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 7:38pm

lost my bag in Luxembourg with this jersey inside

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 8:13pm

Agreed.

Grown men should not be wearing pyjamas, let alone matching pyjamas with their mrs and kids and posting on social media. 

I have about 5 pairs of pyjama pants, love wearing them aroudn the house on a Saturday/Sunday morning. Very comfortable. 

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 9:34pm

Agreed.

I have about 5 pairs of pyjama pants, love wearing them aroudn the house on a Saturday/Sunday morning. Very comfortable. 

Yeah that’s totally normal.  Waster pants as they are called.  

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 10:11pm

How tf did you manage to lose your bag? LOL

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 10:19pm
Taking mine down on the 6th. The trick is to put them up nice and late. 

Date Posted: 03 Jan 2022 at 10:59pm

🤷🏻Booze related 

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2022 at 12:21am

🤷🏻Booze related 
Silly question. LOL

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2022 at 12:49am

🤷🏻Booze related 
Silly question. LOL

Hopefully you didn't leave it unattended at a train station like a lad at the Euros who then had it blown up LOL

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2022 at 10:10am

Yeah the jersey was the most important thing in the bag you lost LOL

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2022 at 10:46am

Just looking at the pic , would anyone sleep with their watch on ?

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2022 at 10:47am

If that’s your major issue with Douglas behaviour you have issues yourself. 

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2022 at 10:56am

Yeah the jersey was the most important thing in the bag you lost LOL
LOLmay have been some medicine inside!

Date Posted: 04 Jan 2022 at 10:18pm

it’s the whole package, putting on matching pjs etc etc.just find it weird.  Again each to their own.  

The family pjs thing ok none of my business. But to allow that photo to go out onto social media. I just picture a Roy Keane look of utter contempt for anyone that would do it. 

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2022 at 9:32am

Douglas? The man had never watched Fr Ted in his life!

Date Posted: 05 Jan 2022 at 9:43am

Douglas? The man had never watched Fr Ted in his life!

😀😀😀😀 predictive text on I phone 😀😀😀Dougal. 

Date Posted: 27 Nov 2022 at 8:47pm
Any family PJs this year Baldie?

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2022 at 12:17am
Happy Holidays Everyone Hug

Date Posted: 28 Nov 2022 at 1:02am

Any family PJs this year Baldie?

No pjs but do have the family.  Might do a trip to Santa but there certainly won’t be any pics of all of us in pjs.  As your one Emma Doran said .  See he ride your sister so you made him wearing matching Pyjamas. Poor Billy the electrician only wants a few cans of Dutch gold from cost cutter on Friday night and next thing he is in some Disney themes pyjamas with the family 😀

Date Posted: 02 Dec 2023 at 12:11pm
Had a drop of baileys in the aul Azera coffee 7am this morn. Christmas Clap

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2023 at 12:09am
I see a lot of places advertising Christmas Chips this year, for the first time ever 

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2023 at 12:52am

I see a lot of places advertising Christmas Chips this year, for the first time ever 

Go on…

This sounds like one I might be able to get on board with. Chips Clap

Posted By: J89
Date Posted: 15 Dec 2023 at 1:45am
It's chips topped with some ingredients you have with your Christmas dinner like cocktail sausages, gravy, stuffing etc

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2023 at 8:19am
Originally posted by J89 J89 wrote:

It's chips topped with some ingredients you have with your Christmas dinner like cocktail sausages, gravy, stuffing etc

Can you please provide the names of such establishments? 

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2023 at 9:06am
Love this time of year, just a couple more days work Clap

Well and truly stuck into the Christmas films 

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2023 at 9:17am

cocktail sausages on a Christmas dinner?

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2023 at 9:24am
Got the Xmas keg on Wednesday Clap

Decorations up in the bar Clap

Tis the f**king season Clap

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2023 at 10:46am
In the past couple of years, we make a massive pot of soup, spuds, gravy. etc. Just loads of wholesome good food. 

We then bring it round to the local migrant centre, and throw it all over the walls, telling them to go the f home.

Posted By: counterlock
Date Posted: 15 Dec 2023 at 10:55am

In the past couple of years, we make a massive pot of soup, spuds, gravy. etc. Just loads of wholesome good food. 

We then bring it round to the local migrant centre, and throw it all over the walls, telling them to go the f home.

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2023 at 10:56am
I'm shooting peasants on my land this year instead of pheasants.  Makes a nice change.

Posted By: notpropaganda73
Date Posted: 15 Dec 2023 at 11:10am

yeah it's feckin everywhere in Belfast this year and I don't remember it at all before. for our office party they hired a food truck to set up downstairs and they had Christmas chips, it was delicious in fairness - chips, turkey, ham, stuffing, cocktail sausages and smothered in gravy. Never had cocktail sausages with Christmas dinner before so an odd addition but it was nice with everything else 

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2023 at 11:26am

Posted By: SeaSharp
Date Posted: 15 Dec 2023 at 11:34am

Posted By: Badgersboys9
Date Posted: 15 Dec 2023 at 11:44am

Date Posted: 15 Dec 2023 at 12:12pm

I'm shooting peasants on my land this year instead of pheasants.  Makes a nice change.
I believe Saudi Arabia started that Christmas tradition recently. Great fun.

Date Posted: 23 Dec 2023 at 11:20pm

Date Posted: 24 Dec 2023 at 7:53am

cocktail sausages on a Christmas dinner?
We always do that, wrapped in a rasher, pigs in blankets.

No Pasaran!

Date Posted: 24 Dec 2023 at 9:57am

Date Posted: 24 Dec 2023 at 12:36pm
Getting sick Dead