URL: https://forum.ybig.ie/forum_posts.asp?TID=57858
Printed Date: 26 Apr 2024 at 3:17pm

Topic: English PL 21/22 season
Subject: English PL 21/22 season
Date Posted: 16 Jun 2021 at 9:33am
https://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/premier-league-fixtures-2021-liverpool-man-united-b1866783.html" rel="nofollow - https://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/premier-league-fixtures-2021-liverpool-man-united-b1866783.html

Date Posted: 16 Jun 2021 at 7:21pm
Benitez back on Merseyside it seems. 

Posted By: hulkhogan
Date Posted: 16 Jun 2021 at 9:37pm

Benitez back on Merseyside it seems. 

Horrendous from Everton again. Be shocked if he gets till the end of the season. If there's fans next year the evertonians will turn on him fast

Whacha gonna do

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2021 at 9:16am
https://mobile.twitter.com/evanfanning/status/1405277464218062849?s=21" rel="nofollow - https://mobile.twitter.com/evanfanning/status/1405277464218062849?s=21

Date Posted: 17 Jun 2021 at 9:37am

https://mobile.twitter.com/evanfanning/status/1405277464218062849?s=21" rel="nofollow - https://mobile.twitter.com/evanfanning/status/1405277464218062849?s=21

What a pair of absolute numpties. 

"You reap what you sew in life" LOL

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2021 at 6:15am
John McGinn to Liverpool for 50k?

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2021 at 11:28am

Date Posted: 25 Jun 2021 at 11:35am
£50m even.

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2021 at 9:52pm
Not sure how this will go down with Everton fans?

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/57660542" rel="nofollow - https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/57660542

Date Posted: 30 Jun 2021 at 9:54pm

Not sure how this will go down with Everton fans?

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/57660542" rel="nofollow - https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/57660542
Like a lead balloon so far judging by social media and vandalism outside his house. 

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2021 at 12:35am
Gylfi Sigurdsson

DeadDead

Posted By: hulkhogan
Date Posted: 20 Jul 2021 at 4:34am
Everton are like EastEnders. Never ending disasters. 

Things look bad for gylfi alright, if true hope he goes away fir a long time.

His careers over now anyway, noone will touch him , if it's not true his life's ruined.

Horrible situation all round

Whacha gonna do

Date Posted: 20 Jul 2021 at 7:11am
Originally posted by hulkhogan hulkhogan wrote:

Everton are like EastEnders. Never ending disasters. 

Things look bad for gylfi alright, if true hope he goes away fir a long time.

His careers over now anyway, noone will touch him , if it's not true his life's ruined.

Horrible situation all round

https://news.sky.com/story/premier-league-star-arrested-on-suspicion-of-child-sex-offences-12359485" rel="nofollow - https://news.sky.com/story/premier-league-star-arrested-on-suspicion-of-child-sex-offences-12359485

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2021 at 12:58pm
You would think from his name that he'd be the opposite, and into GILFs

Date Posted: 21 Jul 2021 at 3:02pm
He'd be the last person I'd expect. He looks so strait-laced.

You know Spider, you're a f**kin' mumbling stuttering little f**k. You know that?

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2021 at 9:30pm
So Utd look set to get Varane for 40 million ish. Arsenal get Ben White who has done fcuk all in his career for 50 million. I know which one i would prefer. Granted he would have gone for free next year i think from Real but still. So if your English and have even 1 cap you can be ripped off for 20 or 30 million over the odds in most cases. 

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2021 at 9:41pm
There's been a premium on anyone with an England cap for around 15 years now at least

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2021 at 9:43pm

There's been a premium on anyone with an England cap for around 15 years now at least

Ya, you wud wonder why the clubs pay these fees for the English players. Madness.

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2021 at 9:45pm

Ya, you wud wonder why the clubs pay these fees for the English players. Madness.

Terri will have a couple of paragraphs on the home grown players quota i'm sure

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2021 at 9:47pm

Danny Drinkwater is good for morale and bonding purposes.

You know Spider, you're a f**kin' mumbling stuttering little f**k. You know that?

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2021 at 9:52pm
As is Dominic Solanke

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2021 at 10:13pm
Have to admit I've so little interest in the EPL anymore.

The last few international tournaments have been brilliant to watch and I literally count down the days until the next international calender when Ireland are involved. 

I'll still follow United and watch the matches but I don't get the same sense of loss or elation whether they do good or bad in comparison with how the national team gets on since i started prioritizing Ireland home and aways.  

Only started going back to LOI games last year after a 4 year hiatus and I'm genuinely getting more enjoyment of it than the EPL even if I still am a bit of a culchie blow in to Inchicore's men in red LOL 

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2021 at 10:17pm

Have to admit I've so little interest in the EPL anymore.

The last few international tournaments have been brilliant to watch and I literally count down the days until the next international calender when Ireland are involved. 

I'll still follow United and watch the matches but I don't get the same sense of loss or elation whether they do good or bad in comparison with how the national team gets on since i started prioritizing Ireland home and aways.  

Only started going back to LOI games last year after a 4 year hiatus and I'm genuinely getting more enjoyment of it than the EPL even if I still am a bit of a culchie blow in to Inchicore's men in red LOL 

Fair play to you.

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2021 at 10:31pm

Have you been getting in to the recent matches in Richer Muff? The season ticket purchase was a bit of a leap of faith when it was released but it’s proving very good value so far. I’m delighted to be back at the games. It helps that Pats are flying 

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2021 at 11:05pm

Have you been getting in to the recent matches in Richer Muff? The season ticket purchase was a bit of a leap of faith when it was released but it’s proving very good value so far. I’m delighted to be back at the games. It helps that Pats are flying 

They weren't last year or when I moved into the neighbourhood in 2015 before venturing to southside ruggerland some years later. I've been a proper Jonah at Richmond Tongue

No I wasn't able to get a ticket into the restricted matches this season so far as I never bought a season ticket. I only just paid at the gate as before. Hoping to get a general sale ticket for Friday's game away to Rovers when they go on sale tomorrow.  

Anyway we better get back on topic. 

Date Posted: 27 Jul 2021 at 11:15pm

Was thinking this too.

Date Posted: 28 Jul 2021 at 8:54am

They weren't last year or when I moved into the neighbourhood in 2015 before venturing to southside ruggerland some years later. I've been a proper Jonah at Richmond Tongue

No I wasn't able to get a ticket into the restricted matches this season so far as I never bought a season ticket. I only just paid at the gate as before. Hoping to get a general sale ticket for Friday's game away to Rovers when they go on sale tomorrow.  

Anyway we better get back on topic. 

Where you based now?

Date Posted: 30 Jul 2021 at 10:04pm
Ben White to Arsenal for 53m
Amazing what a half decent performance in a friendly against Romania can do for your price tag 

Posted By: Jack City
Date Posted: 31 Jul 2021 at 12:39am
Who gives a f**k.

Date Posted: 31 Jul 2021 at 8:23pm
Originally posted by Jack City Jack City wrote:

Who gives a f**k.

Eh? He posted something in relation to the topic of this thread which is the general EPL thread.  

Presumably if you don't give a f**k why would you bother responding or posting on this thread? 

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2021 at 10:15pm
Shocking tackle on Wesley Fofana tonight in a friendly v Villarreal leaves him with a broken leg 

Date Posted: 04 Aug 2021 at 10:54pm

Just seen it

His leg Dead

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2021 at 11:22am
Kane to City, Lukaku to United, who gets Haaland next summer then? United would be in pole position you'd think. 

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2021 at 11:55am

Kane to City, Lukaku to United, who gets Haaland next summer then? United would be in pole position you'd think. 

Do you mean Lukaku to Chelsea? Couldn't see him going back to utd.
Heard it mentioned that Ole has the Norwegian connection that might make it happen, but that didn't help when Haaland left Salzberg.
Could even say the link between his dad and City might be bigger.

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2021 at 12:11pm
sorry yes Lukaku to Chelsea seems to be happening 

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2021 at 1:04pm
By process of elimination I can see Haaland at United next season.

Chelsea will have Lukaku, City will have Kane and Madrid will have Mbappe, can’t see any other club bar PSG being able to afford him.

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2021 at 1:31pm

Chelsea will have Lukaku, City will have Kane and Madrid will have Mbappe, can’t see any other club bar PSG being able to afford him.

Yeah was thinking the same. 
Cavani will do another year there then make way for Haaland. 

Could he go to Bayern?
Mbappe to Real going to happen you think?

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2021 at 1:42pm

Yeah was thinking the same. 
Cavani will do another year there then make way for Haaland. 

Could he go to Bayern?
Mbappe to Real going to happen you think?

I can’t see Bayern being able to afford him, they’ll be spending serious money on trying to renew the contracts of the likes of Kimmich, Goretzka, Lewandowski etc.

Mbappe to Real is nailed on, he only wants to join them and if he doesn’t go for a big money fee this summer he will join them next season on a free. 

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2021 at 1:51pm
Probably true, I thought Real were skint though but see there's a new TV deal for La Liga signed yesterday

Posted By: Territorial
Date Posted: 05 Aug 2021 at 2:25pm

I think I read that if Haaland stays another season, then a £77M release fee kicks in, which would make him more widely affordable.

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2021 at 2:35pm
Leon Bailey who joined Villa is an excellent player, saw him play against Cork City twice in Europe with Genk and followed him ever since then. Surprised it's taken him so long to get to a Premier League club, but he's still only 23. Could be a real star in the Premier League. I predict one good season at Villa and then a battle between the top 6 clubs to sign him

Posted By: Territorial
Date Posted: 05 Aug 2021 at 2:35pm

Probably true, I thought Real were skint though but see there's a new TV deal for La Liga signed yesterday

"TV deal"?

Are you referring to this?

"It is a [€2.7bn]  loan repayable over a significant number of years, but a source said the clubs are 'delighted' as it helps them out of a financial black hole caused by the coronavirus pandemic."
https://www.espn.com/soccer/soccer-transfers/story/4445380/barcelona-boosted-in-lionel-messi-contract-saga-as-laliga-announces-27bn-deal" rel="nofollow - https://www.espn.com/soccer/soccer-transfers/story/4445380/barcelona-boosted-in-lionel-messi-contract-saga-as-laliga-announces-27bn-deal

If so, then having to re-mortgage a chunk of their assets ito venture capitalists is the definition of "skint" (all clubs, not just Real).

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2021 at 2:52pm

Leon Bailey who joined Villa is an excellent player, saw him play against Cork City twice in Europe with Genk and followed him ever since then. Surprised it's taken him so long to get to a Premier League club, but he's still only 23. Could be a real star in the Premier League. I predict one good season at Villa and then a battle between the top 6 clubs to sign him

Yeah he's a good player. Villa have signed well with him, Ings and Buendia coming in

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2021 at 7:02pm
Messi to City?

Would be funny to see Harry Kane miss out on a move, but as an armchair United fan I would hate to see it.

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2021 at 7:06pm
Surely throws a spanner in the works for Kane

Messi on a free this summer, Haaland next Smile

Date Posted: 05 Aug 2021 at 7:57pm
Do City need a #9 ahead of Messi? What’s the craic with financial FairPlay LOL? Either way ,you can’t turn down Messi wha 

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2021 at 1:40pm
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11095/12293279/roy-keane-manchester-united-must-target-harry-kane-and-jack-grealish-to-mount-premier-league-title-challenge%20" rel="nofollow - https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11095/12293279/roy-keane-manchester-united-must-target-harry-kane-and-jack-grealish-to-mount-premier-league-title-challenge

City seem to be doing exactly what Keane told United to do

Date Posted: 06 Aug 2021 at 4:41pm
Two players I’m glad will never play for United.

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2021 at 5:24pm
It’s so near now I can almost taste itClapZero football on since the Euros,can’t wait till the weekend Clap

Date Posted: 09 Aug 2021 at 6:52pm

It’s so near now I can almost taste itClapZero football on since the Euros,can’t wait till the weekend Clap

Shocked

Date Posted: 10 Aug 2021 at 4:09pm

https://www.theguardian.com/football/ng-interactive/2021/aug/10/david-squires-on-what-to-look-out-for-in-the-2021-22-premier-league-season" rel="nofollow - David Squires on … what to look out for in the 2021-22 ...

https://www.ecosia.org/search?q=david+squires+Premier+league#web-result-hint-0" rel="nofollow - - - www.theguardian.com/football/ng-interactive/2021/aug/10/ - squires-on-what... https://www.theguardian.com/football/ng-interactive/2021/aug/10/david-squires-on-what-to-look-out-for-in-the-2021-22-premier-league-season" rel="nofollow -

- David  - Premier  - David ...

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2021 at 12:11am
Good viewing 

https://youtu.be/XrD1Jgg1aT8" rel="nofollow - https://youtu.be/XrD1Jgg1aT8

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2021 at 9:48pm
Good win for Brentford tonight and great for the fans. 

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2021 at 9:56pm
Ah arsenal the club which keeps on giving 

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2021 at 10:01pm

They play Chelsea and Man City next. 

Date Posted: 13 Aug 2021 at 10:07pm

Bit unfair having to play both of them at the same time. 

Posted By: King_Kenny
Date Posted: 13 Aug 2021 at 10:16pm

You paddy raff’s cousin?

Posted By: Badgersboys9
Date Posted: 13 Aug 2021 at 10:22pm
Originally posted by King_Kenny King_Kenny wrote:

You paddy raff’s cousin?

😂

Posted By: Sharpshooter
Date Posted: 14 Aug 2021 at 5:35am
I wonder if Arsenal long term are going to be end up being like Villa or Everton, an historic big club with huge trophy haul that slides into permanent mediocrity.

Arsenal first won the title in 1931.  Since then they've never gone any longer than 18 years without winning the title, but if they don't win it this year they'll break that.

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2021 at 7:45am
Originally posted by Sharpshooter Sharpshooter wrote:

I wonder if Arsenal long term are going to be end up being like Villa or Everton, an historic big club with huge trophy haul that slides into permanent mediocrity.

Arsenal first won the title in 1931.  Since then they've never gone any longer than 18 years without winning the title, but if they don't win it this year they'll break that.

The current owners don’t want to spend on par with the likes of Chelsea, Man U and City.
So unless that changes they will be fighting for EL places rather than the league.

When they were winning the leagues under Wenger they had the highest wage bill or at least top 2.

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2021 at 10:27am

I'd go further in that they could be one of the big clubs that drop a division. It happens every so often, Forest, Leeds etc. They're in an awful mess at the moment.

They've a front 3 on about a million Euro a week combined (Willlian, Auba, Lacazette), and the rest of the squad on about the same. It's silly how unbalanced it is. They've the worst goalie in the league, 4 RB's and Colum Chambers is the best of them. A centre back pairing that allowed a throw in to bounce in the six yard box last night. Some of the youngsters look promising,  but if Smith-Rowe, Martinelli, Saka end up having a season that wins Young Player of the Year, City will buy them.

I really don't know what they're doing at the moment, they were mid-table most of last year and no suggestion of the manager losing their job - seemed to be acceptable for Arsenal now.

40/1 to get relegated this year by the way.

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2021 at 12:14pm

I'd go further in that they could be one of the big clubs that drop a division. It happens every so often, Forest, Leeds etc. They're in an awful mess at the moment.

They've a front 3 on about a million Euro a week combined (Willlian, Auba, Lacazette), and the rest of the squad on about the same. It's silly how unbalanced it is. They've the worst goalie in the league, 4 RB's and Colum Chambers is the best of them. A centre back pairing that allowed a throw in to bounce in the six yard box last night. Some of the youngsters look promising,  but if Smith-Rowe, Martinelli, Saka end up having a season that wins Young Player of the Year, City will buy them.

I really don't know what they're doing at the moment, they were mid-table most of last year and no suggestion of the manager losing their job - seemed to be acceptable for Arsenal now.

40/1 to get relegated this year by the way.

Jesus as a Spurs fan we can only dream of this happening but I can see them finishing mid table again. 
They still have some quality players that will keep them in the top half but they won’t get into the top 6. 

They need to clear the squad out of the overpaid players and start again. However a lot of those players are old so they will find it hard to get rid of them. 

Date Posted: 14 Aug 2021 at 6:47pm
Two players Arsenal have let go in the last year would improve them at the minute, Martinez and Willock

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 6:12pm
City need Kane. 

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 6:20pm
Still laughing at the fact City paid £100m for Grealish.

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 6:20pm
And a left back

Mendy is beyond woeful, when he plays it always gives the opposition a chance. Ake has been pretty sh*te too in any games he’s played 

Grealish wasn’t bad today but they didn’t really need a player in that position 

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 6:21pm

Aye sure we’ll write Jack off now after 90 mins 

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 6:21pm

Mind the gap.

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 6:22pm
Spurs look very well organised Clap well deserved win

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 6:23pm

Thought you would’ve been writing him off pre season just in case 

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 6:25pm
Citys form dipped end of last season and it coincided with Rodri, who was a mainstay in that run of 22 wins in a row, being replaced with Fernandinho in the team 

Bit odd IMO

Never mind the Mayo curse, City’s inability to score in that new stadium is worse! Some of the chances theyve missed in those four games 

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 6:26pm

Thought you would’ve been writing him off pre season just in case 

No he’s a very good player and will be a good signing
Just not a priority position 

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 6:27pm

And a left back

Mendy is beyond woeful, when he plays it always gives the opposition a chance. Ake has been pretty sh*te too in any games he’s played 

Grealish wasn’t bad today but they didn’t really need a player in that position 

It was strange to end up prioritising an attacking midfielder over a top CF. I think they may yet get Kane, but a day like today showed it would be money well spent. At least they have defensive options and that can be a quicker fix. 

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 6:32pm
They maybe prioritized Kane, who’s to know. 
Fact is Grealish was easier to get as he’d a release clause 

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 6:53pm

Spurs look very well organised Clap well deserved win

Surprised at how well organised they looked 

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 7:51pm
Hojberg is extremely underrated! 

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 9:12pm

It made sense to go for Grealish as he was available and can take some of the pressure off KDB. Also they need more English players for the European rules. 

I think they will get Kane in the end. Desperately need a left back tho. 

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 9:28pm

It made sense to go for Grealish as he was available and can take some of the pressure off KDB. Also they need more English players for the European rules. 

I think they will get Kane in the end. Desperately need a left back tho. 

Zinchenko was grand for the most part last season but was caught out in the CL final
Mendy should just be written off at this stage

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 10:33pm

And a left back

How many full backs and centre halfs has Pep signed for massive money FFS ?

He woudnt know a defender if it slapped him the face.

He inherited Puyol, Pique, Alves, Lahm etc etc

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 10:46pm

And a left back

How many full backs and centre halfs has Pep signed for massive money FFS ?

He woudnt know a defender if it slapped him the face.

He inherited Puyol, Pique, Alves, Lahm etc etc

Walker - success
Mendy - major flop 
Dias - success
Stones - success 
Ake - hard to see him being a success 
Laporte - relative success
Cancelo - relative success 

Date Posted: 15 Aug 2021 at 10:57pm
A lot of home wins in the first week back of fans at the Barclays 

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2021 at 6:05am
As good as Chelsea are, that was tactically very weak by Arteta yesterday. Reece James had a field day at RWB. Should have switched to a 3-5-2 and used Tierney to make James have to defend now and again instead of having the freedom he had.

Lukaku was very good  at times but that was a weak a performance by Mari and he was pathetic for the goal.

Date Posted: 23 Aug 2021 at 9:48pm
West Ham battering Leicester, and Antonio is now the clubs all time top scorer in the PL. Remarkable for a player who has suffered from injury issues and is just prolific in those matches that he does play.

Date Posted: 29 Aug 2021 at 6:08am
Reece James very unlucky to be sent off. It seems like the double punishment still applies to handballs, regardless of intention. I can see that being the next "law" to be modified.

Chelsea controlled that 2nd half excellently. Liverpool's tactics were strange, had no ideas of how to break Chelsea down apart from trying to put in crosses. Salah spent most of the time getting the ball on the right wing.

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2021 at 11:44am
The Top 4 have themselves in position that they'll remain for the rest of the season probably. 
Any of the 4 could win it. 

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2021 at 9:30pm

The Top 4 have themselves in position that they'll remain for the rest of the season probably. 
Any of the 4 could win it. 

Hard to argue! Could maybe see City mounting a challenge for the top 4 if Liverpool or Everton falter. 

Date Posted: 13 Sep 2021 at 10:07pm

Date Posted: 21 Sep 2021 at 7:37pm
Eddie Howe getting linked with the Newcastle job.

I'd be surprised if it happened.

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2021 at 8:55pm
I don't think that was a peno there for Palace. Very soft. Henry is a woeful pundit in studio. Insufferable.

Date Posted: 27 Sep 2021 at 8:56pm
Looked like a fair shoulder to me.

Date Posted: 02 Oct 2021 at 10:38pm
Were Trevoh Chalobah’s parents from Manchester and meant Trevor?

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2021 at 6:09pm
Cracking goal from Salah.

Posted By: Dalymount79
Date Posted: 03 Oct 2021 at 6:46pm
cracking start to the season. With the top 3 having for played each other I expect they’ll pull away. United might hang in in there but need some good results between now and Nov international games. Bottom will take a couple more months to settle down.

Date Posted: 03 Oct 2021 at 8:10pm
That was a great game of football. Two top teams
City were brilliant at times, will be disappointed not taking all three points after that performance but you can't be too despondent at coming from behind twice in the second half 

Date Posted: 17 Oct 2021 at 5:12am

Should be a couple of decent games today.

West Ham v Everton and Newcastle v Spurs.

Date Posted: 17 Oct 2021 at 2:53pm
West Ham have had the better of the first half but goaless at the interval.

Date Posted: 17 Oct 2021 at 4:12pm
Big boost for Newcastle Callum Wilson starting..

Date Posted: 17 Oct 2021 at 4:50pm
FFS

Did I call that.

Date Posted: 17 Oct 2021 at 5:19pm
Newcastle Spurs game suspended because of medical emergency in the crowd. Defib n all out sadly 

Date Posted: 17 Oct 2021 at 5:46pm

Newcastle Spurs game suspended bec
Iuse of medical emergency in the crowd. Defib n all out sadly 

I hope he it she is okay?